Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common English Bible CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Common English Bible CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback

Take a fresh look at the Bible while you experience a new translation. The Common English Bible combines a commitment to both accuracy and readability. The result is a new version of the Bible the typical reader or worshipper is able to understand with ease. Written in today's modern English, the Common English Bible was created through the careful work of 118 leading biblical scholars from 22 faith traditions and thorough field tests by 77 reading groups. The CEB Thinline edition is highly portable yet easy to see with generous 9-point type and a convenient trim size.

Features
  • Two-column setting with black letter text
  • In-text subject headings
  • 8 pages of full-color maps exclusively from National Geographic
  • Presentation page
  • 9-point type
  • 8.50" x 5.50" x 1.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 out of 1883%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Review 1 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

terrible printing and binding

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Md99md
Location:DC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this item. It is a lot of bother to package something back up to return, so I did not bother, given the price. Aside from the tiny print, the actual binding is terrible because the inside margin is almost non-existent. You almost have to rip the Bible in two to even see the words close to the binding. Skip this item and find another printing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cthemouse
Location:Taft, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have already given out 25 of these Bibles. We are on our next 12! Easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
quicksilver
Location:St. Maries, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Bible was made well, had a comfortable size, and the print size was okay. I had read a few excerpts from an online Bible reading, but was quite disappointed in the text as translated. "The Human One" does not make an impression on me when it comes to Jesus' title. Jeremiah is called human one as well. I know that "Son of Man" probably is the same but this just really turned me away from this particular translation. Maybe it will be good for you but I returned it for my money back after reading it for only a couple of weeks.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very readable, and understandable.

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
mama Lea
Location:Emory, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the Common English Bible I purchased. It is very readable and understandable. I had previously been using an NIV Bible. I've found there isn't a great difference, but compare passages fequently. My main reason for this purchase is that our Sunday School Quarterly is using the CEB this quarter, and I felt it would help me to more or less "be on the same page" with their printed material.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
youthpastor
Location:Statesville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Text is our language. Have begun using it in weekly services.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good translation of the Bible.

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
CherylM
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy to get the Common English Bible for my Nook reader. I have had a copy of the New Testament since this new translation was published last year, so I was very glad to get a full copy. I think this is an excellent translation for today's Christians, not too trendy, but certainly very current with today's English done by respected scholars of our time. I really enjoy having a copy of the Bible on my e reader to go along with other Bibles I use. Worth it. Reasonable pricing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

a lot better translations out there

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do we really need yet another English translation of the Holy Bible?
Over 120 scholars from 24 different faith traditions - including Jewish, Catholic, Seventh Day Adventist, and many Protestant denominations - have come together to produce a new translation of the Holy Bible. Their goal was an updated version that read on a seventh grade level, using both formal/verbal and dynamic equivalence (more about this later) when translating to English from the original Hebrew, Aramaic and Greek languages.
Here is a sample of how they described their updates contrasted with the much venerated "King James Version":
the "chest containing the covenant"
~ Instead of nobles (a term based in English feudalism), we often translate officials.
~ Instead of referring to a noble person, we often refer to an honorable person.
~ Instead of atonement (a word that Tyndale made up, at-one-ment) we prefer forms of reconcile or reconciliation.
~ Instead of "ark of the covenant" we prefer "chest containing the covenant."
~ Instead of "vessels of the temple," we prefer "temple equipment."
~ Instead of beginning thousands of sentences with the connective particle "For," we prefer to let modern English syntax convey these connections.
~ Instead of "repent" we prefer "change your heart and life."
~ Instead of using a vocative "O" thousands of times before Lord (O Lord) or God, we removed O, because it's not present in Hebrew or Greek, and we do not speak with it in natural discourse or sing with it in our contemporary musical expression. Check out the Psalms, which read beautifully without the "O" when Lord or God are well placed in the poetic syntax.
This version is also more casual and colloquial, often using contractions such as "Don't be afraid." Sounds good so far, right?
SO WHAT?
Not all of the "updates" found in the Common English Bible are so benign. Replacing "Son of Man" with "human" or "The Human One" loses the Messianic punch that Jesus undoubtedly intended in employing that title for Himself. They also have intentionally used more gender-inclusive language, a move greatly applauded by the cult of political correctness.
There are two primary schools of Bible translation from the original languages:
Verbal or Formal equivalence - translates words and phrases verbatim from one language directly to another. The result is as close to a word-for-word replica of the original manuscripts as is humanly possible.
Dynamic equivalence - translates the thoughts or meaning of words and phrases from one language to another. The goal is to increase understanding, especially when encountering idioms or figures of speech in the original language. The result, however, is greatly dependent on the ability of the translators to correctly understand the meaning of the original manuscripts. This introduction of the human element can decrease the reliability of the translation.
There are several modern translations of the English Bible that adhere to a strict verbal equivalence including the well established New King James Version (NKJV) and the New American Standard Bible (NASB), as well as the more recent English Standard Version (ESV) and the Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB), all of which would be far superior choices for the serious student of the Bible.
As noted at the beginning of this review, this is a very ecumenical translation. Getting these diverse religious scholars to all agree must have been a monumental task. The variety of faiths represented is striking, but also troubling. Not all of these even fully subscribe to the doctrines of orthodox Christianity. I find it difficult to read and trust a translation of the Bible by someone who does not even hold to faith in Jesus Christ as the only way to Heaven apart from any works or religion.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very satisfying version of the Bible

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Common English Bible offers a translation that is easy to read and is sure to appeal to the average believer who wants to enjoy God's word conveyed in every day language. From my perspective, this version appears to be an accurate, faithful version of the Bible, similar to the NIV or KJV. Passages that I've read in the NIV that I had to read a few times to understand were much more easily grasped in the Common English Bible. I especially plan on using this Bible with my children, as it is written in such an accessible manner. When I considered my favourite passages, I was quite pleased for the most part. For example, Jeremiah 29:11-12 reads "I know the plans I have in mind for you, declares the Lord; they are plans for peace, not disaster, to give you a future filled with hope. When you call me and come and pray to me, I will listen to you". I love how this promise is conveyed in this version. However, I felt that some verses were not rendered as well as in others, such as Phillipians 2:9-10 where it speaks of God giving Jesus the name above every other name so that at his name "everyone in heaven, on earth, and under the earth might bow" (CEB), instead of the strong language used in the NIV where it states everyone "will bow". While I know that in the end it is conveying the same promise of what is to occur in the future, I simply prefer the NIV for some passages.
Overall, however, I am greatly enjoying reading through the CEB and strongly recommend it for readers looking to purchase the Bible for the first time. 4 out of 5 stars.
A copy of the Bible has been provided courtesy of the publisher & the B & B Media group for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Excellent, 'Easy to Read' Translation!

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rivet
Location:Gloucester, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the English language, and I love how with subtle shifts in words you can sometimes bring more meaning and relevance to a passage. Especially in translation this is true.
That being said, I love collecting translations of the bible, and recently I was provided with one for my review. The Common English Bible is new to me, but a welcome addition to my reference shelf. The philosophy of translation was to balance literal, word-for-word translation with cultural meaning, and I think it does a good job.
Here is as example:
My son went to a Vacation Bible School (VBS) on the March Break. He came home the first day with his memory verse, and the wording was not quite what I expected. He says:
“Proverbs 3:5 ‘Trust in the Lord with all your heart; don’t rely on your own intelligence.’”
Intelligence! What was that? The word just flew out at me as he said it. I had to know what translation used that word. I went through several other translations and all of them used the word ‘understanding’. To me, the word ‘intelligence’ said the same thing, but would resonate more with the people of today.
I also do a lot of work with the tweens (9-12ish) young people in my church, and I have been using the CEB during our teaching times. I have been writing a daily devotional for them, and this is one of my translations of choice. It is edgy, modern and meaningful for reading.
Here is Psalm 23:1-3:
The Lord is my shepherd.
I lack nothing.
He lets me rest in grassy meadows;
he leads me to restful waters;
he keeps me alive.
He guides me in proper paths
for the sake of his good name.
Love that part in verse 2. Rather than “He restores my soul” as in more common usage, they translate as “He keeps me alive.”
It is just a fresh look on the Scriptures without changing their meaning. It is the subtle nuances that make it interesting. Pick up a copy and do some comparing of the CEB to the translation you are most comfortable with.
I was provided a complimentary copy of the Common English Bible for review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A solid new translation in a good quality bible.

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Majshark
Location:Niceville, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The CEB is a great translation for those who want to read through the bible and gain a solid understanding. It is smooth and easy to read (amongst the easiest of all the translations), while retaining the context of the original message. The bible itself is of a nice design and construction. Lack of concordance and references a drawback, but otherwise this bible comes highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy reading; easy comprehension.

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Equipped
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible for my 10-year old grandson. I believe he will spend more time reading it, and enjoying it. It is written/translated so that the reader will not be apprehensive about reading the Bible, because he/she will immediately understand whats being said in the Common English version. "Simple and quick", however, should not replace time devoted to in-depth study and application of the Word of God, as one moves from "milk to meat".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary Jo
Location:Asheville, NC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift. The receiver is very pleased with the Bible and finds it very helpful in bible study and in teaching classes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unsure

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momof5
Location:Fall Creek, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know this is a new version, so I think this is the most difficult thing for me to get used to. I just bought it as another version and to use it at school when I need to be in God's word. But...I like my other versions better. Maybe I just need to get used to it, but it's not my favorite yet. However, I love the style. Appearance-wise, it's beautiful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great translation

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Common English Bible is a new bible translation that is relevant, readable and reliable. Completely new, the Common English Bible is not simply a revision of an existing translation. This is a bold new translation designed to meet the needs of readers in today’s language. At first, you might think a “modern language bible” would be more like The Message, or even the Good News bible, something watered down so that it can be easily understood with a fifth grade reading level. That is not what this is.
The CEB is the combined effort of 120 bible scholars from 22 denominations and the members of over 70 reading groups who orchestrated a huge translation event to create a bible that is both accurate in translation while at the same time being readable in modern English.
With so many translations available, why do we need another translation? Well, cultural and religious settings have changed dramatically; even modern worship affects the words we use in our churches. In today’s culture, language is changing even faster because of the computer age. All of these changes, plus countless others are so impacting that a completely new translation of the Bible becomes necessary.
Here is Genesis 1:1-2 from the popular NIV
In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.
…and here it is again from the CEV
When God began to create the heavens and the earth—the earth was without shape or form, it was dark over the deep sea, and God’s wind swept over the waters…
Here is the Lord’s prayer from Matthew 6:9-13 in the CEV
Pray like this:
Our Father who is in heaven,
uphold the holiness of your name.
Bring in your kingdom
so that your will is done on earth as it’s done in heaven.
Give us the bread we need for today.
Forgive us for the ways we have wronged you,
just as we also forgive those who have wronged us.
And don’t lead us into temptation,
but rescue us from the evil one.
I like this translation a lot and look forward to reading more of it. I think for those who are hard core word-for-word supporters, will find that reading the CEB from the pulpit will be much more attractive than reading the Message or the NLT.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fresh Readable Translation for a New Generation

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A unique feature of “The Common English Bible” is the collaboration of 120 biblical scholars from 24 denominations in American, African, Asian, European, and Latino communities in cooperation with representation from academic institutions including Asbury Theological Seminary, Azusa Pacific University, Bethel Seminary, Denver Seminary, Fuller Theological Seminary, Princeton Theological Seminary, Seattle Pacific University, Wheaton College, Yale University, and many others. The translation is directly from the original Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek texts.
The work includes an association of five major Christian publishers. More than 500 readers representing over 70 groups field tested and provided feedback prior to publication.
“The Common English Bible” is:
• A fresh readable translation for a new generation of cross denominational readers
• Academically accurate
• Endorsed by respected Christian leaders, seminary professors, and pastors
Features especially like include:
• The handy size and quality Bible paper
• The user friendly format with topical headings and clearly defined chapter breaks
• The easy to read font with a balance of white background space for easy reading
• The easy to locate footnotes
• The detailed color maps
Preliminary sales indicate a broad base of acceptance and insure the popularity of “The Common English Bible.” An ideal translation for church worship, personal Bible study and devotional reading.
I received a complimentary copy of this item for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maupassant
Location:Rutherfordton, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Common English Bible is easy to read. The English used is very current English as spoken and read in the United States. It makes the Bible readable for so many people who might not read the old translations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Print size

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Salvation
Location:Pflugerville, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only draw back with this great bible is than one must have good reading glasses. The print is small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CEB Common English Bible, Thinline Edition - Paperback
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Chesaning, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was too impatient to wait on the one coming out later. The print is a bit small for me, but I really like this translation. I appreciate the hard work that was done and especially the fact that so many denominations were involved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.