Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version

Zondervan Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version

For its 75th anniversary in 2000, one of the all-time best-selling biblical reference works has been redesigned for increased clarity, accessibility, and usability! Dr. Henry Halley's indispensable Bible companion now features:
  • updated and expanded archaeological material
  • simplified church history
  • improved indexes
  • new maps, illustrations, and photographs (black-and-white)
  • Bible reading plans
  • helpful tips for Bible study
  • NIV text
You'll develop an appreciation for the cultural, religious, and geographic settings in which the story of the Bible unfolds. You'll see how its different themes fit together in a remarkable way. And you'll see the heart of God and the person of Jesus Christ revealed from Genesis to Revelation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Review 1 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Contains great tools to help with study

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jim Brady
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent referrence book
Contains great tools to help with study
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for the price

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tom Trost
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has information I have not found in some of my other resources.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book will not remain open for quick reference.

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bastazo
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used the original version published decades ago and the design was more user friendly. ie you didn't have to hold it open with both hands. The new version is full of detail and information but would suggest it be bound in a bit larger sized format. This is particularly important when working on a paper on my LT.
If you can find an original copy of Halley's you won't need the new version. The content is and always has been excellent no matter which version you use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Johnny Moscow
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bible filled with pictures and information. Very thick. =)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angelica Sato
The Halley's Bible is so perfect for me that want to understand more about my study Bible class. All the details of every book of the Bible has a clear explanation and all the characters of the Bible are well introduced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Parker
I have been using Halley's for most of my Christian life and highly recommend it. I especially like this updated version. I wish it opened a little flatter- my old hands have a hard time keeping it open.I bought my first Halley's in the 1950's. Next to the Bible my favorite book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mimi
I REALLY LIKE THIS HAND BOOK. IT HAS MAPS,PICTURES AND MAKES IT EASIER FOR ME TO UNDERSTAND THE BIBLE.MY BIBLE STUDY TEACHER RECOMMENDED IT TO OUR STUDY GROUP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sher
I LOVE this book, the chapters on why you should read the Bible and worshiping and everything are so cool, and the Bible Study setup is neat too. It has tons of maps and pictures as well... Check it out, you'll love it =) I was suprised to find myself so enthralled with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.