Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Tidewater Inn - eBook

Thomas Nelson Tidewater Inn - eBook

Historic preservationist Libby Holladay ironically knows nothing about her own history. That is, until her friend uncovers information on a remote island in the Outer Banks---and then disappears! With the help of Coast Guard captain Kirk, can Libby find Nicole and unearth clues about her extended family before it's too late?
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
49 out of 49100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Review 1 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is Hope Beach Hopeless?

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby’s friend and business partner was kidnapped before her horrified eyes from Hope Beach. The family she never knew she had until her father died doesn’t like her and is extremely antagonistic. The Inn she inherited requires a lot of work and capital. Is it hopeless? A dream come true has become a nightmare.
Colleen Coble’s first in her Hope Beach series is a winner. The characters are believable and lovable. The mystery is daunting. The romance is intriguing. You’ll love every minute you spend on Hope Beach. This one gets 5 stars – can’t wait for the next book in the series to find out more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby Holladay is a historic preservationist with no idea of her own roots. When her business partner, Nicole, uncovers some information regarding an inheritance on a remote island, Libby is thrilled to be the owner of a beautiful, old inn. Not only did her father leave her a dream renovation on a private beach, he left behind a family for Libby to get acquainted with.
But things are not as they seem. Libby's half siblings, Vanessa and Brent are not welcoming, and Nicole is kidnapped before she can give tell Libby what she knows. Now Libby is under suspicion for the crime, and things in the past are coming up at the most inopportune times. She has no way to prove her innocence, and time is running out as the evidence mounts against her. Even the helpful Coast Guard lieutenant who is cousin to the sheriff may not be able to help her. Will Libby be able to prove she didn't hurt Nicole? Will anyone be able to find out who did? And will the hurt between her and her father's children every be bridged?
This book was an attention grabber from the first page. I loved the setting, although I will admit it took a little while to enjoy the setting at first. But Bree and Samson won me over, as did the rumors of Blackbeard's treasure. The characters were a fun bunch, especially misguided, grieving Zach. But of course, everything works out in the end. I've learned the hard way to enjoy the happy endings, because some writers seem to not take that into consideration. Coble gives us just the right mixture of suspense mystery, and of course, romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, Solid Romantic Suspense

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Tidewater Inn, I am excited to read more in this series. The storyline kept my interest all the way through the book. There is a nice love story threading its way through, as well.
At the beginning of the book, Libby witnesses the abduction of her friend and business partner, Nicole. This abduction is viewed over a web cam from hours away. Libby immediately contacts the authorities and the search for her partner begins. Along the way, Libby must deal with learning that there is family that she didn’t know existed. These family members don’t just fold her into their group and love her…it’s a battle to try to get them to accept her. She must also face suspicion by law enforcement and attempts on her life. Figuring out who to trust will be key.
The characters are well-written and the plot was enjoyable. I must say that I was pretty surprised when the villain was revealed. Good, solid romantic suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-Crafted Story

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that this was a difficult read for me. I was only aware of Colleen Coble's historical romances, and this was the first time I ever have come in contact with a more contemporary romance from this author. I have to admit that the first portion of this book was rather slow for me. I actually did not think I would like it very much at all.
But as I got into the book more, the author drew me into the story. The mystery became quite intriguing, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down. I cared about the characters, and I wanted to know if everything worked out all right. I found myself often on the edge of my seat.
I began to see the things that I know in love in this author's works. I found romance, history, and a strong faith in God. God is real in this story, and you see His hand at every turn. Bad things happen, but somehow it all works together for good. It either brings people running back to God or else people turn their backs on Him. Everyone has to make the decision about what they must do with God.
I did enjoy the portions that the author inserted concerning the history of this sleepy island. Being a lover of historical fiction, I am so glad to have found this in a contemporary romance. I don't know if I would have enjoyed it as much without this!
This is truly a well-crafted story. Do not let the slow story keep you from pressing on. In the end, all will make sense. You will appreciate every detail the author gives you. And it is, of course, a bonus that there is no profanity or sex scenes! Justice is served, and all is explained in the end. And I bet you won't figure everything out!
If you have a day or two to set aside for a riveting read that will keep you guessing at every turn, this is definitely the book for you. You won't regret picking up this book!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in a series that takes place on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Through all the twists and turns of this plot,I did not have a clue as to the suspects. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the second book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrandAuntie
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was good but did feel a little rushed at the end, like there were only so many words left and it had to be cut short. I also read the next book and felt like I was missing pieces or more connection to the stories. I did enjoy reading both books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a fast moving story with good moral values.

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grandma Jo
Location:Jamestown N.D,
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story showed how even after the death of the father a note which he wrote influenced his daughter to show love and forgiveness to siblings she did not know she had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby Holladay is a historic preservationist with no idea of her own roots. When her business partner, Nicole, uncovers some information regarding an inheritance on a remote island, Libby is thrilled to be the owner of a beautiful, old inn. Not only did her father leave her a dream renovation on a private beach, he left behind a family for Libby to get acquainted with.
But things are not as they seem. Libby's half siblings, Vanessa and Brent are not welcoming, and Nicole is kidnapped before she can give tell Libby what she knows. Now Libby is under suspicion for the crime, and things in the past are coming up at the most inopportune times. She has no way to prove her innocence, and time is running out as the evidence mounts against her. Even the helpful Coast Guard lieutenant who is cousin to the sheriff may not be able to help her. Will Libby be able to prove she didn't hurt Nicole? Will anyone be able to find out who did? And will the hurt between her and her father's children every be bridged?
This book was an attention grabber from the first page. I loved the setting, although I will admit it took a little while to enjoy the setting at first. But Bree and Samson won me over, as did the rumors of Blackbeard's treasure. The characters were a fun bunch, especially misguided, grieving Zach. But of course, everything works out in the end. I've learned the hard way to enjoy the happy endings, because some writers seem to not take that into consideration. Coble gives us just the right mixture of suspense mystery, and of course, romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a very captivating book

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captivated me from the beginning. It had everything needed to do this: believable characters. beautiful setting, a strong Christian message, antagonists, a mystery to be solved, wonderful outcome. I thoroughly enjoyed it and am eagerly awaiting the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love of the sea.

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Great book by Colleen Coble. Looking forward to the next book in the series. I liked she brought in Bree and Samson into the story. It was perfect for the story line. I worked crime scenes and this story had me guessing. Well done and hard to put down especially after Nicole was kidnapped. You read this and can smell the sea and feel the breeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
KAUKAU
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Always great to have a little mystery and a strong heroine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Conrad
Location:Redmond OR.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colleen Coble has done it again with another series similar to her Rock Harbor series. Once I started reading Tidewater Inn, I hated to put it down. Just enough intrigue and romance. Can't wait for the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
court
Location:dallas, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Where the sea breeze is fresh, sun sparkles on sand . . . and trouble appears with the force of a hurricane.
Inheriting a beautiful old hotel on the seaward shore of Hope Island could be a dream come true for Libby. The inn cries out for her restorer’s talent and love of history. She’s delighted to learn of family she never knew she had. And the handsome Coast Guard lieutenant she’s met there on the island could definitely be the man of her dreams.
But Libby soon realizes that only way she can afford the upkeep on the inn is to sell it to developers who are stalking the island. The father who willed her the inn has died before she could meet him, and her newfound brothers and sisters are convinced she’s there to steal their birthright. Worst of all, her best friend and business partner has been kidnapped before her eyes, Libby’s under suspicion for the crime, and her handsome lieutenant clearly doubts her innocence.
Libby’s dream-come-true is becoming a nightmare. Can she find her friend and establish her innocence? Must she sell Tidewater Inn and lose her family again? Or can she find a home for her heart on the beautiful shores of Hope Island?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic Read

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tidewater Inn
Colleen Coble
Publisher Summary: Welcome to Hope Beach! Where the sea breeze is fresh, sun sparkles on sand . . . and trouble appears with the force of a hurricane. Inheriting a beautiful old hotel on the seaward shore of Hope Island could be a dream come true for Libby. The inn cries out for her restorer’s talent and love of history. She’s delighted to learn of family she never knew she had. And the handsome Coast Guard lieutenant she’s met there on the island could definitely be the man of her dreams. But Libby soon realizes that only way she can afford the upkeep on the inn is to sell it to developers who are stalking the island. The father who willed her the inn has died before she could meet him, and her new found brothers and sisters are convinced she’s there to steal their birthright. Worst of all, her best friend and business partner has been kidnapped before her eyes, Libby’s under suspicion for the crime, and her handsome lieutenant clearly doubts her innocence. Libby’s dream-come-true is becoming a nightmare. Can she find her friend and establish her innocence? Must she sell Tidewater Inn and lose her family again? Or can she find a home for her heart on the beautiful shores of Hope Island?
Review: I loved the characters in this book. Libby was great a person who had a mysterious past that even she did not know of. The love and kindness she showed her siblings even though they tried and tested her all the way was a great show of Christ's love without being preachy. I found the mystery of Nicole's kidnapping and the murder attempt on Libby to be just enough of a who done it to compliment the learning about this parent she never know and how all these things came to be. The shady land developer and his front man, new found siblings that hated her and all the people in the town were well placed to the point that I never was able to guess who was behind everything. That was the very best part I never figured out who was behind it. I had ideas and suspicions and yet they were wrong. Well played Ms. Coble. Thanks for this fantastic read. I love tales of finding out that the life you thought you knew was not quite accurate it makes for a great what if.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captured me quickly

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anita Batey
Location:Scottsboro, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It often takes up to 50 pages for a book to capture my attention and draw me into the story. This one did it in the first chapter. It was hard to put down when it was time for me to get some sleep. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hurricane and Heartbreaks

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Cheyenne, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without sustaining evidence, Libby is a prime suspect in the disappearance of her friend and business partner, Nicole. They restore old historic homes and have come to the Outer Banks for a project when Nicole is snatched away. Libby also learns, to her amazement that her father, whom she had thought dead, just passed away recently, leaving her a beautiful old hotel. There is much under the surface and the path of discovery leads Libby down a dangerous but informative path.
Wonderful characters, vivid and enchanting story telling will keep the pages turning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Liked It

Date:August 7, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently read Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble. I've been wanting to read one of Coble's books for a long time, so when I logged onto Booksneeze and saw that Tidewater Inn was one of my review options, I jumped on it.
This book is about Libby who finds out that her father, who she thought was dead for years, has just died and left her a historic inn in Hope Beach, a small town on the outer banks. On top of trying to connect with a family she never knew she had, Libby must also search for her business partner who has been kidnapped in the area.
I thought this book was enjoyable. The characters were likable, and even though it seemed to start out slow, the mystery aspect that became apparent in the second half of the book kept me reading to the end.
There was a nice little romance thrown in, and Libby struggles throughout the book with how to treat her new siblings, who are acting hostile toward her, in a Christ-like manner.
This was a suspense/mystery book that included lessons to be learned, without being too heavy or serious. I think it would be a great vacation/beach read, and I'm definitely going to check out some of Coble's other books!
Note: I was given this book for free by Booksneeze in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Libby fell in love with Tidewater Inn the moment she saw it. She dreamed of restoring the run-down inn, her inheritance, to its former beauty, if she only had the funding. So she decides to sell. But until that happens, Libby finds she has a lot to learn about the father she never knew, the siblings she just met, and the island they call home.
As Libby investigate the house that her father left her in his will, she learns more about him than her mother ever told her growing up. Raised to believe that her father died when she was five, Libby is in shock when she hears that he not only died much later in life, but that he never forgot her and talked about her frequently.
This book holds more than your typical family reunion. Mystery, suspense, romance and a long lost legend grab your attention and hold you captive with each turn of the page.
I give this book 5 stars; another great novel by Colleen Coble. I would recommend this book to just about anyone, but especially those who love a gripping story that teaches a lesson in trust and love.
----------
I received this complementary book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great story, love that part of our nation!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia Cleeton
Location:St. Charles, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the story line, one of my favorite places in our great nation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tidewater Inn - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing mystery

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trouble can be found in the most beautiful places.
When Libby find that she has inherited the pictureque Tidewater Inn from the deceased father she never knew, she is shocked to find that his death is recent. Rather than him having died when she was five like her mother had told her. On Hope Beach Libby meets a whole other part of her family that she never knew existed. But trouble comes bursting forth like a hurricane, will Libby be able to convince those around that she isn't the source?
Another great book from Colleen Coble! I loved how I could read this book quickly, at a fast pace. There was alot going on and definitely some suspense that made me turn the pages even faster!
I liked how the characters interacted with each other, very believably. Though there were times when I was like, "Why isn't he doing something by now!"
The characters were well rounded, and I liked how there wasn't only action and suspense, but there was also an emotional side to the drama. Oh, and don't let me forget that there was also a romanic air to the wind :)
Overall, this was another wonderful read from Colleen Coble, so if you have read her books before or you haven't, Tidewater Inn is a satisfying journey that have you turning the pages rapidly!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.