Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Swipe - eBook

Thomas Nelson Swipe - eBook

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping. It's almost Logan Langly's 13th birthday and he knows that he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn't been able to shake the feeling that he's being watched. Not since his sister went to go get her mark five years ago . . . and never came back. When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers?
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swipe - eBook
Review 1 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Keeps you wanting more

Date:January 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
kalli
Location:hayti mo
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm reading this series for my youth (screening) so they can do a report (to make sure they read them). As a fan of Ted Dekker, Dee Henderson, Frank Peretti, I have surprisingly enjoyed these books thus far. I have the whole series and am really enjoying it. I would recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great futuristic novel for young readers

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is decades in the future. The climate disasters, the wars – all of it was so devastating that now there is the A. U., the American Union. It includes what used to be Canada and Mexico. The political system emphasizes unity. People take the Pledge and get the Mark.
Logan will be thirteen in a few months. He'll take the Pledge and get the Mark on his birthday. Then he will be free, free to shop, go to concerts, get a job, and use public transportation. But Logan is worried. When his older sister went to get her Mark, she never came back. His parents were told she had died. It happens. Some young people just don't take the procedure well. Will Logan be one of those who never returns?
Another reason Logan is worried is that he is sure someone is spying on him. He sees shadows and hears noises. Who are they and what do they want?
This is the first in a new youth fiction series. I'll be blogging a review of the third novel in a few weeks and wanted to get current with the story. This novel is a great start. There is a union between the A. U. and its European counterpart in the works. The Mark is required to function freely in society. But there are also some people in the shadows, the Markless. They have to scrounge for their existence. There is no mention of religion nor churches. Yet there are people who wear a charm, hidden under their clothing. That charm reminds them of an earlier day.
Youth will like this series, I think. There is great technology – tablets that do everything. There is a young hero who wants to stand up for what is right and true. But it is all overshadowed by DOME, the enforcing agency of this future system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

on Making or Taking a Mark on the Future

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series takes place in an undisclosed year, but it's off in the future (one would hope, far off in the future). A great war has taken place and rebuilding efforts are underway as the government authorities strive for unity by forcing everyone to pledge their allegiance to "Union" leaders by receiving a tattoo (mark) on their thirteenth birthday. The mark is used for identity, commerce, and pretty much everything else in a desolate world. It is the mark of the citizen and it is a privilege (albeit a mandated privilege).
However, some choose to avoid the mark. There are outlaws who have refused the mark and, as we're told, kidnap and recruit others to join their cause - whatever that may be. This group, referred to as "the dust" and other derogatory names, has been relegated to the margins, having no legal way to provide for themselves or participate in society (other than as servants). A third group of society are those who have attempted to obtain the mark and have somehow failed. These individuals are considered to have been "swiped" from society and they're never heard from again.
Okay, so this is the world in which we meet Logan Langley, a paranoid 12-year old on the verge of getting his mark. The thing is, he's not sure he wants the mark. His older sister had been "swiped" from society a few years ago and ever since, Logan believes he is being watched. Adding complication and explanation, Erin moves across the country with her father (who does critical and confidential "government" work for a living). Together, Erin and Logan stumble upon a conspiracy plot that propels the story along at a breakneck pace.
As Logan's day of pledging approaches, he must determine if he wants the mark, if he's truly at risk of danger, and if his sister is still alive, despite what the authorities have said. SWIPE is a thrilling tale of tough choices and close calls that will keep you guessing until the end. There are certainly some underlying social commentaries at play here that begin to come to light, but it's never preachy or uncomfortable to read at all. There are Biblical parallels to find or ignore at your discretion, but the focus is rightly placed on the characters, their emotions, and the overarching plot.
-from TRudATmusic[dot]com[slash]raw 12/11/12
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Dystopian Fiction

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I began reading the second novel in this series first, which was a mistake. It kept me confused about the meaning of several tools they use. So, I picked up Swipe, and totally entered this dystopian world of the future of evolved technologies and one world vision. After the “Total War” everybody is thankful just to be allowed to live, and doesn’t examine the requirements of the leaders. Each person must swear their allegiance and then they receive a tattoo like marking on their arm that allows them to function in society. When Logan’s sister dies when she goes in to make her pledge, Logan’s family begins to fall apart, and Logan believes that he is being watched.
I definitely think that this series should be a hit with middle school and older students. The writing is tense enough that you will check over your shoulder to make sure you are not being watched. The book is clean, but the sense of ‘big evil government’ permeates the story. A must read for dystopian lovers, as well as those who enjoy a good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In a future North America, after a global war and global treaty for peace, a mark is given to every person when they turn the age of 13. Having this mark allows one to buy things, get a job, and other benefits of a citizen. Actually, most have the mark. There are some, called the dust who are markless and are not considered part of normal society. This book follows three kids who are caught between the government who wants them to have the mark and the dust who wants them to know the truth behind the secrets the government is hiding.
The story is exciting and action packed. It is a fast paced read and any tween or teen would like reading this book. The character development, although quick for some, still gives the reader enough about each of the main characters to help know them better. I did enjoy reading this!
I do have to add that, although this is intended for young teens, I simply cannot get past the fact that the dialog between the 12 and 13 year old's seems off. As I am reading this I feel that I am reading dialog from 18, 19, and 20 year old's. My opinion would be that the age of these characters should have been set to that age vs. 12 and 13, which if done so would make this story that much more believable. I simply do not know too many teens that talk like the characters in this book do.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Swipe is the first book in a series about taking the Mark that is mentioned in Revelation. While completely fictional, it tells the story of Logan and how in a world that has come to accept receiving the Mark, he sees inconsistencies. His sister supposedly died taking the Mark and ever since then, Logan has been the boy to cry wolf about seeing people watching his house. As the time comes closer and closer for Logan to take the Mark, he begins to see more people watching him and his house. He also meets with a new girl in town and begins to investigate the many strange happenings.
Youth will enjoy reading this book and by the end will be ready to pick up the second book. Though the book takes liberties in creating a tale about the Mark, it gives readers a suspenseful tale about the consequences of going along with the crowd. I would recommend this book to anyone.
http://www.thomasnelson.com/swipe.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just like the Hunger Games!

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimPossible
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's crazy how this book is similar to the Hunger Games but is still a whole separate book at the same time. It's definately a Christian Alternative to the Hunger Games. I love this book. It's exciting and mysterious at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brimming with action

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absorbing read, that sucked me into another world!
What might it be like to be a teenager living in the future? I have no idea, but it makes for a grand adventure!
When I read the prologue I wasn't completely sure that I'd like this book, but after I'd read the first chapter I knew Swipe would be amazing, and it didn't disappoint. Riveting, with a huge dose of mystery, set in the future, in an America where the people are split into two groups, the Marked, and the Markless.
The characters were so well developed, and I immediately latched onto Logan as a wonderful hero, who through no fault of his own, find himself in a crazy situations hunted by unknown forces.
What an adventure! Lots of action, suspense and mystery that kept me engaged throughout. The crazy thing is that Swipe is only the beginning!
Overall, a wonderful beginning to a cool new series. And I have the feeling that the next books will be even more intense! To me this book really felt like a beginning, it hinted at some upcoming revelations yet to come, that I am eagerly awaiting. What I really liked about this book was how there were a ton of secrets, and the author kept me engaged without doing a huge reveal, but dropping very small tidbits, that left me with even more questions than before! An action-packed novel, sure to have you hanging in suspense!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review, through Team Novel Teen. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, the End Of The World! is kind of a hot topic right now. *SLIGHT understatement* Left Behind has left us with lots of apocolypse fiction wreaking panic in bookstores and libraries everywhere! Now, I’ll admit I went through a pouring-over-the-Book-of-Revelations-multiple-times stage, (the mark of the beast is given in the hand! -that’s where microchips go! -the apocolypse is coming! OH MY!) but I outgrew it and moved on to 6th grade. Lol.
So when I saw the blurb for Swipe I was like, “Really? Not another book about the Mark of the Beast masquerading as a microchip/tatoo/brain implant! Sigh…” I finally decided to give it a try and I couldn’t stop reading! Author Evan Angler takes readers on a spectacular ride filled with twists and turns that transforms a tired gimmick into a fantastic, brain-bending story! I can’t wait for more, and yes there will be sequels.
*Swipe is also now on the list of books for my hubby to read which is about the highest recommendation I can give
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing Dystopian Read for Middle Schoolers

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Laurie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"In the ten years since it had been implemented, the Mark had quickly become the capstone of a childhood well spent, the crowning achievement in a young man's or woman's life, the opened door to adulthood and independence. Logan couldn't wait to see how it looked on Lily's wrist when she got back.
'Wish me luck,' Lily said as she walked out the door...
That was the last anyone saw of Logan's big sister, Lily."
Five years later, Logan Paul Langly is only a few months away from his thirteenth birthday and getting the Mark himself--and he's terrified. He's not just afraid because his sister, Lily, was what the government referred to as a "flunkee," and the Mark didn't "agree" with her. No, Logan is afraid because he knows...he's being watched.
Erin Arbitor is not happy. She and her father had to move away from her mother and the happening, capitol city of Beacon to the podunk town of Spokie all because of her dad's "government work." Erin is willing do anything to move back home and see her family reunited and happy again, so she decides to investigate the project her dad is working on in the hopes that, if she can help, they can return home faster. With her new, sort-of friend, Logan, Erin uncovers more than she bargained for, and in the process, Logan and Erin realize their lives will never be the same again.
Swipe by Evan Angler unfolds like a movie, following several point of views, though Logan and Erin are the primary characters. The two main groups of focus, DOME, a government agency, and the Dust, a Markless rebel group, each have secrets and motives that make perfect sense to them and they each think they are perfectly right about what they believe in, though their way of handling certain situations may be a bit off. I thought these groups and the characters were handled pretty realistically, though the middle-schoolers sometimes seemed older than they were. However, I think it might be understandable, considering the world they live in, where they have to mature much more quickly. And I have to give Angler props for his world building. It was very clear and interesting to read about his futuristic world and society.
Dystopian fiction for middle-schoolers is a first for me, and I enjoyed it. All of the characters, especially Logan, grow because of their experiences in this book, and Angler has left plenty of room for more development as well. The ending took a sudden twist that I kind of saw coming but also made me realize that Swipe was only the very beginning of an even bigger story that I look forward to diving into.
* I would like to thank the publisher and author for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Become a Citizen You Must Take the Mark!

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SWIPE
by Evan Angler
Life as you know it is about to change. Maybe not tomorrow or even next year, but change is coming and you won't like it....
The Total War almost ended everything until the Unity. Shortly after Logan Langley's birth the Mark Program was instituted in the American Union and now just a couple months shy of his thirteenth birthday world unity is looking very likely.
Logan is nervous about getting his Mark and taking the Pledge because of his sister Lily who never returned when she went to get hers. But if Logan doesn't take the Mark he won't be able to get a job, vote, or even buy anything.
But Logan is being watched by someone. It started shortly after Lily's death and the closer it gets to Logan's birthday the worse it is becoming! Everyone thinks he is acting out, delusional or paranoid. No one believes him until he meets Erin Arbitor the new girl in school and in Spokie.
When Logan tells Erin about the noises and strange happenings that have been occurring, she knows that this is her chance to get back home to Beacon City. Logan's experiences sound similar to something she read in her father's classified DOME files - files that just looking at could land her and Logan in big trouble.
But Logan isn't being watched by just anyone, it is a group calling themselves Dust, a term used to insult and deride the Markless. And Logan isn't the only thirteen year old in Spokie that is in danger. There have been kidnappings and more are expected so Dome is watching and looking for clues.
But the more Logan learns the more confused he becomes. Who has his best interests at heart and why won't his parents believe him? Will Logan join the Marked or will he become another rare complication just like Lily?
Who will you trust? Your answer will determine your future.
Swipe is an exciting can't-put-it-down book. In an unexpected twist Swipe sets you up for Sneak book 2.
I received a copy of this title from the publisher Thomas Nelson for the purpose of this review, a favorable review was not a requirement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

page turning first book in the series

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit I love dystopian fiction and really enjoyed this book. It was one of the best books I've read in this genre. It kept the reader engaged and wondering what was going to happen next, a real page turner. I loved that it was a book that was clean and ok for my 11 year old to read also. If you are looking for a great book to read this summer, love dystopian fiction or have a middle/high schooler then nab this book! You just might get hooked! I know I did and can't wait to read the rest of the series!
thank you booksneeze for allowing me to review the ebook Swipe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn’t put the thing down

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Logan Langly is starting school and is only a few months away from his thirteenth birthday. That’s the day when he can get the Mark, which will give him the full benefits of citizenship. He’ll be able to get a job, to buy things, to take the trains. But Logan isn’t sure he wants the Mark. Because when his sister went in to get it, she never came back.
What if Logan goes in and never comes back?
Plus, people are following him and he doesn’t know why. When a new girl starts school and Logan befriends her, they start investigating, and what they discover is the beginning of something huge. Something that will change everything. Forever.
This book is so much fun! I couldn’t put the thing down. It’s a fun and clever dystopian story. It will get you thinking about how people tend to conform without asking questions. And it will leave you wanting to read the next book. I liked the unfolding mystery of what was going on, and the storyworld was so much fun. A lot of thought went into creating this dystopian future of what our country might have done to gain peace after a global war. I highly recommend this one for readers aged eight and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Swipe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Imaginative setting

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nello
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Evan Angler’s middle-grade novel Swipe takes place in the future when society has been through ecological upheaval, shortages, plague, and war. Leaders Lamson and Cylis have remedied all that with many innovations including the mark, a nano-dust arm tattoo every 13-year-old gets on his or her birthday.
I loved the book’s setting which gives us Angler’s answers to questions like, What if fuel runs out? What if land is at a premium? What if all the trees are dead? What if paper is rare to non-existent? What if people who think for themselves are seen as a threat?
Main character Logan is sympathetic and likeable, though a little wimpy. Strong girl Erin makes this a PC book that will help it pass muster with the feminists (and their mothers) in the crowd. The book’s intended middle-grade audience will relate well, I think, to the dynamics between characters at school and in social settings, like a futuristic rock concert complete with wailing mitts.
The boyfriend-girlfriend angle bothered me a bit. Kids as young as Grade 3 (“ages 8 and up”) will probably read this book, so scenes of kids fantasizing about relationships with the opposite sex, hugging and kissing with attendant thrills described, time spent alone in bedrooms with someone they ‘like’ (though nothing happens) seemed a bit more YA than mid-grade fiction to me.
Though the mark is an obvious reference to the Mark of the Beast from the Bible (Revelation 13:16-18), other references to faith or a specific religion are pretty much absent. The book does explore themes of conformity, family, secrets, courage, loyalty, truth, and what the future could be like.
Swipe is a thoughtful, futuristic story that could spark a lot of discussion between kids and their parents, teachers, and friends.
(Parts of this review were first published on Blogcritics.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sound Middle Grade Christian Fiction

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swipe is set in a technologically advanced near-future dystopia, in which all those over the age of thirteen Pledge their allegiance to the unified world government and receive the Mark, which enables them to vote, purchase goods, hold a job and a range of other ‘privileges’. The Markless, those who have chosen not to Pledge, are forced to survive on the edges of society.
Logan Langley will soon turn thirteen and take his Pledge. Most kids his age are excited, but he is nervous – his older sister, Lily, never returned from her Pledge, and he has had the feeling he is being watched ever since. As a result, he feels increasingly isolated at school, although the new girl, Erin, catches his interest. Although she is already Marked, she resents her new home, a result of her father’s promotion. He does Government work – for the Department of Marked Emergencies (DOME), who control the Mark programme and associated problems. Little do Logan and Erin know that their combined problems are about to bring them together…
As dystopian fiction, Swipe plays homage to authors such as John Wyndham. John Christopher and Lois Lowry, as well as the more obvious similarities to the Left Behind series based on their common base in the Mark of the Beast prophesied in St. John’s Revelation. Swipe’s futuristic world is well-imagined, with a combination of the new, the familiar and the adapted (e.g. the children playing rock-tablet-laser instead of rock-scissor-paper). I found that the early development of the world of the Marked detracts from the development of the characters and the plot, but the book improved and picked up pace as the story progressed.
Overall, Swipe is a good read, set in a world where there is no war, no conflict and no religion. It’s a sound debut novel in a popular genre. Readable, interesting even, but not original or memorable like the dystopian fiction I read as a teen.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Swipe

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
cindy
Swipe, written by Evan Angler, follows the life of Logan as he nears his 13th birthday at some point in the future. Upon reaching the age of 13, each child is given a mark which enables them to take part in society. They can get a job, buy food, ride a hoverstick, and anything else you can think of. Although Logan is excited to get his mark, he is also nervous due to the children who have not had good results after their mark surgery. Although it will be denied by the government, there are those people who never return after their surgery. Add to the fear of the surgery, the fact that Logan feels as if he is being followed and someone is spying on him. As he begins to investigate those who are watching his every move, he meets a new friend Erin whose father has access to top-secret materials and facts which Erin shares with Logan.
I really liked this book, and I read it while thinking about the book of Revelation and the Mark of the Beast which will be required as per Revelation. I think this would be best for middle-school age kids who are interested in reading sci-fi type books, and it may also help them become interested in learning more about the end times.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Book Review on Swipe

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Missouri, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swipe, by Evan Angler, is one of the best books ever! I have read "ok" good books before but with this book I could not put it down! After all my years of reading hundreds of books, there are only a few that I liked as much as Swipe!!!! It has adventure around every corner, drama, suspense, and of course most of all what made it good was that it was written very well, with a sit on the edge of your seat kind of plot!!! Right when I thought the story was going to go one way, the story turned around going a way I never thought of before! So it was making me guess till the end! It was about a twelve year old boy, Logan, that lived in Spokie, who was soon to receive the mark on his thirteenth birthday. When you get the mark you can go shopping, go to concerts, buy a house, just about anything. Cylis, the chansular in Europe, and Lamson the governor in North America, come together to make the world one... in unity in Cylis and Lamson's name to end all the terrible wars before the one world government. So to pledge your allegiance to them every one must receive the mark on your wrist to go about your normal daily lives. But if you do not get the mark, you become an outcast, starving, and called radical. But if getting the mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong? But Logan feels like he is being watched by someone, ever since his sister, Lily, went to get her mark about five years ago... and never came back. With his new found friend, Erin, he discovers that the unmarked really are watching him and is determine to get him. But why?
The next book in the series, Sneak, is coming out this coming fall 2012! And you better bet my name is going to be on that list to see what happens next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I am purchasing it for my school bookshelves. I think this will appeal to people of all ages. As an adult I can see our society headed this way. I can only imagine the fear Logan felt when his sister didn’t return from her trip to get the Mark. I was concerned in the beginning of the book that he was just being paranoid that he was being watched and followed.
Erin’s move to Spokie made me wonder why her mother did not come with them. Her father can stop a question from anyone; just by telling them he works for the government. Any government that is this secretive and deceptive can’t be that great.
This book did have something unique that stuck with me. In the beginning of the book Evan’s house was describe. Most of the houses are vertical. This means there is one room per floor. I thought this would seem very strange as a living situation. You couldn’t just walk across the hall to your sister’s room. You would need to go up or down a floor to see them.
This book has enough suspense to hopefully hold the reader until the second book comes out in September. It is called Sneak, and will hopefully answer many questions that are left unanswered.
I am grateful to Thomas Nelson’s BookSneeze program for allowing me to read and review this book. It is one I will promote to my students next year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping...and eerily possible today!

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fear has stalked Logan Langley for years, ever since his sister went to get The Mark when she turned 13 and never came back. The Mark is placed on everyone's wrist on their 13th birthday, celebrated as the pathway to freedom as it lets you buy things, get a job, live your life. But no one believes Logan when he insists he's being followed or is seeing faces in windows or that doors open and close on their own. As his own 13th birthday draws near and he anticipates getting the Mark, Logan's fears turn into reality as he discovers that he truly is being followed by those who call themselves the Dust. With the help of a newly-made friend name Erin, whose father is a high-level government agent, Logan attempts to find out who is after him, and comes face-to-face with the truth about the Mark.
Swipe is a fast-paced, gripping thriller that teens will simply devour. Despite the fact that I am way over the age range of the target audience, I highly enjoyed this book and the "what-ifs" that the author has created. What if you couldn't buy anything or own anything unless you had the Mark? What if a world war had decimated known society and changed the landscape of civilization? What if everything the government has told you may be a lie? Evan Angler has created highly-believable characters, ones you will be rooting for as they race around trying to figure out what is going on. Logan especially is a character many will identify with, someone still trying to figure out who he is and what his place in life is. And yet it's clear that he has courage and a desire for justice, traits to admire. Angler uses superb pacing to unveil the plot, chapter by chapter, leaving you racing for the end...and wishing that book 2 in the series was already available!
Swipe is a thrilling adventure, with a futuristic setting that seems eerily possible today. It is a tale of friendship, of loyalty, a battle of right versus wrong of the best kind, and it is an excellent beginning to what is sure to be a well-loved series. I highly recomend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Swipe - eBook
This review is from#1: Swipe.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Close to The Hunger Games's government, Great read

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:A Library, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone gets the Mark. It gives all the benefits of citizenship. Yet if getting the Mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong?
Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn't even know existed. United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.
The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping. It's almost Logan Langly's 13th birthday and he knows he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn't been able to shake the feeling he's being watched. Not since his sister went to get her Mark five years ago . . . and never came back.
When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers? Find out in the first book of this exciting series that is Left Behind meets Matched for middle-grade readers.
My Review:
I decided to review Swipe because of several reasons. One, I like all things tech and gadgets. And it definitely had a lot of that in it! Second, I believe that the "Mark" is a very real possibility in the future, and I wanted to see how the author portrayed it and how it was used. Last, it sounded like an interesting story line!
I wasn't disappointed. It was really good, and surprisingly realistic. Logan sounded and felt like a real person. The technology was believable. And the ending was totally unexpected! And yet not surprising at the same time.
I thoroughly enjoyed every chapter and couldn't put it down. And I can't wait for the next one in the series to come out! I'm giving this 4 stars out of 5. I'm only taking away a star because of a couple times it was a little hard to understand... needed to be re-worded.
I am required by law to state that I got this book for free in exchange for a review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>