Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Last Light, Restoration Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Last Light, Restoration Series #1

A crisis sweeps an entire high-tech planet back to the age before electricity. Yesterday's world is gone. All Deni Branning and her family have left is each other and their neighbors. Their little community will either stand or fall together. But they're only beginning to realize that - and trust doesn't come easily, particularly when one of them is a killer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Review 1 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes you stop and think!

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
peggybeth
Location:Topeka, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While this book is just fiction, it could surely happen! It really makes you stop and realize how much we do depend on technology. Once you start this book, you don't want to put it down. I like how it shows the need for families to work, play and pray together. We could all use a "wake up" call by reading the entire series. Try it! You'll like it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
sprite05
Location:northern New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Terri Blackstock so I was not sure if I would like it. From page one I was hooked and didn't want to put the book down. It really made me think what would I do and how would I react if this really happened. Great book! I passed it along to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Entertaining

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series was recommended to me by my Library. They told me they bought the first book in the series and enjoyed it so much that they bought the series. I tried the first one....it is awesome!
Not know what to expect...the first book starts out at the Airport. Just after Deni Branning arrives, she and her Dad are on their way to pick up her bags. All of a sudden planes start falling out of the sky...the power goes out. Made me think this is the end of the world.
What would I do if we totally lost everything that has electrical components? The list is endless! Even cars stopped filling the highways.
The story keeps you thinking all the way to the end. There are unfortunately those people who are interested in greed only. Through it all some of the people, including the Brannings, learn to lean on God. Loved how their faith grew in the face of adversity.
Highly recommend this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Chappelear
I just love Terri Blackstocks books. When i started reading this one I could hardly put it down. I cant wait to read the rest of the series.This is one of the best i have read. It keeps you on the edge of your seat. Thumbs up for this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary
I don't like books that even vaguely have any science fiction aspect to them, but I read this book because I love reading Terri Blackstock. Once I read the first book, I did not stop until I had read all four of the Restoration Series. I was so drawn in by them that I had difficulty returning to present day. Terri Blackstock is high on my list of truly great writers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Virginia Lass
This is a fiction series, but in this day and age, it could conceivably happen. It made me examine my heart as to how I would react to such a situation. I read it all in one sitting, because there was no place to stop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Coral Lanier
As an avid reader, I was unable to put this book down once I started reading it. I felt drawn to and a part of the Branning family right from the onset. If the book is both captivating to the reader with a suspensful story, and has the ability to provoke soul-searching, I personally believe it was well worth Terri Blackstock's efforts. I can't wait to finish the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Mccray
iI really enjoyed Last Light; it sure makes you stop and think. I loved all of the characters, it seems the world would stop without electricity & technology. I would recommend this book highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tiffany
I greatly enjoyed reading this book and am currently on book 3 of the series. I am a "gotta know" kind of person so I couldn't put it down. It was so nice to see how a person who trusts God would handle situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
noname
The story sounded very interesting, but unfortunately, the book fails. First problem is the characters. It focuses on the Branning family and they are all annoying and unlikeable. Second problem is that the book is very preachy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Currin
This series was a little far fetched but I really enjoyed it and enjoyed the christain values that were brought into each book. I am looking forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bambi Holt
Very interesting from the first paragraph. Makes you wonder how we will survive if we go back to a no power world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise
Although I am an avid reader, this was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was so refreshing to read something that had no swearing, etc. in it. Just goes to prove that you don't need all that to hold a reader's interest. This book made me stop and think how I would react if there was a major power outage. What would I do? This book kept my attention until the last page and I couldn't start to read the second one. One of my friends read it and now they are standing in line to read it. It is a must read. And it reminds you that God is always in charge. I can't wait to read the 4th!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
T.E. George
Ok, I admit it. I listened to the unabridged version of this on CD. While the murder mystery storyline was rather contrived and honestly not helpful to the larger story, I did find the premise of this book captivating. Having lived through a major hurricane I know first-hand what it is like to live in a city that is suddenly cut-off from the world. Blackstock does a great job of honestly portraying how people act under such circumstances. One thing I took away from Last Light was the picture of humanity it gave. In such times as depicted in the book, some prove themselves to be heroes and others to be worthless and even evil. But most of us are just average people trying to cope with extraordinary circumstances. It is on that level that this book succeeds. How do ordinary people react to extraordinary times?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chelsey
Blackstock started with an excellent plot which was very thought provoking. She causes the reader to wonder how they would handle a power outage like this and as a result the reader reevaluates the "necessities" of life. However, Blackstock depreciates the story's value with her poor writing skills and shallow characters. Also, her murder mystery was predictable from the start. I recommend she brush up on her writing skills before continuing the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
emma
Deni got on my nerves the entire story, but she got on her parents nerves also. Her selfishness came through in a huge way, a tad bit over the top but it still worked in this story. (I had to get her out of the way)I picked up Last Light unaware that it was written by a Christian author. It wouldn't have stopped me from buying it however. Last Light will give the reader pause on several levels. In this time of our lives EMP's are very real. As a Christian, I knew exactly what happened in the first couple of paragraphs and couldn't put the book down after that. Blackstock puts a big question out there for all of us. Can we do without what seems so important to us? Even as I write this, I realize that I wouldn't be able to without my computer. Can we get along without electricity? Blackstock shows we can.This book will make some very uncomfortable. Some just will not get it's message.Last Light is an easy read, you won't have to read it again to see if you missed anything, but you'll want to because it's not just a Christian story, it's a mystery and a thriller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rachel
My sister-in-law had let my mother borrow this book, and after hearing her say she couldn't put it down,I had to borrow it too.I stayed up half the night reading,and finished the book the next day! Great book, it had me thanking God for what we all have been blessed with.To me this book is about trusting in God,and not in the earthly things we depend on TOO much. A must read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rik Unwin
Probably the worst novel I have ever read. The basic premise (all electrical items fail) is never explained presumably this is an act of God. It is ludicrous to suggest that the federal/state authorities would not enforce law and order. Why is it only the pitiful villain thinks to use horses? Why do all the ghastly Branning family think God will be their savior when all their troubles are caused by Him?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2007
When I read this book, I got freaked out thinking about what if this really happened today. Loss of communication would be totally devastating to our livelihood. Just when a hurricane or blizzard comes, we complain about not having electricity for a couple of days. Here in the book, the characters have no idea when or if they will ever get power again. It's scary to think about what it would it be like to not know what was happening elsewhere. Perhaps we take technology too much for granted? I understood how Desi felt about not having any contact with her fiance. I even asked my boyfriend what we would do in a situation like this because I would be worried like she was (he reassured me that he would come for me). My only complaint with the book is that the bad guy in the book is really predictable. I had a sneaking suspicion who it was from when the murders started and I was right at the end. Even the way the character acts totally gives him away. Desi is also very whiny and selfish at times, I know she was worried but she should have thought about her family first. Other than that, I did enjoy this book. It gives a new twist to the end times story and it makes you really think about needs vs. wants. A very thought provoking read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Last Light, Restoration Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Lisa Nelson
I love Terri, I have all of her series and all of them are wonderful! You can't put them down ever!!! I can't wait for more to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>