Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3

Zondervan Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3

On a lovely evening in Kanner Lake, realtor Carla Radling shows an "English gentleman" a lakeside estate---and finds herself facing a gun. Somebody wants her dead! On the run, Carla uncovers secrets from her past that could destroy some very powerful people. What can stop the assassins from trying again?
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Review 1 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can you say heart-pumping action? This third book in the Kanner Lake Series will grab a hold of your attention and not let go until the last page is turned. This story only has a few scenes in Kanner Lake, but focuses on one of the residents, Carla Radling.
Carla Radling has been hiding in Kanner Lake for 10 years. No one knows anything about her past and that’s the way she likes it. She has a client interested in some real estate, so she agrees to meet him one evening at the property to take a walk through. The next thing she knows he pulls a gun on her, telling her he is a hit man! She manages to escape and then is on the run. Why is someone out to kill her? Why now? She promised she would never tell her secret and she has kept her promise. Carla can’t go to her friends or the police as the hit man knows all about them and has threatened to kill them if Carla asks them for help. She starts driving with no real destination in mind.
While on the run, Carla relives her painful memories from a time when she was 16 years old and wanted to be somebody because her mom always told her she was nothing. Note: There is a recounting of a scene where two people are in a sexual situation. No specific details are mentioned, but I did want to make readers aware of this. Carla feels God is punishing her for her choices made so long ago. What is she going to do now? She can’t outrun the hit man forever, and he won’t give up. Should she go to the police and/or the press and tell them the whole sordid story? Her life will be ruined along with a lot of other peoples’ lives. Will she learn about the God of forgiveness and ask Him for the same?
The dialogue is snappy and quick and sometimes humorous. The tension and suspense will keep you spellbound. The plotline has some surprising twists and turns. I enjoyed seeing characters from the previous two books appear again in this third book. I can’t wait to start reading the fourth book in the series, Amber Morn. I highly recommend this book and this entire series. Brandilyn knows how to write to grab the reader’s attention and not let go until the conclusion. Great story Brandilyn!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From beginning to end this book kept me guessing

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
rnut
Location:Canton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The chapters were short enough to give me time to break when needing to, but each chapter left a hint of more mystery. I found a correlation to the message re: faith and how God was in control no matter how difficult life can be. The price was right and I received my shippment quickly. I had 2 books in the series but could not find the other 2 and was pleased with the service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lori Barbieri
This book was so outstanding you could hardly put it down. Absolutely excellent and riveting. Hint - when ordering just go ahead and get the entire series. That way youdon't have to wait for the next one and you save money with shipping too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Hi, my name is Tracy, and Im a Brandilyn addict! I have finished the book Crimson Eve, which is the third in the Kanner Lake Series by Brandilyn Collins. Brandilyn is known for her trademark Seatbelt Suspense and with Crimson Eve she did not disappoint.This was masterfully written, fast-paced and completely engaging. While it is a continuation of the Kanner Lake series, it differs in that it does not spend much time in Kanner Lake. Carla, the main character, is on the run, hiding from a dangerous man who is desperate to eliminate any possibility of a past secret coming to light. The story is brilliantly woven together with the threads of power and politics, ambition and conspiracy, and deception and betrayal. To the very last moment it was impossible to predict. This really was a thrilling and gripping. Its time now for me to get my next fix. Amber Morn, Im coming for you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Leaphart
I loved this book. The author grabbed my attention from the beginning and it was an "I can't put it down" kind of read. Great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dietz
This was another edge-of-your-seat book from Brandilyn Collins. A review of the first two books would have been helpful. It has been awhile since I read them, and this book refers to them repeatedly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
This book is by far one of the most action-packed novels I had read in a long time. From the very first sentence the reader is dragged into the action and it doesnt slow down until the final sentence. Brandilyn Collins has proven that each successive book in a series can get better than the previous one.Carla Radling, who readers will remember as the real estate agent from the first two Kanner Lake novels, takes front and center in this book. Eagerly anticipating the sale and commission from the Edna Sans Estate, she meets a handsome British man on the property to close the deal. What she is unaware of is the deal that is to be closed is her life. As she stands face to face with her would-be assassin, she knows that her past has come back to haunt her.Thus begins the exciting journey or secrets kept, stories told and fabricated, and powerful people unwilling to let anything block the road to success. As Carla runs away from Kanner Lake and all of her potential helpers, she also unravels her hidden past.A new cast of characters as well as the familiar ones from Kanner Lake play vital roles in finding and saving Carla. Brandilyn created a world of politics, intrigue and danger. Check your calendar and be sure you are free, because you will not want to put this book down until it is finished.And yes, friends, you will need to remember to breathe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Terry Rode
Very good. Hard to put down. It drew me in right from the start. I can't wait to read Amber Dawn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beverly Rempel
I truely enjoyed this book. Collins changed the format of the book and it was a refreshing change from being able to predict where she was going and when.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Winnie Hines
As usual this was fantastic...Edge of seat reading. I have read all of Branydilyn Collins books, NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED. I look forward to the next one. What a wonderful gift she has. Thanks again for a wonderful read...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Plain and simple, this story blew me away. The suspense had me anxious through the majority of the story. If I bit my nails they would've been chewed to the quick. Carla's tragedy and heartache kept me turning the pages. So many lies, so much pain, and such an awesome tale that I will be thinking for months about the ramifications of the plot that kept my head spinning. This was an incredible tale of intrigue and deception, lust and greed, power and evil personified.Crimson Eve was an awesome story crafted with the best suspense I've ever read. Brandilyn has created a masterpiece with this novel and her insight into the heart and wickedness of man is impressive. I'm truly amazed at how much I learned from the hard lessons that Carla endured. And in regards to in-your-face edgy content, this story packs a powerful punch. I can't recommend this story highly enough. It's downright fabulous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lynetta
As a fan of the Kanner Lake series, I eagerly anticipated the release of Crimson Eve, and I was not disappointed at all. Brandilyn's talent for weaving threads of deep spiritual truth into nail-biting stories shines even more in this, the third book of the series.Carla Radling, Kanner Lake's beloved realtor, must face a horrendous past in the midst of a deadly present. Cut off from all who can help her, she must try to survive long enough to find out why someone would want to kill her.This is a fast-paced read. I recently took a quick airline trip and finished the whole thing on the plane and during layovers. I could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Fasten your seat belts for another great ride with Brandilyn Collins in Crimson Eve. From the first moment when Carla Radling realizes her life is in danger from the secrets of her past to the moment of conclusion, you are caught up in the intricacies only Brandilyn can devise. With Carla on the run, her friends in Kanner Lake seek to find her and help her escape whatever it is that is driving her away from them. The closer you think you are to the truth, another twist is thrown in to drive you off track. How it all comes together makes for a truly satisfying ending, but do expect a few dead bodies along the way. Fast paced action and characters give this novel all the ingredients for a wild, but satisfying journey back to Kanner Lake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kim
This book was awesome. I could not put it down. I was unable to put it down. I don't usually spend all day reading, but I had to finish this book. I was expecting a great novel and I was not disappointed. It had all the hallmarks of a great suspense, plus a strong woman to tell the tale. I felt like it was happening to me. Kudos to Brandilyn Collins for delivering another heart-stopper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Crimson Eve, Kanner Lake Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Warning! Do not pick up this book unless you have time to read it straight through. Brandilyn's books have never disappointed me, but this one was simply impossible to put down. Even when I figured out one of the plot points with 100 pages left I could not put this book down! Crimson Eve is a classic woman in jeopardy story with plenty of twists ala Seatbelt Suspense. I have read all of Brandilyn's suspense, but can't think of one that has the tight timeline combined with knowing who the villain is. Usually in her books, the reader races to figure out who did it before the heroine stumbles in to harm's way. And Violet Dawn had an extremely tight timeline, but Brandilyn did not reveal the real reason behind the actions until practically the end of the book.This time, the reader knows much sooner exactly what is going on with enough fog to keep us guessing. At the same time, the knowing ratchets up the suspense to new levels.So if you are looking for a suspense that will keep you up until the wee hours of the morning, race out and buy this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.