Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook

Thomas Nelson Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 2696%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Review 1 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am familiar with John MacArthur's ministry, but this is probably the first book of his I have ever read. And I was completely impressed. This book is Biblically based, rooted in conservative theology. He introduces us (or reminds us) of twelve very unlikely people in Scripture whom God used to do great things. You will find yourself reminded and inspired by these stories, and I learned things about Bible characters I had known all my life. MacArthur has a way of writing that is easy to read but deep and penetrating. He brings in his love and understanding of Scripture and history, and this book works very well as a devotional/Bible study. I would highly recommend this book to all people who would like to read an uplifting book for their private (or small group) devotional studies. I plan to read this book again because there is no way I picked up everything the first time!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"Twelve Unlikely Heroes" by John MacArthur takes a detailed look at the lives of twelve different Biblical men and women that the casual reader may gloss over upon first glance. The people that MacArthur chose to examine in this book include Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, Mark, and Onesimus.
MacArthur thoroughly dissects the stories surrounding each person, skillfully bringing together not just Scripture, but historical, archaeological, and cultural evidence as well. It is clearly evident that much research has gone into each story. I truly appreciated the historical evidence presented throughout the book as it helped to tie things together and provide a better understanding of the circumstances surrounding these fascinating people.
Each person MacArthur looks at in this book are all sinners and have all fallen short in various areas. But he highlights so beautifully the way that God worked in each person's life to bring about His greater glory. It's a wonderful reminder that God can (and does!) use flawed, sinful people to accomplish His work and His purposes. In both the prologue and epilogue, MacArthur reminds readers that each man and woman featured in this book were known for both their faith and their faithfulness. These are the people (among many of the Biblical men and women) that I want to look up to and who I want my children to look up to.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tuba
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I learned years ago to admire the work of Dr. MacArthur and "12 Unlikely Heroes" [mostly OT characters] gives an interesting synopsis of who they were and what they did to earn heroic status. I've chosen 10 of the 12 to use as my current series in teach an adult SS class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on Rising Above Your Inner Hero

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third installment of MacArthur's "Twelve" series and it's the second that I've read. (I skipped the women one, but I probably should read it.) What I appreciate about the series is that it presents a nicely segmented study on various attributes that are helpful to cultivate in our lives and recognize in those around us. So often, it's easy to write others off, but really, if we think about it carefully, we're all created in God's image and we all have a purpose in this life. So it's important to shed the spotlight on some unlikely folks that God used mightily to accomplish His plan.
This book, as well as the others, work well as independent reading, a starting point for a personal Bible study, or (I imagine) an excellent basis for a small group curriculum. I found myself diving in a little deeper beyond what was presented in the book to get better perspective and enrich the reading for myself. But the bottom line is this book is another fine addition to the series and to any personal library.
- from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw (11/7/12)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thank you, John, for the reminder.

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this as a review copy from BookSneeze. Pastor-teacher John MacArthur has composed another volume of biblical character sketches for the purpose of exhorting believers in their service for Christ. The book is introduced with MacArthur's take on the contemporary culture's view of “heroes.” He is on target with his synopsis. Culture's view of what it means to be a hero is lacking. It does not take much to be a hero today. In fact, true heroes of today are largely ignored and unappreciated.
The chapters include accounts of the lives of Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon and Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, Mark and Onesimus. Obviously, some of the individuals mentioned have less biblical information recorded about their lives than the others. Yet, the central message of the book is clear. God is all-powerful, all-knowing, everywhere present, and entirely sovereign. He chooses sinful, inherently limited people to carry out His purposes on this earth for His eternal glory.
When believers look in the mirror each day and are reminded of the fact that they can do nothing in-and-of-themselves to accomplish eternal good, they can be reminded of what MacArthur highlights in this book. God, by His grace and according to His good pleasure, has chosen to shower His love, favor, and grace upon undeserving people. He has also chosen to use those same undeserving people whom He has redeemed through His Son to accomplish His plans upon this earth. We are inherently limited as people, but God is not limited by us. He will accomplish His will in and through us.
Thank you, John, for the reminder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would Recommend

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charis
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Twelve Unlikely Heroes" explores the stories of twelve biblical characters that God used to further his purposes. These men and women were not your typical hero material. Some were weak, some sinful, some fearful, some disobedient, some failures. They came from every walk of life. Some were slaves, some prophets, some princes and queens. Yet each one was used by God. They warned of impending judgement, saved nations, and wrote and preserved Scripture. If God could use such people to do great things, then He can use us to do His work, no matter our shortcomings or sins.
Overall, I enjoyed this book. The dramatic retellings of the Biblical stories enabled me to look at them in a different light, and pointed out things I had never considered before. For instance, for some reason it had never really sunk in that Haman’s decree to destroy the Jews would have even extended to Israel itself. I also really enjoyed the story of Jonathan, and the comparison MacArthur drew between him and Saul.
The issues I had with the book were minimal. There were a few times I felt like things unverifiable from the Biblical account were being presented as entirely factual, instead of “perhaps this happened.” I also felt like MacArthur was grasping at straws to make a chapter out of Enoch’s story, since we really know so little about him. Finally, I would have liked to see some more applicational material. But I suppose that’s what one is supposed to buy the study guide for. :)
Overall, a book I would recommend without hesitation.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
MIMom
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read some of John MacArthur's other works, I was excited for the opportunity to read one of his latest, "Twelve Unlikely Heroes". After introducing the concept of the word "hero" in today's culture, he contrasts the world's view by providing a definition for a biblical hero, namely one who has faith in God and lives a life of faithfulness. The book then offers an in depth look into the lives of twelve people mentioned in the Bible. Some of these people were only given a few verses of Scripture, while others have whole books devoted to them. Although many other individuals could have been written about, MacArthur singles out Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, Mark and Onesimus as unlikely heroes. By doing so, he shows that biblical heroes are not defined by gender, physical stature, or social and economic status.
I appreciated how MacArthur chronologically devotes almost a chapter apiece to each individual. He frequently references Scripture so that the reader can follow along in their own Bible. I also appreciated that he not only used the Bible as a reference, but other biblical scholars as well as early church and Jewish historians.
Because of this, the reader is able to better understand the culture of the time, connect the dots between different books of the Bible and ultimately relate more personally to the character being studied. For example, he mentions of the military conquests of Xerxes to explain the four year gap before he chose Esther as queen, as well as other instances of his volatile temperament, the royal preparations that would've been given to Esther and the roots of the deep hatred and bitterness between Haman and Mordecai. Another example is showing the reader how John Mark is restored by Peter to become a close companion of Peter and Paul, and the slave Onesimus is forgiven to become a bishop in Ephesus. Throughout and at the end of each section, MacArthur shows that God can take any sinner and transform them to do His work.
I would definitely recommend this book (and will most likely read it again), as it goes beyond the simple Sunday School lessons to provide a rich account that will strengthen and encourage your own faith.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good supplement to Bible reading

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Midland, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All throughout history, select individuals are remembered as heroes for what they did in their lifetime. Some people are born into greatness, such as a prince inheriting his father’s kingdom; other times a person rises up from relative insignificance to stand in the gap. Literature abounds with stories of heroism, and the Bible is no exception. John McArthur, in his latest book, “Twelve Unlikely Heroes,” introduces us to several of the most unexpected candidates in Scripture for this distinction.
So, who are these unexpected heroes, and what makes them special? Enoch walked with God for 300 years, showing that God doesn’t limit based on age. Joseph endured betrayal and false accusations before leaving prison for the palace, showing that God’s ways are higher than man’s ways. Miriam played a key role in assisting her brother lead the nation of Israel out from bondage, showing that God uses women as well as men. Gideon and Samson showed that God can work with or without the benefit of human strength. Jonathan understood that David would become king and was loyal to the end, setting the bar high for friendship. Jonah was a unique case, but he showed that even being a knucklehead doesn’t faze God—His purposes will be accomplished no matter what. Esther was an orphan girl living in a foreign land yet was hand-selected to become queen, showing that God looks after His children. John the Baptist announced the coming of the Messiah after 400 years of silence, showing that God does not forget His promises. James was skeptical of his half-brother, Jesus, but later believed and became the leader of the church in Jerusalem. Mark and Onesimus were living proof that being a coward or a runaway in the past does not preclude one’s ability to be useful in the present, as they both ministered effectively to Peter and Paul after being restored.
Using his knowledge of Biblical history and customs, Pastor John McArthur paints a very real portrait of each of the heroes we meet. The characters’ virtues as well as their mistakes are discussed in ways that apply easily to the reader. This book is a very good supplement to Bible reading, and I especially enjoyed reading the background of Jonathan’s story as I was already studying it in my personal devotions. Throughout the pages of the book, the real Hero behind the victories and successes becomes apparent. When it’s all said and done, what a joy it is to know that anyone can be used by God!
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of “Twelve Unlikely Heroes” through Book Sneeze, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tom Jamieson
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have you ever wondered why God called you to a specific task or purpose? Have you ever thought maybe God made a mistake by calling you to your present place of service? If you answered yes to these questions, then this book may be for you.
Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John MacArthur is an in-depth look at 12 men and women who were used by God in great and mighty ways, though they came from unlikely and unassuming backgrounds. MacArthur takes us deep into the lives of men like Samson and Gideon and women like Esther and Miriam to show us that God chooses particular people for particular circumstances and that He does not make mistakes.
MacArthur presents the biographies of each person using Scripture and historical stories to weave seemingly unbelievable tales of leadership and heroism.
Now, for those of us who grew up hearing these anecdotes of Biblical figures, this book may come across a little underwhelming and verbose — maybe even a little boring. However, if you are looking for a collection of stories to encourage and uplift your spirit or to confirm that God is still in the miracle business, then this volume may be exactly what you need.
To comply with regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission:
Disclosure of Material Connection:
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An encouraging read

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an interesting book on "unlikely heroes" of the Bible. It was very well done and there is much to be learned from these people of the Bible. I particularly enjoyed the section on Esther. I appreciated his insights about how God is never mentioned in the book but the events that take place make one wonder about how it is possible for all that to be coincidence. I also enjoyed the reference to the story being a chess match between God and Satan. In every chapter you can see the shortcomings of man but God uses each and everyone of them for His glory. An encouraging book for any believer.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loving Mommahood
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying that this is the first book I have read by John MacArthur, but I absolutely loved it and I am eager to read more of his work.
In "12 Unlikely Heroes" by John MacArthur, the author talks about 12 different unexpected heroes from the Bible and gives a small preview into each of their lives. The 12 listed are Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, Mark and Onesimus.
Most of the heroes were well-known to me, while I had heard only tidbits about James and Onesimus before reading this book. I think the point that the author is trying to make is that God can use anybody. He does use kings, priests and prophets to complete his work, but he also uses ordinary people like you and I. Jonah ran from God before he pursued God's plan for his life. Samson disobeyed God multiple times, and finally made the right decision in the final moments of his life. I think MacArthur gives us a glimpse of these characters to show us what can happen when we don't follow God's will. God had big plans for these heroes but they followed their own judgement instead of God's.
From the first chapter, I was hooked. MacArthur has a beautiful way of telling the stories of these famous and not-so-famous Bible characters. His writing is easy to understand and would be a great book to use in a Bible study or class. I rate is as 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

how God uses ordinary people

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Twelve Unlikely Heroes by John MacArthur is an in-depth study of some of the ordinary and not so ordinary people of whom God picked to do his work. They were weak in body and sometimes soul. They questioned God. Some of the heroes, Jonah for instance, God had to all but drag to work and then listen to him complain when he successfully completed his mission. Some unflinchingly worked for God, Jonathan, even when he had to go against his Earthly father in order to work for his heavenly father. The Bible and other historical documents are used as Mr. MacArthur weaves these fascinating Biblical stories of which most of us are familiar with cultural facts of the background during which they occur.
I enjoyed reading the well known stories of the Bible. Mr. MacArthur brought alive the stories that I had heard from childhood on up to adulthood. However, I am not a Bible scholar but as I was reading the early parts of the book I thought to myself, I don’t remember that but I did not look them up in either of the Bibles cited in the book. When I came to the Jonathon story though and on page 103 it says after Saul threw the spear and missed his son’s head. “Nobody moved. The only sound in the room came from the still-vibrating spear handle plunged ominously into the wall.” I really thought, “I don’t remember that”. So I looked it up. Nope it doesn’t say that in the Bible so I looked to see if this book was fictionalized- nope it says, “Bible—Biography”. I looked for citing in the back of the book and only see citing for chapter 10. I work with many persons who only read books and consider if they are Bible based that they are not fiction (even if the book says that they ARE fiction). I am sure that if they read a book which is non-fiction they would not look up and see if everything is as is written or if it has been embellished for interest. This is concerning to me about this work even though I enjoyed reading the book and learned much from it.
This book was provided for this review from Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True Heroes

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bethany
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
"Twelve Unlikely Heroes" by John MacArthur is a really good book. When I first started reading it, I thought it would just be a lot of stuff I already knew about some specific people in the Bible. I was wrong. This book is filled with facts that I had never heard before, including speculations on what Onesimus went on to do with his life after restoration with Philemon, details about Roman slavery, more about the world Esther lived in and reasons why four years passed before the king began to look for a new queen, etc...I thoroughly enjoyed the book and loved the fact that Mr. MacArthur briefly went back through all of the heroes in his book in the epilogue. After sharing about them again, he pointed out that the ultimate Hero in these stories is our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!! He is the one who led Esther to the palace and used her to preserve the Jewish people again, HE is the one who did great miracles to deliver Miriam and all of the Israelites from the Egyptians, and on and on...These great people in God's Word were merely tools in the hands of a Mighty God. God wants us to be willing to be tools for Him as well. Am I willing?
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Booksneeze and I was not asked to submit a positive or negative review. This is my personal opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Perspective On Who & What A Hero Is

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John MacArthur in his new book , “Twelve Unlikely Heroes” published by Thomas Nelson shows us How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You.
From the back cover: What kind of people does God use to accomplish His work?
Far from the children’s tales depicted in picture books and nursery rhymes, the men and women highlighted in the Bible were unnervingly real. They faltered. They struggled. And at times, they fell short. Yet God worked through them in surprising and incredible ways to accomplish His purposes. Scripture does not hide their weaknesses, caricature their strengths, or spin their stories as a display of human nobility. Instead, it describes these heroes of the faith with unflinching honesty and delivers an unexpected ending: “God is not ashamed to be called their God” (Hebrews 11:16).
In Twelve Unlikely Heroes, pastor and best-selling author John MacArthur uses his deep knowledge of the Bible and history to take us back to see these three-dimensional men and women in their own times and cultures. In doing so, it becomes clear how their dramatic stories apply to us today. People who might at first seem foreign quickly become familiar and unforgettable—particularly as they reveal the true Hero behind every witness, the power counterbalancing every weakness, “the Author and Finisher of our faith” (Hebrews 12:1).
Okay let’s do word association. When I say “Hero” what image pops into your mind? For some people the image might be Superman or Batman. For others it might be some valiant military figure. More than likely whatever image popped into your mind it was someone who got a lot of press. Most times we don’t think of ourselves as heroes nor do we think of the person we work with or go to church with as heroes. John MacArthur shows us that God sees heroes in the most unlikely of individuals. He presents twelve portraits of men and women who are heroes in the Bible. Most of them even show up in special honor listed in the hall of faith. You know what the nice thing is about reading of these men and women? If God sees heroes in them and He is no respecter of persons then He can see heroes in us. I think you will want to give this book to family and friends so that they can have a new perspective of who and what a hero is according to God. They will always remember your gift and thank you for it. I recommend this book highly!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring Read

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location:Pinckney, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and enjoyed reading Twelve Unlikely Heroes. The book was easy to follow and introduced truths that were new to us and overall the book was very inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly, I think my favorite quote from the whole book comes from the Introduction when John MacArthur defines what a hero is. He says, “. . . being a hero . . . starts with a rock-solid confidence in God and a willingness to live according to His Word no matter the consequences.” (pg XII). That’s a solid definition and really sums up what made the people in Twelve Unlikely Heroes, heroes. They didn’t always read like heroes or seem like heroes, but deep down they really did have the confidence to trust God no matter what. It just, WOW, right? Do you have a faith like that? I know I’m still working on mine!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own, I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You
By John MacArthur
Book Description
What kind of people does God use to accomplish His work?
Far from the children’s tales depicted in picture books and nursery rhymes, the men and women highlighted in the Bible were unnervingly real. They faltered. They struggled. And at times, they fell short. Yet God worked through them in surprising and incredible ways to accomplish His purposes. Scripture does not hide their weaknesses, caricature their strengths, or spin their stories as a display of human nobility. Instead, it describes these heroes of the faith with unflinching honesty and delivers an unexpected ending: “God is not ashamed to be called their God” (Hebrews 11:16).
In Twelve Unlikely Heroes, pastor and best-selling author John MacArthur uses his deep knowledge of the Bible and history to take us back to see these three-dimensional men and women in their own times and cultures. In doing so, it becomes clear how their dramatic stories apply to us today. People who might at first seem foreign quickly become familiar and unforgettable—particularly as they reveal the true Hero behind every witness, the power counterbalancing every weakness, “the Author and Finisher of our faith” (Hebrews 12:1).
Well written, with many interesting facts thrown into the narrative, this book seeks to empower us to realize that whilst these heroes of their time had faith, walked in obedience, they too battled with their sinful nature and overcame it to bring glory to Him. The Word of God shows us that none of these heroes were perfect and in this itself is assurance that He has provided that which we need to walk with Him in faith through His Son’s perfect sacrifice.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twelve Unlikely Heroes Review

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twelve Unlikely Heroes, How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You, by John MacArthur is well-written and deeply researched study. MacArthur has a way of bringing these people to life for the reader and showing how God used ordinary people for His extraordinary purpose. He illustrates how God equips those He calls and that He can use anyone to serve Him. In this book, MacArthur highlights the lives of Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Jonah, Esther, John the Baptist, James, Mark and Onesimus.
I learned a lot while reading this book. I haven't read MacArthur's other books in this series, but now I want to get those as well. The word "hero" has become over-used to describe pop culture icons instead of people who change the course of history. THe men and women in this book were broken, ordinary people, who changed the world by giving up their lives and wants for obedience to God. While reading about these men and women, I thought about how God can use anyone to further His kingdom and how He calls each of us in different ways. We must be open to serve Him and get out of the way so that God can work through us. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn more about God's plans for ordinary men and women, including how He can use each of us and equip each of us for Kingdom work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

12 Intriguing People from Bible Times

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terra Hangen
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives hope to Christians who have doubts, flaws and difficulty on their walk in the Christian faith, as the author shares the stories of 12 unlikely heroes of Bible times. “Mark and Onesimus: a tale of two runaways”, “Esther: for such a time as this”, “Joseph: because God meant it for good”, “Gideon and Samson: stories of weakness and strength” are just a few of the chapters about regular people who became Bible heroes.
Many of these names like Jonah, Gideon, Miriam and Samson, are familiar to us but we only know a few snippets about these people. MacArthur tells us more fully about them and their exciting stories.
For example, Esther risked her life to go before the king who had set a date to exterminate the entire Jewish population in his kingdom. In Esther 4:16 she said “And so I will go to the king, which is against the law, and if I perish, I perish.” Esther succeeded in saving her people as she risked instant death in approaching the king.
MacArthur gives readers the background stories on these people, and the stories show how God can use anyone to do his work, even these unlikely people and even us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People in the Bible and What He Wants to Do with You - eBook
This review is fromTwelve Unlikely Heroes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twelve Unlikely Heroes: How God Commissioned Unexpected People In The Bible And What He Wants To Do With You, written by John MacArthur, is a book that introduces the possibilities that God sees within each Christian as demonstrated through those who have walked within the pages of the Bible.
MacArthur uses his deep knowledge of Biblical and historical facts to carry those engaged in reading this book back in time, thus allowing a clearer, more dramatic understanding of their participation in the expansion of God's kingdom and applications for us today.
MacArthur gives the reader a deeper look at twelve biblical characters who would seem to be, on the surface, ordinary people who did nothing overly extraordinary. This deeper examination shows how important Enoch, Joseph, Miriam, Gideon, Samson, Jonathan, Esther, John the Baptist, James, Mark, and Onesimus were to the work of God throughout the history of the early church.
Each story shows the diligent work of God as He moved through the lives of these Twelve Unlikely Heroes to ultimately see His plans come to fruition. Thus this book is highly recommended, as it is sure to increase the presence of God within our lives and within this world.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>