Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charlotte Mason Research Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before

Charlotte Mason Research Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before

Stoke the fires of your child's imagination and awaken the creative writer within! Featuring a teacher's guide and 19th-century black-and-white illustrations, this rich resource boasts over 65 "story-starters": narratives designed to suspend students in the middle of a predicament so that they can pick up a pen and determine what happens next! Ages 8 to 18. 458 pages, softcover from Charlotte Mason Research.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Review 1 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific variety

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie in Colorado
Location:Denver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 6th grade son enjoys writing and this has pushed him further in his creativity. We are thoroughly enjoying using this book and reading how it generates interesting stories.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Story Starters begins with an explanation of how the book is intended to be used, and how Karen Andreola used "exciting writing" in her own homeschool. The majority of the book is taken up with the story starters themselves. There are 67 pictures, with exciting story starters, to get our children started on their creative writing journey. At the end of the book, Karen has written a section entitled Hints For Polishing. Since this is intended for the older students, it is written directly to the student. It includes sections on adding descriptive language, engaging the reader's senses, choosing verbs carefully, and developing your character's description.24 additional pictures are included for story writing, without story starters. Karen walks the older student through the major components of a story, so they will be able to develop their own plot, create interesting characters, have a point of conflict, and a resolution.The final section of the book focuses on Charlotte Mason's views on narration. Narration is a natural ability, which can be turned into the ability to write, with guidance. Story Starters helps provide the guidance by allowing children to practice their writing skills in a fun and non-threatening manner.Story Starters made our first week of school fun! The children (grades 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10) enjoyed developing their exciting stories much more than writing an essay about their summer or jumping into a more serious writing assignment. More importantly, they are looking forward to continuing to use Story Starters. They count down the days until their next writing assignment.Story Starters does what it promises. It helps students write like they've never written before. Since Story Starters is reusable, non-consumable, and adaptable for every age of student, it's a great value for the homeschool family.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
I love this book! Rarely do you fall in LOVE with homeschool curriculum. It meets the need, and you are happy, but this... well, I am VERY pleased. Both of my children, who did not enjoy writing before, now look forward to creative writing! My daughter is in 12 grade and my son is in 5th. The concept is so great because each story gives you some meat and potatoes first, not just a simple concept like "What did you do on your summer vacation?" The art helps as well. It is so fun to see the differnt direction each of my children go with their stories. I included my nieces as well and the preschooler dictate her story to me, asking her questions along the way about the things she was telling me. By the end we had over a full page of her dictation for her to take home to her mother! It is wonderful! Thank you so much Karen, for creating this wonderful book. What a blessing!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
cindy wade
Fabulous! I cringed at the price, but just went for it anyway. My kids love this and ask for it on most days even when it runs their school day later and later. They listen intently to the stories just waiting for their chance to "pick it up" and finish it off. They love to sit under a tree outside and fill pages with their ideas of what happened and then share them all. There is lots of tips and teacher info that seems to be helpful, but I haven't really got into it all too much just yet. The pencil type drawings throughout are just enough to give a good idea, but leaves plenty for their imagination to run with. Love it!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Camilla Sisk
This book has been perfect for our homeschool. My children had a great time just deciding which story to finish first!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debbie George
This book sat in my "wish list" box for over a year. It seemed like a bit more money than I would like to spend on something I'd not seen yet. When it arrived I was extremely surprised. First by the size of it. I didn't notice all that time that it is 458 pages long! These story starters will last us for some time. 65 stories if used 1 time/week will last for over 2 school years. Second, there my son sits almost mesmerized as I read the stories and he waits for the "cliffhanger" as he calls it. It is an excellent resource. I am using it with an 8 year old in 2nd grade and we are both loving it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Fletcher
What the Andreola family has contributed in the "home education resource world" our family continues to profit from immensely, so right away we sent for Story Starters. From the moment my 11 yr. old son read the first lesson, he has eagerly and very excellently created and read to us his "conclusion of the story," which we count a great blessing from the Lord!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cheryl C
This resource is perfect for our homeschool. I use it with multiple levels (grades 2 through 8) with eager participation. We have a creative writing afternoon each week. I select a story starter; it is often related to a field trip or experince we have just had. Sometimes I begin our session by reading a related short story or chapter from classic literature. Sometimes I use Ruth Keller's books for the parts of speech to encourage more diverse vocabulary and incorpaorate some grammar. My younger children narrate their stories. I record them and then they copy what they have created. Each child has a story notebook reserved for this purpose. The situations give the children the oppurtunity to solve the problem presented or springboard into a different plot of their own. We have fun reading these stories after dinner. It amazes me how each child creates a different scenario and conclusion. The peals of laughter attest to the creative heights to which my children are inspired. Karen includes many ideas to polish stories. One of my children is looking forward to using the pictures without starters. This will be a well used resource in our homeschool!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Story Starters: Helping Children Write Like They've Never Written Before
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anne Jemanden
This book is advertised as adaptable for all grades-but that's unrealistic. It's written at a very simple level with simple plots that won't appeal to many older students. It would be a good tool, maybe, for elementary and early middle school students, but the characters and situations aren't going to work for a highschooler. Plus it doesn't encourage much dialogue. There are a wide variety of stories and plenty of things to choose from-just not for an older student.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.