Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Courtship, Singing River Series #4

Zondervan The Courtship, Singing River Series #4

Surviving the Great Depression even after their father's imprisonment, the Freeman siblings face further challenges when strong-willed Maeva charges to Los Angeles to prove her parent's innocence. And just as Lanie is about to become a published writer, two serious distractions appear in the form of appealing suitors. Will she trust God to guide her?
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Review 1 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Geiger
This book was most fitting to end the series with. Every book in the series was great reading. I throughly enjoyed following the Freeman family thru good and bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Arlene Meyer
Very good series of books by Gilbert Morris. Good story line that keeps you interested from book to book. This family faces a different set of circumstances than has been addressed in other books. It shows how a family can overcome trials if they rely on God and work together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Felicia Brown
The story was well written and held my attention. In fact, I found myself laughing out loud at some of the antics of the Freeman family. Overall a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judith Jordan
Once again, Gilbert Morris has written an excellent book which chronicles the life of Lanie and her family as well as the Depression era. The entire Singing River series is wonderful reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dallas Decker
Always enjoy Gilbert Morris' books. This one is great. Makes you laugh, cry, and rejoice. Ties all the loose ends of the series together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
The Mustard Seed
I love this series. I hope Morris continues on with it. He tells these stories so that you feel you know this family and what happens to them matters to you. I want to see what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Iris Lundt
I could't wait to get this book. The whole series is very good & hard to put down. Iris Lundt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Courtship, Singing River Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2007
I felt that this was the best book of the series. A lot of the characters came around full circle in this book. I really liked the change in Maeva the best. She started off as a really rebellious character who hated being tied down and told what to do. Then she changed and even brought along one of the town's misfits with her. Her conversion is not dramatic or unrealistic. It is a gradual change which is more believable.Many loose ends are tied up in this book. Lanie's father for example finally is released from prison due to the confession of a witness. I don't know why but I knew as soon as I read about Lanie's father getting out of jail and then getting hurt that he would be rescued by a woman named after a state. Well luckily, even though this is a plot that has been used in another Morris book before, it's written differently and I enjoyed it. Although I didn't realize Lanie's dad was so young. She's almost 20 and he's still in his 30s. I will say though that I was thrilled to read about how people were trying to calm down Cody's overzealous zeal on Christianity. I felt how he was going at it was harming more people than actually leading them to Christ. I was afraid that the characters in the book would just let him because he was happy about being a Christian. It was very satisfying to read though that they felt the same way I did and finally did something about it. I felt like the reader knew all along who Lanie was going to end up with. Relationships with the other two men seemed to be superficial and you felt bad for them because they were nice guys. I also felt kind of sad that Pastor Colin wasn't a main character like he had been in the first book. I would have liked to read more about his and Louise's relationship and what became of it. It would also have been fun to read more about how this new blended family will become. However, this was an enjoyable end to the series. If you are a Morris fan, you will enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.