Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2

Barbour Publishing Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2

Amish quilting teacher Emma Miller's students need mending just like their hand-sewn creations. Selma is a busybody. Roofer Terry wants a date with a classmate. Blaine is forced to join the class after losing a bet. Carmen harbors bitterness, and Cheryl has a broken heart. Will this patchwork group find friendship, faith, and healing?
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Review 1 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

keeps you wanting to get back to the story

Date:December 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:stryker ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good book kept interest and did not want to put the book down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Northwestern PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so enjoyed the mixing the English world and the amish world
It also had a great deal of humor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Addition to the Series

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tattered Quilt is about newlywed Emma Yoder Miller, who yet teaches another quilting class. This new group of students consists of a biker, a fisherman, a disgruntled neighbor, a young Amish girl, a reporter, and another young woman. These students all have their issues that they need to work through. Will they put their trust in God to get past their problems?
I really loved this novel. Being book two of The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club series, there were many students from book one who make an appearance. Which, for me, was nice to see an "update" on their lives.
I really loved the twist at the end. I definitely didn't see that coming. I would say this book is a great addition to my Wanda Brunstetter collection. I enjoyed it more than The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club. (Which I loved, too!). Highly Recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maggieslove
Location:Danville, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good reading
happy she wrote another book that went along with the first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

book was fun

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunny
Location:Park Hills, Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like series where the current characters are tied to the characters from a previous book, it helps you to remember what took place in the prior book while reading this one.
Wanda is an excellent writer and I love her recipes that she includes in all of her books. Have tried many and they are awesome!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I thought this was good reading, looking forward o

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nightowl
Location:Vancouver Ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this. Ofyen a sequel is disappointing, but this is as good as the first one inthe series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Followup

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Kingsport, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Tattered Quilt is yet another one of Wanda's "can't put down" books. Great story continuation from the first book. Also, some new and interesting characters. It just held my attention and I sure wish there was an "Emma" around here so I could take her quilting class! I would definitely recommend reading this. If you have not read the first one, read that first and then go into this follow up. You won't be disappointed! Wonder if there will be a third one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy thought provoking read

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
granny
Location:MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ENJOYED THE FOLLOWUP BOOK. IT INCORPORATED CHARACTERS FROM THE FIRST BOOK. EASY THOUGHT PROVOKING READ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tattered quilt

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cafemom02
Location:Bristow Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As usual Mrs. Brunstetter has outdone herself once again in her writings once you start one of her books you just can't put it down and The Tattered Quilt is no different wow how so many different people (families) can come together from all walks of life and be changed for the better! Makes you want to do all you can to help those in need or just need a little boost to get them back on the right track! I'm so thankful I have found such an outstanding writer that sucks me right in and I feel I am one of them and cry when they cry laugh when they laugh and so on, keep writing I can't put them down I love it!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read-don't miss it.

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Spickard, Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanda E Brunstetter is one of my and the patrons of the church library's favorite authors. She and Lamar show God's love and set a great example of Christian living. I enjoyed hearing about the first class, seeing the new class change and the restoration of the old quilt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the book

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
berrylady
Location:OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Again I could not put the book down until I had finished it! Great story. Easy read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book by Wanda Brunstetter

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
smill
Location:Oceanside, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, I was not disappointed with Wanda Brunstetter's books. I enjoyed reading again about Emma Yoder Miller's quilting class for people of all walks of life. I like how the people, male and female alike, find relationships with each other and with Emma, who so quietly guides them along their life problems. She and her husband, Lamar, a fellow quilt designer, put off their Florida vacation to start another quilting class. I highly recommend this book. It's a great follow-up to The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club. I also really liked the cover with quilting fabrics inside and flaps for bookmarks. Very nice touch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Great Read by Wanda Brunstetter

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mari
Location:Charleston, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanda has provided another awesome and amazing book with "The Tattered Quilt" in the Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club series. Emma and her new husband, l.amar, teaches another quilting class. The characters come for a variety of reasons and have some major issues that comes through with their actions and remarks at the beginning of the book. However, as Emma and Lamar shows their patience, love, guidance each character begins to open up to Emma and Lamar and others in the class. Thus by the end of the book their lives are more enjoyable as they have laid down emotions of jealousy, anger, bitterness, resentment, a know of all attitude. The students become involve with one another as well as previous students of Emma's. Wanda again shows how God's love and ways are the best way to live. Highly recommended for all to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diddleswitch
Location:Tilton, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the next chapter in the quilting class, all the new characters with connections to characters in the first book.
I loved the interconnection between the new characters too! I learn much about relationships. thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another amazing book by Wanda E. Brunstetter!

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Emma Yoder has now remarried and become Emma Miller. She is still the sweet, gentle woman that teaches lessons about getting along with others while teaching quilting classes. Now she has a wonderful complimentary partner in teaching in the form of her husband Lemar.
Their new class again has a wide variety of students in it. They have joined the class for various reasons. Selma is a belittling busybody who joined the class because it was paid for by someone else. Terry is a rugged roofer who wants the chance to meet a pretty woman who is in the class. Blaine loses a bet and has to take the class as a result. Anna’s mother signs her up in a desperate attempt to keep her from leaving the Amish faith. Carmen holds tightly to bitterness while hiding her secret motives for taking the class. And Cheryl has a broken, mistrusting heart that needs as much mending as the tattered quilt that she brings to Emma to repair.
Wanda has done a marvelous job of developing each and every one of these characters. The interactions between them are wonderful. I loved seeing how each of them developed in their personal lives and in their relationships to the other students throughout the book.
I won a free copy of this book through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very readable book.

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
sberries
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Be sure to read the first book-Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club. This one was as great as the first and am hoping Wanda Brunstetter writes a third book in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If anything like first book ....

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Tampa FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
If anything like first book, I know that I will really enjoy it. Have not had a chance to read this yet. I hope to get to it soon, but probably won't be until sometime in September.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved This Book!

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author Wanda Brunstetter does it again. I was skeptical when I first started reading this book. Would it even come close to being as good as The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club? My answer is Yes, Yes, Yes!
Once again six people from all walks of life are thrown together to learn the art of quilting. Six people who have issues going on in their lives. Some come to the class with real attitudes, some for good reasons, and one in particular perhaps to put a bad light on the Amish young people.
This book was a delight to read and I loved the ending. As the ending nears there is a wonderful surprise thrown in. I didn't see it coming!
This book left the possibility of another book down the road. I for one would love to see that happen!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Midg
Location:Mansfield, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book very much. Service and customer - excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tattered Quilt, Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets within the tattered threads

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with Emma in The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club and was thrilled to continue to read about Emma and her new marriage to Latham. They work together to minister to others as they teach them to quilt. They take very seriously the task of helping the unusual individuals God sends to their classes in a personal way.
I really enjoyed seeing the characters from the first book and how their lives intertwine with the new quilters. I got some great tips on quilting as a bonus! The tattered quilt that Emma is repairing for one of the class members holds secrets of its own. Read this book to discover the secrets of the tattered quilt and the ways of the peaceful Amish.
I received a free pdf version of this book from netgalley.com in exchange for my honest review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>