Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Review 1 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"The Truth About the Lordship of Christ" by John MacArthur is another installment in "The Truth About" trilogy. My expectation about the book was that it would be an examination of the life of Christ: who He is, His ministry, His fulfillment of Scripture regarding the prophesied Messiah. Instead, it was primarily focused on Christian living. It was good subject matter, just not what I was expecting.
MacArthur dives deep into what it means to truly live as a Christian and a disciple of Christ. Drawing upon a myriad of Scripture passages, he examines the many aspects of living as a disciple. The challenge for believers is great. He exhorts "[i]f you want to live correctly, expose yourself to the Word of God" (p. 80). With so much junk surrounding us in today's world and culture, it's even more crucial for followers of Christ to dive into Scriptures and allow a transformation to happen based on the Word.
Overall, he covered a lot of great topics in great detail, but the book on the whole felt a bit disjointed to me. It didn't have the same flow as the other two books in the trilogy. I appreciated his thoughts and the challenge to live a holy life (chapter 4). This book just didn't do it for me like the other two did.
I'll close with my favorite quote from the book, found in chapter 2: "Becoming a Christian means being sick of your sin, longing for forgiveness and rescue from present evil and future hell, and affirming your commitment to the lordship of Christ to the point where you are willing to forsake everything. I've said it before and I'll say it again: it isn't just holding up your hand or walking down an aisle and saying 'I love Jesus.' It is not easy, it is not user-friendly or seeker-sensitive; it isn't a rosy, perfect world where Jesus gives you what you want. It is hard, it is sacrificial, and it supersedes everything. The manifestation of true faith is a commitment that no influence can sway." (p. 27)
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on Handling the Truth

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Part of why I like John MacArthur is because he doesn't pull punches. He stays pretty close to the Bible whenever he expounds topically and always provides practical insights and wisdom. I'm currently enjoying a daily dose of his thoughts with Moments of Truth and I always have at least one of his books in my "to-read" stack. This series (The Truth about...), offers a few thematic quick reads (about 100 pages) that cut to the chase on some popular topics.
Possibly the touchiest of the three topics is the Lordship of Christ. We like to acknowledge God's sovereignty when it comes to our salvation and the redemption that allows us to get to Heaven. However, when it comes to our daily lives, we'd rather not really think about it. Why? Well, that involves submission which is fast becoming a "dirty word" in our society. We all like to believe we're in control of our own life - even if we've already recognized our need for intervention.
Acknowledging the lordship of Christ in our lives requires becoming more like Him each day and, yes, submitting to His will in all things. We need to be available to His calling and willing to obey His commands. We must undergo a sanctification process that brings us ever closer to sharing a mind with Christ. It's a big responsibility and it's a daily process that takes our entire lifetime.
- from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True MacArthur style that offers Biblical truths

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angela King
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In true John MacArthur style, The Truth About the Lordship of Christ offers a straightforward lesson on what it means to call Jesus "Lord" and an elaboration on His awesome character. As Christ-followers, Christians are daily being molded and formed to be more like Him so it's vital that we know Who we are molded to be like. John MacArthur offers a concise look at what it means to be a follower of Jesus--that it calls for us to submit to Him not just once but daily.
This is an easy read, written in plain, understandable language that is appealing to a wide spectrum of audiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblically-sound, deep yet easy to read book!

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Truth About...The Lordship of Christ
By John MacArthur, paperback 140 pages.
Thomas Nelson 2012
I was pleased to receive this book free to review from the BookSneeze blogging for books program! I was encouraged to state my honest opinion.
I found the cover, size, font and layout of the book appealing and conducive to enjoyable reading and studying.
A breath of fresh air, this book is Biblically-sound, clear, deep and yet easy to read! Through 6 chapters entitled Lord of the Universe, Lord in Our Lives, Daily Submission, Holy Living, Confession and Restoration, and Ultimate Destination, John MacArthur tackles with wisdom such topics as justification, love and hate, God's perfect love, God's view of sinners, the lifestyle of a true Christian, daily living in Christ, the joy of Christianity, maturity and glory in suffering, sanctification, confession, repentance, assurance of salvation, etc!
Although a small book, I found it to be worth the read. I think this book would make a good gift for a new Christian friend, and for anyone unused to reading books on doctrine or Christian living which are more than double the size. Additionally, this book would be great for a child to read. And lastly, although this book is addressed to a Christian, I do recommend it for anyone; it would therefore also be a good gift choice for your unsaved acquaintances as well. It explains very clearly salvation, and how God views sin, how we must repent in order to be saved, etc.
Enjoy!
I assure you I will not be discarding this book!
However, I did run in to two problems in the book, which I'd appreciate you reading about, especially if you are going to read the book....
Near the beginning of the book, in fact on pages 5-8, I ran into something that disturbed me. I trust John MacArthur's teachings as Scripturally-sound, but here I quote MacArthur quoting Arthur W. Pink:
''God loves whom He chooses. He does not love everybody. Is it true that God loves the one who is despising and rejecting His blessed Son? God is Light as well as Love, and therefore His love must be a holy love. To tell the Christ-rejecter that God loves him is to cauterize his conscience, as well as to afford him a sense of security in his sins. The fact is, the love of God is a truth for the saints only, and to present it to the enemies of God is to take the children's bread and cast it to the dogs...''
page 246 The Sovereignty of God by Arthur W. Pink
Read more here!
John MacArthur, surprisingly, does not support this paragraph. And neither does Banner in Truth publications, supposedly as they edit this paragraph out of their publication of The Sovereignity of God! I was disappointed to hear that, because I don't know about you, but I support Pink's statement. Read an amazingly clear article here! It's wonderful.
He that hath My commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth Me: and he that loveth Me shall be loved of My Father...If a man love Me, he will keep My words: and My Father will love him” (Joh 14:21,23)
Thou hatest all workers of iniquity” (Psa 5:5)
Ps. 135:6 Whatever the Lord pleases, He does, in heaven and in earth, in seas and in all deeps.
Contrary to what I would believe is right, MacArthur says: ''Pink was attempting to make the crucial point that God is sovereign in the exercise of His love. The gist of his argument is certainly valid: it is folly to think that God loves all alike, or that He is compelled by some rule of fairness to love everyone equally...
Unfortunately, Pink took the corollary too far. The fact that some sinners are not elected to salvation is no proof that God's attitude toward them is utterly devoid of sincere love.''
(pg. 7 The Truth About the Lordship of Christ)
I don't believe what Pink stated was ''going to far''!
Turning now to John 3:16, it should be evident from the passages just quoted that this verse will not bear the construction usually put upon it.
“God so loved the world”—many suppose that this means the entire human race. But “the entire human race” includes all mankind from Adam till the close of earth’s history: it reaches backward as well as forward! Consider, then, the history of mankind before Christ was born. Unnumbered millions lived and died before the Savior came to the earth, lived here “having no hope and without God in the world,” and therefore passed out into an eternity of woe. If God “loved” them, where is the slightest proof thereof?
Scripture declares “Who [God] in times past [from the tower of Babel till after Pentecost] suffered all nations to walk in their own ways” (Act 14:16). Scripture declares: “And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient” (Rom 1:28).
To Israel God said, “You only have I known of all the families of the earth” (Amo 3:2).
In view of these plain passages who will be so foolish as to insist that God in the past loved all mankind! The same applies with equal force to the future.
Read through the book of Revelation, noting especially chapters 8 to 19, where we have described the judgments which will be poured out from Heaven on this earth. Read of the fearful woes, the frightful plagues, the vials of God’s wrath, which shall be emptied on the wicked. Finally, read the twentieth chapter of the Revelation, the great white throne judgment, and see if you can discover there the slightest trace of love. But the objector comes back to John 3:16 and says: “World means world.” True, but we have shown that “the world” does not mean the whole human family. The fact is that “the world” is used in a general way. When the brethren of Christ said “Shew thyself to the world” (Joh 7:4), did they mean “Shew Thyself to all mankind”?
When the Pharisees said “Behold, the world is gone after Him” (Joh 12:19), did they mean that “all the human family” were flocking after Him? When the apostle wrote, “Your faith is spoken of throughout the whole world” (Rom 1:8), did he mean that the faith of the saints at Rome was the subject of conversation by every man, woman, and child on earth? When Revelation 13:3 informs us that “all the world wondered after the beast,” are we to understand that there will be no exceptions? These, and other passages which might be quoted, show that the term “the world” often has a relative rather than an absolute force. (A.W Pink- read full article here)
MacArthur, I must say, sometimes DOES sound confusing...because after stating that he thought Pink took the corollary too far, he does end up saying: ''Nor should we imagine that such hatred is any kind of blemish on the character of God. It is a holy hatred. It is perfectly consistent with His spotless, unapproachable, incomprehensible holiness. We must remember that God is Lord of the universe, and He can do whatever He wants.''
Yes! Very true. And in agreement with Pink!
Lastly,
In the section about ''Assurance of Salvation'' (chapter 6), I was a little tense during my first read through it since the author gives the impression near the beginning of the chapter that it is wrong to question your salvation (by examining your life and your relationship with the Lord) too much, as ''the Puritans did'' which, according to the author, encourages ''morbid introspection and utter despair.'' However, later, to my relief, MacArthur does support self-examination and explains why it is crucial. So I am willing to overlook the flaw, especially since Mr. MacArthur does assure the reader that he admires the Puritans generally.
Anyhow: I was pleased to receive this book free to review from the BookSneeze blogging for books program! I was encouraged to state my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Lordship of Christ is the third installment in a trilogy of books John MacArthur has written for his “The Truth About Series.” I have already reviewed the books on Grace and Forgiveness (click each to read that review). He has written extensively about the lordship of Christ in his book “The Gospel According to Jesus.” This book is a brief summary of the teachings found there.
Like the other two in the series this is Bible saturated and well written. Concerning Christ’s lordship in our lives MacArthur covers these topics:
1. Lord of the Universe
2. Lord in Our Lives
3. Daily Submission
4. Holy Living
5. Confession and Restoration
6. Ultimate Destination
Obviously any conversation concerning Christ as our Lord has to begin with our justification. Too many Christians believe that we can save ourselves by their works yet salvation is wholly a work of Christ alone.
MacArthur does a wonderful job of showing that after He saves us He is to be Lord in our lives and we are to submit to Him daily. He is our master and we are his slaves. (MacArthur wrote a wonderful book on how we are God’s slaves which I reviewed).
The chapter on holy living spoke to me the most. This is what I struggle with daily - living the life that I claim to be living. Sanctification is a process that we must work on daily. It requires God working in us for us to do any good for Him. Those who believe that they have any good in them needs to read Isaiah 64:6; Romans 3:10; Romans 7:24.
Anyone who is a Christian will be a different person then they were before Christ saved them. If they are the same then there was no change and therefore Christ hasn’t saved them. Difficult truths but MacArthur handles them Biblically and with love.
The last chapter deals with assurance. We as believers should find comfort in the fact that when Christ saved us we can be sure of it. We don’t need to doubt whether He has justified us before God. MacArthur spends much of the chapter on how a believer sin and still be saved. An encouragement to me, a Christians who sins much more than I want.
As with the other books in the series you won’t be disappointed with this one. You will be challenged and convicted. If you have issues with Christ as Lord allow the passages that MacArthur uses in the defense of Christ as Lord to speak to you and I trust that your view will change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Core Aspects of the Christian Faith

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annies Inklings
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
“The Truth about the Lordship of Christ,” by John MacArthur is one of three books in the Truth Series. After reading this one, I am inspired to also read the other two, “The Truth about Grace,” and The Truth about Forgiveness.” These books are teachings of the core aspects of the Christian faith. Whether you are a newbie or a well-seasoned Christian, learning for the first time or just being reminded and refreshed in your convictions, “The Truth about the Lordship of Christ,” is a book that will definitely speak to your inner spirit.
John MacArthur is a skillful writer and teacher who draws you right into comparing the life you are living with what God is willing for your personal relationship with Him. The book has only six chapters, but they are wonderful chapters full of knowledge, assurance, biblical references, encouragement to believers, and explaining the consequences to unbelievers who deny Christ. The chapter titles are: Lord of the Universe; Lord in Our Lives; Daily Submission; Holy Living: Confession and Restoration; and Ultimate Destination. Mr. MacArthur delves deeply into God’s character and purpose and how it applies to our daily walk of faith – things like the sovereignty of God, that only God can declare us righteous, the importance of repentance and of receiving a renewed mind, salvation. God wants us to have a Christ-like character, to become sanctified. John MacArthur explains, “Sanctification is the continuous operation of the Holy Spirit in believers, making us holy by conforming our character, affections, and behavior to the image of Christ.” What a loving and merciful God we have, who wants to make each of us like His own Son! How grateful I am for that privilege. I absolutely loved this book and recommend it be put at the top of your book reading list.
I received this complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinion expressed here is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like the rest of the series: refreshing!

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the rest of the series, I have to say that this book was greatly refreshing. As a long-time Believer, it's easy for me to begin taking principles of doctrine and theology for granted. The Truth About series has taken me back to those too-often overlooked fundamentals and refreshed them.
In regards to this book in particular, I should mention that the title is a bit... well, not deceiving, but it made me expect something different than what I got. The basic mission and achievement of the book is a good, solid discussion of what it means and looks like to truly be a follower of Christ. I have no complaints. MacArthur walks his readers through a heavily referenced look at dozens of real-world applications of following Christ, as well as offering a no-holds-barred discussion of the problems and lies Christians can and have allowed to seep into the church and our lives.
As I said, this book and The Truth About series as a whole were deeply refreshing and I recommend them for anyone wanting or needing a trip back to the beautiful fundamentals that form the foundation of our faith.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A serious book for serious Jesus followers.

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book to encourage a deeper walk with Jesus Christ. It's easy to say "I love Jesus" but John MacArthur takes you chapter by chapter, through what being a desciple of Jesus really means.He talks about Jesus as Lord of our Lives and how we need to be submissive to Him. He talks about Holy Living and how to be restored after we haven't lived so holy.
This is a fairly easy read but packed with Bible based principles to live by. I found it both challenging and encouraging. It is definitely worth the time to read if you are serious about following Jesus Christ and allowing Him to be Lord.
This book, The Truth about the Lordship of Christ was given to me complimentary to review by BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Foundational Work on Salvation

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An older man in my church told me how revivals used to work there when he was a boy. Once you were about six or seven years old, the adults decided it was high time you were "saved." If you hadn't gone to the front yet and asked to be baptized, they would stand at the end of your row during the invitation song and wait to escort you to the front.
Did that mean you were saved?
To them, regardless of life change, your spiritual fruit, or even personal conviction, if you repeated a magic prayer formula at the front of the church and got dunked under water the next Sunday, you were heaven-bound.
MacArthur's book tackles the important issue of what constitutes salvation and how to have the assurance of your salvation, arguing against easy faith that doesn't require life change. In other words, salvation requires both justification and sanctification in order to be genuine. He's blunt and comprehensive and not overly concerned with entertaining the reader or protecting their feelings. The message demands that you count the cost of discipleship as MacArthur doesn't sugar-coat the Christian life in order to woo converts.
He provides a fabulous foundational work here and for a teacher who wants to strengthen his/her definitions of salvation, assurance, justification, and sanctification, this book is a useful tool. It could also be used to teach the basics of faith to new believers. However, it's dry reading at times, so it isn't going to suit everyone's personality.
Some sections of the book felt, even to someone who likes academic works, more like reading a Bible dictionary then providing engaging discussion of any one topic. It's as if he tried to cover too much, so he ended up moving too quickly over some areas and as a result made them uninteresting and unhelpful. There were sections I eagerly enjoyed reading and others that I had to force myself through one reluctant page at a time.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

They will know we are Christians by our....

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Truth About the Lordship of Christ by John MacArthur
Noted author John MacArthur has once again delivered a message regarding love and hate in the Bible. Mr. MacArthur gets back to the original roots of real followers of Jesus being disciples and not just Christians.
The word used to describe Christians today often bears no resemblance to the one word Jesus wanted His followers to be known for. Challenge to change the name and reputation of Christianity by becoming a group of followers characterized by this one thing, love.
John 13:35 By THIS everyone will know that you are my DISCIPLES if you LOVE one another. Yes, we have to believe some things but people can’t see what you believe. They will know not by what we believe or behave but how well we love one another.
This book is a good book for those new in the faith.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a short book, The Lordship of Christ has a lot of good information in it. John MacArthur backs up what he believes with Scripture and makes it clear that God deserves all of us. Not only that, MacArthur helps us know how to give God all of us. This would make for a good group study because it's short and there is a lot of potential for discussion.
The one downside is that it doesn't have discussion questions but at the same time, that's a good thing because it's more thought provoking that way.
Disclaimer: I received the book for free through the BookSneeze blogger review program in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not my favorite from MacArthur

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you love John MacArthur's teaching, you will enjoy this book. For me, I choose to eat the meat the throw away the bones. I will share a few quotes from the book that I did not agree with.
"It seems reasonable to assume that if God loved everyone, He would have chosen everyone into salvation. Therefore, God does not love the non-elect."
"God loves whom He chooses. He does not love everybody."
"We are redeemed not because of anything good in us, but because God chose us unto salvation. He chose certain individuals and passed over others, and He made that choice in eternity past, before the foundation of the world."
What I took away from this book was learning to be a disciple of Christ and following Him with every fiber of my being. It's not about me, but ALL about Him.
Here is a quote that is spot on.
"Sanctification is the continuous operation of the Holy Spirit in believers, making us holy by conforming our character, affections, and behavior to the image of Christ. Justification is a one-time event; sanctification is an ongoing process."
There are a great many things in this book that are so awesome and can lead us to a greater relationship with the Lord. For me, I just don't agree with every statement. Again, MacArthur leads with passion and shares valued information that can help us become the child of God we were created to be and have a close and personal relationship with Christ.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Truth About the Lordship of Christ - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A practical look at the Lordship of Christ.

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
mcdanell99
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over twenty-five years ago, perhaps the most important book in the ministry of John MacArthur was published, "The Gospel According to Jesus." It was a theological defense of Lordship - the belief that one must affirm the Lordship of Christ implying that one is not truly saved (justified) unless they are being sanctified. MacArthur's book was a classic and has since be re-released in an anniversary addition. That book was very theological and in it MacArthur was reacting to a particular movement that was denying Lordship.
In a recent book, The Truth About the Lordship of Christ, MacArthur again raises the issue of Jesus' Lordship and what it means but without the theological defense. He simply assumes it and presents to his readers what it looks like to submit to his Lordship. It is a delightful book that is practical, biblical, theological, and needed.
One of the things I love about MacArthur is how piercing he is with the gospel and the teachings of Jesus Christ. He does not shy away from the hard sayings of Jesus because in them, MacArthur sees what Jesus was saying. The gospel brings a sword, not a flower. The gospel divides, tears families apart, and we must be loyal to Christ first.
Lordship means both justification and sanctification. Those two worlds cannot be separated and MacArthur proves this from Scripture. I highly recommend this book to any lay person that wants to know what it means to be a Christian. Beyond the talk of theologians, Christians will find here what it means to be saved and how to live like it. It is an excellent read that is straight forward and profound. MacArthur gets at the heart of the Christian message and although it is heavily Calvinistic (more than most of his other writings) I do not think that it gets in the way.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.