Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook

B&H Books The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook

When you marry another person, you make a vow to love and cherish your spouse through thick and thin, as long as you both shall live. But what if that commitment is tested by serious illness, or financial difficulty? Would you stay together? Are there limits on how far love can go?

Kim and Krickitt Carpenter never expected their commitment to each other to be tested so early, when 2 months after their wedding, a car accident left Krickett with a traumatic head injury and in a coma. When she awoke several weeks later, her rehabilitation began, but Krickitt had no memory of her husband. The previous 18 months when they had met, fallen in love, and been married were completely erased. Kim and Krickitt had to start all over again with the stress of physical rehabilitation, mounting medical bills and amnesia against them.

In The Vow, the Carpenters share their story of how, against enormous odds, they stuck together, fell in love again, and kept the marriage vows they'd made to each other. They also share their Christian faith, and how it sustained them through their most difficult times. In this volume, you'll read about the true events that inspired the February 2012 movie starring Rachel McAdams and Channing Tatum, and see personal photos from Kim and Krickitt.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 4098%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Review 1 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
ScoobyCheryl
Location:Guelph,ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy reading the story about what happen to her and her recovery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspiring story

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bubbles
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an incredible story! I would definitely recommend this to anyone to read. My husband and daughter are both reading it as well and they are enjoying it. Now I just need to see the movie!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring read

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fred Sandefer
Location:NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rented the movie of the same name with great anticipation & started to watch it, but found myself unhappy with how Hollywood chose to tell the story. There was no disappointment whatsoever with the book, however, as it told the story of Kim & Krickitt Carpenter. Throughout the chapters there were references to the couple's Christian faith & how it sustained them through a severe ordeal. It shows what it means to take one's marriage vows seriously & provides a sterling example of what perseverance through the tough times is all about. I would highly recommend this book for the story it tells as well as lessons it can teach about faith in God, faithfulness in marriage & navigating through difficult times in life.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Touching

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
poodle22443
Location:Colonial Beach, Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A story of true love for each other and for God. I was crying through most of it either for sadness or happiness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christians dealing with amnesia and lost love.

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sharon Beitler
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a testimony to the strength of the Christian committment to the marriage vow. Because of their faith, Kim and Krickett depended on God to hold them together and bring them back to the love they lost.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Saved
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredibly sad but uplifting story about Jesus' power and mercy. He knew he could use these two for great witness and glory and he has. I am thankful to know about them through their visit to Focus on the Family and this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story, Not so great writing

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Elliott
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a true story of how a couple's love persevered and triumphed, only by the grace of God. After their wedding in September, Kim and Krickitt Carpenter were involved in a devastating life changing car accident, on their way to Krickitt's parents for their first Thanksgiving that November. As a result of the accident, Krickitt lost almost two years of memory. She didn't remember meeting, dating or marrying her husband, Kim.
The book chronicles Kim and Krickitt's life together. Since they were married for less than three months before the accident, most of the book covers very little of their life before the accident but focuses more on their life after the accident. After many frustrating months, Kim and Krickitt had to accept the fact that Krickitt's memory may never come back. Through the help of a great counsellor and the by the grace of God, Kim and Krickitt struggle to date again, love again and eventually re- marry.
While I thoroughly enjoyed the story of the Carpenters lives, the writing was not so great. The writer who helped put the story together did not do justice (in my opinion) in the portryal of Kim's love and feeling for his wife. While I understand the writer was trying to help us understand Kim's frustration with the fact that the love of his life has no recollection of who he is during the recovery, instead, he was portrayed as bossy and overbearing. The writing was very mediocre. It seemed like a rush job. While the writing may not be the best, the story is absolutely wonderful, it is worth buying the book just for the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In this book we see real faithfulness

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Esther
Location:madrid, Spain
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is an impressive book on the importance of a vow, made before God.
It's refreshing in the days we live to see that there are many people that will fight for their marriages even when it would be understandable to make a good excuse and give up.
I admire the hard work they put into the relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The VOW

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
csdavis
Location:Wake Forest NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soooooooooo much better and more Christian based than the movie. The movie is ok but reading the book is a LOT better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia Crain
Location:Rutherfordton,N.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was highly impressed with this book. I have not seen the movie but if is anything like the book it would be worth going to see !!!!
I am amazed at the love between two people that one of those people would go as far as this man did to let her know that she was his wife. I admire him very much.
I would recommend this book to everybody that reads!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
June Bug
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading stories of this nature. And I especially like seeing how God works his wonders through our lives. This was a very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Story

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janine
Location:Gold Coast. QLD . Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this book in one sitting whilst flying overseas.
Great story - easy to read and very inspiring.
The personal photos added a very personal touch.
Good christian values and great encouragement to make a marriage work under very difficult circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Vow

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Seoul, Korea
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying the book immensely. However the CBDReader is not very good at all. It locks up and then you have to delete the app and re-install the app. Cbd also needs to add page numbers in the app. It leaves a lot to be desired. It is better to download the E-book and convert it and upload it into.
iTunes. Or read the book on your desktop in a PDF format.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read. Very inspiring.

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Martha DeLong
Location:Quarryville, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not seen the movie, but I've heard it is different. I enjoy comparing movies to the books they are based on to see just how accurately the movie has been made. Sometimes I am disappointed. The book is usually better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

inspiring

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read this aloud to my family in our driving times. I wanted my children to know the importance of keeping the wedding vows, even when it is not fun or convenient. Kim and Krickitt have transparently shared their lives in this book. I'm thankful for God's grace that helped them through the very hard spots, and gave them a testimony to share with a world who gives up on vows so easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an incredible book!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sister
Location:Sweden
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any married couple reading this book will be inspired by the commitment to his vow. This book far excels the movie, because here you read how both Kim & Krickett's faith is what saw them through. A commitment to Christ, each other and their promise "for better or worse". I can't imagine there being a worse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cdschafer
Location:waco, texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this couple in Albq. not long after I was involved in an auto accident, and about 3 years after their accident. It was hard to look at the pictures of their car. It was good to hear more or a continuation of their story, nice to know they were able to have children. Their story is amazing. We certainly serve a truly remarkable God. He can and still does heal, even someone with a brain injury.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Weezer
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did enjoy they book, but it was repetitive in lots of places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janice Farmer
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very touching story. I enjoyed the details and especially the photographs that were provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Isabella Sacchetti
Location:Montreal, QC Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good story - watched the movie so I wanted to see how much was real - there wasn't much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>