Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook

Thomas Nelson Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Review 1 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book interviews some of the greats

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was written by Curtis Eichelberger who goes behind the scenes and on and off the field to give us a window into the spirtual journey of many football players, coaches. and their wives. The book is subtitled, "How Faith Guides The Players. Coaches, and Wives Of The NFL".
Topics include:
1. How they give glory to the Lord.
2. How the players deal with the violent nature of the game as Christians who are called to love one another,
3. The sacrifices that are made especially by the wives.
4. How they overcome adversity like injuries and family concerns.
5. How they deal with temptation.
6. How they deal with transitions like life after football.
7. What it means to lead.
I would like to read through the book again and take notes even though I am not a professional athlete because the lessons of life are universal. There is lots of wisdom these players, coaches, and wives have to offer. Some of the people interviewed include: Tony Dungy, Ray Lewis, Aaron Rogers (very little), and Trend Dilfer and Matt Hasselback. The author also quotes many others including Tim Tebow and Joe Gibbs. I learned a lot about some of the men that I didn't know. I have always appreciated the faith of Tim Tebow and Tony Dungy. I have read their books, "The Eyes of Faith" and "Quiet Strenth" respecively. Still, I learned more about these men of faith.
One important lesson that I took away from reading the book is that we must be willing to fail if we will ever accomplish anything, A football quarterback comples am average of 62% of his passes. That means he fails to complete 38%. A NBA players makes 46% of his shoots and a MLB players is considered great if he fails to get a hit 70% of the time.
The other important lesson was a reminder that no matter what we go through our faith will sustain us and God is faithful to see us through even if we don't have complete understanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

on Football, Fame, Fortune... and Faith?

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm pretty good with words, but I'm not sure I can adequately articulate how disappointed I was by this book. Described as an exploration of the role faith has in the lives of NFL coaches, players, and wives, MEN OF SUNDAY proves to be a cursory glance at best and a confusing jumble of platitudes at worst. And the confusion stems from the very heart of the book, which is something of an internal argument Eichelberger appears to be conducting.
An intended central theme that emerges from the pages is that NFL players and their families are just like everyone else. They suffer with ailments, struggle with insecurities, fall prey to temptations, and face the same problems we all face as members of humanity. I know this, because it's written over and over (and over) throughout the book, almost as if Eichelberger is trying to convince himself that it's true.
However, this theme is betrayed by using terms like "ordinary people" and "regular people" to describe non-NFL employees. Coupled with an inherent weighting system that elevates NFL players above the fray, the stated central theme is modified between the lines to read something more like: NFL players are just like everyone else, except their problems are more severe, their struggles are more monumental, and, because of their success, fame, and fortune, they're way more interesting, wise, and worth writing about.
Further juxtaposing the intended subject matter with author's adoration of wealth and power is this gem of a quote, which I had to read several times over before I finally believed it was included in a book about living a life of faith according to God's standards.
"...it's unlikely that you'll seek out the advice of the mail room clerk, the loading dock manager, or the nightwatchman. If that's the highest he has climbed the corporate ladder, he must not be very wise." (emphasis mine)
Material success clearly determines wisdom. And yet... Well, that speaks for itself.
So that's the foundation of the book and on top of this sandy soil, Eichelberg builds his case. Or tries to. Initially, I assumed I was distracted by nitpicks that tend to bother me as I read. Then, slowly, it dawned on me that the quality of writing just wasn't at a level I expected. In addition to the aforementioned thematic disparity, the book lacks clear organization and completion of thought.
Though divided into chapters on distinct challenges NFL players face (Family Sacrifices, Temptation, etc.), several times I had to remind myself which chapter I was reading, because the stories don't always seem to align with the topic at hand. Many of the examples and quotes feel forced, or at the very least, hastily cobbled together. Further, the reader is often "left hanging" as the stories don't fully resolve and we're left to draw our own conclusions or fill in missing connections.
I don't want to make light of the struggles we all face - NFL employees and "regular folk" alike - or the importance of faith in handling these challenges. And I'm certain that, in line with the adage of "more money, more problems," these challenges can take on added weight with elevated exposure and societal status (perceived or otherwise). However, I don't think anyone enters that profession without understanding at least some of these risks. I also lean onto the promise that we are never overtaken by our temptations - that is, God always provides a way out and we face nothing we cannot bear.
MEN OF SUNDAY seems to ignore that passage of scripture and embrace something of a victim mentality on behalf of NFL players and coaches. That, along with the other annoyances I've already laid out (and a few I haven't), made this read both disappointing and aggravating.
-from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw (12/20/12)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Men Of Sunday: How Faith Guides The Players, Coaches & Wives Of The NFL, written by Curtis Eichelberger, is a book that is designed to give an in depth look into Faith and the NFL.
Eichelberger spent years interviewing players, coaches, and wives of the NFL with an intent to examine how their faith has shaped their lives and careers. The manner in which these interviews are presented brings the reader of this publication an inside glance at some of the trials of faith that are endured by the Christian athletes and coaches of the NFL. Their stories are truly inspirational, for they demonstrate how they relied on their faith to get them through the trials set before them.
Inside the book, you will find stories from past and present NFL stars, such as, but not exclusive to, Trent Dilfer, Ray Lewis, LaDanian Tomlinson, Mike Singletary, Aaron Rodgers, and Tony Dungy. Each of these stories will bring inspiration to those who cram around the television on Sundays, screaming at the refs as they play the role of arm chair quarterback, but it will also inspire even those who do not make the NFL a powerful part of their lives.
This book is a recommended read for any football fan, but even more so for those who are walking the faith and striving to serve God within their own lives.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not what I expected but still good

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love football so was intrigued to read how faith plays out in the NFL. It's easy to read, has really good examples, and wasn't quite what I expected. I admit I thought I'd read how Christianity made these guys great football players. Definitely wasn't that. It really focused on how coaches and players dealt with faith within the football environment. It was broken down by chapters that dealt with various subjects and used faith examples within the chapter to illustrate. I thought the stories were touching and not every story was about someone who was a born-again believer. It was also interesting to read about some players that I didn't realize were Christians. Definitely a good read!
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dale
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great insight into the lives of some NFL players and their families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Men of Sunday

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, and I don't know why but I was really surprised by the number of Christians in the NFL. I knew players like Kurt Warner, and Tim Tebow are a few, and I felt far between. I don't know the exact number of Christian men in the NFL, but there are a lot more than I knew.
I found this book to be quite an insight into the every day lives of the players. To find some meeting for prayer sessions before games, was a surprise, and a pleasant one. Some of the things going on these players lives rather made sense and I could probably predicted it, but it is written in black and white. The women who throw themselves at these players, yes they "want" to get pregnant.
We see into the family lives of these players, and how hard the separation is on them. I loved the Arizona Cardinals Woman's Bible Study group, and how they are there for one another.
I now find some wonderful Godly men are in the NFL, and are fine examples for today's youth. Thank you Curtis Eichelberger for this insightful and heartwarming read.
I received this book from the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Sports Read

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As my son was peeking over my shoulder, I was choosing my next book to review. He saw the title, Men of Sunday, along with the picture of a football player and said, "Ooh, get that one, Mom." I did.
I have grown to love football. Having two boys now teenagers definitely has encouraged that love. I also love hearing stories of believers who stand out in the popular crowds and are outspoken about their faith.
Men of Sunday, written by Curtis Eichelberger, chronicles the lives of past and present football players who profess faith in Christ. Each chapter holds a different aspect of their lives while working their jobs in the NFL. Much of the book reminds those of us, not in the public eye, the difficulties that can arise when one lives in the view of the whole world. The players' entire family is in this limelight. The culture of our world can easily seep in as strong temptations and ruin a once good marriage. The spiritual strength of these couples is so important to fight all that comes their way. I especially appreciated the testimonies of Tony Dungy and Trent Dilfer.
Hearing the testimonies of those who have fought the good fight in this arena is encouraging. But I was very disappointed in the "shallowness" of much of the book. "Faith" is a term that appears to be used loosely. There seems to be a fear of some to "offend" others by their beliefs. I feel this is not an option. Yes, we are to be wise and compassionate, but see the need for saving faith. Sometimes, offending is necessary.
Overall, it was a good book in understanding the struggles that accompany NFL families.
As a part of the booksneeze blogging network, I received a free copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book for athletes

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is about the faith of some athletes involved in the professional sport of football. Using certain topics the author relates the spiritual to the job as a professional athlete.
Some of the titles of the chapters are Overcoming Adversity, What Does It Mean To Lead and Family Sacrifices. Some of the athletes mentioned and discussed were Trent Dilfer, Ray Lewis and Aaron Rodgers.
You do not have to be a football fan to enjoy this book. It is more of a book about Christians who play the professional sport of football. How being a Christian has helped them during different times during their lives is the basic theme of each chapter.
I gave this book 4/5 stars. Although I enjoyed the idea of the book I felt like it would be best for a Christian athlete who was going professional. There was a lot of great advice and places to go to help when trying to keep your faith and play in the sport.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Men of Sundays

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is all about the NFL players, coaches, team owners and families. It tells of what we all wonder about, what goes on behind the scenes, in the locker rooms on Sunday morning and afternoon when most of us are at church, going to lunch with families then go home and watch the games. It speaks of how some teams have their own pastors to minister to the players, employees and families. It tells of how different people go through difficult situation because of their religious beliefs and what society doesn't agree with. It was interesting to know that Christian's that are involved in the NFL can still have Sunday worship in the morning and then play the game in the afternoon. Most of us believe that the NFL is all about tailgating, beer drinking and playing football, but in this book it gives a different look at the players that choose to, do have a relationship with GOD. Read this book to know what the media doesn't show us.
I did find this book interesting but it was hard to keep my interest through some parts of the book. I would recommend this to any football fan, as I believe it will hold their interest more then mine. I am not an avid fan, but my husband is and I know he would enjoy this book, it would be a great gift to give to your football fan.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men of Sunday: How Faith Guides the Players, Coaches, and Wives of the NFL - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review of the book Men of Sunday by Curtis Eichelb

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a bit hard to get through because I am not really into football, I only got the book because I was interested to see how faith plays a part in football. It took me about 2 days to read this book and I liked a few things about it.
I like the quote on page 2 "Prayer is not a rabbit's foot or superstition. We are talking to a GOD who cares of every facet of our lives. If it is important to them, it is important to GOD." I like this because GOD is our friend and we can pray to him at any time, he is never busy and as long as we ask for something in his will or in his son's name Jesus he will answer it for us. He is a loving GOD. It also mentions in the next couple paragraphs about how the football players speak to GOD striaght from their heart, and that's what GOD wants, not some prayer you recited, saying it over and over again. He wants us to be honest and pray about something real.
I also like what a football coach said on page 12, " They decided to focus on Paul's letter to the Philippians, which we wrote during his imprisonment in Rome, encouraging Christians to be united in one another and to think of themselves not as individuals, but as being united in the body of Christ and belonging to each other."
I like the quote on page 28 as well which says, " When I go to bed at night, did I comprise today? Did I cheat anybody? Did I lie? Did I manipulate? It's like David said, "Lord, search my heart and see if there is anything hidden in me, expose it, because I want to be right with you." That was said by football player Singletary. I like that quote because we have to be honest with ourselves and with GOD to be his friend and we really have to do some soul searching to be honset.
The rest of the book was just ok and I didn't really see anything that stood out to be mentioned in my review. Overall it was a good book and distracted me from my life and I will be probably keep it for later on when I want to re-read it at some point.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.