Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition

Bethany House Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition

When Jesus "made himself nothing ... taking the nature of a servant," He modeled for all believers true humility. Murray calls this "our true nobility" and "the distinguishing feature of discipleship." In twelve brief but powerful chapters, Murray journeys through Scripture and Christ's life, underscoring the utmost need for humility---as opposed to pride---in the Christian's life. With insightful, penetrating clarity, Murray calls all Christians to turn from pride, empty themselves, and study the character of Christ to be filled with His grace. Often called the best work on humility ever written, this edition has been edited for today's reader.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Review 1 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So valuable for people of our culture

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JanW
Location:Princeton, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In our American culture, it is very easy for us Christians to feel pretty good about ourselves even if we lack in Christ-like qualities such as humility. Our definition of "good" and Christ's are two very different things. A book like this is so valuable in that it "yanks" us out of our complacency and comfort into the reality of Kingdom holiness and Christlikeness. A precious gift reminding us that to reach higher in Him, we must go lower in ourselves.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrew Murray presents humility in an awesome way in this book to help the christian to be more like Christ. It stirs my heart everytime I read the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Snell
This book is rich with scripturally-based teaching on a subject so key to the Christian life, yet often overlooked or misunderstood. The writer beautifully explains what humility is - and isn't, and he expounds on the necessity of it being practiced in order to truly know Christ. It is rich with truths to meditate on, and can be read and digested slowly. In my Christian book library, this tiny book is a sparkling gem.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Verna Riggs
Excellent. Everything I have read by Andrew Murray has given wonderful spiritual insight for every believer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maureen Sim
The information in this book is very counterculture in this "me" generation but is necessary in the life of the Christian who wants to emulate their Lord and make an impact for Jesus. He made Himself nothing so He could be exalted to the highest position.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
V. Cortez
Humility by Andrew Murray has to be the best book on humility ever written!! It is DIVINE!!!(pun-intended) It is so good that I even struggle to review it that I might not represent it well enough. This is a MUST READ !!! It truly is in a class all by itself. I find myself reading it over and over and still receiving amazing revelation. All I can say is this book is ANNOINTED. It speaks to everyone, because as long as we're on earth we are going to have to deal with our self/flesh nature. This book deals with the subject of pride vs. humility; yet it is not condemning in any way. It is in fact very encouraging and refreshing. If you could only purchase one book, let this be the one!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
kyle anthony newby
I call this book a masterpiece. It is concise, well articulated, and profound--as if each word was skillfully placed by the Spirit of the Lord. :) This is a book that you need to let absorb into the very pores of your soul because, although you can read it quickly, it has treasures only unlocked by slow digestion and meditation. And with the short chapters of this book the format is conducive for you to do that. Also, the book is undaunting in length. As you read this book you realize that Andrew Murray isn't dragging on in his dialog but fills this short book with nugget upon nugget, truth upon truth, and thus it is important to encounter this book slowly. He writes from an overflowing cup of knowledge, inscribing the eternal truths of humility with grace and experience. In this book it isn't so much him sharing a spiritual truth in each chapter and then dragging about it, but rather each sentence seems so profound and so "quotable." Each idea seems to be divinely placed, wonderfully complementing the direction of his thought pattern. I love that Andrew Murray only writes what he is led to say and doesn't drag on about it; this book is a highly refined treasure. For many reasons I call this a masterpiece and now, after reading the book, I heartily agree with and understand why Donna Partow writes as she does about this book in her forward to it. It truly is a must-have book and one to be kept close at hand--a book to be scuffed with wear and messy from highlighters, pencils and pens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Phillip Tomasso III
Humility, taut at 110 pages, is more than a philosophical look at a subject. With a Preface by Donna Partow, renowned author of Becoming a Vessel God Can Use, Andrew Murray manages to succinctly, and with thought-provoking efficiency, deliver twelve chapters that, seemingly, completely cover the bases of humility. Biblical verses are clearly the backbone of Murrays writings. It is also clear Murrays admiration of our humble Lord, Jesus Christ. In chapter three Murray writes that Jesus humility was simply the surrender of himself to God, to allow Him to do in Him what He pleased, regardless of what men might say of Him or do to Him.Jesus Christ is often referred to as the Lamb of God. For the longest time, I did not understand the term. In the Old Testament, when people sinned, they needed to make a sacrificial offeringusually a lambto God, to have their sins forgiven. But then God sent his only son, Jesus Christ, to earth as a Man. And as part of His plan, allowed His Son to be crucified for our sins. Jesus became the lamb sacrifice to God, so the God would forgive all of us our sins, past, present and future. This sacrifice inspires people globally to want to be like Jesus. What would Jesus do?The reoccurring message is clear. To have a more personal relationship with God while still alive on earth, the more humble people need to be. Pride is evil. Anything we do should be done in honor of God. 1 John 4:20 says, For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen. If we cannot be humble to the people around us, to strangers, then we cannot be humbled in Gods eyes. Murray writes that (t)he seemingly insignificant acts of daily life are the tests of eternity, because they prove what spirit possesses us. It is in our most unguarded moments that we truly show who we are and what we are made of. To know a truly humble person, you must follow that one in the common course of daily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humility: The Journey Toward Holiness, Updated Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2004
Customer Avatar
Priscilla
I love this book! It is an incredible God inspired, powerful book on the depth and reality of living a humble life. This is definitely a book I recommend to every believer, even those who aren't believers but just want to understand the love of Jesus in a deeper in way. I invite those who want to know the awesome ministry of Jesus and His great love for His/our heavenly Father to read this book. This is a life changing, challenging, and heart wrenching, excellent book! Believe me it will surely be a blessing to your life and relationship with Jesus Christ. May God Bless you and increase your passion to be more like Jesus!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.