Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Faith & Doubt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Faith & Doubt

We all have doubts, even if we don't want people to know about them. It can be difficult to reconcile the evil we see in the world with a truly loving God. In "Faith & Doubt" author and pastor John Ortberg explores his own doubts and the observations of philosophers and theologians to discover when doubt becomes an obstacle to faith, and when it helps you grow. See how your questions and uncertainty can lead to a deeper trust in Jesus. Formerly published as Know Doubt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Faith & Doubt
Review 1 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JTV1
Location:Tipton, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really helped me. I was struggling with a lot of doubt and this book showed me that its ok to have doubt and that it can actually help your faith grow. There is a lot of humor in the book too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is those searching

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Connecticut
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are searching and need answers this book is the one for you. Even Christ had a few moments of doubt. Since we are God's children why should we be any different. Living a life of only doubt is not living. Living a life of faith is living. Doubt keeps us moving forward - keeps us looking - building faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for those struggling with doubt.

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location:Lawrenceville, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to people struggling with doubt from time to time. Excellent read, reaching the doubter in a gentle and non-offensive way and strengthening the faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good reading for believers AND unbelievers

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maezy
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every Christian should read this book, as we all wrestle with our daily doubts, Ortberg helps us to understand and accept our disappointments in both God and in others, those things that bring doubt. After I finish with the book, I plan to send it on to a family member with addiction problems, I think many things will speak to him in this publication.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little difficult to get started but very good o

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fran
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book was a little difficult to get into at first, but afterward
was very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith and Doubt

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dee Cee
Location:Memphis, TN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must-read for every Christian who has ever had doubts (& who hasn't!). Easy read, Biblical references galore, & a terrific message.
Highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for those of us who struggle with doubt.

Date:November 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
james
Location:Clifton, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ortberg takes a very honest approach in this book. Acknowledges that there are - and always will be - many unanswerable questions. Admits his own doubts and struggles with the inconsistencies of answered prayer. However, he also acknowledges that faith and doubt can coexist, and builds a strong case for how it is still possible for us to grow even in the midst of significant doubt.
I highly recommend this book for all who struggle with doubt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great read for our Sunday School class and stimulates discussion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Drury
In his typical relaxed, conversational style, complete with quips and illustrations, John Ortberg speaks to the secret doubts that dog even committed believers. He reminds us that no one can be 100% sure of anything he has not personally seen or experienced. The most valuable chapter was "Why I Believe", in which the author lists, in ascending order, the most compelling reasons for his personal faith. Convinced atheists will not be de-convinced, but wavering Christians will be encouraged to know that others, even pastors like John Ortberg, have doubts. He makes the point that uncertainly can lead to deeper faith.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaine Beltman
This book is misleading because it is the paperback version of Faith & Doubt that came out in 2008. Don't waste your money if you already have the hardcover version. The book itself is good, but I don't like it when they put a new cover on and change the name and confuse people.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul ThinkingOutLoud
This is actually the paperback edition of Faith and Doubt, published in hardcover in 2009. I'm sure it's a good book and I'm willing to give it five stars based on Ortberg's approachability as a writer, his reputation as a pastor and his previous books. But I'm not willing to let the product page sit on CBD without containing this information. And there's no other mechanism by which to get this serious oversight fixed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
St. Matthews Episcopal Church
We are using this book as a study in our Women's Groups. All the women really like this book, although "like" may not be the exact right word. The book not only teaches and informs, but it also challenges the reader in very positive fashion. Ortberg does an excellent job with a very difficult yet relevant topic, one that matters to each believer. The believer who says he/she has no doubts is either a saint above the likes of Peter, James and John, or they are simply living with false assumptions somewhere in their life. Ortberg helps us to reconcile faith and doubt, thereby enhancing faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Zina
I feel this is a must-read for EVERYONE whether you're looking to strengthen your faith, develop your faith, or just have questions. Ortberg is as real as it gets. EVERYONE deals with doubts at one time or another, and he does an excellent job at explaining why they don't necessarily have to hinder your progress.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
John approaches this popular subject from a more Christian therapeutic approach. It is interesting and helpful. He seems to be writing with the emergent mindset in view where doubt is elevated to a place of prominence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
jjanis21
I choose this book thinking this is something I was looking for but it took me a while to get into and then stay focused. I understand the whole theory and I guess this would focus on people who maybe are unbelievers. Overall this book has alot of reference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Squier
I read this book from cover to cover and was helped by it. If you do not understand your personal doubts this is very helpful if you read all of it. If you are someone who stops in the middle this is probably not your book. yYou need to read it all to get to the real point of the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Fliris
The book is really insightful about understanding that doubt is something that is shared by most of Gods children. And it reflects on new Christians and their new faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Kennedy
Classic Ortberg. Written with transperancy, honesty, and conviction. More of a conversation than an argument; more of a dialog than a sermon. He draws on numerous resources, but in the end, he bets the farm on his faith in Jesus Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Faith & Doubt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Archabald
John Ortberg has a way of articulating thoughts that every Christian has. This book should be required reading for all people who struggle with doubt, which in all honestly is all pilgrims on their walk of faith!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.