Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook

Thomas Nelson How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Review 1 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Power of a Loving Relationship

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
JerryBlounts
Location:Houston, ML
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This author provides an amazing range of information about parents and kids concerning sexuality. My big take-away, however, is the depth and sensitivity Dr. Chirban details for establishing a loving relationship with your kid that creates the foundation for any issue, including the many tough topics of sexuality. His high regard for spirituality comes through what he writes and his experiences with his kids are moving, heartfelt, and convincing. I also loved the humor, current events references, and emphasis on values throughout the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Sensitive and Carefully Prepared Book

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
LillySweeney
Location:Baltimore, ML
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one topic that most parents will not find easy, but this book provides many keys to open many important doors for strengthening family life and understanding our children. I loved the specific guidance that Dr. Chirban provides for understanding sexuality at various stages of growth for children and teens and the wonderful suggestions he offers to make a difference. This book impressively weaves the role of spiritual awareness and insight with the realities of physical, emotional, and social issues unlike anything I've read before--though I've searched for extensively. With warmth and humor this author wins my vote!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritually Sensitive and Solid Support

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoannaFeilds
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We always says that God blesses sexuality and that sexuality is good--but there's a huge golf between that ideal and what parents have to deal with the nitty-gritty of really working with sexuality in their kids' lives. I loved this book. It is warm, frank, clear, and very spiritually sensitive to the values that seem at odds with most of what we see in the media about sex. This book gives parents needed support. While I thought I had it pretty much under control and was just tweaking my kniowledge and stance, I found myself nodding as the author was saying what I wasn't expressing to my kids but what is in my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a very inspirational book!

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarySueDavis
Location:Feriday, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Chirban's book was not only an inspiration but described a wide spectrum of life issues related to sexuality with which all kids struggle. His book really helped me address concerns with which my daughter was struggling but was uncomfortable to discuss. Well written and actually fun to read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From a Grateful Mother of Three Primary School Gir

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marrianne Parker
Location:Belmont, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I planned to talk to my daughter about sexual issues after she was seven--and thought that I was ahead of the game. This book helped me realize the importance of opening these discussions even earlier in and age-appropriate way. And I am glad I did. While this book gives you very helpful words to put the issues of sexuality in perspective from early on, it helped me realize that the other issues, as well, such as peer pressure, eating concerns, body self, and bullying affect what Dr. Chirban calls the "sexual self"--and the importance of my close relationship with my daughter to discuss these matters. So many important topics are covered. I shared the book with my friends and we each found areas that spoke to us in similar and different ways that we valued. This book is a blessing. I strongly recommend "How to Talk to Your Kids About Sex" because it helps you realize that the time is NOW to deal with sex and love with your kids.
Belmont, CA
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The "Bible" for Parents, A MUST HAVE!!!,

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mother of 4
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every parent struggles with the "when's, how's and why me's" about when it is appropriate to talk to our kids about the birds and the bees. This is my 'GO TO' book. it has helped me tremendously understand why my kids do what they do, and help me explain in the most straight simple ways about their bodies, their changes, their feelings, and yes, even SEX! Reading about Dr. Chirban's own experiences and how he approached his own children's needs, are the examples I need to develope my own "talks" and let my children know its OK to trust and confide in me when they have questions. In today's world, sex is all around us, and it pokes at our children well before they are at an age to understand it, and that is scary. Having this book under my belt has allowed me to relax more about these subjects with my kids, and not DREAD the TALK! I stongly recommend this book for new mothers and fathers, grandparents, and even the seasoned well-versed parents of teenagers!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Is a Parent's Blessing!

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
AriellaClark
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talk about sex is a hard subject when kids have so many influences from outsidie, the media, and friends. With science, faith, and love, Dr. Chirban helps you to affirm the power of your values and communicate openly and honestly with your children. I was so gratified that my kids opened up and talked about their honest concerns. This book showed me how to make it happen. I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb Guide!

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
edpapavich
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three children (5, 11, and 17). Throughout my children's lives I have searched high and low for guidance on how to talk with my kids about sex, just when I had begun losing hope... I stumbled upon Dr. Chirban's new book. Chirban's book has incredible depth and guidance, but at the same time he doesn't push his values and moral views on me. Dr. Chirban helps build a great structure for me to fill in with my own beliefs and feelings, I couldn't ask for more!! Strongly recommend to all parents!
EP
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Gift for Parents

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The difficulty of parent-child discussion on sex was something past generations and our generation as well have always struggled with. Dr. Chirban's book has taken a seemingly impenetrable subject that most parents simply could never discuss with their children and removed embarrassment, shame and guilt which were always so much a part of sexuality. This book offers the much sought-after help a parent has needed to handle what has been, for the most part, taboo. It teaches how to communicate openly about sex with one's children in a wholesome, healthy way. One example that immediately elevates the reader's mind: Dr. Chirban explains it in this way, "Do your kids know that they have access to you and that they are the priority--not only when a rule or limit is broken, but because they are the light of your life?" This one question, this idea and/or suggestion triggers within us the insight, the realization to immediately recognize a need we can and must attend to and deal with so our children can approach us unafraid. Chidren come to know and trust that we want to help and answer any and all questions they have. This one thought alone gives a parent a new outlook so he/she can deal with any question a child may have. Chirban gives us a sudden freedom which permits us to see that we can deal with not only sexuality, but all other important aspects of raising children.
Emmanuel Karavousanos
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "must read" for parents

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrannyF
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr Chiban’s book How to Talk To Your Children About Sex is a “must read” for parents wanting to successfully and comfortably navigate the many aspects of giving children the sexual information and guidance they need in today’s world. This book helps parents to effectively communicate values and information that their children need for positive healthy sexual growth. It addresses issues and problems in ways that predict successful outcomes for both parents and children.
Dr Chirban’s credentials as psychologist and father of three children of his own, together with his ability to effectively communicate in writing the necessary ingredients for talking to children in a real way about what they want and need to know about sex and sexual issues make this book a valuable resource for parents, grandparents and indeed all friends and family of our nation’s children.
Middle School Educator, Emeritus
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessing for parents

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gini
Location:Clarkesville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book is wonderful for parents seeking to be open and honest with their children. Many people have very different opinions about this subject and how to approach it with their children. The fact is there are many different interpretations regarding sexuality in the various denominations, but this book provides the tools parents need to help children understand the difference between love, sex and intimacy.
Dr. Chirban shows great compassion and sincerity in this book and it is obvious he has the very best motivation of heart for both parents and children alike in sharing this information in our world today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is phenomenal!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
John Tanner
Location:Burlington, VT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was somewhat uncomfortable with talking about sex with my children but Talking with Your Kids about Sex by John Chirban shows how inconsistent parents can be as we can be when we aren't open with our kids and preserve the most wonderful gift we have with our kids--OUR RELATIONSHIP--when we help them sort out sexuality. I am convinced how important parents and the home is in helping my kids talk about sex. Though I was intimidated by the task this is an excellent guide that is pleasant to read because of its practical stories and practical advice. Thank you for this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is terrific!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Stevens
Location:Galveston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been very hard for my husband and I to find a book that we could really find useful with our kids who are affected by questions and issues of teenagers today. We have a lot of material that tells us about spiritual and pastoral guidance about sex but that does not relate the issues the ways in which our kids talk. Dr. Chirban explains and especially supports parents to be honest with what they know and can learn with their kids as they figure out realistic and spiritually smart management of sexuality. While this is not east, this book is well worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Investment for parents!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
tomnichols
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family was very Blessed by this helpful book. Excellent advice, truthful and realistic perspective, and spiritual awareness. Not an easy subject--reflecting good judgment.
T. Nichols
Oakbrook, IL
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humorous, Honest, and Practical

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
samanthafenner
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Humorous, Honest, and Practical
I am very glad that I confronted my discomfort to pick up HOW TO TALK WITH YOUR KIDS ABOUT SEX. After all, it meant possibly admitting that I was not as prepared as I had hoped to address sexuality with my kids. The author does a great job in helping the parents realize that they are like everyone else--and then beautifully guides you to realize that you're just like most parents and simply need the right tools. Thank you, Dr. Chirban, for making it clear that it's our relationship and values that are key to making the best connections with our kids. I highly recommned this book as an excellent resource and guide and for making the priorities clear .
Samantha Fenner
Long Island, New York
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How to Talk with Your Kids about Sex: Help Your Children Develop a Positive, Healthy Attitude Toward Sex and Relationships - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Gift for Parents

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Bellerose, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The difficulty of parent-child discussion on sex was something past generations and our generation as well have always struggled with. Dr. Chirban's book has taken a seemingly impenetrable subject that most parents simply could never discuss with their children and removed embarrassment, shame and guilt which were always so much a part of sexuality. This book offers the much sought-after help a parent has needed to handle what has been, for the most part, taboo. It teaches how to communicate openly about sex with one's children in a wholesome, healthy way. One example that immediately elevates the reader's mind: Dr. Chirban explains it in this way, "Do your kids know that they have access to you and that they are the priority--not only when a rule or limit is broken, but because they are the light of your life?" This one question, this idea and/or suggestion triggers within us the insight, the realization to immediately recognize a need we can and must attend to and deal with so our children can approach us unafraid. Chidren come to know and trust that we want to help and answer any and all questions they have. This one thought alone gives a parent a new outlook so he/she can deal with any question a child may have. Chirban gives us a sudden freedom which permits us to see that we can deal with not only sexuality, but all other important aspects of raising children.
Emmanuel Karavousanos
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.