Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Midnight in Madrid - eBook

Zondervan Midnight in Madrid - eBook

When a mysterious relic is stolen from a Madrid museum, people are dying to discover its secrets. Literally.U.S. Treasury agent Alexandra LaDuca returns from Conspiracy in Kiev to track down the stolen artwork, a small carving called The Piet' of Malta. It seems to be a simple assignment, but nothing about this job is simple, as the mysteries and legends surrounding the relic become increasingly complex with claims of supernatural power.

As aggressive, relentless, and stubborn as ever, Alex crisscrosses Europe through a web of intrigue, danger, and betrayal, joined by a polished, mysterious new partner. With echoes of classic detective and suspense fiction from The Maltese Falcon to The Da Vinci Code, Midnight in Madrid takes the reader on a nonstop spellbinding chase through a modern world of terrorists, art thieves, and cold-blooded killers.

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Review 1 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sazav
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent, realistic read. Noel Hynd does an outstanding job bringing the reader into the life of the character. A book that blends real world with spiritual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ben
In reading Midnight in Madrid, by the bestselling author Noel Hynd, I discovered several things. One is that Noel Hynd is a prolific writer. Two is that Midnight in Madrid is a nearly overwhelmingly detailed book, chock full of colorful charactersalmost straight out of The Maltese Falcon. The historical details the author stuffs into Midnight in Madrid certainly make for interesting readingto a point. They were also overloading, and felt like they slowed down the pace of the novel too much. While I am one of the first to appreciate precise geographic and spatial detail, Hynd seems to pack as much as possible into the story, again overwhelming the reader. The mundane and mild also seem to try and outdo the action in the story, as for the casual reader, it proves to be a morass that is difficult to wade through. Some of the sentences and literary structure are stilted, choppy, incorrect, or otherwise unnecessary. While illumination of the characters thought processes are good, even essential for a good story, Hynd seems to take this too far, becoming wordy, choppy, or otherwise stating the obvious. While the storyline has potential, it is hampered by too much detail, a slow plot, and somewhat choppy or stilted grammar. I wish the best to the author, but Im afraid Ill have to pass on this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
brknhrt
get so excited when I find a great book by an author I have not read before! Noel Hynds book Midnight in Madrid, one of The Russian Trilogy, was so good I didnt want the book to end. The book has political intrigue, non-stop action, historical references, and descriptive locations. It is a political/spy thriller about international crime.The story is wonderfully descriptive and includes information about art theft and historical references of Spain. The book is so well-written that the story just takes off and does not stop the suspense and surprises until the very end. The main character of Alex (Alexandra LaDuca) is very likeable as she struggles with the moral and ethical decisions she has to make in the course of her high-stakes job. She relies on her faith, but also struggles with doubt and questions as do real people of faith. This book is not a Christian book that preaches anything; it is a book by a person of faith who creates characters that struggle with faith and moral issues. The other two books in this trilogy are Conspiracy in Kiev and Countdown in Cairo. Noel Hynd has also written the novels, The Enemy Within, Flowers from Berlin, and Ghosts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
It reminds me right away of the James Bond. The story line is solid, I couldnt put it down! It was face-paced and explosive!The characters in this book are well developed and detailed a lot. I like that you could get a good sense of them through out the book by Hynds writing.There is a lot of history put into this book, you could possibly get stuck on so many details , but than again some people (thinking of my father in law who loves details) would really enjoy it. For myself it was somewhat of an overload, but it worked. I love that Hynd included current politics; it definitely livens your imagination as you read through this book. As well, his descriptions of Spain makes me want to go and check it out!This is the second book in The Russian Trilogy and I dont actually think you need to read the first, though I have a feeling it might help. I am curious enough I want to get the first book though!I like that this book made the characters realistic and in the real world. That they were not in an imaginary Christian world. It made the story very believable. I am left wondering where the characters were going next and if Alex would meet up again with the mysterious Peter, or kidnapped by the Russians again!If youre looking for adventure and intrigue.. a good whodunit youll enjoy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Midnight in Madrid, written by bestselling author Noel Hynd, is a fast-paced, spellbinding chase entering the world of terrorists, art thieves and cold-blooded killers. When a valuable and ancient relic called The Pieta of Malta was stolen from a museum in Madrid, US Treasury Agent Alexandra La Duca is sent to investigate it. Still recovering from the death of her fiance, Alexandra or Alex agrees to investigate. Not long after she arrives in Madrid, she discovers that people are dying in connection to the theft making her believe that there is more to this theft than meets the eye. Despite the constant threat and danger to her life, she pursues the investigation doggedly. She is joined by a new partner, an Asian man whom she is not sure that she can trust. As more and more people die in connection to the theft of the Pieta, she becomes convinced that there is a conspiracy brewing against the US embassy which threatens to harm thousands more. Throughout the story, Alex struggles with the reality of her faith in God in relation to her work. She holds unforgiveness in her heart for the people that killed her fiance. Midnight in Madrid takes its readers on a non-stop chase I mentioned in another review that I love suspense/thrillers. Well, I also love government conspiracies. My favorite author in this genre is Jeffrey Archer. It was a pleasure reading Midnight in Madrid by Noel Hynd. The book is full of exciting twists and turns in the story that I read it quickly through the first time, and read it again slowly the second time to get in more of the details. The book has some violence to it since it involves terrorists and criminals, without it this book would not be realistic. There are no sex scenes in this book and I appreciate that the heroine is very decent. Noel Hynd has over four million books in worldwide and is also the bestselling author of The Enemy Within, Flowers from Berlin, and Ghosts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
This was another excellent read from Noel Hynd. The second book in the series lived up to my expectations and brought me on another thrill ride. Once again, the historical research and details in this book are top notch. I learned a lot about art history from this book. Also of interest was the history of the Spanish Civil War. That is a topic that is usually never brought up in history classes and I've only read about it one other fiction series, so to see it here was a delightful surprise. If only for the historical facts alone, this book is a gem. I really like how the author uses current events to develop the story without having to resort to using pop culture references that go out of date almost immediately. The locales in this book are exotic and I really enjoyed reading about the history of Spain. It made me feel like I was actually there. A lot of the conversation deals with political issues, which can possibly get boring at times, but if you want to learn while you read, this is a fun and exciting way to get some knowledge.There is, again, quite a bit of violence in this book. There's nothing gory, but the action sequences are very intense and there are many of them. The scene near the end is quite nail biting and a bit terrifying. There is some language but it's been bleeped out. The only thing in the book I did not seem to get was Alex and Peter's relationship. One minute Peter's the good guy, the next he's the bad guy and by the end of the book I still couldn't tell which side he was on. It made me wonder if Alex was able to tell as well. As I finished this book, all I could think was that Noel Hynd has become one of my new favorite suspense authors. I've honestly never really enjoyed reading a book more. This series is on par with mainstream books and would hold up to all the major suspense kings of literature. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book in the series. HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamara Reeves
This series keeps you reading. It has a action mixed with some suspense and a pinch of romance. A man would still like it but it is not too gory for us ladies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Reuben Vollrath
Good book, will buy the next one when it comes out in Dec. The first book was good as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
There is no doubt that Noel Hynd is a premiere writer of espionage, and Midnight in Madrid highlights his talents in no uncertain terms. Political intrigue permeates this action thriller that I found a little slow to begin but once the pace picked up there is no letting up. Alex continues to comes to terms with the loss of her fiance and explore her faith while searching for a relic that men are willing to kill for. Hynd pushes the envelope for a Christian novel with some graphic violence and edgy language. Characterisation is solid, the intrigue and suspense gripping while fascinating descriptions of Spain and other locations all contribute to a top notch read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hal Hulot
I've now read two books in this series and I am A FAN, waiting for the third. I like the way the author works history and current poilitics and questions of Christian faith into the story. He gives us great entertainment without a lot of needless smut and gives us something to think about. To me, that's an ideal read, especially if you like action or spy stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Midnight in Madrid - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia
Midnight in Madrid by Noel Hynd is a mysterious who done it, who has it, and why, story filled with international conflict, political intrigue, art theft, organized crime, terrorism, and the complication of personal relationships. Other reviewers have likened it to The Maltese Falcon and The Da Vinci Code. I believe it has a bit of the Bourne trilogy in there as well. When the book begins, Alexandra LaDuca is enjoying a much needed and deserved rest from her last case. She is suddenly called to Spain and asked to discover the location of a Christian carving called The Pieta of Malta(100). As she travels through Europe in pursuit of the truth, her paths cross and parallel a wide range of other characters. She doesn't know who she can trust, if anyone. Little does she realize, there is a deadline to her case.Again, this book was not something I would normally pick up, but I was very pleased with the selection. I found the characters to be a mix between well developed people and stereotypes, but no one was so over the top as to be unbelievable. I noted that this is, I believe, the second in a triology. While there are a few references to the first book, Midnight in Madrid can stand on its own very well. It is very likely that I will seek out the first book and will be sure to catch the third when it is released. If you are looking for a fast paced adventure/mystery, be sure to give this a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.