Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament

Thomas Nelson Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament

In a unique blend of pertinent information and inspiration, this commentary sheds light in a fresh way on the timeless truths of God's Word. Courson has amassed a wealth of interesting topics in a very readable and comfortable expositional style. He combines a thorough and comprehensive teaching of every paragraph of Scripture in the New Testament along with practical in-depth topical studies. His unique ability to articulate insightful spiritual truths with valid life applications makes this commentary a valuable tool for anyone who wants to be a witness for Jesus Christ in the twenty-first century and for those who teach from the pulpit each week.

Jon Courson is an Associate Pastor to Chuck Smith at Calvary Chapel in Costa Mesa, California. Calvary Chapel is a worldwide ministry with 25,000 members, more than 1200 churches in the United States, and 2,500 churches worldwide. He is the author of more than 1,500 Bible teachings, devotional writings, and topical studies as well as A Future and a Hope and A Place for You. Pastor Jon's Searchlight Radio program is heard around the world.

Features:

  • verse by verse devotional exposition
  • 179 Topical studies/sermons laced throughout the commentary
  • background illustrations and colorful information
  • relevant and vivid insights
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Review 1 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tim Meister
Location:Little Rock, Ar
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've enjoyed listening to Jon's sermons on line for years. The same teaching is in his commentaries, it even has several "topical studies". Great material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MY VIEWS

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
packstitcher
Location:OAK HILLS, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS BOOK HAS HELPED ME WITH EXTRA DETAILS FOR BIBLE STUDY. THERE ARE INTERESTING DETAILS THAT YOU DON'T GET IN YOUR BIBLE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was an amazing value.

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
peggy2myfriends
Location:Hesperia, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a treasure trove of information. I used it for a home Bible study we have at our house, and it was a real blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding material

Date:January 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This was ordered for my son who is studying for ministry. The reference is very helpful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ken Banks
All three of these Bibles are awesome, I have a lot of information on the computer but you need to read a book and a friend in Florida gave me these Title's and I love them they are awesome. so informative Jon Courson's is an awesome read can't put it down. It is a 10***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dennis Liebersbach
We are very young in our walk. I am not a great reader and struggle with comprehension. I do struggle with the NKJ bible and even purchased a NLT version a couple years ago to help. For some reason it is on my heart to learn to read the NKJ version. I actually missed the fact that Jons commentary was the King James version which normally would be of no use to me, only because I struggle so much with Old English. That being said, I am really enjoying this commentary. It is really speaking to me and with all the commentary it is helping me to learn Old English and even understand the word even more so. I normally start with my Word For Today from Chuck Smith and toggle back and forth between these two, Jons Commentary and Chuck Smiths The Word For Today.Many thanks!God Bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Don Beers
After having spent 15 years at the Applegate Christian Fellowship and then moving to Florida, reading this commentary by Jon is like "being home" again. The most valuable resource I own; I keep this commentary next to my bible and refer to it often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Courson's Application Commentary on the New Testament
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2004
Customer Avatar
Donnalynn Sprague
I am just digging into this and I am just amazed. Pastor Courson's teaching style of making difficult concepts simple and relevant to all walks of life comes through loud and clear without proffering the message of God's Word. His love for God's unaltered Word comes through. You feel like you are there while these events happened and seeing the various authorss writing every word!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.