Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Between Sundays

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Between Sundays

Thrown together in a season of self-discovery, they're about to learn lessons in character and grace, love and sacrifice. A deeply moving inspirational story of redemption where life's real victories are won off the field. Foreword by San Francisco 49ers quarterback Alex Smith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Between Sundays
Review 1 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

morals

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
CheeChee
Location:Smyrna, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think we need more books that help individuals with moral situations to make the right decision that God would have them make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Giggles
Location:Richardson, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the book and condition - brand new!
Couldn't ask for anything more. Our book club is excited to be reading this book even though I have read it several years ago. One you can reread many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GOOD BOOK

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
NEELIE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IT WAS A BIT YOUNG MINDED FOR AN OLDER WOMAN, BUT IT KEPT MY INTEREST AND HAD A WONDERFUL STORY LINE, ALBEIT A BIT SAPPY IN THE ROMANCE DEPT. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Narelle
Location:australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Through reading this book I became aware of the plight of many young people who dont have a family to back them up in the storms and joys of life. Megan Gunn's insight into the foster system was alarming. As a result we have chosen to become a carer to a young refugee who is about to be lost in the same system where at 18 they are on their own. In a foreign land with foreign cultures. Thanks Karen for bringing this need to our attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This products has great features

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Florreich
Location:Sparta IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This book brings to light somethings we often forget,
we do need to live for Jesus everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2nd time reading

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
cina
Location:Leesburg Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
did not remember that I had read this before but still read it again. It is that good. I do not read books 2 times because I remember what I read the first time. Even though I knew what the book was about it was still that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adelia Rippetoe
Karen Kingsbury is an exceptional author. The suspense in this book is great and the message of Christianity is very important.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jerrica!
This Book Was So Amazingg! I Cried So Hard During Parts! LOL! Bt This Was The First Book Of Yours That I Read! And Now That I've Read It I'm So Interested In All Of Them! I'm Reading "Even Now" Rightt Now! I've Heard It's Amazingg Too! This Book Def. Deserves 5Stars! You're An Amazingg Author! I'd Like Too See A 2Nd Book Too See What Goes On With Megan, Aaron, && Cory! =]]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila
The book is a great read with an insight into the foster kids system as well as an exciting depiction of American football. Kingsbury brings the characters to life even though the storyline is somewhat predictable; which nonetheless makes the novel an enjoyable one right through the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phyllis Henderson
Loved it. Couldn't wait to get to the end.A book you could hardly put up once you started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judith Payne
This was an awesome book - heart warming and inspiring and a real tear jerker too. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 was that the ending was not a surprise - you could pretty much see it coming but otherwise I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Karen Kingsbury is so dependable for strong fiction that feels like truth! Great story about foster kids, a coach who lived his faith, the influence on an unsaved football player who grew into a great guy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason Reads
From a guy's perspective, this book was very sappy and happy and had a very "high school musical" quality to it. I read the book because the plot line intrigued me and indeed the book was all right and had a good premise (i.e.showing the needs of the foster care system). However, the book lacked depth and grit to it. Everything was too tidy. What conflict there was came across as too easy to clean up. The challenges the main characters faced seemed inconsequential and rather bland even though they weren't meant to be. This book could have been stronger in so many ways, i.e. a certain main character probably shouldn't have won the "big one", if you read the book you'll understand what i mean. Where would that man's faith be? I'm honestly not sure.In my (guys) opinion, the football and locker room scenes were cliche and lame and definitely written by a lady. Its cool that she asked Alex Smith to help her but if your a guy, I don't think Smith is the QB I would honestly want talking about the struggles of a superstar QB. All in all, this book is good but naive, romantic but shallow, energeticbut with absolutely no testosterone. Kingsbury is a one dimensional author for the upper aged lady.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
I'm not really a sports girl, but I found the plot of this novel intriguing, especially since I'm a sucker for any romance where the heroine has children. I was not at all disappointed. Megan is a strong woman you can root for, and her passion for foster children stirred admiration in me. I found myself praying for the needs of older foster children as I read the book. Cory is a great kid, and I think even adult readers could definitely feel for him--how many of us just knew something when we were kids and no one believed us? And I got a kick out of the relationship between Derrick and Aaron, as well as Aaron's conversion and Derrick's triumph. It's a good thing I don't cry easily, because if I did, the scene in the hospital with Lee would've required a whole box of Kleenex. There are some small flaws here--the names Gunn and Cory Joseph seem slightly recycled from Just Beyond the Clouds, and Amy's rape seems unnecessary for the purpose of the whole book--kind of like an "oh, by the way" thing. But once again, Karen has done a great job, especially in her scenes from Cory's POV, which are, again, great and brave. If you'll pardon the pun, I think this book scores a touchdown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Sheets
This is a wonderful book with bible verses included . It really makes you stop and think what you do and say between Sundays. I love this book because we love football. I loaned it out and now several people have read it. We highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rosalie Pate
This was a five star book. I have read all ofyour books and can hardly wait for the next one. Are you going to do a follow up book onAaron and Megan. I would love to see what happens with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Between Sundays
This review is fromBetween Sundays.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Wagenbach
Karen Kingsbury books are always the best. She hold my interest and I don't quit until I am done. I like her biblical input. Helps me keep my own life focused.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Brooks
This book really emphasized the importance of what happens "between Sundays" no matter who the person/player is or what field he/she plays on each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Frances Mclanahan
Since I belong to a family of sports "fanatics," I was eager to read BETWEEN SUNDAYS. It is encouraging to see Christians take a faithful stand in the sports world. As a professional baseball player, my brother had an influence on many young players, and still does. I knew the book would have a good ending, but I hardly could put it down before getting there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Between Sundays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilyn West
I would definitely give this book a 5 rating. I thought that it could be very true to life, even though it was fiction. I have enjoyed the authors books and have read almost all of them. I especially like the books that have the stories completed in one or two books. Her series on the Baxter family, although interesting, seem to be dragged out. Her "One Tuesday Morning" and "Beyond Tuesday Morning" was excellent and I enjoyed the fact that it did not keep going on and on. I do enjoy this author and the fact that she keeps us informed about her own family in the dedication of each book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>