Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Books Lily - eBook

Barbour Books Lily - eBook

In 1858 Natchez, Mississippi, Lily Anderson is determined to thwart a marriage of convenience. She embarks on a riverboat venture to keep her and her two sisters afloat financially. But gambler Blake Matthews has won part ownership of lily's riverboat. How will their business profit if he and the feisty Mississippi miss disagree about almost everything? The affluent jean Luc Champney will do anything to get back what he lost in a card game, including wooing and endangering the pretty new owner. Will the siren song of the river evolve into a serenade or a somber lament?
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lily - eBook
Review 1 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Christian Fiction

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cactuspat
Location:Florence, Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in a series. I had already read book #2. I thoroughly enjoyed both books. Good Christian literature with strong biblical character morals and faith building inspiration. The authors also had good intriguing story telling. I would like to read book #3. I am sure there is one or will be one that will cover the youngest sister, Jasmine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THOSE ANDERSON GIRLS ARE A CHALLENGE.....

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LILY by Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver is an interesting inspiration Historical Romance set in 1859 Natchez,Mississippi. #1 in the "Song of the River". Meet Lily Anderson, and her two younger sisters, Camellia and Jasmine. Lily dreams of a riding on the Mississippi River on a riverboat and adventure. But her family wants her to secure her and her sisters futures by marrying well even if this means a loveless match for Lily. She sets off to claim her own life and on an adventure of her own by purchasing the steamship Hattie Belle. Oh but things change quickly....enter gambler Blake Matthew,a Rogue and her new partner.....With a bit of faith,trust, lots of turmoil,and the attraction of Blake and Lily, God has his own plans for the two wayward souls. Natchez's Southern Belle meets the Roguish Gambler! Life changes quickly as does our plans. A wonderful read by two authors who are fast becoming one of my favorites. I can hardly wait to see what trouble, young Camellia gets into. *I have already read "Jasmine" and can honestly say what a challenge these Anderson girls are so far,yes I read them out of order.* Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprisingly good!

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Slow and scattered to start, turned into a surprisingly fulfilling read.
Lily Anderson is faced with marrying the brattish Jean Luc, so she take matters into her own hands. She buys 51% of a riverboat and goes into business with a riverboat gambler. But she won't allow gambling or drink on the ship. Lily is determined to make things work so that she can give her sisters a home. Lily has big choices ahead of her if she wants to make a go of the river boating business, who knows love might even be in the mix?
This book started out slow and scrambled, and I wasn't sure how I would feel about the book by the end. But then it really picked up, and I became invested in the story, and the characters and plots all came together on the riverboat.
I loved how Lily when faced with so many tough questions and moral decisions, she thoughtfully considered and turned to her faith. She was also very firm in her convictions. But she had her faults and she struggled to forgive.
I also loved the setting of the story on the river, and learned so much about their way of life.
The other characters were really great too, especially Lily's younger sister, Jasmine who really brought a huge cute factor into play. I really came to like Blake too, even though I really didn't care for him in the beginning, but he really grew as a character and as a man over the course of the book.
Overall, this was a book that I wasn't sure about, but then was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it and the depth that it had deep within. There were moral dilemmas and hard choices, and really strong faith elements. So if you can get past the slow start, I heartily recommend this read!
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, uplifting read.

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily is a young Southern girl in the years before the Civil War. Her mother was killed in a riverboat accident, and her father abandoned Lily and her sisters. After the accident, lily and her sisters lived with her grandparents, but when her grandfather dies, her aunt and uncle pressure her to marry a widowerer almost twenty years her senior. Aft asking for her dowry money from her grandmother, she purchases half of a riverboat and moves in with her sisters, much to the dismay of the other owner, a riverboat gambler. Negotiating agreements with her parter, her sisters, and the river as well as villains, keeps Lily almost too busy to fall in love and find the path the Lord has chosen for her.
The story is rich with the south and the problems facing the people of the day. Lily's story is fun to read and affirming, especially for the women who has to choose to be alone rather than become unequally yoked. As Lilly attempts to make solid choices in her life, the application of passages of the Bible lift up the Christian reader and help to strengthen one’s choices today. I would recommend this for readers who enjoy historical romances with heroines who look to the Lord for their dtrength. This one is definitely appealing to the heart.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little slow to start but a good book over all

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lily Anderson is 20 years old and as the oldest of three girls she is trying to watch out for her sisters. Her mother died in a tragic boat accident when she was very young and her father abandoned them. They are being raised by her grandparents and an aunt and uncle. Now at an marring age and with her Grandfather death her aunt and uncle want to see her married off even if its not for love. Lily does not want this to happen and wants to protect her sisters from a similar fate. With out telling anyone she buys(or so she thinks) a steam boat and plans to move her sisters onto it and take care of them while hauling cargo up and down the river.
Lily soon finds out that she actually only bought 51%(controlling interest) of the boat. Enter Blake Matthews, he won 49% ownership from a card game with Jean Luc Champney. He plans to turn the boat into a floating casino and Lily wants to run cargo… While Lily and Blake figure out how to work together and make money Jean Luc secretly plans to find a way to get his boat back even if it means breaking Lily’s heart. Blake at first can’t stand Lily but soon finds himself wanting to make her happy and his heart slowly falling for her. Will an accident keep them apart forever or help them find true love?
At first as I started to read this book I was not sure if I was going to like it but as I got deeper into the story I found myself really enjoying this book and looking forward to seeing how everything worked out.
What I liked: The authors did a great job of developing the characters. The story was also interesting and funny. The banter between Lily and Blake was amusing at times. I always enjoy a book where the female character is strong and bold. The books are always more fun. I also have not read any books about steamboats so that was quite interesting to learn about.
What I did not like: The first few chapters dragged on for me. It was nice that the characters where so well developed but it took until about 25% in for the story line to pick up and get really interesting.
Over all this was a fun book to read and I really enjoyed it. The romance was a good story and the suspense fit well into the storyline with out it feeling like it didn’t belong. I am really looking forward to the rest of this series and getting to know Lily’s two sisters and hear their story.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Exciting Tale of Life on the Mighty Mississippi

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4.5 Stars
In this story Diane Ashley and Aaron McCarver have transported us back in time to Natchez, Mississippi, where we are introduced to life on the Mississippi River via steamboat.
Lily Anderson from the day she was born has had the love of the Mississippi in her blood, being raised on it until the accidental death of her mother when Lily was a young girl. Since that time Lily and her younger sisters have lived with her mother's parents because their father obviously didn't want the responsibly of raising three daughters alone.
Lily's grandfather has just passed away and now her Aunt Dahlia's husband is taking over the family's responsibilities and wants to force Lily into marrying a much older man. Lily does not want to marry this man or any other man for that matter, since her father's abandonment Lily has never trusted men. After a talk with her Grandmother Lily is able to get her inheritance without having to go through her uncle. Little does her grandmother know that Lily will soon be back on the same river that took her daughter's life, as co-owner of a beautiful steamboat, the Hattie Belle.
Blake Matthews' father was a minister but in spite of that fact Blake finds himself on the Mississippi running gambling tables. Blake is well known for his honesty so if a man leaves his tables having lost all his money it wasn't because Blake cheated him. When the son of a well known business man comes to Blake's boat to have a little fun and leaves having signed an IOU giving Blake possession of the Hattie Belle, it wasn't Blake's fault lady luck had smiled on him. When he shows up at their mansion to claim the title Blake has no clue he will not be the only person with a claim to the Hattie Belle.
When Lily shows up to claim the Hattie Belle she is shocked to find Blake there already remodeling the boat to make it one of the best gambling boats to ever sail the Mississippi. Lily and Blake really butt heads when he finds out she will not allow any gambling on her boat, and since she has controlling interest it's decided the Hattie Belle will be carrying various cargo instead of gamblers.
I found this story to be quite a fun read, I loved all the characters, and I loved how Diane and Aaron brought them all to life. The storyline was easy to follow and I found myself quite drawn into it. I also enjoyed the way that Blake was shown the way to Christ. There were a few unexpected surprises and a lot of moments of wondering how it was going to end. All in all I greatly enjoyed it and would love to read more by these authors in the future.
I would like to say thank you to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for giving me an arc in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Steamboat, Business Rivalry Romance = Great Fun

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver in their new book, “Lily” Book One in the Song Of The River series published by Barbour Publishing, Inc. takes us into the life of Lily Anderson on a steamboat on the Mississippi in 1858.
From the back cover: Natchez Belle’s Hopes and Dreams Ride on the Mississippi
Lily Anderson longs for a life of adventure, steaming down the Mississippi on a riverboat. But her relatives, wanting her to secure a future for herself and her two younger sisters, are intent on Lily marrying well and forgoing any chance of living out her dream. When a loveless match seems inevitable, Lily makes a last-ditch effort to avoid losing her freedom forever by purchasing the steamship Hattie Belle from the father of debonair Jean Luc Champney–unaware that her precious dowry garners only partial ownership of the vessel.
Roguish gambler Blake Matthews’ dreams are finally beginning to take shape after a night of card playing won him the title to the Hattie Belle. But Blake’s brimming confidence in a successful venture is dampened when he meets his new partner–Lily.
As their riverboat enterprise erupts into turmoil, can Lily and Blake discover that God is the One they can count on when all else fails? Will the siren song of the river evolve into a serenade or a somber lament?
When I get to New Orleans one of the first things I am going to do is take a steamboat cruise on the Mississippi. The pacing is slow, there is the sound of the paddlewheel and there is the feeling of romance as you cruise by the cities and states of the South on the Big Muddy. Diane T. Ashley and Aaron McCarver return us to a South that doesn’t exist anymore with absolutely interesting characters interacting aboard a steamboat. Ms. Ashley and Mr. McCarver know how to tell a great story because they have filled it with tension. Blake and Lily do not get along, each one wants something different for the ship and Jean Luc Champney wants the title he lost to the ship back no matter what it takes. On top of all this romance is beginning between Blake and Lily and there is the danger that someone is trying to stop the business that Blake and Lily are trying to build. Many kudos to Ms. Ashley and Mr. McCarver for a truly memorable, fun book, I was sorry to see it end. The good news is Book Two in this series is not far away. And I am guessing that the focus will be on Lily’s sisters. I can hardly wait.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing, Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Most Delightful Summer Read! (4.5 stars)

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Lily, co-authors Diane Ashley and Aaron McCarver, sweep us away to historical Natchez, Mississippi; replete with southern plantations, steamboats, magnificent balls, and the bustling sights and smells of the Mississippi River.
Lily Anderson and her two younger sisters, live with their grandmother, aunt and uncle on Les Fleurs Plantation, after the tragic death of their mother, and the abandonment of their father. Lily is feeling forced by her aunt and uncle to marry someone unsuitable, and concocts an incredible scheme...to leave the plantation and live where she has dreamed of living ever since she was a child-on the river in a steamship. She talks her grandmother into giving her her inheritance, and purchases the Hattie Belle, unaware that she is half owner with none other than the gambler, Blake Matthews!
Lily and Blake butt heads immediately as Lily wants to deliver cargo such as corn and sugarcane, whereas Blake wants to use it to create the biggest and best riverboat gambling casino on the Mississippi. Although Blake has beautiful, mesmerizing blue eyes, Lily has no intention of ever trusting another man after the abandonment of her father. But, when the wealthy and handsome, Jean Luc, begins to show an interest in Lily, has she finally found a man she can trust? And who becomes the captain of the Hattie Belle?...threatening to turn her world upside down? And who is out to destroy the Hattie Belle's business and why?
Ever since I watched the musical, Showboat, on tv years ago, I have loved the southern river settings with the steamboats and the big paddle wheels! This is my first novel by Diane Ashley and Aaron McCarver and it certainly did not disappoint. With wonderful main characters, and equally charming secondary characters, I was entranced to the very end! I loved the romantic tension between the main characters throughout the story, and the romance between Lily's slave and a crew member on the Hattie Belle stole my heart. A story of love, forgiveness, and salvation, the satisfying conclusion is guaranteed to leave you reaching for the tissues.
I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good story line

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the idea of this book from the second I read the description. A girl owning a steamship, what fun! After a slow beginning the book really includes some fun adventures.
Lily does not want to marry unless it is for love. Running away from a proposed loveless marriage she uses her money to buy a steamship. What she does not realize is that money has only bought her half ownership, now she shares the ship with gambling man Blake Matthews. Will they work well together? Will they find love together or will Lily be tricked into a relationship she will not be happy in?
Overall the book was entertaining. I liked the setting, as I have not read many books set along the river like this one was. I thought the characters were described well and their actions followed their personalities. I gave this book 4/5 stars because although the setting was great, some of the dialog dragged the story down.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lily - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lily

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
In 1858 Natchez, Mississippi, Lily Anderson is determined to thwart a marriage of convenience. She embarks on a riverboat venture to keep her and her two sisters afloat financially. But gambler Blake Matthews has won part ownership of lily's riverboat. How will their business profit if he and the feisty Mississippi miss disagree about almost everything? The affluent jean Luc Champney will do anything to get back what he lost in a card game, including wooing and endangering the pretty new owner. Will the siren song of the river evolve into a serenade or a somber lament?
My Thoughts:
I loved reading this book. I must admit that the cover didn't really draw me in, but as I started reading, I got interested very quickly. The author does a great job pulling the reader into the story and making you feel invested in her characters.
Lily is a great main character. She is spunky, funny, determined and strong. Blake is the perfect counterpart to her characteristics. I laughed out loud at them sometimes, picturing them arguing or working together.
I love books that have a theme of redemption and forgiveness. This book reminds us that no one is past being saved and no family struggle is beyond healing. God is big enough to fix any mess we find ourselves in during our lives.
I love that this is going to be a series and I even have a guess as to who the next main characters will be. I love when an author sets you up for the next book. It is one I will be watching for, for sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.