Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Berkley Trade A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13

Berkley Trade A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13

Adele Morgan has made a few mistakes in her life. After a serious medical scare, she realizes that her greatest regret is that she sat idly by while a petty dispute tore her family apart. She has returned to Cape Light determined to mend the relationship between her feuding sons and bring everyone together for the holidays; a daunting challenge even for a mother's brave and loving heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Review 1 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the series and can't wait until I can get #14 in paperback.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very common problem among families

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
GOD sent nurse
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the story very much because it is so common among families. We don't realize what we do effects events down the road in our life. The thought of helping the young man was good, but the side effects could have been bad if the Lord had not intervened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Surprise!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike all the former Cape Light books, this one is not completely centered in Cape Light but also on Angel Island. This was a total surprise, as in the past, Angel Island is only mentioned briefly. Maybe this was done to spark the interest of someone who has not already read any of the Angel Island series. Anyway, it was a wonderful story combining both places... a real treat.
I was very moved by the Adele Morgan part of the story. When we meet her, she has come to town to try to bring her two grown sons together after a fall out they had many, many years ago and affects the entire family. The whole situation was very touching and looked like, for most of the book, that it wouldn't be solved. But thankfully, like all the Kinkade/Spencer stories, the happy ending prevails.
We meet Jonathan, a Grad student who comes to Angel Island to research the history behind the story about the 1600 epidemic and subsequent quarantine that supposedly caused mysterious beings to come to the island to care for the sick and dying settlers of Cape Light. He is very skeptical of the "angels story", angels in general, and all things spiritual. He has a real "hum-bug" attitude toward Christmas and everything it means.
Then Jonathan meets the lovely, undergrad, Tess. Their common interest in the angel story sparks a friendship that begins to develop into a romance. But Jonathan is from a rich & influential Boston family, and Tess still has several years of school to complete, so decides that a romance is not such a good idea. However, Jonathan can't get her out of his mind.
The fact that it is Christmas, makes both plots even more special, especially if you, like I, like all things Christmas! The inn keepers on Angel Island, Claire and Lisa, also play an important role in both story lines. We learn that Claire is a fabulous cook, and Lisa, who owns the inn, has a knack for organizing and entertaining large groups that come to have weddings and special parties at the inn. Adele, whose family all live on Cape Light and Jonathan, who is up from Boston are both staying at the inn. You may wonder why Adele is not staying with one of the family members, and that is a great part of this story. But I don't want to tell you too much.
The reason I did not give this book a 5 for the value option is that I feel these Kinkade books are all a little too high priced. I buy them after they are a few years old so I can get a less expensive price on them. But I LOVE these stories and have re-read and shared them over the years.
I recommend this for adult and teen readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
LaVita
Location:Hemphill Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love all books in this series, started with the other series, have them all, once I read the first of this series I was hooked. Excellent story, uplifting, never boring. I usually start one, with intentions to savor, but instead keep reading till finished, then have to wait for next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have not read it yet but expect it to be as good a

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
none
Location:Sooke, B.C., Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not read this book yet but I have read all the previous books of these authors and fully expect this one to be as interesting and engrossing as all the previous ones were.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent visit to Cape Light

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Anne
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad that Katherine Spencer has continued writing these stories about Cape Light even with the passing of Mr. Kinkade..and I hope she continues. Once again, believable people are faced with real life problems, learning to seek after the Lord for help in finding resolutions and living out godly lives. This series is encouraging and inspiring, and for someone who grew up in New England, a trip "home".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
rosita
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the concept of the book. Forgiveness is very important, along with loving your family all the time, no matter what. After all we are only human.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
April
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reading for the holidays or anytime of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunshinegirl
Location:San Augustine, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book as well as all the rest of the Cape Light books. Good reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Season of Angels, Cape Light Series #13
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Meme
Location:Huntingdon, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book again this year. I look forward to the new book book every year and this one didn't disappoint me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.