Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Reason - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Reason - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reason - eBook
Review 1 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phenomenal is one word I’m using to describe this absolutely stellar first novel by William Sirls. What a debut! This is a contemporary fictional account, but the hope it offers is very real. The story is set in the small town of Carlson, Michigan. There are several characters involved in the storyline, but their stories are all weaved together to form the main plot.
I don’t have enough space to give a synopsis of each character’s current status in life, but suffice it to say some are unbelievers in God, others I’ll call fence-straddlers and others who believe wholeheartedly. Each character experiences meeting the carpenter named Kenneth. He shares with them some difficult truths, but also encourages them to only believe. As some struggle with the past, others worry about the future. Kenneth knows intimate things about each character and they wonder exactly who he really is and what his purpose is. The journeys toward newfound faith or the strengthening of an existing faith are written extremely well and the characters are so easy to identify with to any reader.
As one journey ends, a few are left asking why they were led astray. Were they really only to believe just to have the rug pulled out from under them? What would God’s reason be for doing this? This story shows the great love God has for His children, His compassion and His mercy. This book will evoke many strong emotions from readers if they will allow it too. God has worked powerfully through this author. The story offers to those who believe in God a picture of his all-encompassing love. The author shares from his personal experience of the highs and lows of life through different aspects of certain characters. I highly recommend this book and encourage readers to look for God’s personal message to each of them through this novel. I’ll be reading and reviewing this author’s latest book, The Sinners’ Garden, soon so stay tuned on how I rate that one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wish that I had written this book!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
CFAM4
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of the most inspiring books I have read in a long time. I thought that the author did an excellent job discussing some questions that we often want to ask God, but he did it as part of the story that holds your interest and keeps you reading. Of course, no one can fully know the mind of God, but the author uses the characters in the story to explore why bad things happen, forgiveness, healing, and God's love. I bought two more copies to give as gifts, and I may buy more. It is a wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Have some tissues handy. This one is deep.

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was unique and what some would call a "high concept" novel. It reminded me of a novel I read a long time ago title "Eli," and that story had a modern day Jesus type of plot. I always find those concepts fascinating to explore. This story was different in that it didn't parallel the life of Jesus. Instead, there were some pretty amazing miracles that took place and the character Kenneth always tied them to a scripture. This novel dealt with the why questions that many people ask. The ultimate answer is God knows what He is doing, so the author didn't try to play God in that respect, which I appreciated. When we come to the end of ourselves, then we can see God working in our lives regardless of the circumstances we find ourselves in, hence the "only believe" phrase that is a constant theme in this book.
The author is a skilled writer. About 1/3 to 1/2 of the way into the story I could not pull myself away from wanting to know what happened next. And those last 100 pages... well, let's just say I kept running my finger across my lower lid and wiping my cheek with my palm. Anyone can insert themselves into the story and think about how they would feel and what they would do. Unlike most contemporary stories, however, this felt more authentic when it came to people resisting the truth and doubting God's existence. The author painted a believable scenario with well-rounded and unique characters. I think Charlie and Alex were my favorites in the story. I enjoyed this book and the author's writing and would have given it five stars but it started out a bit slow for me. Other than that it was a perfect story. There are some deep truths in there and plenty of content to make you think more about your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

trust in God's love

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an intriguing story of the effect Mr. Mysterious/Kenneth has on the people of a small town in Michigan. How does he seem to know everything about individuals and their lives? What causes the changes that result from contact with him? What happens to our faith when God seems to not be listening? Do troubles bring us closer to God or drive us away? Can we believe in the midst of the storms of life?
Great characters—surely there was one each of us could identify with. Ordinary people with flaws and weaknesses experience struggles with their faith or lack of it as they deal with problems in their lives. Faith is easy to talk about or claim, but what if it is your child born brain-damaged or fighting leukemia? As the back of the book states: “When facing the impossible, will you believe?”
The storyline grabbed me from the beginning in the storm and kept me enthralled until the final page. I felt I was experiencing every emotion the characters were. . I am not sure whether I like the ending but it certainly was memorable and awe-inspiring. The novel is very well written even though this is the author’s debut novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely breathtaking!

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never cried so much reading a book in my life. Tears of sorrow and tears of joy. I felt as if the characters were all part of a family and that I lived this beautiful story with them. Read this book, you will walk away from it feeling wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

So Disappointed

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Book Addict
I loved this book till the very end. Why the author ended it like he did I will never know. As I saw how the ending was going, I just kept saying NO don't end it like this please. If a new christian read this book they would think if you believe and pray hard enough, God will give you what you want. But that isn't always true. Even strong people of faith don't always get everything they want from God. But they still stay strong in their faith and love God! I wish the author had gone this route with the ending. If would have helped so many people instead of a name it and claim, pie in sky, kind of ending. But rest of the book was fabulous!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great read!

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brandon
Location:Wellington, New Zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an impulse buy, and what a pleasant surprise.
If you enjoyed The Shack, I think you'll love this book.
I read a fair amount, and this is one of the few novels that was not only enjoyable and easy to read, but really got me thinking about faith and trusting God's wisdom and the promises he has made.
Highly recommended (don't forget the tissues)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything Happens for a Reason

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason
William Sirls ©2012
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-1-4016-8736 (trade paper)
396 pp. plus author’s note and Reading Group Guide
The Reason is a story so well written readers can believe such events really could happen. And since with God nothing is impossible, these events surely could happen.
Brooke Thomas never told her former boss, Ian, that he was the father of her son, Alex—until Alex needed a bone marrow match to recover from leukemia.
Brooke’s boss, Carla Miller believes she’s worthless and can’t forgive or be forgiven. Dr. Zach Norman doesn’t realize he’s destroying relationships with his selfishness and self-centeredness. Dr. Macey Lewis believes she personally must cure every child with cancer.
Pastor Jim and his wife Shirley love their brain-damaged, seven-foot tall son, Charlie, even though he cannot speak. They also love the small church they lead. The cross outside the church has just been damaged by lightning and they can’t afford to replace it. Charlie loves Alex.
Tim Shempner is thoroughly rotten--not worth saving. Or is he?
How the mysterious Kenneth affects each character in this story will change their lives forever. The Reason will leave readers filled with hope that nothing happens without a purpose and with the satisfaction of reading a tale well told
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your best is not good enough

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some people who touch the lives of others wherever they go. Kenneth was just a construction worker, a carpenter, really. But people changed when he came into their lives. Alex, too, would have an impression on everyone who met this five year old.
Charlie, the gentle giant, Pastor Jim and Shirley Lindys, Carla, Brook, and Ian, each were touched by Kenneth and Alex. Each would have their faith challenged - if they would "only believe" - when Alex is diagnosed with leukemia. The days he spends in the hospital will tear at their hearts bring emotions that only God can address.
But the book is not about emotions, it focuses on God's presence on both good days and bad days, it focuses on the need to trust Him whatever may come our way. But the book is also a reminder that our best is not always good enough - we cannot do it all.
What we can do is what God has called us to do - that is all that is expected of us. It was a lesson I needed to learn, others will as well.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Reason by William Sirls

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
William Sirls in his new book, “The Reason” published by Thomas Nelson begins in a small town in Michigan, where the storm clouds begin gather over the small town, thunder shakes the sky, the lights inside the local church flicker right before going out. All is black as lightning slices the sky, striking the church’s large wooden cross catching it on fire and splintering it in two.
The Reason is a new novel, which wrestles with questions such as: Where is God when bad things happen? And does God ignore the prayers of the faithful? The answer each character receives is astounding and offers an unforgettable call to hope, to change, to only believe.
Sometimes all people need to stir up faith is a catalyst. In the case of this town in Michigan it is a lightning bolt that hits the church’s cross and sets it afire during a storm. This allegorical book doesn’t take a lot of work to decipher the meaning of most of its images but it is so worth it. “The Reason” is filled with great characters brought to life in the hands of a very skillful author. Each character comes alive on the pages and we care about every single one of them, even the not so nice ones. “The Reason” is a marvelous read full of atmosphere and details.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Reason
By William Sirls
Book Description
When Facing the Impossible, Can You Only Believe?
Storm clouds gather over a small Michigan town. As thunder shakes the sky, the lights inside St. Thomas church flicker . . . and then go out.
All is black until a thick bolt of lightning slices the sky, striking the church’s large wooden cross—leaving it ablaze and splintered in two.
When the storm ends—the search for answers begins.
James Lindy, the church’s blind minister, wonders how his small congregation can repair the cross and keep their faith in the midst of adversity. And he hears the words “only believe.”
Macey Lewis, the town’s brilliant young oncologist, is drawn to Alex, a young boy who’s recently been diagnosed with an aggressive leukemia. She puts her hope in modern medicine—yet is challenged to “only believe.”
And Alex’s single mom, who has given everything she can to her boy—is pleading with God to know the reason this is happening . . . to save her son. But she only hears silence and wonders how she can possibly “only believe.”
The Reason is a milestone debut novel, opening with a blast and never letting up as it introduces us to everyday characters who are wrestling with the questions: where is God when bad things happen? And does God ignore the prayers of the faithful? The answer each character receives will astound readers while offering an unforgettable call to hope, to change, to . . . only believe.
I was unsure about this book when I first chose it. I was not sure if I would really like it. Not only did I love it, but it really speaks to the heart of the Christian faith and what we do….how we react….when storms rock our world. A definite must read book!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read it in one day!

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The theme of the book is faith and belief. Only Believe is touted throughout the book. The phrase takes on a multitude of meanings. During the book you will meet a single mom named Brooke, a precocious boy named Alex, a mute semi-giant named Charlie, two doctors, a carpenter and many others. Each character comes to life and you connect with them. Each character has a story and each character makes you want to know more and more about them.
I was unsure about this book when I first chose it. I was not sure if I would really like it. Not only did I love it, but it really speaks to the heart of the Christian faith and what we do….how we react….when storms rock our world. A definite must read book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you're asking God "why?"--read this book!

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
NewChristianBooks
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I really enjoyed The Reason. It is a book full of miracles, with very likable yet authentic characters. The main characters are Alex, a little boy who has cancer, and Brooke, his single mother who wrestles with why God would allow her child to suffer. A host of other characters all intersect in a variety of subplots to this one.
A mysterious stranger comes to town, and keeps telling people to “only believe.” It quickly becomes apparent that he’s responsible for a number of healings and miracles that happen in the town, including restoration of a cross that’s been nearly destroyed by lightning.
I love when stories give you spiritual insights into the very things you’re struggling with. The Reason made me really think about some deep questions—why does God seem to answer some prayers but not others, what is the nature of healing, why do bad things happen to good people? Anyone wrestling with their faith, or asking big questions of God and his “reasons” should read this book. The Reason is a great story about faith, healing, and the incredible things that can happen when you "only believe."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
When Facing the Impossible, Can You Only Believe?
Storm clouds gather over a small Michigan town. As thunder shakes the sky, the lights inside St. Thomas church flicker . . . and then go out.
All is black until a thick bolt of lightning slices the sky, striking the church’s large wooden cross—leaving it ablaze and splintered in two.
When the storm ends—the search for answers begins.
William Sirls does a great job of bringing wandering souls together searching for answers in this work of Christian fiction. Kenneth seems to be popping up everywhere and brings a group of characters together that all have different struggles, but they are ultimately searching for the exact same thing...hope and peace. Miracles are happening left and right...until they aren't. How do you explain who receives blessings from God and who doesn't...in the eyes of man?
I was intrigued by this book from the get go. Sirls does a great job of causing you to really think about what you believe and why you believe it. When reading the Bible, do you actually trust in what God has promised to do or just cling to it in times of trouble hoping that He'll come through for you? I believe that each one of us could relate to one of the characters in the book and the struggles they face. How you handle those struggles and trials shows what kind of character you have and who or what you put your belief in.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of best books I have ever read

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
My cousin's church was given some pre-copies of this book and she told me I had to read it. I finished it in one day. I haven't cried like this reading a book in a long long time. This is a beautiful story that I will be passing on to believers and non believers alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Does faith guarantee a "yes" from God?

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eunice
Location:Iona Station, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Reason – a story of the impossible becoming real. Inhabitants of a small Michigan town are challenged to “only believe” as they face various obstacles: a lightning strike which destroys the cross in front of a small church, a life torn apart by a painful past, the devastation of a diagnosis of leukemia in an only child. The characters face their difficulties with varying levels of faith; at each crisis they are instructed anew to “only believe”, with the clear implication that through faith the obstacle will be overcome, will disappear.
This was an interesting read, but my skepticism grew rather than my faith, as I read it! A deer tragically dying being brought back to life? A cross shattered by lightning completely restored in minutes? As a work of fiction, the book was entertaining, but it’s necessary to bear in mind that it is fiction. It has a resemblance to The Shack, and I was bothered by both of them for much the same reasons: our God is an awesome God, able to perform miracles, able to display His power among the peoples, but He does not guarantee circumstantial happiness because of faith!
Although the author brings out several times that our difficulties may not be completely resolved until we are in heaven, the book sends a different message. Everyone gets a “happy ever after” on this earth, although some have to go through times of despair first. The implication is that if we only believe, if our faith is strong enough, God will come through for us. Let me state very strongly that I do believe God is sovereign over everything in this life. I do believe He hears His children’s prayers, and I do believe that He loves us with an unfathomable, never ending love. I have seen what seemed to be miracles in this day and age: health problems suddenly disappearing, money being provided just in time to meet a desperate need, a person’s character changing completely when they come to Christ. However, I have also seen giants of faith whose prayers have received a “no” answer: disease which is not cured, a wayward child refusing the beliefs they were taught, trials which are endured, but not eliminated.
Bottom line: don’t let this book convince you that a “no” answer is because of feeble faith!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Single Event That Changes Everyone's Lives

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
William Sirls in his new book, “The Reason” published by Thomas Nelson takes us to into the lives of the residents of a small town in Michigan.
From the back cover: When facing the impossible, will you believe?
Storm clouds gather over a small Michigan town. As thunder shakes the sky, the lights inside St. Thomas Church flicker . . . and then go out.
All is black until a thick bolt of lightning slices the sky, striking the church’s large wooden cross—leaving it ablaze and splintered in two.
When the storm ends—the search for answers begins.
James Lindy, the church’s blind minister, wonders how his small congregation can repair the cross and keep their faith in the midst of adversity. And he hears the words “only believe.”
Macey Lewis, the town’s brilliant young oncologist, is drawn to Alex, a young boy who’s recently been diagnosed with an aggressive leukemia. She puts her hope in modern medicine—yet is challenged to “only believe.”
And Alex’s single mom, who has given everything she can to her boy, is pleading with God to know the reason this is happening . . . to save her son. But she only hears silence and wonders how she can possibly “only believe.”
The Reason is a milestone debut novel, opening with a thunderbolt and never letting up as it introduces us to everyday characters who are wrestling with the questions: Where is God when bad things happen? And does God ignore the prayers of the faithful? The answer each character receives will astound readers while offering an unforgettable call to hope, to change, to . . . only believe.
Sometimes all people need to stir up faith is a catalyst. In the case of this town in Michigan it is a lightning bolt that hits the church’s cross and sets it afire during a storm. William Sirls has loaded “The Reason” with images that are allegorical. It doesn’t take a lot of work to decipher the meaning of most of these images but it is so worth it. “The Reason” is filled with great characters brought to life in the hands of a very skillful author. Each character comes alive on the pages and we care about every single one of them, even the not so nice ones. “The Reason” is a marvelous read full of atmosphere and details. Mr. Sirls knows how to tell a story that is both interesting and thought-provoking and I recommend it highly.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and business professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspiring novel

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I will let you know that my review of the novel The Reason is definitely influenced by the place I am in at this time of my life. I have just finished spending two weeks in the Intensive Care Unit of a hospital with my mother. The things we as a family witness and experienced during that time and after have caused us to be more aware of the miracles around us than we were before that.
Having said that, I really enjoyed The Reason, and would recommend it to everyone. There was one place where one of the characters acknowledges that they know who the carpenter really is, and then shortly afterwards they question him again, which threw me off but other than that, I found the story line flowed seamlessly, the plot and the characters were well devolped and believable.
I resonated with Alex's mother as she hopes for a miracle, just as we hoped for a miracle with our mom and realized together with Macey Lewis the oncologist James Lindy the churche's blind minister and the friends of Alex and his mom, in the novel, that truly, no matter how much we try on our own, we must come to the conclusion that God is ultimately in control! What a mighty God we serve!
No matter what you have experienced I think this novel will give you fresh hope and courage in God's Love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read--Must Read

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason by William Sirls. Lightning strikes the cross on the lawn of a small country church in a little town in Michigan. This strike not only frightens the 3 people who are inside cleaning the church but cuts the huge cross to half its size and there is no insurance to pay for its repair. The little 5 year old in the church with his mother will soon be diagnosed with a very aggressive leukemia. The oncologist who is soon to be taking this case is one of the best in pediatric oncology and her skill is above reproach. Each one of the characters as they pray for assistance hears “only believe”. It is seen in the graffiti on a train going by. They all have the same question why? Why me? Why my son? Why Why Why? But the answer is also the same—only believe.
Great novel Mr. Sirls! I was so moved by this book. This book is a novel, it is a retelling of parts of the Gospel, and it is a love story all rolled into one. I really enjoyed reading this book. I laughed and I cried. Sometimes I had to stop reading because I couldn’t see through my tears. I would recommend reading this book to anyone who enjoys reading Christian novels.
I received this book from Booksneeze for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW-What a story!!!

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only Believe" has a new meaning for me after reading this astounding debut book by William Sirls. I was not prepared for what was to happen to me while reading this book. I found myself identifying with some of the characters, their flaws, misgivings, doubts and just genuine questions. What surprised me was how engrossed in this book I became. This was truly one book I did not want to end, it was that good. I found myself smiling at the book, crying in spots and just loving the characters and the storyline. We all find ourselves asking the question: Where is God when bad things happen? Does God ignore the prayers of the faithful? These two questions were masterfully answered for the characters in this book.
The characters are unforgettable-James Lindy, the blind pastor of a small congregation amid adversity, can he "only believe?" Macey Lewis is an oncologist helping five year old Alex battle aggressive leukemia. Will she trust modern medicine or "only believe?" Carla's past is haunting her and is trying to learn to forgive-will she "only believe?" Brooke is Alex's mother who is fighting for her son's life and wants God to save him. Can she trust God and "only believe and he will be healed? Kenneth, the carpenter is working on the new hospital wing and is "gifted" in restoring broken crosses, broken lives, restoring sight, but you have to read the book to find out his best "miracle".
I found myself highlighting parts of this book and here is an excerpt from the book.
Jim looked at Kenneth. " Can you tell us the reason why God does everything he does?"
Kenneth held up his fists and then slowly fanned his arms out to his sides. "You know the reason, James Lindy."
"I know," Jim said. "But I was hoping everyone could hear it from you."
The carpenter nodded and then uncoiled his fists, exposing his palms.
"The reason is God loves you."
This book has challenged me to live out my faith in a new and gifted way. My heart has been forever changed and "only believe" has become more personal and one I will share more.
Thank you William Sirls for a superb book and please write more.
Thank you to Thomas Nelson for providing this book free just for my honest
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>