Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Reason - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Reason - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.639 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
34 out of 3694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reason - eBook
Review 1 for The Reason - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnitaC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't believe I am up to the task of reviewing this book with any success. I'm just not talented enough. But here goes anyway.......
I loved, loved, loved this book. The characters are very believable, the suspense is exhausting, the storyline is wonderful. Did I say I loved this book? The book brings unbelievers together with believers and shows them God's power and love. Do you believe in miracles? Is God there when tragedy strikes, or is He only there in the good times? And what about those good times - do we really, really believe that a miracle could happen or do we just speak the words? Do we think think maybe WE are the author of our good times? I couldn't put this book down - and I cried - a lot! I highly recommend this book. It is definitely on my re-read pile and is a new favorite.
I was given this book by The Book Club Network for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!!!

Date:July 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
William Sirls' books are compelling reads. Even though I read them several weeks ago, I can't wait to read them again because I know I will stiil enjoy it and get more from it. They are deep, thought-provoking, inspiring, enjoyable books. I can't wait to read more of this author.
The Reason revolves around a church family,a doctor, and a carpenter. Each one brings their own story and their own part to the other characters stories. There is illness, hospitals, lightening, crosses, and disbelief. It all comes together to make a suspenseful, emotional, lesson learning experience.
This book was recieved from the author and the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book begins with the cross of a small town church being destroyed by lightning. I was quickly captivated by the characters – a single mom, her adorable little boy, the blind pastor and his wife, their gentle giant mentally challenged son, 3 medical personnel, and one miracle performing carpenter. The characters seemed so real and William Sirls has woven an incredible story, almost a modern What Would Jesus Do? As I read I wondered if I would have the faith that the characters in the story have, especially as the pasts of several characters are reveled and the circumstances of some get harder.
What an amazing book! “Only Believe” is the theme that runs throughout it – believe in the miracles that God can perform when we believe. I loved this book and look forward to reading more by William Sirls. I highly recommend it - I couldn’t put it down until I finished it! I received this book from TBCN in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Read!

Date:June 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already reviewed The Sinners' Garden, and this is my review of The Reason. I found this book a uniquely compelling, insightful and inspiring book for an author's first published work! It left me totally "spent" at the reading of its last page. I sat and thought and thought and thought! The book provides so many inner workings of storylines within the main story, that cause you to stop and reflect on one's own life. It is wrought with pathos and miracles, which give you pause to see the daily miracles in our own lives. To think that we may have a "visitor" who might be an angel, prophet, Jesus, God, who is walking amongst us and seems so "not of this world", and yet, why not? The author takes us through the lives of a variety of people from different walks of life, creating a "visitor", in the form of the character, "Kenneth", who challenges the people to "Only Believe". A true story of faith and forgiveness and challenge. I highly recommend this book and congratulate Mr. Sirls on his first "blockbuster hit"! I received this book from the author through bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a very thought-provoking fiction book! While this book is fiction, it really taught me a lot about "only believing". This book centers around a group of people associated with the church. Some different scenarios happen with everyone in the book but they all center around one theme. I loved the way the author brought them all together. And just when you think you know the ending, there is a twist. This book had me in tears near the end and I was amazed at how inspirational this fiction book was. I would recommend this book to everyone!
I received this book from bookfun for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When Why God is Answered

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Often we ask “why God” when tragedies happen, when good people suffer injustices and when we cannot explain away heartbreaking events. In his book, The Reason, William Sirls weaves together a story of “why God” events with characters who must face their realities without knowing why things have happened. Along the way, each person is given time to examine their own beliefs and their own struggles and given one job “only believe”.
When good enough is not enough, faith becomes a life line. When trying desperately to hold on with blind faith, the deepest questions surface, and need to be exposed so that God’s truth can bring peace even if the situation is not changed.
Mr. Sirls does an incredible job of telling about God’s sovereignty and providence with a delightful cast of characters. The book was incredibly touching and not easily forgotten. Although the story is fictional, I was swept into the story and found myself literally enveloped in tears at one point. The Reason is a must read book.
I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only Believe!

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason, the first published novel by William Sirls, is phenomenally amazing. I find it a challenge to put into words the way this novel reaches into the heart of the reader and compels from the beginning. Its messages speak to one’s heart gently, yet with all the intensity of the lightning that split the cross at St. Thomas Church and set it afire.
Pastor James Lindy, eyes blinded by disease, has a heart of wisdom and gift of discernment that aids him in caring for those in his church and home. His family includes Shirley, his wife of many years, and their son Charlie, a gentle giant of a man, who is mute and developmentally disabled. Pastor Lindy’s extended family includes Brooke, a young single mother who was in need of a home along with Alex, her five year old son.
After an unusually harsh thunderstorm in which lightning struck and splintered the huge cross on the church grounds, a group of church members and volunteers from the local hospital plan to repair the cross if at all possible after a Sunday service. The volunteers include a young man named Kenneth who is a carpenter working at the expansion of East Shore Community Hospital. With only James and his mute son Charlie present, Kenneth repairs the demolished cross to perfect condition in a matter of seconds, stunning the volunteers who had been gathered in the house with Shirley.
Inexplicable miracles begin to occur within the community. Those who spend any amount of time around Kenneth know that there is something different about him. That includes a young lady whose heart he seems to see directly into, knowing everything, including the shame and pain that she hides from everyone. It also includes Pastor James, Charlie, and others who take his challenge – “only believe” – seriously. Others mull over the individual challenges Kenneth offers them.
Then what seems to be the worst happens – young Alex is diagnosed with leukemia – and as treatments are determined and begun, Brooke’s questions echo those that have been around since the fall of man. Where is God…why my only child…. “Only believe” sounds so simple until the diagnosis is made.
Mr. Sirls has been silent, coming to know that God is truly God – the God of love, of grace, and of second chances. The circumstances that brought him to an incredible relationship with the Lord are nothing short of a miracle in disguise, a miracle that showed him the reason. If you read one Christian novel this year that demonstrates the potential every church community has for God’s supernatural work, make this your choice. It is written with the excellence and assurance of a man who knows his Lord and Savior and what He can do. If you miss The Reason, you could miss the challenge of your personal gift if you will only believe.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Only Believe"

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a powerful story, full of the drama that everyday life brings to all of us. The characters are very different from each other, yet, are drawn together by a single visitor to their town. The lessons he teaches each of them are profound and personal. As I read further and further I felt my own faith being challenged and then renewed. We only need to believe to find the answers – not always the answer we think we already know, but the true answer – God’s answer. I recommend this book to anyone that has the courage to look at your own faith through other people’s lives and take the leap forward to “only believe”
I received this book from Bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beware you will be emotional

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason by William Sirls
How can one family face adversity, tragedy, miracles, and heartbreak. And yet still have faith. They can because they ….. only believe. Pastor James Lindy and wife Shirley have taken in Brooke and her young son Alex. They complete their small family along with their special needs son Charlie. A storm destroys and takes out the church’s cross but brings so much more to the community. As repairs are made they see miracles. Kenneth an ordinary carpenter is new to town but where he goes strange and wondrous things happen.
Quote: “ He knew without a doubt that miracles took place all the time, and that everyone - without exception - was from the hand of God. There were big ones. There were small ones. There were those everyone noticed, like surviving life-threatening illness and accidents. Then there were many more that went unnoticed, like healthy children, something to eat, a roof , someone to love, birth and sometimes, even death. He wondered what the world would be like if people would just stop and take the time to look at everything they were given everyday of their lives and be thankful --to offer thanks and try to realize their personal miracles were coming from, and give credit where it was rightfully due.”
The author William Sirls is new to me. In fact this is his first book. I found his work to be a breath of fresh air, well written with compelling stories of faith. The authors strong faith shines in this great book. I am so looking forward to his next book The Sinners Garden. Author Carrie Daws once said, “You know it's a good book when you are emotionally invested in it,” and I promise you will be invested in this wonderful story.
I give this book 5 stars and highly recommend it. High-five to the author William Sirls and publisher for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. The Book Club Network Inc. provided me with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for their, the authors and publishers generosity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phenomenal is one word I’m using to describe this absolutely stellar first novel by William Sirls. What a debut! This is a contemporary fictional account, but the hope it offers is very real. The story is set in the small town of Carlson, Michigan. There are several characters involved in the storyline, but their stories are all weaved together to form the main plot.
I don’t have enough space to give a synopsis of each character’s current status in life, but suffice it to say some are unbelievers in God, others I’ll call fence-straddlers and others who believe wholeheartedly. Each character experiences meeting the carpenter named Kenneth. He shares with them some difficult truths, but also encourages them to only believe. As some struggle with the past, others worry about the future. Kenneth knows intimate things about each character and they wonder exactly who he really is and what his purpose is. The journeys toward newfound faith or the strengthening of an existing faith are written extremely well and the characters are so easy to identify with to any reader.
As one journey ends, a few are left asking why they were led astray. Were they really only to believe just to have the rug pulled out from under them? What would God’s reason be for doing this? This story shows the great love God has for His children, His compassion and His mercy. This book will evoke many strong emotions from readers if they will allow it too. God has worked powerfully through this author. The story offers to those who believe in God a picture of his all-encompassing love. The author shares from his personal experience of the highs and lows of life through different aspects of certain characters. I highly recommend this book and encourage readers to look for God’s personal message to each of them through this novel. I’ll be reading and reviewing this author’s latest book, The Sinners’ Garden, soon so stay tuned on how I rate that one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I wish that I had written this book!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
CFAM4
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of the most inspiring books I have read in a long time. I thought that the author did an excellent job discussing some questions that we often want to ask God, but he did it as part of the story that holds your interest and keeps you reading. Of course, no one can fully know the mind of God, but the author uses the characters in the story to explore why bad things happen, forgiveness, healing, and God's love. I bought two more copies to give as gifts, and I may buy more. It is a wonderful read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Have some tissues handy. This one is deep.

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was unique and what some would call a "high concept" novel. It reminded me of a novel I read a long time ago title "Eli," and that story had a modern day Jesus type of plot. I always find those concepts fascinating to explore. This story was different in that it didn't parallel the life of Jesus. Instead, there were some pretty amazing miracles that took place and the character Kenneth always tied them to a scripture. This novel dealt with the why questions that many people ask. The ultimate answer is God knows what He is doing, so the author didn't try to play God in that respect, which I appreciated. When we come to the end of ourselves, then we can see God working in our lives regardless of the circumstances we find ourselves in, hence the "only believe" phrase that is a constant theme in this book.
The author is a skilled writer. About 1/3 to 1/2 of the way into the story I could not pull myself away from wanting to know what happened next. And those last 100 pages... well, let's just say I kept running my finger across my lower lid and wiping my cheek with my palm. Anyone can insert themselves into the story and think about how they would feel and what they would do. Unlike most contemporary stories, however, this felt more authentic when it came to people resisting the truth and doubting God's existence. The author painted a believable scenario with well-rounded and unique characters. I think Charlie and Alex were my favorites in the story. I enjoyed this book and the author's writing and would have given it five stars but it started out a bit slow for me. Other than that it was a perfect story. There are some deep truths in there and plenty of content to make you think more about your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

trust in God's love

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an intriguing story of the effect Mr. Mysterious/Kenneth has on the people of a small town in Michigan. How does he seem to know everything about individuals and their lives? What causes the changes that result from contact with him? What happens to our faith when God seems to not be listening? Do troubles bring us closer to God or drive us away? Can we believe in the midst of the storms of life?
Great characters—surely there was one each of us could identify with. Ordinary people with flaws and weaknesses experience struggles with their faith or lack of it as they deal with problems in their lives. Faith is easy to talk about or claim, but what if it is your child born brain-damaged or fighting leukemia? As the back of the book states: “When facing the impossible, will you believe?”
The storyline grabbed me from the beginning in the storm and kept me enthralled until the final page. I felt I was experiencing every emotion the characters were. . I am not sure whether I like the ending but it certainly was memorable and awe-inspiring. The novel is very well written even though this is the author’s debut novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely breathtaking!

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never cried so much reading a book in my life. Tears of sorrow and tears of joy. I felt as if the characters were all part of a family and that I lived this beautiful story with them. Read this book, you will walk away from it feeling wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

So Disappointed

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Book Addict
I loved this book till the very end. Why the author ended it like he did I will never know. As I saw how the ending was going, I just kept saying NO don't end it like this please. If a new christian read this book they would think if you believe and pray hard enough, God will give you what you want. But that isn't always true. Even strong people of faith don't always get everything they want from God. But they still stay strong in their faith and love God! I wish the author had gone this route with the ending. If would have helped so many people instead of a name it and claim, pie in sky, kind of ending. But rest of the book was fabulous!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great read!

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brandon
Location:Wellington, New Zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an impulse buy, and what a pleasant surprise.
If you enjoyed The Shack, I think you'll love this book.
I read a fair amount, and this is one of the few novels that was not only enjoyable and easy to read, but really got me thinking about faith and trusting God's wisdom and the promises he has made.
Highly recommended (don't forget the tissues)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything Happens for a Reason

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Reason
William Sirls ©2012
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-1-4016-8736 (trade paper)
396 pp. plus author’s note and Reading Group Guide
The Reason is a story so well written readers can believe such events really could happen. And since with God nothing is impossible, these events surely could happen.
Brooke Thomas never told her former boss, Ian, that he was the father of her son, Alex—until Alex needed a bone marrow match to recover from leukemia.
Brooke’s boss, Carla Miller believes she’s worthless and can’t forgive or be forgiven. Dr. Zach Norman doesn’t realize he’s destroying relationships with his selfishness and self-centeredness. Dr. Macey Lewis believes she personally must cure every child with cancer.
Pastor Jim and his wife Shirley love their brain-damaged, seven-foot tall son, Charlie, even though he cannot speak. They also love the small church they lead. The cross outside the church has just been damaged by lightning and they can’t afford to replace it. Charlie loves Alex.
Tim Shempner is thoroughly rotten--not worth saving. Or is he?
How the mysterious Kenneth affects each character in this story will change their lives forever. The Reason will leave readers filled with hope that nothing happens without a purpose and with the satisfaction of reading a tale well told
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your best is not good enough

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are some people who touch the lives of others wherever they go. Kenneth was just a construction worker, a carpenter, really. But people changed when he came into their lives. Alex, too, would have an impression on everyone who met this five year old.
Charlie, the gentle giant, Pastor Jim and Shirley Lindys, Carla, Brook, and Ian, each were touched by Kenneth and Alex. Each would have their faith challenged - if they would "only believe" - when Alex is diagnosed with leukemia. The days he spends in the hospital will tear at their hearts bring emotions that only God can address.
But the book is not about emotions, it focuses on God's presence on both good days and bad days, it focuses on the need to trust Him whatever may come our way. But the book is also a reminder that our best is not always good enough - we cannot do it all.
What we can do is what God has called us to do - that is all that is expected of us. It was a lesson I needed to learn, others will as well.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Reason by William Sirls

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
William Sirls in his new book, “The Reason” published by Thomas Nelson begins in a small town in Michigan, where the storm clouds begin gather over the small town, thunder shakes the sky, the lights inside the local church flicker right before going out. All is black as lightning slices the sky, striking the church’s large wooden cross catching it on fire and splintering it in two.
The Reason is a new novel, which wrestles with questions such as: Where is God when bad things happen? And does God ignore the prayers of the faithful? The answer each character receives is astounding and offers an unforgettable call to hope, to change, to only believe.
Sometimes all people need to stir up faith is a catalyst. In the case of this town in Michigan it is a lightning bolt that hits the church’s cross and sets it afire during a storm. This allegorical book doesn’t take a lot of work to decipher the meaning of most of its images but it is so worth it. “The Reason” is filled with great characters brought to life in the hands of a very skillful author. Each character comes alive on the pages and we care about every single one of them, even the not so nice ones. “The Reason” is a marvelous read full of atmosphere and details.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Reason - eBook
This review is fromThe Reason.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Reason
By William Sirls
Book Description
When Facing the Impossible, Can You Only Believe?
Storm clouds gather over a small Michigan town. As thunder shakes the sky, the lights inside St. Thomas church flicker . . . and then go out.
All is black until a thick bolt of lightning slices the sky, striking the church’s large wooden cross—leaving it ablaze and splintered in two.
When the storm ends—the search for answers begins.
James Lindy, the church’s blind minister, wonders how his small congregation can repair the cross and keep their faith in the midst of adversity. And he hears the words “only believe.”
Macey Lewis, the town’s brilliant young oncologist, is drawn to Alex, a young boy who’s recently been diagnosed with an aggressive leukemia. She puts her hope in modern medicine—yet is challenged to “only believe.”
And Alex’s single mom, who has given everything she can to her boy—is pleading with God to know the reason this is happening . . . to save her son. But she only hears silence and wonders how she can possibly “only believe.”
The Reason is a milestone debut novel, opening with a blast and never letting up as it introduces us to everyday characters who are wrestling with the questions: where is God when bad things happen? And does God ignore the prayers of the faithful? The answer each character receives will astound readers while offering an unforgettable call to hope, to change, to . . . only believe.
I was unsure about this book when I first chose it. I was not sure if I would really like it. Not only did I love it, but it really speaks to the heart of the Christian faith and what we do….how we react….when storms rock our world. A definite must read book!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>