Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook

Thomas Nelson DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Review 1 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
M. Simmons
Location:Atlantic IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author allows a better understanding of how these precious people have been misled. When told the truth by Jesus, their lives changed dramatically. Most have been seeking what they did not know, then after they find Him, how can they share this truth in drastic circumstances!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Perspective

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah G
Location:NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was riveting. It was a reminder to me that God is still at work today in powerful ways, even if my limited perspective doesn't always see it. It also reminded me of the power of prayer. And finally, as someone who grew up a short ride from the World Trade Center, it was a terrific education about my (literal) Muslim neighbors and a challenge to LOVE and pray for this people group instead of fearing them. I highly recommend this and then I recommend you read Acts to see the parallels! Great book! God be the glory, great things he has done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant book and plan on reading it again

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Dayton Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those books that reveals the answer to your prayers...
This is one book I will read again.....soon
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book of encouragement and challenge!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Verna Cripe
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Doyle has written another book sharing the good news of Jesus in drawing Muslims to Himself. Every Christian needs to read this to be encouraged at what God is doing around the world, and to be challenged in our outreach to others!
I have quoted from his first book, BREAKTHROUGH:
ISLAM = I shall love all Muslims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jesus revealed Himself to the muslims

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jing
Location:Qatar
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cant stop reading. You will know how God moves in this side of the world. The verse that says...I will be found by those who didnt seek me...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting!

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's exciting to know what God is doing in the Muslim world. Mr. Doyle shares story after story of people in Islamic countries who are having dreams or visions and being confronted with the reality of Jesus Christ. It's amazing to see how much God loves them--he's going to epic biblical proportions to draw them to himself. Thank you, Thomas Nelson, for a review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't realize how powerful this book would be! I was a little skeptical at first based on the title of the book thinking it would be more sensationalism but it was nothing like that at all. I didn't want to put this book down. Each chapter covers a different person's testimony of how he or she had a dream or vision of Jesus and how it spurred them to seek out more information. They were often led to another believer and they would share Scripture with them and usually give them their own Bible to read. I liked how the book was broken up geographically to show it's happening all over the Middle East. The passion Mr. Doyle has for Muslim's is inspiring. I think he presents great material and useful information on how to love Muslim's and realize that a very large percentage are born into the religion, not converted. The statistics he gives in the end were staggering to me. I think this is a fantastic book that everyone should read. I love what God is doing in the world! I think it's so valuable for us to hear these stories. I also like how he encourages us to pray for the people in his book as they are real live people, not just stories.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5-star book!

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DREAMS AND VISIONS by Tom Doyle with Greg Webster is a captivating read which presents how God has been using dreams and visions of Jesus to prepare thousands of Muslims for receiving Christ. Several specific testimonies from former Muslims are documented and the reader is impressed with the similiarites of the testimonies from individuals who come from various Muslim countries. The Bible is by no means excluded or minimized as the message which needs to be understood and received. The dreams serve primarily to direct Muslims to find a Christian with a Bible who can show them the way to the Truth and Salvation in Christ.
Dreams and Visions not only gives the fascinating accounts of the conversion of many Muslims, but also gives helpful historical and current information about Islam, such as the difference between Sunnis & Shiites and why Iran is such a powerhouse for Islam. The book illustrates how the Church of Jesus Christ is being built according to His promise, even in a hostile world that is closed to the normal entrance of the gospel through missonaries.
Dreams and Visions is one of those axes which breaks up any ice that might be present in the heart of the reader. The reader is challenged to find if there is a Biblical reason that would negate the reality of the dreams which thousands of Muslims have reported. He is also challenged by the zeal that the new converts have to testify of Christ in dangerous situations and their willinglness to lay down their lives for Christ.
In a conversation regarding the feeble state of the church in Europe, Doyle suggested the following, "I think we should concentrate our efforts on reaching the Muslims in Eurpoe and then let them reach the European church." Such a statement indeed challenges the normal way westerners think about doing missions. May Dreams and Visions help deliver us from our complacency towards the evangelism of the Moslem world and encourage us to become active participants in the Lord's working there, at least through our prayers in their behalf and in our love towards those who come into our neighborhoods.
(I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
______________________
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Dreams and Visions
Dreams and Visions: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World?
By Tom Doyle, with Greg Webster
Book Description
Jesus appears to be revealing Himself to Muslims through powerful dreams and visions throughout the Islamic world today, and the results are dramatic.
Eleven years ago, Pastor Tom Doyle felt God calling him to leave the pastorate and become a full-time missionary in the Middle East and Central Asia. Through his extensive work in the region, which includes over 80 trips to places like Iran, Afghanistan, Iraq, Egypt, Syria, Israel, Lebanon, and Turkey, Tom has met and recorded the stories of former Muslims who were first introduced to Jesus through either a dream or a vision that powerfully opened their hearts to become followers of Christ. Though they live in the most dangerous places in the world for people who leave Islam and embrace Christ, their passion for the Savior is contagious and inspirational.
These are never-before-told stories from the front lines of the world of Islam. Through these unexplained supernatural occurrences, more Muslims have become believers in the last ten years than in the last 15 centuries of Islam.
Why would God use dreams to reach the Muslim world?
Can dreams and visions be trusted?
What happens after these people experience a dream or vision?
In Dreams and Visions, Tom Doyle takes the reader deep into the heart of the Middle East to meet believers who have been directly touched by the very hand of God.
Each of the people whose stories are told in the book have reported seeing Jesus in either a dream or vision. They all seem to know who He is immediately upon seeing Him. Sometimes two different people have the same dream, or a Muslim will have a dream where Jesus shows them a building they must find. When they wake up, they find the building and meet the people who live there (Christians, of course, who are able to lead the person to the Lord).
The chapters of the book are divided into sections by country: Egypt, Pakistan, Iraq, Iran, Syria, Saudi Arabia, and even Israel and America. I really appreciated how the author gave a brief historical background of the countries and the Muslim groups that have become dominant there. It helps create a clearer picture in my mind of the context of the stories.
Do I believe the dreams and visions are from God? I can honestly say that I hope so. And it appears to be so.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: Dreams And Visions by Tom Doyle

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
StevenCYC
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Personally speaking, I have both read and heard that Islam is a peaceful religion. However, I have always been skeptical about its peacefulness considering the events of 9/11. Those who have argued that they were the actions of a few handful of extremists may have a point. However, the stories streaming from the Middle East does not communicate a peaceful religion. Islam is not considered the fast growing religion by consent, but rather the fastest enforced religion. It must be said that those who have suffered as a result of Islam and its local to global implications may find no hope in changing such a wayward stream of religious groups. However, Tom Doyle and Greg Webster have written a book titled “Dreams and Visions – Is Jesus Awakening The Muslim World?”
What has been taking place behind the scenes is truly a wonderful phenomenon. Jesus has been revealing Himself supernaturally as He did with Saul of Tarsus in the book of Acts. He has appeared to devout and wayward Muslims, changed their lives by leading them towards the truth, and gradually changing the landscape of the Middle East. Tim Doyle details each story of the conversions that have taken place, and how men and women have found Jesus through a series of dreams and visions. The stories expose the truth about Islam, the nature of the violence that takes place, and the price that every Christian faces when witnessing to the Muslim communities. What was thought hopeless, is in fact quite the opposite. I recommend this book to all who are interested in Islam, witnessing to Muslims and the wonderful stories of Christian converts in hostile regions.
I’ve received this complimentary book from the Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Chancey
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:male
I had read a little bit about this subject before starting this book. The subtitle of this book is a question: "Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World?" And I would have to say, after reading the stories in these pages, that God is surely doing something in the Middle East to bring revival.
Tom Doyle's book is, first of all, written from the heart of a missionary. He has been in these hard-to-reach places, he has talked with most of the people whose stories appear in his book, he has a burden for the Muslim world - in short, he writes this book with love, not just with the bland fact-giving tone of many books with biographical content. And there are many stories to be told, apparently.
Each of the people whose stories are told in the book have reported seeing Jesus in either a dream or vision. They all seem to know who He is immediately upon seeing Him. Sometimes two different people have the same dream, or a Muslim will have a dream where Jesus shows them a building they must find. When they wake up, they find the building and meet the people who live there (Christians, of course, who are able to lead the person to the Lord).
It is impossible to read stories of these Christians in the Middle East without being simultaneously repulsed by the persecution and torture they endure and encouraged by the strength of their faith. In the excellent Appendices in the back of the book, Doyle answers the question easily: "How do you know the dreams and visions are of God?" He makes two strong statements: Point #1 - No one goes to sleep a Muslim and wakes up a believer in Christ. Without fail, the dreams only point the dreamer to a person who shares the Word of God with them. For some, it only takes a dream or two - others have had many dreams over the span of many months. Some of the dreamers written about in the book have not yet received Christ at the time of the book's printing (and Doyle asks us to pray that they do). It appears that Jesus is not violating the Scripture that says "Faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God."
Big point #2 - Look at the fruit of the dreams and visions. These dreams produce seekers of Christ, who become disciples of Christ who are willing to die for their faith (a very likely reality for most of them). Not only that, but when they accept Christ they are so deeply changed by Jesus that they cannot help but share the Gospel with others.
The chapters of the book are divided into sections by country: Egypt, Pakistan, Iraq, Iran, Syria, Saudi Arabia, and even Israel and America. I really appreciated how the author gave a brief historical background of the countries and the Muslim groups that have become dominant there. It helps create a clearer picture in my mind of the context of the stories.
Do I believe the dreams and visions are from God? I can honestly say that I hope so. And it appears to be so.
I received this book free from the publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Baffling but inspirational

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mookie D
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Dreams and Visions is the debut book Tom Doyle regarding his missionary journey in the Middle East, and most fascinatingly, his encounters with Muslim converts to Christ who claimed so because of dreams and visions they have received from the Lord Himself. The book is composed of 23 chapters which are structured episodicly, going through a Muslim convert in each chapter and describing his/her background, as well as cultural and historical significance of his heritage and hometown as it relates to the Bible (the history of Abram and Ishmael, the geography of Babylon, etc).
Overall, the book is riveting and inspiration. It can be quite speechless at times because you don’t know what to really think of these dreams. Can the Lord still reveal Himself to humanity? Based on this book, the answer appears to be yes, especially if people are being led to Christ, which clearly cannot be the work of Satan. I’m quite a cessationist and always proceed with caution as it relates to miracles, dreams, and visions, but this book has definitely kept my mind open to the Lord’s miraculous, inexplicable workings throughout the world. I highly recommend this book.
Note: I received this book as a complimentary review copy from Thomas Nelson Book Sneeze program. I was not obligated to write a positive review, but only my honest opinion.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: Dreams And Visions by Tom Doyle

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
StevenCYC
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Personally speaking, I have both read and heard that Islam is a peaceful religion. However, I have always been skeptical about its peacefulness considering the events of 9/11. Those who have argued that they were the actions of a few handful of extremists may have a point. However, the stories streaming from the Middle East does not communicate a peaceful religion. Islam is not considered the fast growing religion by consent, but rather the fastest enforced religion. It must be said that those who have suffered as a result of Islam and its local to global implications may find no hope in changing such a wayward stream of religious groups. However, Tom Doyle and Greg Webster have written a book titled “Dreams and Visions – Is Jesus Awakening The Muslim World?”
What has been taking place behind the scenes is truly a wonderful phenomenon. Jesus has been revealing Himself supernaturally as He did with Saul of Tarsus in the book of Acts. He has appeared to devout and wayward Muslims, changed their lives by leading them towards the truth, and gradually changing the landscape of the Middle East. Tim Doyle details each story of the conversions that have taken place, and how men and women have found Jesus through a series of dreams and visions. The stories expose the truth about Islam, the nature of the violence that takes place, and the price that every Christian faces when witnessing to the Muslim communities. What was thought hopeless, is in fact quite the opposite. I recommend this book to all who are interested in Islam, witnessing to Muslims and the wonderful stories of Christian converts in hostile regions.
I’ve received this complimentary book from the Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JOYOUS EXCITEMENT !!!

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
Location:Glendora, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS EASILY THE MOST EXCITING NON-FICTION CHRISTIAN BOOK I'VE EVER READ!! I've been hearing for the last 4 or 5 years about miracles, dreams, and visions happening to Muslims regularly in the Middle East, but never before has anyone given me an easy-to-understand and complete picture like this. My former skepticism has turned into praise for our wonderful Lord! Dramatically clear and consistent visions of Jesus among Muslims, resulting in radically changed lives, is exactly what the Scriptures call for, and here it is! Don't miss reading about the fastest growing group of Believers in the world! You will never, ever hear this true story from the secular media! Thank you, Tom, for writing this book! And... a special thank you for the challenge you give us at the end!!! DGB
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God at work! Very exciting book.

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dreams and Visions" contains confirmed, first-hand accounts of Muslims who have dreamed about or had visions of Jesus. These dreams motivated them to seek out Christians and ask questions about Jesus and for a Bible to read. Christians have been able to use these visions as a way to lead Muslims to Christ. It was exciting to read about how God is powerfully working in the Middle East!
For those uncertain about the idea of dreams and visions from God: No one in the book claimed that the dreams themselves caused a conversion, only that it opened the way for Muslims to start asking questions that they otherwise wouldn't have. The Christians were also careful to tell the dreamers to test what the Jesus in the dreams said against the Bible to make sure the dreams were truly from God.
The book also contained a lot of information about what it's like to be a Christian or to convert to Christianity in the various countries mentioned. The last section was about what American's can do to reach out to their Muslim neighbors.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in how God is at work and how to reach out to Muslims.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DREAMS AND VISIONS: Is Jesus Awakening the Muslim World? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dreams Awakening the Muslim World

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BibleReadingProject
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Doyle's collection of stories of divine encounters and visitations among Muslims stands as a potent testimony to the power and love of God, introducing not only supernatural dreams and visions in the Muslim world, but also the supernatural love of God for all of His creation. The book contains careful reporting of documented cases of dreams and visions of Jesus in almost every nation of the Middle East. While it's obvious that Doyle has been a responsible and thorough reporter, the writing is active and follows a nonfiction novel format, recreating scenes, emotions, and action through numerous interviews and meticulous research. Using the stories of dreams and visions as a centerpiece, Doyle carefully constructs the context for each story to take place, illustrating the history of numerous nations, describing Islam and its worldview, and describing how house churches and Christianity functions in these parts of the world, making the book as essentially informative as it is inspiring and exciting.
Doyle comes from a significantly strong conservative perspective and often highlights the ugliest aspects of Islam. As a field worker and an experienced researcher, he is well entitled to this perspective and portrayal. What he presents is fact; my only apprehension is that the sometimes sensational tone of his prose when partnered with these facts may inspire more fear than he intends. In some odd way, I feel like this book should have been better. Some of these stories have been published before in Voice of the Martyrs newsletters etc. They are highly impacting and poignant, and the author's energetic portrayal of the events seeks to make the most of each story. There are times when the prose seems overactive and too much like fiction writing. As a reader I feel set up for the emotional response and this damages the authenticity of emotion that often simple reporting will accomplish because we know it's real. This is only a slight concern in the midst of an excellent presentation of God's love at work. I laud Doyle even more as a non-charismatic graduate of Dallas Theological Seminary who is so involved and honest about God's supernatural work. His initial skepticism gives weight to his voice, and his wisdom in how to practically judge and apply dreams and visions in evangelism and missions work is welcome. As a worker among Muslims, I appreciated Doyle's exhortations to the local church to reach out to the Muslim community. Dreams and Visions is an important work for our nation and a tremendously encouraging work as well; it is well edited, well written, engaging, and full of the Father's heart.
My thanks to Thomas Nelson for providing this complimentary review copy. I have provided an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.