Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for American Girl Publishing The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

American Girl Publishing The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls

Answer your preteen daughter's questions about her changing body with this best-selling head-to-toe guide! She'll find tips, how-to's, letters from other girls, facts from the experts, and straightforward advice on everything from hair care to healthy eating, bad breath to bras, and periods to pimples. (Does not address sexuality.) Ages 8 and up. 104 pages, softcover from American Girl.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Review 1 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ideal for teenagers

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josiane Bamps
Location:Brussels
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ideal to board some subjects with a girl who grow and sees her body change.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful resource!

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Oracle Triple C
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful resource to what can be some very difficult conversations! It helped us beautifully open the door to talk about some topics that are easily swept under the carpet, but need to be addressed. Full of great information. There is a page informing girls about tampon use that was just a wee bit much for her (and me too for that matter), so we just skimmed over it with the agreement that we will come back to read it together when she thinks that she is ready. Just be advised that it is there before you pass the book off to your little gal.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Location:Alabama
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book set (book and journal) for my 10 year old daughter!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monk
Location:tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my 11 year old daughter. She loves the book. It has so much information about how her body is changing in text that she can relate to. I wish I would have had a book like this when I was her age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Right on time .

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gabby
Location:Dallas , Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detailed enogh for girls just developing , as well as those who have begun their cycles .
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kim B
Location:west coast
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great resource in introducing young girls to the physical changes that are a part of the beauty of womanhood. It is presented in a wholesome, uncontroversial manner, and in a way that is not scary to young girls.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
amy j
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book, i bought one for my niece and another for my daughter. has been a great conversation started for lots of questions they had but felt a bit shy to ask
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kara
I LOVE this book!!! It tells me everything I need to know, about your period, hormones, changes in the body and alots more! A+
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina
This book really is just silly common sense and a waste of money. This book is part of a homeschooling science curriculum, but I just don't get it...if your child is homeschooled then why would you need a book to explain basic information to your daughter about puberty and her changing body? Why can't a mother and daughter discuss this together without this book? PLUS, I am not at all impressed with some of the illustrations, especially the illustration on how to insert a tampon...this is highly inappropriate!
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lea Leftwich
I think this is a very good way to inform your child of how her body works and how to take care of herself my daughter is 9yrs old and we are going through the book together.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeannine Wencl
The information is there...but from a Godly perspective it seems to be a little too forward. There were two pictorials that were a little uncomfortable. One was they showed step by step how to insert a tampon (mom not so sure about having seen this) and the other one my daughter did not appreciate when they drew the different stages of breast development. Overall, it is a good book but there are others that cover the same information from a more pure standpoint.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denise Jackson
Got this for my daughter's 10th birthday, but that hasn't happened yet! I'll say that looking through the book, it seems very well done. It came highly recommended from a friend who's opionion I trust completely. I wish I had this book when I was growing up. I'm from the days when it was sorta hush hush and you didn't feel as if you could ask a lot of questions.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katrina
This book is wonderful!!!!!!!!!!! It covers everything from bras to braces, hair to hands, sleep to shape, eyes to acne, period to pubic. Your girls will enjoy this book from cover to cover and enjoy over and over again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teresa Oliver
This is a great book for introducing your daughter to the changes she can expect in her body. I heartily recomend it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Craig
This is a fantastic book for girls. I read it first, then gave it to my 10 yr old to read. I asked her questions, and while she was a little embarrassed, it helped her talk to me. I am now recommending it to the parents of all her friends!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gladys Orellana
I love it... My daughter is 9 and it is time for me to explain a lot of things... This book is clear... we are reading it together.. and then I explain it to her. We are having fun and learning at the same time... Excelent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2004
Customer Avatar
Nikki
this book is great for girls who have questions about growing up. if theyre too embarrassed to talk to their parents its perfect for them. i got it when i was like 11 and it helped a lot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lydia
I am ALWAYS checking this book out at the library. It covers everything I need to know about growing up. It IS the best body book I ever read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2003
Customer Avatar
Melissa
This is the 2nd Care and Keeping I have bought. My 10 year old daughter LOVES this book. I love it because it is so totally appropriate for young girls. There are no yucky pictures, references to "safe sex" or information about boys.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2001
Customer Avatar
Michelle Hurtley
Excellent reference for young girls. My 9 year old has read it cover to cover and refers to it often. It covers all the important "girl stuff" but not in an embarrasing way. Pictures are hand drawn cartoon style, so not too graphic either. I have a few other American Girl books for her and am totally pleased. My only complaint is that there isn't an "American Boy" for the same boy stuff. I'm having a terrible time finding a book for my 11 year old that isn't toooo revealing explicit!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.