Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common English Bible CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown

Common English Bible CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown

Take a fresh look at the Bible while you experience a new translation. The Common English Bible is relevant, readable, and reliable. The result is a new version that the typical reader or worshipper is able to understand. Available in softcover and premium Decotone bindings.

Features
  • 115 leading biblical scholars from 22 denominations
  • Field tested by 77 reading specialists in 13 denominations
  • 90-day reading plan
  • Single column format 
  • Color maps by National Geographic
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Review 1 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully fresh!

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Keiter
Location:Lansford, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying reading this version as part of my Bible study and devotions. The language is fresh and aids insight. I'm glad that so many worked to make this updated language Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As a new translation it excels most.

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gordon
Location:Jackson, WY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It provides a modern English translation, and still has a Godly representation of the older ones.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fresh new translation - great to share!

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
amyclare
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really appreciate the word choices in this new translation, like "change your hearts and lives" for "repent." When I read the Common English Bible translation I feel like I am discovering God's Word anew. I highly recommend this new translation and look forward to the complete Bible, which will be released in August 2011! A great translation to give friends who are exploring Christianity or new followers of Jesus. Check out the CEB website for more http://www.commonenglishbible.com
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written, great cover

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Birdie
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great comments from my church family when reading from this version on Sunday mornings. And the material, size, and cover binding quality are excellent. Great to carry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bones
Location:charlotte, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i would recommend this book to everyone because it is so easy to read and understand. one thing do you have this bible in the old testament. if so please let me know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Text size very good; translation very readable.

Date:October 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
John M Johnson
Location:Scranton
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not begin with high expectations, but I was pleasantly surprised in some ways-- It is more structured English than, say, the New Century Version or the God's Word (translation). The down side-- lots of contractions are used. The biggest problem was use of "The Human One" instead of Son of Man when referring to Jesus. I'll be anxious to see the OT when it comes out in 2011. Very good font size, and lots of denominations used in the translation work. Is there room for yet another new translation?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2010
The Common English Bible. This bible is a fresh translation to touch the Heart and Mind. Take a fresh look at the Bible while you experience a new translation. The Common English Bible is relevant, readable and reliable. The result is a new version that the typical reader or worshipper is able to understand. This bible has 115 leading biblical scholars from 22 denominations; Field tested by 77 reading specialists in 13 denominations; 90-day reading plan; Color Maps by National Geographic.I read the Common English Bible. I did not particularly like it as I guess I am just old-fashioned and like the King James Bible. But, as I look at it through other peoples eyes, it would be a good bible for people who dont understand the King James or the New International Version bible. If a person is a new Christian, it would be very helpful for that person. But, for me, it just didnt do anything for me. Im sorry, I just didnt like it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CEB Common English Bible New Testament DecoTone Tan/Chocolate Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Roger Nickerson
Found the new CEB New Testament to be very useable and well edited for use in our adult Bible Study classes. The CEB brings to 2010 the language of todays Christians in a meaningful and understable manner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.