Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Moonblood - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Moonblood - eBook

Desperate to regain the trust of his kingdom, Prince Lionheart reluctantly banishes his faithful servant and only friend, Rose Red. Now she is lost in the hidden realm of Arpiar, held captive by her evil goblin father, King Vahe.

Vowing to redeem himself, Lionheart plunges into the mysterious Goldstone Wood, seeking Rose Red. In strange other worlds, Lionheart must face a lyrical yet lethal tiger, a fallen unicorn, and a goblin horde on his quest to rescue the girl he betrayed.

With the Night of Moonblood fast approaching, when King Vahe seeks to wake the Dragon's sleeping children, Lionheart must discover whether or not his heart contains courage before it's too late for Rose Red... and all those he loves.

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moonblood - eBook
Review 1 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Leo's story continues

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moonblood is a continuation of Veiled Rose. Prince Lionheart bows to the demands of fearful people and banishes his only friend, Rose Red to certain doom, nevertheless, he has lost the throne, his father removing him. Now he must face the consequences of his actions as he sets out to redeem himself and rescue you Rose Red.
Most of the books I read or movies I watch tend to focus on a story that contain this huge climatic battle and a grand ending of sorts, but we really never revisit the world to see the aftermath, the rebuilding of lives, fields, homes, etc. In Moonblood, we see the aftermath of the Dragon's destruction to Southlands and Parumvir, and how the kingdoms must find a way to rebuild their lives and homes, to figure out how they are going to feed themselves, and replant their fields poisoned by the Dragon's fumes. This struck me as beautiful and deepens, enriches the story.
Many of our favorite characters return: Sir Eanrin (Teamed up with Lionheart, for those of you who have read Heartless & Veiled Rose will understand the irony!) Rose Red, Beana, Oeric the goblin knight, Prince of Farthestshore, Felix, King Fidel (But no Una), and Dame Imraldera (Which I am so glad to have read Starflower before).
I love the creativity of this series, the way the author writes, and how everything is woven together. Such beautiful, poignant stories filled with real characters and fantastical creatures, objects and landscapes. It's a world I want to get lost in over and over, and here's hoping for many books to come!
Obviously, I can't wait until the next book comes out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
TreeFrog21
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect from the third book in the Goldstone Wood series because the title and cover somehow reminded me of vampires. If you have similar concerns, put your mind at ease. This book continues the story of Rose Red, the stout-hearted little heroine from Veiled Rose. "Moonblood" is the anniversary of a terrible event long ago. The plot does jump around a bit, which might be confusing to some. Trust, hope, and God's sovereignty are themes that surface again and again. Overall, I found the story, although quite dark, very moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 3 is wonderful!

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kurisuta
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moonblood is a direct sequel to Veiled Rose so I suggest you read that book before reading this one.
In a desperate bid to earn back the trust of his kingdom, Prince Lionheart banishes his only friend, Rose Red, to certain death. Now, his last hope for regaining his honor is to descend into the treacherous Wilderlands and find her.
But many perils stand in Lionheart's path. A mysterious Hunter is on his trail, a dangerous unicorn prowls the darker shadows, and Rose Red herself has been drawn into the hidden realm of Arpiar where the goblin king holds her captive for foul purposes of his own.
With the help of a blind cat, an ugly knight, and the gentle Lady of the Haven, Lionheart can only hope he will find Rose Red before the Night of Moonblood . . . when the sleeping dragons will awake . . .
The only complaint I have about this book is that it felt a little slower of pace in some places than the first two books. Nevertheless, it really is a great sequel! I was chuckling at some parts, in tears at others. And if you're expecting allegory like in the first two books, it's there, just not as pronounced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who will be sacrificed beneath the Moonblood?

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moonblood
by Anne Elisabeth Stengl
Book 3 is just as exciting as Heartless (Book 1) and Veiled Rose (Book 2). Of note if you have not read the other books: parts of Moonblood take place in the previous 2 books so that they are all an important part of one another.
The Southlands are free of the Dragon, but the effects of the five years he controlled the kingdom are still being felt. The people of the Southlands are turning against Prince Lionheart because of his friendship with Red Rose. When Una comes in search of Leonard her presence brings the peoples distrust of Red Rose to a fevered crisis and in-order to save both her life and his reign Lionheart (Leo) exiles her. But Red Rose's exile is a death sentence because she is being sent into the realm of King Vahe - her father.
Meanwhile Prince Felix of Parumvir is falling under the control of the poison still within his blood. When Felix hears the summoning cry of a Unicorn he follows it into the Kingdom of Arpiar where great evil is about to be unleashed.
When Leo is given a choice to right the wrongs he has committed, what will he choose? Will he marry Lady Daylily and reign over the Southlands or will he instead search for his childhood friend and give up his throne?
Who will be sacrificed to bring King Vahe's evil dreams to pass?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fairytales of EPIC proportion!!!

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first heard of "Heartless," I was intrigued by the front cover, and semi-interested by the summary. Eventually, I obtained a copy from a library and read it in one day. I was amazed by the complexity and beauty of the book, which had nearly moved me to tears. I was ecstatic when I discovered that more books were coming out and soon received the next two, "Veiled Rose" and "Moonblood."
"Veiled Rose," though good, did not pull me in as much as the first, but nevertheless I was thrilled to meet the maiden Rose Red, and learn the story of Lionheart, whom I felt sorry for in Heartless.
Then I read "Moonblood," which soon picks up after the end of "Heartless." This story grabbed me like few have.
I'm an avid reader, and I have read MANY books, both well-known and unknown. But after a few days of reflection, I decided that "Tales of Goldstone Wood" was my favorite fantasy series of all time! (Topping even the Lord of the Rings books for enjoyment anyway.) I had to share them, so I read them to my mother. She loved them, though at first concerned that they dwelt on darkness. (It didn't.) She felt a lot of understanding for Una, as she had gone through a nightmare herself as a young woman before being rescued by Jesus Christ.
"Moonblood" is a story of love, grace, forgiveness, and redemption. The main character, Lionheart, wants to be a good guy, but he's a people pleaser, and the people hate his best friend, the mysterious veiled girl, Rose Red, who terrifies the kingdom of Southlands. Afraid of losing his kingdom, Lionheart reluctantly banishes her to the dreaded Wilderlands. Soon afterwards, the rest of Lionheart's life falls to shambles. It is then that the second part of the book returns to a familiar character: Prince Felix, whose condition of dragon poisoning is becoming worse and worse. It his story that leads us to the land of Arpiar, a place of artificial beauty, overseen by the divinely beautiful King Vahe, and guarded by the evil, but haunted, unicorn. It is in Arpiar, the land of the Veiled Folk, that we are reunited with Rose Red, who has hardened her heart against the Prince of Farthestshore and Lionheart. Meanwhile, Lionheart bumbles his way through adventures with an unlikely guide: the cat Monster, otherwise known as Eanrin. (Or "sir," or "Your Grace", or "Your Eminence.") Eanrin likes Lionheart little, and Lionheart hates cats, so the two get on each others nerves in a hilarious way, especially when Lionheart learns Eanrin's secret. In this book we also re-meet, Lady Imraldera, who has a fascinating past strongly intertwined with Eanrin's. And we re-meet Sir Oreic, the ugly but noble knight, with a dark past that traces right back to Arpiar.
The author weaves all of these stories and more into a tapestry of adventure, beauty, and truth. The story draws to a pulse-pounding climax in which Lionheart attempts to earn absolution for his sins. But there is none who can redeem save the Prince of the land called Farthestshore...
I'm dying for the prequel covering Imraldera and Eanrin's past, "Starflower" and the book after that "Dragonwitch."
Please read these books with an ready-to-learn mind, because if you resent Una and Lionheart, you might be more like them then you want to admit.
Congratulations to Anne Elizabeth Stengel! She is an author blessed with the chance to change lives for God's Glory!
P.S
As for my nickname, "Hannah, age 14," ignore the age because I'm now older then that. Couldn't find a way to change it. Huh.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Disappointment

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sue Hope
Location:Essex, Ont
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Moonblood is book 3 in the Tales of Goldstone Wood Series. This fantasy novel is a story of man’s unfaithfulness and God’s mercy and His unrelenting gracious pursuit to bring mankind into His redemptive care. Although I have not read the first 2 books of this fantasy series, I did not feel lost as the plot unfolded, however, I did not find that the story flowed smoothly either. I was about a third of the way through the book before the allegoric nuisances became evident. To compare this story to the Narnia Chronicles is a stretch, the story drags at times and the characters fail to captivate one’s imagination. I received this book as a review copy from Bethany House with no expectations attached; the opinions expressed are my own. Moonblood was disappointing and I would give this book a rating of 2 out of 5.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Complete Disappointment

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not an experienced fantasy reader, I was intrigued by the description of Moonblood by Anne Elisabeth Stengl. However, in the publisher’s description of the book, there was no mention of the fact that Moonblood is book three in the Tales of Goldstone Wood series. Had I known this, I would not have requested it for review.
I thought this would be a good way to delve more deeply into the fantasy genre. I was wrong. The plot and characters were difficult to follow and understand. I felt like I had been dropped into a story where I was in a constant state of confusion. The author made little effort to explain any of the backstory for one who had not read the first two books and I always had the feeling that I was missing too much for the story to ever make sense.
The writing was choppy, the main character was a whiner who never fully developed and the ending was a disappointment. I think I’ll stick to C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien.
I give this book 2 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely loved it!

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! I enjoyed it so much I made myself savor it and not rush through it in one sitting. It is a wonderful continuation of the adventure of Lionheart and Rose Red and Felix. This is book three in the series and they must be read in order. The first is Heartless and the second is Veiled Rose.
I loved learning more about the history of Goldstone Wood (and surrounding – connected? areas). It still amazes me how Anne Elisabeth has woven such a complex tale. This book really ties the first two books together and shows just how epic of a series The Tales of Goldstone Wood can become.
It was so cool to discover who Monster (Felix and Una's cat from Heartless) actually is. After all, a blind cat who talks can't just be a cat; he’s got to be Somebody! And what a history he has! After Aslan, I think Monster is my favorite literary cat…who isn’t just a cat.
Lionheart’s struggle is an all too human struggle. Admitting our mistakes and bowing our knee to God. I absolutely loved the many forgiveness and redemption stories found in this novel.
If you enjoy fantasy, adventure, grand tales, or stories about finding oneself then you should definitely read this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stellar entrance into the fantasy world

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
AccidentalPoet
Location:Calgary AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This third book in AE Stengl's adept handling of the worlds surrounding Goldstone Wood does not disappoint. I was already impressed by the beautifully woven allegory in Heartless, charmed by the strength of Veiled Rose (such a delight to read a Book Two that did not read like so much filler) - I had high hopes/expectations for Moonblood.
Well done. Highly recommended for teens and adults everywhere.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best fantasy series I've read!

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moonblood is the third book in Tales of Goldstone Wood series by Anne Elisabeth Stengl. I deeply enjoyed the first two books called Heartless and Veiled Rose where the two main characters are a veiled girl named Rose Red and the Prince of Southlands, Leo or Lionheart as referred to in the book. This story takes place after the dragon that has scorched all of Southlands and several other capitals and countryside's. Leo has come back to sort out many of the problems that have plagued his country for the 5 long years of imprisonment. The castle and land have been ravaged by the legendary dragon poison where nothing grows and poison seeps into the land and it’s people. Rose Red has promised to stay by Leo’s side, but will that be enough when another dragon is sighted and Rose Red is seen bringing back the limp and unconscious Prince. How will the story end and will this dragon be slayed, or is there some other plot that is unknown!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end and loved this series. I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars for although the content was great, there were times when the chapters would drag out a little and I would find myself falling asleep at night. As for the characters, I simply loved the storyline between Leo, Rose Red, the Price of Farthestshore, Una, Felix the Prince of Parumvir as well as many others. Please pick up the book and read the series from first to last.
I received Moonblood by Anne Elisabeth Stengl compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say this has been an incredible series to have the opportunity to read from beginning to end. It's a definite must read for fans of Christian Medieval Fantasy books and the characters, creatures and lands are well-thought out. The best part about Anne's books in this series, is that they are unpredictable in that she doesn't give too much away to the readers at the beginning that they can sense the direction the story is headed. LOVE that in a writer!
Now the sad part, I am finished with this book and can only hope that Anne continues to write many more books in the future. Her talent as an author is assured by this reader!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Moonblood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing, amazing, amazing!!

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne Elisabeth Stengl has done it again with another wonderful book in the Tales of Goldstone Wood! This book was so amazing! It made me laugh and cry while keeping me on the edge of my seat the entire time! It's very allegorical and the scenes she portrays to the reader are so realistic! This book is definitely a must read and will be read numerous times! You will not be disappointed!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.