Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Scent of Rain - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Scent of Rain - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 2181%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Scent of Rain - eBook
Review 1 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Scent of Rain
The Scent of Rain
By Kristin Billerbeck
Book Description
When deprived of her most prized sense, Daphne discovers a life she never expected, right under her nose.
Daphne Sweeten has left Paris – and a career she loves – in order to marry a man she loves even more. But when he stands her up on their wedding day, Daphne’s left reeling. Trained as a professional “nose” or perfume creator, Daphne soon realizes that her sense of smell has somehow disappeared too.
In the days following she moves to Dayton, Ohio, to take on a job creating fragrances for household products. Without her sense of smell, she must rely on her chemistry skills, and hope her handsome new boss, Jesse Lightner, doesn’t notice before she can figure out how to get it back.
Despite her desire to return to Paris, she can’t deny the way Jesse makes her feel. But when Daphne approaches former contacts, she learns her missing ex-fiancé has somehow snagged her old job.
As Daphne and Jesse work on a signature scent for their new line, she feels God at work in her life as never before. And the promise of what is possible is as fresh as the scent of rain.
I just got my new Kindle and I love reading on it. I couldn't put this book down. The story was so engaging that I wanted to find out what happened next. The story was a little predictable but I still really enjoyed it. I like to lose my self in a book that doesn't require a lot of thought, that is exactly what this book is. Love it!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Scent of Rain

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
mindy
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What a horrible thing! Not only to have the man you planned on spending the rest of your life with stand you up at the altar, but to also have the one thing disappear from you that you counted on as a money maker.
Daphne is trained as a perfume creator and without her sense of smell, she can no longer do her job properly. But God has shown her amazing promises and that good can conquer evil- love can win and in Him all things are possible.
This was a lovely read and I think I learned a few things from the characters. Life isn’t always easy, but with God, all things ARE possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun book

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck, published by Thomas Nelson, is a contemporary chic lit piece. Daphne, a perfume creator with a heightened nose, has left Paris and the ideal job for love and to marry in San Francisco, California. When neither groom nor any of his family show up to the church, Daphne is encouraged by her parents to move across the country to Dayton, Ohio, a city she knows nothing about, to begin the job she and her fiancé had planned.
Following the trauma of being jilted at the altar, Daphne loses her sense of smell. How is she supposed to begin working at this new company that is apparently on its last leg financially? Can she fool them long enough to get her sense of smell back?
I am grateful this was not one of those love-at-first-sight sort of books. The characters were able to develop a great camaraderie throughout the entire book. Light moments of spirituality are woven throughout the piece. It is easy for me to sympathize with Daphne through the author’s use of setting and situation. I mean, who wouldn’t want to be a perfume designer in Paris? But then to be stood-up on your wedding day? And then having to move so a strange little down in the middle of nowhere?
The one aspect I’d expound upon would be the development of the scenes when the heart is tugged by the interaction between Daphne and Jesse. There are moments when my heart is captured by the interaction, but the story quickly moves on without taking the opportunity to squeeze at the heart once it’s been captured. I am one of those hopeless romantics who likes the emotions to be toyed with a bit more than was in The Scent of Rain. That being said, I have no problem recommending this book for young and old, women and girls. It is fun, easy read, and light-hearted.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not up to Billerbeck Laughing Meter Standards

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually laugh all the way through a Kristin Billerbeck novel...but not so much on this one. There were a few guffaws at points, but The Scent of Rain wasn't as wildly humorous as most of her books. In fact, I thought the ending to this book was quite odd. If it hadn't had an epilogue, you would have been shaking your head wondering if the author had gone to wash the dishes or something and forgotten she was finishing a book.
Here's the synopsis of this book: Daphne Sweeten is left standing at the altar. She'd created a fragrance for her fiancee' which she was giving as a gift to everyone who attended the wedding. Daphne is a chemist who develops scents. The problem after being left at the altar is that the trauma has left her without a sense of smell. And...she's just been hired by a new company as a "nose"--a person who develops scents for products--in this case, cleaning products. When she gets to Dayton, Ohio she finds a company struggling to stay afloat and depending on her nose to succeed. She also finds that the guy who left her at the altar also traded the beautiful house her father had given them for a wedding gift for a fixer-upper--and taken the difference in the money with him to Paris--to her old job.
If you haven't read any of Billerbeck's books before, you'll find plenty to chuckle about in this book. But for those who are Billerbeck fans, I think you'll be mildly disappointed. I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishers for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Beach Read

Date:September 9, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck is a Christian chic-lit novel about a girl named Daphne. Daphne is a perfumer and professional "nose", who is left at the altar. She finds herself alone and stuck with a job in Ohio that she took in order to start her new life with her now ex-fiance. As if that wasn't bad enough she loses her sense of smell and is unable to do this new job, but she has no where else to go so she heads to Ohio, hoping her sense of smell will return before she actually has to start any work. Her new boss is a handsome widower . . . and that's all I'll say to avoid spoiling the book, but I'm sure you can guess the rest!
I actually really enjoyed this book. The characters were likable, and even though not a lot actually happened in the book, it kept me wanting to read it. I've read other books by Billerbeck, and this is probably one of my favorites from her.
I have to say that I felt like some of the conversations and the flow of the plot were a bit confusing. Some of the details that could have been a bit more dramatic or added more of a mystery to the plot seemed to just be mentioned in passing. I felt there was more potential there that wasn't tapped.
That said, Billerbeck writes chic-lit, not mysteries, and as chic-lit, I liked this one. It was a light, enjoyable read. Nothing too deep or suspenseful, and it met all my expectations in a pleasant way. It was one of those books that you can pick up and enjoy and that you look forward to reading, but that is also easy to put down while you do other things - a good beach or vacation read. Or a good mom-of-a-toddler-who doesn't-give-her much-time-to-read read. Whichever the case may be!
Note: I received this book for free from the publisher through their Booksneeze program in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really enjoyed learning a little bit about professional noses and the perfume business, but I don’t feel that Scent of Rain is up to Billerbeck’s usual standard. I usually really identify with her female leads, but Daphne fell a little short for me although I found Jesse’s story to be very compelling. Of course this might be because Daphne is so calm about being left at the alter. I would probably be a hysterical mess! I’m going to chalk it up to personal preference especially since I loved Split Ends and A Billion Reasons Why.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Scent of Rain

Date:October 17, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Daphne Sweeten’s life seemed to fall apart in a moment. Her fiancé, Mark left her standing alone on the day they had planned to marry!
Daphne had left an ideal job at a perfumery in Paris, France to return to the states for a scent formulation job in Dayton, OH. Now Daphne’s only choice is to go on to Dayton alone. She arrives at her new job to meet her new boss, Jesse who seems to have hang-ups of his own.
Daphne and Jesse begin to work together to formulate a new scent to save their company. God has new things planned for their lives that they never imagined!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Intriguing Premise, Disappointing Plot Holes

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Daphne Sweeten has been Paris-trained to be a professional "nose," someone who can recognize over 5,000 different scents. Dreaming of a job in the French perfume industry, and with ambitions to create her own fragrances, she instead finds herself left at the altar and heading to Dayton, Ohio to work in a failing household goods department. As if that doesn't seem drastic enough of a change, she now finds herself without the one thing she prides herself on - her sense of smell is completely gone. How will she find herself and her true worth without being able to do what she does best?
The Scent of Rain had an intriguing premise - who are we if we lose our most identifying feature? Daphne had to deal with unexpected turn after unexpected turn, and she couldn't even rely on the self she knew. While I enjoyed the idea of the story, and I cheered for the Daphne who kept trying to make the most of the situation, this book fell a little flat for me. There was the letter from the ex-fiance, Mark, which Daphne never found time to read, and nobody explained to her. Wouldn't it be natural to read it immediately? Or have someone leak the information in it if it's that juicy? It just felt like a plot hole to me.
Also, the relationship between Daphne and her boss, Jesse, didn't ring true. (Possible spoilers here!) While it seemed natural for them to be drawn together, and I actually enjoyed the idea of them falling for each other, it happened too quickly to feel real. There was just no transition between them both saying they needed time, or refusing the idea of the relationship, to being committed to each other.
I liked the idea of the story, and I liked most of the characters, but I really feel this story could have been done better. So, I feel that I can only give this book 2 stars. I have read other books by Kristen Billerbeck and have enjoyed them more, so I can still recommend this author!
I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson, in exchange for my honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Scent of Rain

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description from CBD:
Daphne Sweeten has a unique talent---she's a professional "nose" for a Paris perfume company. But when her fiance abandons her, her gift goes with him---and so does her dream job. Instead she now works in middle America, owns a ramshackle house, and has an intriguing boss. Will she learn how to dance in life's storms? 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
My Thoughts:
LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!
I love Kristin Billerbeck and her real writing style. She is fun, exciting and writes with faith and humor. Plus, she throws in some lovely romance.
This book was especially fun because I live in the town where the characters live. I knew the places they went, the highways they drove on and the things they talked about.
As for the book itself, the whole idea of a "nose" and a person who creates scents in a lab is not something I've ever thought about or read about before. The whole concept was interesting.
The characters had faced deep loss and needed each other as they worked through the life stage they found themselves in. They both needed God and His hand on their lives to recover from difficult circumstances. I loved how the author wove them together so beautifully, bringing healing, health and harmony back into their lives.
Can't wait to read more from Kristin Billerbeck!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great chick lit fo lazy summer days reading

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fun chick lit book! Perfect for those lazy summer days reading. I enjoyed it quite a bit and plan to check out this author some more and see what else she has. I love chick lit books that are just fun and happy, not smutty and filled with bad language. So this was a perfect fit for me! Are you looking for a great character to cheer on? Are you looking for a fun enjoyable book to read this summer? Then check out Kristin Billerbeck’s The Scent of Rain!
thank you booksneeze for allowing me to review The Scent of Rain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To Smell or Not to Smell that is the question!

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daphne has been stood up. Not stood up on a date, she has been stood up at the alter. The groom nor his family ever showed up at the church.
The only thing she feels right now is humiliated. It is as is she is in a daze unable to move. So many things are racing through her mind.
Had she not seen this coming?
He was so attentive and told her he loved her.
Her father bought them a house and they were suppose to move into it after the honeymoon.
What about the new job they were suppose to start?
They were to be working for same company.
She left her dream job as a nose, scent specialist, in Paris, France in order to marry him and live in the States.
She needed to stop and pray for God to give her peace!
As the day comes close to an end she realizes she can't smell anything. It must be from all the stress. Great now she would be stressed that her smell would not come back before she starts her new job. She was hired for her nose surely she would have her smell back once to started the new job.
She decided she was not going to sit around feeling sorry for herself. She was going to start her new job. But she would not move into the house right away she would get a hotel room instead. When she gets into town she would go straight to her new workplace.
What a shock her new boss is handsome. So far so good! She does not understand how she could feel attracted to this man when she was just dumped. She better concentrate on concealing the fact that she still could not smell anything. She also wanted to find out if her ex-fiance showed up for his new job. This was definitely going to be awkward.
This book was suspenseful and kept me trying to solve the mystery of the absence of the almost groom. There surely was more to the story than a missing groom .
The author did a great job in the creation of the main characters They showed their Christianity right from the beginning. They had so much faith in God. They believed he was leading them to this town and community. God had a plan for their lives and they had to learn to be at peace with His plan. They sought out this peace in prayer and through the comfort of their fellow Christians.
I recommend this book.
Disclosure:
I received a copy of this book from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson for review. I was not compensated in any way for this review. It is my own opinion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:August 13, 2012
I'm a huge fan of Kristin Billerbeck. (Can anyone read the Ashley Stockingdale series and not be a fan?!) So, of course, I was excited about The Scent of Rain! Daphne, a professional "nose," leaves the job of a lifetime in Paris so she can marry the man of her dreams. Only things don't turn out as expected when he leaves her at the altar with no explanation, she takes a less-than-ideal job in Ohio, her new house is falling down around her, and her sense of smell deserts her.
The Scent of Rain was a quick, fun read—perfect for a lazy summer day. It was different than most of the other books I've read by Billerbeck . . . not quite as funny and a bit more serious. However, the same elements of quirky characters, fun romances, good friends, and sometimes-bizarre circumstances are present and made for an enjoyable read.
The relationship between Daphne and Jesse seemed a bit off at times. They instantly seemed to have a romantic relationship (despite Jesse struggling with the death of his wife and Daphne having just been jilted), and then the book wrapped up so quickly that it seemed forced. Perhaps stretching the story out more or adding another 20 pages would have helped the flow. I was also a little confused by some of the conversations and actions with her mentor in Paris.
The secondary characters were a real treat. I loved Daphne's best friend and her co-workers added a lot of "character" to the story. I also liked how each of them were used to move Daphne along in her relationship with God and help her grow up a bit. While this wasn't quite the novel I expected, I did thoroughly enjoy it. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Book Sneeze program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun, Feel Good Story

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Review: This was a delightful story of lost love and lost senses, namely the ability to smell; which when you are a professional nose is disastrous. Daphne gave up her dream job and consented to move from the Bay Area to Dayton Ohio all for love, only to be left at the altar with no explanation.
Daphne decides to move to Dayton and take the new job even though it may mean working with the man who left her at the altar. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to face her ex-fiancé, but she does have to deal with a boss, Jesse Lightner, who doesn’t want her or feels that he needs her. When he discovers she’s lost the ability to smell he tries to fire her all the while realizing he likes her.
Although Daphne and Jesse are Christians they both struggle with completely trusting Him. I loved how Daphne deals with her co-workers and how she shows God’s love to those who need it. But her character is very real, she struggles with her attitude and actions toward some of those around her.
This is one of those classic love stories that is a joy to read. Not an overly complicated storyline but it is entertaining. You feel good when the story is over.
Disclaimer: I would like to Thomas Nelson for the opportunity to review this book, and I was under no obligation to give anything but my opinion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Light-hearted Romance

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Daphne Sweeten has just completed training to be a ‘nose’ in the perfume industry, and has returned home to marry before starting a new life and a new perfume formulation job in Dayton, Ohio. But fiancé Mark Goldsmith doesn’t show up for the wedding, and she later finds out that he has abandoned her and taken her dream job in Paris. The house her father bought her as a wedding present is a dump. And to make matters worse, she seems to have lost her sense of smell.
Jesse Lightner is a middle manager at a struggling consumer products company, and isn’t happy to have a new employee foisted on him when his department is already struggling to make budget. But, prompted by his assistant (who also happens to be his pastor’s wife), Jesse does the right thing and tries to make Daphne feel welcome and wanted.
What follows is an enjoyable romance with a quirky cast of characters, including an ambitious marketing executive, two stereotypical scientists, a solo father (Jesse) and a bereaved almost-bride trying to pull her life back together and making a fair few mistakes along the way. There was one scene that was probably supposed to be funny but I found rather cringe-inducing and parts of the plot did require a bit of suspension of disbelief, but, on the whole, this a was a fun romance between two unlikely people.
The Scent of Rain is the first Kristen Billerbeck adult romance novel I have read, although I have previously read one of her YA novels (Perfectly Dateless) and a novella from the Smitten collection. Based on The Scent of Rain, I would certainly read more. It was a quick and easy read, perfect for a relaxing afternoon.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and BookSneeze® for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saturday, August 4, 2012
The Scent of Rain by Kristin Billerbeck
Daphne Sweeten is leaving Paris and moving to Dayton, OH to put her perfume creator skills to work. But first comes the wedding and that's impossible without a groom! Mark leaves her at the altar and leaves the keys to their house in Dayton with her father. Daphne feels she has to choice but to start over in Ohio. However, her sense of smell has disappeared and she can't have her new boss, Jeese finding out! Her whole life seems spinning out of control as Daphne goes through conflict after conflict and she wonders if God really is in control?
I was given a free copy to review from Thomas Nelson. Although I had read novels by Billerbeck before, this one didn't interest me like her other ones have in the past. The writing seemed "jumpy" and "scattered" to me. It was hard to get into the characters lives. The conversation between characters seemed abrupt or maybe sarcastic? Anyways, I did like how Daphne tried to show Christian love to co-workers. Plus, the believers she came in contact with when she moved to a new town, was exactly how Christians should be. She put others first and reached out to the hurting. It was a good read, but not one I would read again.
Posted by basketballorange301 at 3:59 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet smelling surprise!

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lois Lane
Location:Los Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes there is a book that you connect to not through the story itself, but through the memories that it brings back to you. Scent of Rain is one of those books. The sense of smell is one of the greatest triggers to a person’s memories and that is the element that Kristin Billerbeck uses to captivate the reader’s interest. I am a Billerbeck fan and have read almost all of her books. I was actually really looking forward to reading her newest release, but found the book description a little hard to relate with. The concept of someone making a living through their “nose” was really not something I found easy to connect with and seemed a bit odd for the premise of a novel. However, in usual Billerbeck chick-lit fashion, the witty dialogue easily drew me in at the very beginning. The reference to the power of smells used throughout the development of the plot I found to be very thought provoking and even with my initial doubts, I found that it really worked. I think I can no longer take for granted the plethora of smells when I walk into my favorite Bath and Bodyworks store at the mall. There was an element of mystery that was carried throughout the plot development as well as some heavy themes that gave it a little more edge than a typical Christian chick-lit novel. The ending especially a bit harsh for thel chick-lit genre and took me a bit by surprise. Though I liked the ending, it seemed abrupt for me and I felt like there were a few too many loose ends. It might make sense if there is a sequel, but even that was not really clear and for that reason I felt I had to go with four stars instead of five.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: The Scent of Rain - Kristin Billerbeck - August 2012
In order to have the perfect life , Daphne left the one thing that she loved most in the world to start a new life. All was going well, until the morning of her wedding she was left dumped at the altar. From that day, Daphne found herself in the middle of a new town - Dayton, Ohio , in a run-down house and now working as "a nose" for a laundry company. Things would have been better but Daphne has lost the one thing she is relied upon , the one thing she has perfected all her life - her sense of smell. Now Daphne, must fake her way through her new job if she wants to survive in Dayton, Ohio but what happens when the one thing she is supposed to have , nearly kills her and her secret is revealed. To top it off , Daphne has started to fall for her new boss Jesse - a single father . Can Daphne prove to Jesse that she is more than just "a nose" and that even though she lied to protect herself, she cares for him ? The Scent of Rain is a fun and in some parts sad novel that will have you enjoying the up's and down's of life, love and scents.
The Scent of Rain is about one women's journey to creating a new life and that sometimes in order to start a new and fresh life , you have to sacrifice or lose something of yourself in order to grow and in Daphne's case it was her sense of smell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well-written love story!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristin Billerbeck's, "The Scent of Rain," is a well-written, beautiful and fun love story to be enjoyed!
Book Description from the publishers:
When deprived of her most prized sense, Daphne discovers a life she never expected, right under her nose.
Daphne Sweeten has left Paris – and a career she loves – in order to marry a man she loves even more. But when he stands her up on their wedding day, Daphne’s left reeling. Trained as a professional “nose” or perfume creator, Daphne soon realizes that her sense of smell has somehow disappeared too.
In the days following she moves to Dayton, Ohio, to take on a job creating fragrances for household products. Without her sense of smell, she must rely on her chemistry skills, and hope her handsome new boss, Jesse Lightner, doesn’t notice before she can figure out how to get it back.
Despite her desire to return to Paris, she can’t deny the way Jesse makes her feel. But when Daphne approaches former contacts, she learns her missing ex-fiancé has somehow snagged her old job.
As Daphne and Jesse work on a signature scent for their new line, she feels God at work in her life as never before. And the promise of what is possible is as fresh as the scent of rain.
My Review:
Daphne is such a likable character, I liked her immediately and felt like I became a part of her life right away when I began reading. Daphne and Jesse's relationship was fun to read and watch blossom as they worked together professionally and grew together personally as well. I loved this love story and enjoyed reading about Daphne's job as this is something I had not really thought too much about in regards and it was fun to learn about. This is a great summery read for all romantic fiction fans!
I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scent

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
cici
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scent of Rain by Kristen Billerbeck is the perfect blend of two people unwittingly being helped by Him with their lives. He knows these two, Jesse and Daphne, need help in the direction of love and so he does just that. He helps them. I loved this take on the old tale of love between two people not necessarily looking for love. Jesse and Daphne are perfect for each other and I enjoyed the way their relationship grows with each page. I could see this happening to anyone, it was that believable. Another wonderful story by Kristen Billerbeck that must be read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Scent of Rain - eBook
This review is fromThe Scent of Rain.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Cozy Romance

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
cindy
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an enjoyable book to read and the first one for me by this author. The romance between Daphne and Jesse (a widower and father of a young son) is predictable but this is a romance novel, after all, so it is what the reader would expect. The story is written well and in a way that allows readers to feel Daphne's pain at being left at the altar by her fiance Mark but then happy for her that she didn't end up with him as his true character is revealed.
There are other characters that add to the story such as Anne, Jesse's secretary and wife of the pastor of his church; and Sophie, Daphne's best friend who is there for her during the heartbreak and then the adjustment to a new location and job. There are a few villans besides Mark as well who add to the storyline.
The romance element isn't sappy as some novels like this tend to be and the Christian theme is done in a realsitic way that doesn't come across as preachy.
Anyone who enjoys Christian romance will enjoy this book and it would be a great one to read over a leisurely weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>