Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Eli - eBook

Zondervan Eli - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Eli - eBook
Review 1 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sam Hall
Powerful and well-crafted. Insightful and believable. Makes the incarnate Christ intense and real to today's generation. Easy to understand the mob mentality that lay like a dormant snake in ancient Jerusalem; it lurks barely beneath the surface of present-day culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
kalli
Just finished Eli last night, I loved it, as a fan of Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker, I wanted something more realistic, and this is it! It really makes you think throughout the book and creeps into daily thought life, wow, would we treat Jesus like that? I recommend this to anyone, even a non-christian, a great representation of the gospel and as said, biblically sound.Please pick up this book, it's worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather
I read this book for the first time when I was in high school and I immediately fell in love with! It makes the Jesus that I read about in the Bible much more real. Not only was it an excellent read but it helped deepen my relationship with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2003
Customer Avatar
Ginger
This really brought Jesus into a new light for me. I often picture him in Bible times and have a hard time seeing him in situations today. Now I can! There was very little in the story that didn't ring true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2002
Customer Avatar
Steve Korzen
Excellent read. This story really gets you thinking. It's puts the story of Jesus on an even plane and makes it real to the reader. Quick paced and fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Amazing. Simply amazing. I cannot begin to describe how good this book is. It has renewed my faith and has shown me Jesus in a whole new light. I cried, and I might have laughed. A must-read. Go read it. NOW!!! hehe :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2002
Customer Avatar
Steph
This was the most awesome book I ever read! I recommended it to tons of people and they all loved it. It really gives you an idea of what Jesus would be like in our time. Way to go, Eli!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2002
Customer Avatar
Debra
This book takes an interesting look at what life would be like without Jesus, and the impact He'd have if He came now. Very clever and creative writing, with many biblical references shining through. This book really helps to put into perceptive what Jesus came to earth to do, and what an impact that is! I really liked how Myers made Jesus so normal, a real person, yet truly God. Definitely fiction, but very biblically sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jeff Stewart
I have never read a more perfect book in my life. It made me cry and realize the sacrifice Jesus gave for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2001
Customer Avatar
Kim Pierce
I was captivated by this book. I was wisked away in a world of what-if. Bill Myers took me on a trip. I needed the vacation. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
David Brazelton
Captivating. Intriguing. Let's remember there is a difference between inspired writing and inspirational. Sure there are a few questionable Biblical interpretations, but if we are concerned about a minor flaw, we lose sight of the overall picture of a book that is capable of helping many people make monumental life changes. This book does a tremendous job of giving hope for those who have made tremendous mistakes in life.I couldn't put it down. Now I can't put it out of mind... not that I want to. I'm actually sending copies to family members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2001
Customer Avatar
Stacy Harp
My husband and I are reading this book out loud to each other instead of watching television and it has been fun!This is also my first Myers book and I'm glad I found him. After 8 years in college this is fun and exciting reading with a spiritual twist. Sure Myers doesn't make everything perfectly biblical, but then again this is fiction, not nonfiction! So those of you who don't like the book for that reason, need to chill a little.Fiction is entertainment and for me and my husband this is a great relaxing book to read that gives us something fun to discuss instead of turning on the deathbox in the living room.I will be reading more of Myers material in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2001
Customer Avatar
Lillis Boyer
Even though it is easy to read I just couldn't get into this book. It was just too far-fetched, and unscriptural. It was a waste of money as far as I'm concerned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2001
Customer Avatar
David Shore
Wow! This book truly depicts Jesus in modern day time. This is Bill Myers at his Best. Bill Myers, if you read this, Keep up the good work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2001
Customer Avatar
Linda Tierney
I got the audio book and listened as I drove. I couldn't wait to drive again. It was a simple story but it really touched me. At the end of the book I was crying. The author did a wonderful job making Christ real. This book touched my soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2000
Customer Avatar
Diane
What a wonderful book! If I could, I would give it TEN stars! I just finished it, and what an emotional ride it was. This brings Jesus into our modern world in such a REAL way. There is no way that you can doubt His love for us after reading this book. Bill Myers has done such a wonderful job portraying Jesus as He may have been if He had come to us in these days. It really makes you see the Gospel in a whole different light. Prepare for a lot of emotions to come to the surface while reading this book. It is so well written...so real...I can't imagine how anyone...Christian or non-Christian could read it and not be touched forever! Bravo Bill Myers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2000
Customer Avatar
Stuart Hall
I bought this book hoping for a well-written, thought-provoking story. I was disappointed. I would rate this book a "zero" if the author hadn't managed to pull off something decent at the end of the story. The description of Jesus' crucifixion and the closing scene with the main character's family were very powerful. I get the feeling that the author wrote the ending of the book first and then went back to fill in the rest of the story. Unfortunately, he did a poor job. If you can find a version of the book that contains just the last forty pages, it might be worth buying. Otherwise the book is a waste of money and time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2000
Customer Avatar
Karl Duval
Absolutely awesome!An interesting, thought provoking take on what might have happened if He had come today. Myers creates vivid and believeable adaptations of some of Christ's followers, most of which you will be able to recognize immediately. He got me at the very first page. I laughed, cried, soared with elation and was overcome with grief and a sense of unworthiness. What would it be like if this were to have happened and you and I were there to choose one way or the other? Follow? Deny? How relevant is the Bible? Read this book! The entire life of Christ is there. Myers always tries to make us think and feel and then act out on our beliefs as we all should. Success! Beware, the emotions in this tale are real and will grab your heart.An absolutely must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eli - eBook
This review is fromEli.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2000
Customer Avatar
dan J
I did not enjoy this as much as I enjoyed Threshold and Fire of Heaven, butthis is still worth reading. Interesting concept and characters. Thought-provoking as isall of Bill Myers' books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.