Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook

Thomas Nelson Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Review 1 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging, empowering, equipping

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
jsunne
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
In his latest book, Fully Alive, author and comedian Ken Davis challenges us to let go of our inhibitions and apathy, to step out in faith and begin to live life to the fullest.
Sprinkled with his trademark humor, Ken weaves in captivating stories--openly sharing his own journey from depression and heartache to a passionate life of incredible purpose and joy. He presents hope for all of us and gives practical steps for discovering such a life.
His heartaches and adventures, failures and successes, fears and hope are described in engaging and emotionally charged prose.
Yet, more than that, Ken challenges you and me to live that life, to stop living in fear and complacency. He throws down the gauntlet. Squashing all our excuses and extolling the power of change found in Jesus Christ. He encourages us to take a look at our past to see the possibility of the present.
Rich in imagery, Fully Alive is also filled with memorable quotes.
Quotes that make us think and re-evaluate life as we know it: "Happiness and fulfillment come from glorifying Him even when there's sacrifice involved."
Quotes that charge us to engage the power of the cross to affect dramatic and permanent change in our lives: "One of the key aspects of knowing Christ and His power is to completely trust in the forgiveness He offers."
Quotes that inspire and give us hope that change is possible: "The power to live fully alive comes from knowing Christ better." (Phil. 3:10)
Quotes that convict: "... earthly life is not a waiting room for eternal life."
This is a book everyone needs to have on their book shelf, no matter what stage in life they are--to be pulled out whenever we are tempted to let life just happen to us, to be encouraged to set aside our inhibitions and
glorify God by living fully alive!
*(Thomas Nelson Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through BookSneeze® in exchange for an honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Book Worth Reading - over and over again!

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
EKParsons
Location:Orwell, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all go through those “I’m comfortable where I am” times in our lives. Or, we aren’t happy where we are but believe “This is where I am and where I have to be and there’s nothing I can do about it.” Ken Davis’ book “Fully Alive” encourages and inspires us to stop living the lie that we can’t do anything about where we are and challenges us to get up, get moving and do something more with our lives. Ken’s message applies to all of us – whether we’re successful business people, public servants, or retired. We all have a purpose and it’s time to start living it! A book worth reading – over and over again!
-Eileen K Parsons - Author of "The First Rose of Summer"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fully Alive ~ Ken Davis

Date:December 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ken Davis is a Christian Comedian, Author and Motivator, this is his new book about GOD and your health. Ken talks about how he was over weight and how he went from a couch potato of being overweight and not wanting to live, to a person living for GOD, becoming active and losing half of his body weight.
I found this book to have the humor that we expect from Ken Davis and a really motivational book of GOD's love for us and how you need to move in life by enjoying life in an active way. Ken describes how just one hour a day can really make a difference for your faith and body. When I have days that I want to do no exercise I think of this book and it motivates me to get off the couch and move. After I do move, I do feel great!
I would recommend this to others and especially to those that have the wonderful New Year's resolution of losing weight. Faith and motivation is what this book is all about.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fully Alive

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maribeth
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ken writes about how to live fully alive from a great personal perspective that captivates his reader. Sharing personal stories of his life, he offers incredible insight as to what God wants and desires for His children. Ken speaks with compassion about struggling to live in the “land of the living.”
The book starts with a compelling story about how Ken’s granddaughter becomes missing on a camping hike in Colorado. This experience sets off a spiritual journey that led to living fully alive and experiences all God has for us as believers. He offers practical ways and solutions with Biblical references. As Ken shares insight from his own journeys, readers can identify and see parallels in their own life, finding application in how to live fully alive.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone that is seeking to go deeper in their faith. It was easy to read and keeps the reader’s attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tips for getting active and engaged in life

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book, Fully Alive, Ken Davis talks about his transformation from snack-loving couch potato to someone who is adventurous, active and engaged. It's a message he delivers as a funny guy/motivational speaker and one that many of us need to hear. We've often settled for sedentary and predictable rather than truly enjoying life to its fullest.
I've seen Ken Davis speak before and he's fabulous and side-splittingly funny. His get-up, get-moving, live-life message could truly be life-changing for many people. I personally would have preferred seeing him in person to reading this book and I can't say that the themes or content really did anything amazing or eye-opening for me. There were a few moments in the book that captivated me enough to dog-ear the page and revisit later, but not many, and I didn't walk away from the book truly challenged or engaged.
Still, his personal stories are captivating. He shares both encouraging messages and practical tips for getting active, losing weight, valuing each moment with your families, and achieving your dreams. His personal weight-loss journey is more than inspiring, it's challenging. If he can lose that much weight and start running marathons, surely I can since I'm decades younger!
If you're looking for some inspiration to make healthy and invigorating life changes, Ken Davis's book is a great place to start. He'll help you on the journey and make you laugh along the way.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

no matter your age, live fully alive

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you comfortable? Have you become comfortable with being comfortable? Have you lost your joy? Do you want to soar again like an eagle?
Davis writes, “No matter how old you are, no matter your past circumstances or physical condition, you can live fully starting today.” (17)
He writes about his own wakeup call, when his young granddaughter went missing. He shares his own, “Noooo,” experience when he saw a photo of his overweight self. He shares the importance of exercise and his own journey to fitness (losing 60 pounds). He includes a section on the importance of friends, the encouragement and support they provide.
Even more important, Davis reminds us, is our spiritual life. Like Paul, we are to know Christ and the power of his resurrection. (Phil. 3:10) Davis shares his own experience of deepening his relationship with Jesus Christ.
He shares his experience of journaling. (”Dear Diarrhea...” - you have to read the book.) He relates the importance of expressing loves, yet making sure we understand we never expect human love to supply what only God's love can.
“When we are fully alive we function at the capacity we were created for in every area of life. We operate on all cylinders – mentally, physically, socially, and spiritually – doing what most glorifies God and brings Him joy.” (100)
It is not about us. It is about God. “You will never glimpse life at its best until you draw from an inspiration bigger than yourself.” (101) Glorifying God is the bottom line. “The glory of God is man fully alive.” (100) “So stand up! Fix your eyes on the goal, start moving, and keep moving.” (136) Make it your goal in life to glorify God by living fully alive.
Do you need an encouragement to get going, to be fully alive? Regardless of your age, this book will do it.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help for Getting Off the Couch

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the story of Ken Davis's move from just being to being Fully Alive. Ken walks you through some life experiences he's had that made him reevaluate how he was living. Changing his physical appearance and becoming more active was not only a physical change but also the start of a spiritual awakening.
This book was not what I expected at all, it was entirely different. Based on the jacket information, I was surprised to see how much time he spent talking about his weight loss. However, once you got further into the book that dropped off and Ken helped you to see how that was only a piece of it all. He walked you through how using those principals that helped him lose weight could carry over into other parts of your life. There were parts of the book that seemed to have come just when I needed it but other parts that made me wonder why it was in there as it was not necessary to drive home his message of being Fully Alive. I do feel that after reading the book that I ought to get off my rump. LOL! I am not doing a quarter of the things that Ken is doing at a younger age! And I'm not just talking about being physically active.He's able to bring some very pointed discussion into living all aspects of your life -- spiritual, mental, physical, and social. This is a great read for people who are letting life pass them by while watching TV.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2012
Ken Davis is a best-selling author and a motivational speaker. He also hosts a radio show called “Lighten Up!” which is heard in the United States and around the world. Not being familiar with Ken, I was not sure what to expect when I chose to review this book. The summary sounded interesting but I was hoping it was not a motivational book without any substance. I was pleasantly surprised as I read through this book. In my opinion, Ken does a wonderful job connecting with his readers. While a lot of the information in this book is nothing new it was presented well. I felt that Ken was relatable enough that his message could be heard. He talks about many trials he has had to face and, while it was not easy, he has overcome many obstacles. One of his obstacles was his weight. He saw a picture of himself with his granddaughter and it was a wake-up call for him. Ken decided to sign up for a triathlon as he knew this would encourage him to begin his journey to health. He talks a lot about his journey to health and I found his journey to be quite inspirational. He is truly an example of someone who has not allowed his age to dictate what he can or cannot do. He also has chosen not to allow obstacles to get in the way of his goal. He always found a way to press on.
I highly recommend this book as I found it very encouraging. Along with Ken’s stories, I also enjoyed the pictures that Ken decided to share with his readers. He even included his “defining moment” picture, which I mentioned above, of him and his granddaughter. I challenge you to read this book and see if it sparks a change in your own life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learn to Live "Fully Alive"

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don’t sleepwalk through life, live ‘Fully Alive’
Do you want to live your life to the fullest? Is something stopping you? Ken Davis, inspirational and motivational speaker, shares from his heart and own life experiences what it means to sleepwalk through life and how to find a life that is purposeful and full. Whether you are carrying around extra weight around your mid-section or weighed down by fear, Davis helps you find what’s missing and bring you back to the land of the living.
Only when you are living fully alive can you hope to bring honor and glory to God who created you. Better than any self-help book which offers temporal solutions to a permanent problem, “Fully Alive” offers practical steps which will bring about a lifestyle change filling your life with joy and power only found in Christ.
If you’ve been struggling with your weight, a habit that needs to be broken or if you’ve lived in fear, Davis recommends practical steps which will guide you one step and one day at a time. By looking at the next step rather than the past or the future, you can begin to move forward in victory and joy.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Booksneeze, as part of Thomas Nelson Publisher’s Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Fully Alive Lighten Up and Live - A Journey that Will Change Your Life
By Ken Davis
Book Description
Food labels, advertisements, politicians, self-help books – thay all promise the same things: a better life . . . or – as Jesus might put it – life to the fullest.
For millions this pursuit of happiness has captivated, ensnared, and, most disappointingly, it has alluded. Which begs the question, what is the missing link? Fully Alive explores the idea that God is glorified when man is "fully and eternally alive," illustrated by best-selling author and motivational speaker Ken Davis's most honest and intimate stories.
Ken invites us to walk with him on a journey, along a road of heartache and adventure to a place he calls "the land of the living," and discover what may be missing in our lives.
A poignant and entertaining storyteller, Davis points out the practical steps necessary to live this way – everything from lightening up to taking a quality of life assessment, to overcoming trials – while also revealing the power of Christ's resurrection available for each of us.
Get a taste of the beautiful urgency of today and begin moving toward a change in your life that draws from the joy and power that can be found only in Christ.
In Fully Alive author Ken Davis shares his journey from being overweight and in poor health to running a triathlon while in his sixties. This is not a diet or fitness book though. Davis shares how he made the shift from existing to living fully alive. What makes this book very compelling is that it is not a rags to riches story. That is, the author was very successful professionally before making the changes he describes in this book. This is the story of someone who refused to accept a good average life and instead fought for a life of excellence and joy.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing for my free copy. This review is mine and I was not told that I had to give a positive review to received this copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be Prepared To Get Up and Get Moving!

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fully Alive Lighten Up and Live - A Journey that Will Change Your Life
Be prepared to get up and get moving!
I first heard the name Ken Davis while listening to his daily radio spot, "Lighten Up And Live" - and his humorous stories remind us to not take life so seriously.
Now, the message he brings in Fully Alive is a real life-changer, if you decide to make that choice.
A fine speaker and author, Ken Davis, has presented a positive challenge for all of us, if you're in your 20's or your 80's, to overcome our fears, "function at the capacity we were created for in every area of life, and not squander what God has given each of us."
With that summary, let me share how this book has encouraged me with the hope that I can still accomplish the dreams I've had and that I can still explore and achieve new experiences. At an age when many consider it time to "slow down" or "retire", I know that is not the case, especially when Ken Davis tells us he is 65 and he's going to continue climbing mountains, finishing triathlons, or building a tree house for his grandchildren.
There are more self-help books and articles on the market than I want to count, so when Ken invites me to walk with him on a journey, along a road of heartache and adventure to a place he calls "the land of the living," and discover what may be missing in our lives, I promise you'll want to get up and get moving.
A poignant and entertaining storyteller, Davis points out the practical steps necessary to live this way – everything from lightening up to taking a quality of life assessment, to overcoming trials – while also revealing the power of Christ's resurrection available for each of us.
Ken offers to take care of ourselves physically, mentally and spiritually. So many books and speakers focus on one or two of these aspects of caring for ourselves. This book covers it all, and it reads quickly. In fact, I need to finish this review and get going - it's time for my hour of physical care.
One final note. Ken's book is one to read, give as a gift, and tell others how it gets you up out of your chair and moving. I give this a full 5 stars!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."Fully AliveFully Alive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fully Alive by Ken Davis

Date:August 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book came along just when I needed it. It is filled with encouraging stories, practical ideas, and humor. Throughout the book, Ken tells the reader that there is so much more to life than just existing until death. Age, poor health, obesity, depression, retirement: whether you are facing all, some, or even a different set of obstacles, there is hope to LIVE as long as you breathe. Actually, Ken encourages you to breathe hard as you give all you have in life. When circumstances are crushing your spirit, shove back. This is a book that will inspire you to find the passion you once had to enjoy every moment instead of shuffling slowly with your head bowed in defeat. It may be a step-by-step or moment-by-moment progress...but make the effort to move!! Fear can either paralyze you or it can get your heart pumping and your legs moving. This is definitely a book for anyone who wants to live life to the fullest.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Motivating!

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you felt depressed or unmotivated lately? Have you been thinking about getting back in shape, but think it's impossible? Do you feel old and listless? Are you just going through the motions in life? Have you thought, is this all there is?
If you answered 'yes' to any of the above questions, I strongly urge you to get this book. Fully Alive will challenge, convict, inspire and invigorate you to make positive changes your life.
After reading this book, I realize I seriously have no excuse. Ken Davis shows you how its done. You get the sense that if he can do it, you can do it.
Ken Davis touches on various subjects, such as exercise, diet and faith. He writes from a holistic standpoint and leaves nothing out.
Fully Alive will inspire, encourage and enrich your life. I highly recommend this motivating book to everyone.
In conclusion, I want to thank Daniel Decker and Thomas Nelson for allowing me the opportunity to read and review a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fully Alive: Lighten Up and Live Again-A Journey that Will Change Your LIfe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wit, Wisdom and Guidance for a More Exciting Life

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fully Alive
Ken Davis ©2012
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-0-8499-4842-8 (e-book)
Eighteen Chapters plus Appendices
Ken Davis’s grand-daughter, his little princess, Jadyn has become lost in the Colorado Mountains as this book opens. Davis is panic-stricken and frantic during the search, praying fervently, even when he falls totally exhausted onto his hands and knees into a foot and a half of cold swamp water. He is willing to give up everything if God will only rescue his Jadyn.
When the four-year old is found, hours later, instead of scolding as he might have done, the author can only repeat over and over, “I love you. I love you, I love you.” Suddenly, in a life-changing instant, he realizes that’s how God feels about him! And how God wants every single child of God to leave a path of mediocrity for one of living fully alive.
This book continues similarly with Davis’s honest, challenging, often witty insights about how to fully live as God has planned, about how to experience in real life an exuberant, overwhelming joy with enduring vitality.
The author says rightly, the glory of God is man fully alive, living a life that’s not safe, comfortable, passive or predictable, but overflowing with risk, emotion and an anticipation of adventure that makes us leap out of bed each morning. Anyone who longs for this better way to live will treasure Davis’s book, Fully Alive, for directions to the path God designed for us.
Are you one who wants to be re-ignited with God’s amazing love, who may have lost your song, who is drearily existing instead of fully living, who no longer feels creative and interested in new things? You’ll treasure this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.