Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Press Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines

Christian Liberty Press Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines

In this workbook, an emphasis is placed on the need for young people to develop an understanding of basic Bible doctrine. Students are not only presented with important facts and truths from the Bible; they are also provided with a wealth of personal examples from the lives of God's people that illustrate the truths they need to comprehend. Studying God's Word Book B also contains helpful catechism drill and memory work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Review 1 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
4 little hoots
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this book and so does my daughter, however she wishes there were more activities to do. We bought her book b and her older brother book C. Book C has activities to complete with each lesson and book B does not. Also it is written for you to do together with your child. Book C can be independly done by the child.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky Freund
Location:Midlothian, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this book. My daughter enjoys it also. I like that it includes catechism along with the doctrinal teaching.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ms Liz
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very excellent Bible study or Sunday school workbook on the basic truths of God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy B
I purchased this item because I really enjoyed the books E-H for my older son, so I wrongly assumed that these books would be just at "deep" although on a first grade level. The first day has a catechism drill and the fifth day has an activity to do that is more suited for a classroom not a homeschool. I think my son needs more memory verses and just really don't like this book. The other 3 three have your read verses that my son(advanced age 6) just doesn't understand. My friend also has the same complaints about this book. I will need to supplement but will use the other books I mentioned in the future. I would not recommend this at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amie
My 5-year-old daughter loves this series! We finished Book A and B in one school year and she is begging for more! She loves that she can read the book herself and she looks forward to the activities in each lesson. It is very reasonably priced and easy to teach. We are both eager to move on to Book C in the fall.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki Jepsen
My son and I loved this catechism. It was just what he needed for 1st grade and helped him to understand that a covenant is a promise, and grace is what is extended to us. We loved the memorization and he can still answer the questions a year later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shara
I absolutely LOVE this bible curriculum. It creates a dialogue between my children and I that allows my children (who are 4-8) to truly understand the subject matter. This curriculum does require that it be taught by an adult but I don't mind that. In fact I think it's essential at this stage of learning. Ultimately I feel that "Studying God's Word" will enable my children to eventually have a solid foundation of biblical knowledge so that once that are of age they will know God and his Word for themselves. What more can I ask for as a parent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jaime
This workbook goes through the catechism which I found helpful even though I'm not a catechism person. The lessons are broken down into five parts, so there is a little bit to work on each day of the week. It is heavy on the doctrines of creation and sin, which is refreshing in our christian-lite days. However, it is too hard for a first grader to do unless some serious teacher time is given to each lesson. There is just no way they can grasp the fulness of what is being taught there--I am currently teaching "covenant" and "grace" to my adult class, and they barely get it! Even though the exercises are easy, I think this book is better for second and third graders at least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anne
The scope and sequence are good. However, the reading in the lessons is not for first graders. I don't regret using it this year but am looking for child-friendlier Bible studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Clemins
This is a great Bible study for children. My 7 year old son really enjoys it and is learning so much about God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2005
Customer Avatar
Carla Rolfe
This book, and the whole series, has been such a blessing to our homeschool. I cannot recommend it enough, for parents that desire a simple, effective and Biblically sound course, for their young ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Studying God's Word B: Basic Christian Doctrines
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2005
This is our favorite series for Bible study in the younger grades. These go up to grade 7 and are very meaty. This particular title begins some serious discussion with little ones. We used this series both for school and family devotions. CLP materials are so inexpensive and CBD makes the bargain even better! The quality is still fabulous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.