Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Press Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition

Christian Liberty Press Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition

This Christian Liberty Nature Reader series is designed not only to improve a child's reading skills and comprehension, but also to increase his understanding of and delight in God's wonderful creation. Children need to see the glory of Christ in all of nature, as it reveals God's eternal wisdom and power. Some of the creatures discussed in this book are: Paper Wasps, Spiders, Butterflies, Honey Bees, Beavers, Ants and Tumblebugs.33 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Review 1 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good reader

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
nemnem
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this reader. Very informative about insects and animals and gives a Godly view or creation. Will be purchasing the rest in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great nature book for our children.

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Murphy
Location:Chloe, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second nature reader by CLP that we have bought. My children love them. I plan to buy all of them. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Educational

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Aurora,IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7-year-old is often reluctant to do her silent reading. These nature readers have sparked her interest so much- she can't wait to read and tell us about what she is learned. What a wonderful way for a young child to get reading practice, while also learning science! These books helped me to discover that she prefers non-fiction reading to fiction. Tremendous value!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WE love these readers

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
mommy9
Location:MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reading practice, as well as great science information. I love having the kids tell me stuff that I din't teach them. They learn so much from these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Information may have errors

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
janice
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the format of the book, but was disappointed that in earlier editions of the book the information was not always correct (example: spiders are called insects, but they are not). This makes me question what incorrect information may be contained in the current editions in those areas that I have limited knowledge. Although I liked the book, I now question the accuracy of the information.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Wyne
I bought all 5 books as a set for a great price. However, it didn't say in the description if the workbook & test packet came with it. I didn't know until I received them that they did not come with it. Still a good price though, and I'll just get the workbooks & test packets somewhere else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Krista
Christian Liberty Nature Readers are a must for your children! There is no fluff in these books, just straightforward nature study. There are also very simple yet detailed pictures of each animal/insect discussed that are very well done. Book 2 and up have approximately 10 review questions at the end of each section. We enjoy either going outside and finding what was learned or looking at pictures/videos of them online. My children are bummed that I only let them read one per year, but I want to stretch them as long as possible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
EB
I just began reading this with my 4 and 9 year old. It provides alot of information without being overwhelming or losing the child's interest. The insects described are given a friendly title (such as Mrs. Spider caring for her babies) and the role of God in creating the design for the animal's behavior is incorporated into the text. (I think this would be especially good for a child with a phobia of insects.) My nine year old could read this by himself easily. There are enough pictures to satisfy the kids while reading the text. This was a good purchase. I look forward to reading the other volumes with my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wenddie Mikulcik
This is a great book full of info, my kids would rather have me read it to them, rather than reading it themselves they are 4 & 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristen Cragin
I thought there would be bigger animals discussed in this book as well, like chipmunks, skunks, etc. . . so while I think the subject matter is lacking a bit, what is covered is covered very well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
HSmom3
My 6 year old son and I are both very pleased with this book! It is filled with so much information. We have read about paper wasps, mud wasps and are now moving onto spiders...very interesting, even for mom.:)I plan to purchase the additional readers. Great value and excellent customer service from Christianbook.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Winter
We loved the first book so much, we ended up buying the entire series. It wasn't just my child who did some learning! This series presents the material in a very easy-to-read manner. My child is a little older now - but she still remembers the books and sometimes refers to information she had gleaned from them earlier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
MBW, homeschooling mom
Thoroughly wholesome, utterly sweet, very informative. This is a gentle book that goes above and beyond the goal of being a reader. I love that all glory is given to the Creator, and that children are encouraged to see all nature through the (true) lens of being a reflection of His greatness and creativity. A+++
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2005
This is the sweetest series! The stories are so wonderful and full of scientific knowledge. We loved these and read them for pleasure as well as school. Buy the entire series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2004
My 5 yr. old son enjoys listening to stories from this book very much. Every morning his eyes light up with wonder as we discover something new about God's creation.We're glad we discovered these readers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Christian Liberty Nature Reader, Book 1, Second Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
Margaret
These books are wondeful! A great way to learn about natureand build reading skills!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.