Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire

Zondervan Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire

What is Brooklyn Tabernacle's secret to success? In Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire Jim Cymbala provides a one-word answer: prayer. In this powerful volume Pastor Cymbala will show you how passionate, persistent prayer transforms individuals, revives churches and revitalizes communities. Drawing on the teaching of scripture, his own experience and the collected wisdom of the great revivalists, Pastor Cymbala seeks to fan your passion for prayer into a flame. Take this opportunity to learn how to listen to God's voice and prayerfully depend upon God!
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Review 1 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
This review is fromFresh Wind, Fresh Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just great

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Godshomerun
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel that we have gotten away from our Christian roots and this book took me back. I feel the share of experiences was great and an encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

will read more of cymbala

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
terri
Location:saugerties ny
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The items I've purchased were priced right. The book was compelling. I'm now a Jim Cymbala fan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard about Jim Cymbala long before I read this book. Many had recommended this book to me and over time became more eager to read it. To confess, when I read a book by a Pentecostal/Charismatic author, I get a bit nervous, even though I consider myself Charismatic in my theology. I think of the guys and gals on T.V. and all the junk they write, that is what I expected. But to my surprise, once I started his book Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire, I didn’t want to put it down.
Jim Cymbala has been the pastor of Brooklyn Tabernacle for over thirty-five years. He has seen and experienced much in those years at a church located in an area full of poverty, drug use, and prostitution amongst other evils. He is passionate, has a wife who loves God and uses worship to express that love, and has a church that has a burden for those in the churches community struggling under the weight of sin.
This book details the many experiences the church has had under his leadership. You will read of those mentioned above being delivered from those sins, wonderful church growth and personal struggles and victories on an amazing level.
This book isn’t so much of a how-to book but a book on what can happen when a church seeks God in prayer and devotes themselves to His mission. He explains how the church has a weekly prayer night every Tuesday. It began with a modest size group but has grown to the thousands each Tuesday. They give thanks, intercede and give supplications for any and all needs brought to the church during the week and any discussed that night.
The results are nothing but miraculous. The story that touched me most was the story of how his daughter who had ran from God for years came back to the faith in a dramatic way. Another story he writes is one of man who came to the prayer meeting that at the end came up to Cymbala, who thought that the homeless man only wanted money but only wanted prayer. I could go on.
Some things that his church does has peeked my interest - the weekly prayer meeting I previously mentioned and how they have a group of people praying during the church service for the service and those in attendance. The thought of having prayer warriors praying during the service is real exciting. We are in a spiritual battle and those prayers could make the difference.
With all of that said there is one main issue I have with the book and that is the emphasis Cymbala places on prayer during the church service over all other activities, including preaching. He quotes Matthew 21:13 where Christ says that His house shall be called a house of prayer not a house of preaching. Which is a good point. But he never addresses Acts 5:42 where Luke writes the following, “And every day, in the temple and from house to house, they did not cease teaching and preaching that the Christ is Jesus.” Notice that when that when the apostles went to the church (temple) this text says that they did not cease to preach. This happened every day. Doesn’t this show how important preaching is? Doesn’t this show us what the main purpose was when the apostles went to church? I believe so and it was preaching. Please understand that I am not devaluing praying, I just want to view it and preaching the way Scripture does.
That disagreement doesn’t diminish my appreciation for this book and how encouraged I was from it. There are many chapters (The Lure of Novelty; The Lure of Marketing; The Lure of Doctrine Without Power to name a few) that I have been meditating on since I finished.
If you or your church need to be reignited, if you or your church haven't experienced God move in mighty ways in quite some time, you need to read this book. It won’t disappoint.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very inspiring! It encouraged me in the way I expected it to. Jim Cymbala is such an inspiration to the average Christian person, as he was such when he was called into ministry. He does a good job at bringing the attitude of Christ into the here and now! He shows us, once again, that today's Jesus is the same and desires to do the same kind of miracle he did in his earthly ministry, what we need is the faith to believe! this book also reminded me of the great power of a praying church! Amazing! This is on my "re-read once a year" list.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
REN NEE REN
Location:Bronx NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will inspire and encourage you to cry out to God for His will to be done in all mankind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
iris
Location:lapel in
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a wonderful book, it is a story of faith and deep prayer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book is an inspiration.

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mickey
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using the book in our weekly Bible Study. The focus on the power of prayer is definitely an inspiration that teaches lessons in our prayer life and our dependence on God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Way to Fan the Flame

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathrae
Location:Southern Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really speaks to the bouts each of us struggle in the arena of discouragement. It teachs how to wait on the Lord and see victory through Christ when all hope seems gone. Excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The most powerful tool imaginable

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jo-anne Low
Location:New South Wales, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire has given me a desire to persevere in prayer and to truly call on the Lord. God wants to do an abundant work in our lives and in the lives of those around us and He has given us the most powerful tool imaginable - Prayer!
The personal stories woven throughout the book are very inspiring. I was deeply moved by the amazing way God completely turned lives around in answer to prayer.
Any church which desires to see growth should read this book. Before you put your plans and programs in place learn God's method first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! What A Great Book!

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Kee
Location:Lompoc, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was just what I needed. I encouraged me in areas of my spiritual walk that I needed encouraged in. Thanks so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an amazing book.

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
iowaporter
Location:Van Meter, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been around for awhile. I'm just now getting around to reading it. With so much Christian "self-help" out there, this book is a refreshing change. Focus on prayer. Dependence on God. No tricks or techniques. Just a great testimony of how God worked through faithful servants.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I appreciate the honesty of Jim Cymbala.

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trygve Forsythe
Location:Bridger, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anyone who reads Jim Cymbala's book must feel his honesty and his witness. His witness comes out in his writing and in his DVDs. This to me is how Christianity will be spread is from the heart and life of Christians. Jim's witness is powerful and inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to inspire your prayer life!

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're using this for our small group to encourage and motivate our prayer life as a group and as individuals. Captivating to read. Everyone keeps reading ahead because they can't put it down!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic book on prayer

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mobilizer
Location:Loveland, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We buy this book to give to inquires in our church's new member class. It is a great introduction to what the Holy Spirit can and will do with a church that really focuses on prayer -- the first priority of The Church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is excellent

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Albemarle,North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. Excellent reminder of the importance of prayer. Very powerful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
This review is fromFresh Wind, Fresh Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh Wind Fresh Fire by Jim Cymbala

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammy Lynn Rivard
Location:Ishpeming, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome book....it launched the prayer ministry at my church. Powerful and positively written....God is given the glory for this ministry.....prayer does work....lives are changed....and it puts things in perspective......Give it to God......HE HANDLES IT.....blessings to all who read this book...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for Small Groups

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
sg ldr
Location:Bryan, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has become one of the most popular books for Small Groups we have used. It has a very good message for any church, easy to read and creates good discussion for our groups. As a result of this book, a renewed emphasis on prayer has developed in the church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marie Christensen
An excellent book - one that every Christian should read. I recommend any book that changes me and this one puts a magnifying glass on the prayers of God's people, the church, and my own prayer life. If prayer is just a discipline and nothing more, you have not come to a place where you are moved to pray and you desire nothing but to talk to God about everything!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Lennard
What an amazing book. A great reminder of God's power, love and faithfullness to His people. Thank you Pastor Cymbala for reminding us that the power of our Christian life is comes from prayer, connecting to the Holy Spirit. This book is a must read for all, especially pastors and ministry leaders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Waddingham
Have you ever wondered if God is really alive and personal? This book will encourage you, excite you and make you want to be part of the Family of God. A true story of God's grace and hand moving in the Kingdom He created. It also shows how when we submit to the Lord's plan and listen to His voice...God can use us in mighty ways. Are you ready to experience God on a whole new level? Read this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.