Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible

Bethany House Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible

Theologian and apologist Norman Geisler has been studying and defending the faith for over forty years. He has written numerous books and is an internationally known speaker and debater. He brings his vast experience to this book, the first volume in a proposed four-volume look at systematic theology, which will examine Christian belief, doctrine and practice.

This book focuses on the philosophical underpinnings of Christianity, and displays Geisler's impressive grasp of the foundations and implications of Christian theology. He examines and defends the philosophical essentials (preconditions) which make Christianity both possible and viable. The preconditions include: the metaphysical, the supernatural, the revelational, the rational, the semantical, the epistemological, the oppositional, the linguistic, the hermeneutic, the historical and the methodological.

In addition to the philosophical foundations and preconditions, Geisler also presents an extensive bibliology, covering important topics like the origin and inspiration of the Bible, its divine nature, how Jesus and the early church viewed and used the Bible, how various Christian traditions view the Bible, and more. He looks at the biblical, historical and theological aspects of Christian doctrine, offering erudite arguments for the historicity of both the Old and New Testament canons. He discusses inerrancy, and canonicity (focusing on formation and development), and includes two appendices on major objections which have been raised against theistic beliefs, and on how we should interpret historical facts.

All told, this volume sets a high standard for the rest of the series to live up to. It can easily stand alone as a thorough introduction to Christian doctrine and practice. If its quality is matched by the rest of Geisler's Systematic Theology series, this set will easily become one of the standards for instruction in systematic theology. This volume belongs in every Christian library.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Review 1 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear and understandable.

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 1st in this series is well organized and follows a logic sequence. This makes topics covered understandable and enjoyable to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jason Kunert
Excellent start to laying a solid foundation to your personal theology. While long, the book is an easy read and is put in language that is easy to follow. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger Luther
I recently purchased Geislers entire four-volume set of Systematic Theology and I must say that my purchase was long overdue. It is of my opinion that this set should be within arm reach of every serious pastor, Biblical researcher, and Christian professor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donnie Gamble
The set is great for the view given as comparisons are made for classes at seminary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brad Ray
Well, what can I say...I have eight other systematic theologies (from Oden to Finney) and I really have been enjoying this 1st volume. In seminary I read portions of Oden, Thomas Aquinas and Calvin, but I have throughly been engaged and have both learned and re-learned a lot from Dr. Geisler.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Regina Shaw
The Systematic Theology Volumes have given me a much more clear understanding of the Christian beliefs. The depth of the study of the doctrine and beliefs has given me a vast revelation of Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bertram Lewis
This book is very thorough and is presented well. The foundations of faith are established very well. I am excited about the material especially the way it is presented. I recommend it to all who desire to understand their faith as it is seen in the world view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Eeli Kaikkonen
Geisler thinks that existence of God can be proved by philosophical arguments. Also in Bibliology his apologetic view is apparent and I must say I'm not convinced. He lacks exegetical respect for the Bible passages he cites, which leads to classical but stupid claims of Bible saying e.g. that the Earth is a ball or that "paths of the seas" (Ps.8:8) is a scientific fact referring to continental self.Geisler is always polemical which may be even entertaining but mostly is irritating. Sometimes I doubt if he gets his opponents right. However, I like his strong opinions about inerrancy. He's very conservative and orthodox and as close to fundamentalism as one can be without being extreme fundamentalist.The book has much discussion about opposing views, which is of course good, but often Geisler tells us needless curiosities like history of Darwin's worldview or wrong prophecies of Dixon the psychic. Also there's very much needless repetition, even word-for-word passages. I think the whole 4-volume series could easily be abridged into one volume.Despite these shortcomings this may be very valuable, especially if you like apologetics and philosophy besides systematic theology. If you have studied them and Inerrancy (from Geisler's books) already, don't buy this. Otherwise go ahead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1: Introduction, Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
D. Cunningham
Articulate and comprehensive, Dr. Geisler takes complex theology and makes it highly readable and understandable. The first of Geisler's 4 volume Magnum Opus will undoubtedly become the standard Evangelical Systematic Theology for the new millennium.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.