Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition

Zondervan Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition

Now in full color for its twenty-fifth edition, this world-renowned Bible handbook is treasured by generations of Bible readers for its clarity, insight, and usefulness. Halley's Bible Handbook makes the Bible's wisdom and message accessible while offering an appreciation for the cultural, religious, and geographic settings in which the story of the Bible unfolds. Written for both mind and heart, this expanded edition retains Dr. Halley's personable style.

Features:
  • Brilliant maps
  • Photographs and illustrations
  • Contemporary four-color design
  • Bible references from the New International Version
  • Practical Bible reading programs and tips for Bible study
  • Fascinating archaeological information
  • Easy-to-understand sections on how we got the Bible and Church History
  • Improved indexes
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Review 1 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to read along as you read your Bible

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
LeeV
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While not really qualifying as a "stand alone" study Bible, chronological Bible or archeological Bible, the handbook plus your Bible easily plays the role of all three, when you combine reading your Bible then turning to the handbook-or reading the handbook and the reading the verses--, much the same as you would read in the notes in a study Bible. When reading the bible with this method of reading the handbook at the same time, I found this handbook to be far more superior in terms of information on a range of subjects as well as helpful than simply reading any of the study, life application, archeological or other types of Bibles by themselves.
I also appreciated the larger than usual font and type that was clear and easy to read, but I REALLY APPRECIATED the color photos and the heavyweight, glossy paper (unlike many study bible that use thin, traditional bible type paper which do not reproduce photos and other material very well at all---not sure why, because generally most people are not going to be dragging around a large study bible everywhere).
And I did learn one thing during the very first time when I started to read the book, which was the matter of seven days for creating the earth in Genesis that many nonbelievers use to attack the Bible on the basis of archeological findings of dinosaurs, age of rocks and so forth being millions of years in age.
There are a number of scripture verses in the Bible about God's time not being anything like the human time in terms of years, and even more to the point, that the ancient writers often just the same as today with writers "'of our day", often used the term "day" to mean an era, certain period of time, or an epoch rather than simply 24 hours. Sort of like in "Grandfather's day, he did not drive a car, because there were no cars to drive..".
If you want to know the Bible verses about how many human years equals time in the mind of God, suggest that you buy the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynette
Location:Gardnerville, Nv
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Complete resource, as a new believer, it helps me with my studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant source of information

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has proved to be exceptional in my Bible studies! Don't know how I've managed without it for so long!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This handbook is a great learning experience for a

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Barry
Location:Belmopan, Belize
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a blessing to see and old favorite brought up to date, and in color! The author's legacy lives on. This book brings the Bible to life, explaining the historical and cultural contexts.
Bible School students, Seminary students, Pastors, and Christians in their local church, will all learn and benefit from the articles and information contained in these pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new version

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andy
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the old version, gave it away to a new believer friend. Wanted to get another one and went for this decked out version.
Love the all color pages and improved quality of the book. If you're used to the older versions, this one may feel heavier and bigger, which is a no no for anyone that likes to carry this thing around. I keep all my books in the library so it fit the bill for me.
Overall, great updated version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than the one I had in college

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
kaati
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the book but, had expected the original smaller size so I could carry it to church with me. The larger more expanded size is a little too heavy to carry around. So study at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A helpful tool in bible study

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tlover
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the Halley Handbook to help with my studies and I am very pleased with the book. I enjoy reading it when I'm not studing just to get more insight on the bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very pleased

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Papa kilo
Location:NB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to sit with a coffee and read this book I can't put it down, now I've got my daughter hooked. It is a must have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
TJegelhoff
Location:Richland, WA.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to help with my ministry studies. My wife saw it and she uses it almost more than me now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nicely done

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fred
Location:Lancaster, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
I am giving this book as a confirmation present and it is the perfect gift to give.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A necessity for any student of the BIBLE!

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edward
Location:Kenosha, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are going to study the bible then this is a MUST!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert R
Location:Pennington Gap, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this as gifts for our graduating high school seniors. The Halley's handbook is a good reference that I have used over and over again to get me started in a more in depth study of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has excellent quality and value.

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ron I
Location:Nampa, Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am well pleased with this product. As I stated it has excellent quality, value and more than meets my expectations. I would recommend Christianbook and will purchase from them again as needed. Keep up the good work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very impressed with this book

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ridge Runner
Location:Western, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 1965 edition of Halley's and wanted to see what the New International Version was like. Am very impressed and enjoy the excellent quality. I will keep the 65 edition for the information it contains that is not in the new one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Silly
Location:victorville, ca
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed my hally's book and the other items were a great gift for my sister and brother.they really enjoyed it too.Thank you so much and may God continue to bless your business.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
whitebuffalo46
Location:Dewey, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for anyone who studys the Bible. I have sold many in a bookstore when I managed it. I like to give it to friends who are new to studying and don't have many resorces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole Shubert
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super pleased with another Christianbook.com experience. I purchased this book as a gift. I shopped around and found the same quality, identical hardback book was $10 MORE at another large well known bookstore. Thank you Christianbook.com for being one of the best places to buy quality and affordable Christian books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Estella
Not only is the information wonderful. I love the pictures that help visualize things from Bible times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
M B J
This book was everything I expected and more. Excellent reference material. I would now like the abridged version for ease in carrying it to Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version, Deluxe Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Pitchford
It's difficult to review so quickly a book that was designed for research. So far, we like it fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>