Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 26100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Review 1 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice lighthearted reading

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jena
Location:Valleyview, AB
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It was a relaxing lighthearted read. It has some good humor, I always say it is a good book if it can make me laugh out loud in the first few chapters. I will definitely be looking for more books by this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So so good

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AIRmommy
Location:Minesota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know i have found a great book when i can feel the tension between the characters as if I am going through it myself. hunter develops her main characters, Annie and Dylan, as well as her supporting characters, Sierra, Ryder, Aunt Lucy, etc. so well that it is easy to put yourself in their shoes and know why they are making the decisions they are making- good or bad.
Another aspect of Hunter's writing is that i feel that these characters could be my neighbors. Take them out of Montana and put them in Minnesota, and they would be! There is no piety, no overly perfect people. I like that. It is always best when the author presents her characters as "real" people. Annie's and Dylan's flaws actually endear them more to the reader than if they did not have hang-ups that hinder a relationship. You get the feeling that, even with happily ever after, there will still be fireworks and challenges that they will overcome together, knowing God is on their side.
Hunter, as an author, does a fantastic job of presenting the Gospel without making it preachy. As a reader, i like that. I don't need to be reminded with overtness that this is a story, essentially, about God working his healing in people's hearts by having it shoved down my throat.
I can't wait to read the first two books in the series now, and I don't feel like anything has been spoiled for me!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
court
Location:dallas, tx
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only one pair of boots—and the cowboy wearing them—can get Annie out of the mess she’s in.
Annie Wilkerson is Moose Creek’s premiere horse trainer and equine columnist for Montana Living. Money is tight as she tries to put her kid-sister through college and provide for her young nephew. When Annie’s column is cancelled, she’s given first shot at a new lovelorn column—and she can’t afford to turn it down. Only problem is . . . Annie’s never been in love.
Always resourceful, she reluctantly strikes a deal with the town’s smooth-talking ladies’ man Dylan Taylor: She’ll work with his ailing horse, Braveheart, if he’ll help her answer the reader letters.
Working closely with Dylan is harder than Annie imagined, and she quickly realizes she may have misjudged him. But her unwavering conviction that cowboys are nothing but trouble has kept her heart safe for years. And she can’t risk getting hurt now.
The more Annie tries to control things, the more they fall apart. Her feelings are spinning out of control, and her sister’s antics are making life increasingly more difficult. Annie knows she needs to turn the reins over to God, but surrender has never come easily.
When Dylan reveals his feelings for her, Annie doesn’t know what to trust—her head or her heart. The trouble with this cowboy is that he might just be exactly what she needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Newtown Square,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once more, Denise Hunter creates human characters that face life's challenges while walking with The Lord. It is an enjoyable read as well as a witness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of the three

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book! I have read all three books in the series and think it’s the best one yet!
What I liked: Annie and Dylan where likeable from the start and watching these two write a love column was quite funny given they really had no real experience to base answers off of. Annie also came across very real to me. She was dealing with a lot and was trying to hold her family together but the more she tried the more it seemed to fall apart. Dylan came across being a bad boy but as you get to know him you find he as a lot more depth. The tension between Annie and Dylan kept the pages turning at a fast rate!
What I did not like: I wish we could read the story between Annie’s sister and Dylan’s brother. That side storyline could have been a whole book on its own. It fit well enough into the main storyline but at the end I felt a little disappointed not to have know them a little better.
Over all I loved this book. Yes it will come across as a typical romance novel to a lot of people but I love storylines like this and it was well written and unique enough to stand out to me. I highly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spark Fly in Moose Creek

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sparks fly in Moose Creek!
I have come to the conclusion that I want to live in Moose Creek. It sounds like such a wonderful town, with such lively characters!
The characters were well written and I thought that the characters had great interactions, that were fun, and full of romantic tension!
The book was a fantastic, I read it in about a day in almost one sitting, I did not want to put this book down!
I have never read the first two in the series, but now I know that I have to get my hands on them soon! This book operated well as a stand alone, but I can see where there were little details that fans of the former books would appreciate more than someone picking up this series for the first time.
Overall, I loved this book and can't wait to read the others in the series. I adored Moose Creek, and as I said before, I would love to love there! For me this book pretty much had it all, likable characters, cowboys, great interaction between the characters, fast paced, engaging, and great romantic tension! I highly recommend!
I received this book from the publisher through Litfuse in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Talks about faith and secrets

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindz2012
Location:Gastonville
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a found read. It also got my emotions for what a surprising ending as well. Dylan and Annie have to struggle with their past to get though. Though Annie is more worried about her sister and nephew more so then what really is bothering her.
Though it all though they do find somethings. I suggest if you pick this one up you get some tissues. It reach the value of true love and having faith and letting go. Annie as though things needing to learn though out the book. Dylan need to learn somethings though most of it is Annie needing to learn to trust as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fun story

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It might help to read books one and two first as that would give you the back stories of a few characters. But it isn't extremely necessary. If you are able to read either of the first two books then read book one. According to another reviewer Dylan Taylor is introduced in book one and she’s thrilled that he gets his own story.
Dylan is a fun character. At first he appears to be a big flirt who can smile at any lady and get a date with her, but along with Annie the reader slowly starts to realize that there’s more to him than he lets on.
Annie is independent, proud, fiercely loves her sister and nephew, and distrusts cowboys. Yet for some reason she feels desperate enough to ask a cowboy for help in answering magazine readers’ relationship questions.
Both Annie and Dylan need to learn to trust God and overcome fears based on past experiences. Annie is also a very protective (and bossy) older sister who needs to stop worrying and controlling, and trust that God knows best.
There are a number of kisses in this book – some just pecks on the cheek or a quick, unromantic thanks-for-a-great-date-goodnight kiss. But some are long, soul stirring, go-weak-at-the-knees kisses. I don’t have anything against kisses, and I think the author did a great job with the kissing scenes.
(minor spoiler alert, except you should have guessed the ending) What I didn’t appreciate was that some of those passionate kisses where between non-dating people who then take months to get engaged. Don’t start kissing like that if you’re not dating and don’t be kissing like that if it’s going to be many months before you’re even close to a wedding. That’s my opinion at least.
I did like how Annie thought about one of the chemicals in the brain that gets activated during a soul stirring kiss. Made me think of Dannah Gresh’s book What Are You Waiting For?: The One Thing No One Ever Tells You About Sex. A great book by the way that every teen and college student (especially girls) should read.
Back to Trouble with Cowboys, if you like light Christian, contemporary romance, then you would probably enjoy this book.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cowboys, A Handicapped Horse and Romance

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Denise Hunter in her new book “The Trouble with Cowboys” Book Three in the A Big Sky Romance series published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Annie Wilkerson.
From the back cover: Only one pair of boots—and the cowboy wearing them—can get Annie out of the mess she’s in.
Annie Wilkerson is Moose Creek’s premiere horse trainer and equine columnist for Montana Living. Money is tight as she tries to put her kid-sister through college and provide for her young nephew. When Annie’s column is cancelled, she’s given first shot at a new lovelorn column—and she can’t afford to turn it down. Only problem is . . . Annie’s never been in love.
Always resourceful, she reluctantly strikes a deal with the town’s smooth-talking ladies’ man Dylan Taylor: She’ll work with his ailing horse, Braveheart, if he’ll help her answer the reader letters.
Working closely with Dylan is harder than Annie imagined, and she quickly realizes she may have misjudged him. But her unwavering conviction that cowboys are nothing but trouble has kept her heart safe for years. And she can’t risk getting hurt now.
The more Annie tries to control things, the more they fall apart. Her feelings are spinning out of control, and her sister’s antics are making life increasingly more difficult. Annie knows she needs to turn the reins over to God, but surrender has never come easily.
When Dylan reveals his feelings for her, Annie doesn’t know what to trust—her head or her heart. The trouble with this cowboy is that he might just be exactly what she needs.
A cowboy, a horse going blind and a family in a bit of a crisis, add them all together and you have a recipe for a great story plus this is a Western, a contemporary Western i grant you but any Western is better than no Western. Annie is running the whole show, she is trying to take care of her nephew, her sister and her son, their ranch, train the horses and be the only source of income. The strain is getting to her. Plus, the cowboy, Dylan, with the handicapped horse, is trying to romance her and she finds she doesn’t mind that so much even though she doesn’t trust cowboys. “The Trouble with Cowboys” is about judging people and then having to repent for those judgements. It is about healing from past hurts to embrace the present and move into the future. “The Trouble with Cowboys” is a sweet romance that has some really nice moments in it. I liked it and look forward to more from Denise Hunter.
Denise Hunter’s “The Trouble with Cowboys” Facebook Party & Kindle Fire Giveaway
To celebrate the release of The Trouble with Cowboys Denise is hosting a fun Author Chat Party on Facebook. She’ll connect with readers and give away some amazing prizes – including a Kindle Fire!
Save the Date for October 11th!”"
Grab your copy of Denise Hunter’s latest book and join her for an Author Chat Party on October 11th at 8:00 PM EST (that’s 7:00 Central, 6:00 MST, & 5:00 PST)! Haven’t read The Trouble with Cowboys yet? That’s okay, don’t let that stop you from coming to the party! (You may win a copy!)
During the evening she’ll be sharing the story behind the book, posting discussion questions, testing your trivia skills, and of course, there will be plenty of chatting and fun giveaways – books, gift certificates and – a Kindle Fire! She’ll also be giving you a sneak peek of her next book too!
RSVP today and then come back on the 11th … and bring your friends!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

pure romance, no complex plot

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Annie Wilkerson is a talented young woman – when it comes to horses. When it comes to people, well, she has problems. She doesn't trust cowboys (her mother went through a number of them) and she is surrounded by them.
She brings in some extra money by writing a column about horses, a column her grandfather used to write. She needs the money because she is helping her younger sister, Sierra, through college and providing for Sierra's son.
When the horse column is canceled, Annie desperately agrees to write a “Dear Annie” love column. In return for working with the horse of the town flirt, he agrees to help her with her advice column. Only he has as many problems with love as she does. The result is disaster.
This is a romance, pure and simple. The plot is very shallow. Girl meets boy. Girl and boy both experience tingling. Girl and boy have so many issues it seems as if they will never get together. You know the rest.
The one theme that comes through in the novel is control. Annie wants control. She wants to control her life and her sister's life. It is not until she relinquishes control to God that He can work things out.
There is a Reading Group Guide included at the end of the book.
If you like a simple Christian romance set in Moose Creek, Montana, this is for you. If you want complex issues the characters must grapple with, you won't find them here.
This is the last in The Big Sky series. Even if you have not read the earlier ones, you can still enjoy this one.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great contemporary western romance!

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If Dylan had a heart, she was sure it was unwoundable. Made of something springy and elastic that sent oncoming darts bouncing off. Typical cowboy.
She skimmed the menu, unseeing. "That seat's taken."
"Your sister joining you?"
Like she couldn't possibly have a date? "What's that supposed to mean?"
His hands went up in surrender. "I was hoping to join you."
"I have a date."
His head tipped back slowly, his eyes never leaving hers. "Ah...who's the lucky guy?"
"What do you want Dylan?"
He tilted the chair onto its back legs, and she found herself wishing it would fall. But that kind of thing never happened to men like Dylan.
"I have a proposition," he said, his eyes roaming her face.
Her cheeks grew warm and she hated that. Cursed Irish blood and fair skin. She swore he said things like that on purpose. She focused on the menu. On the photo of barbecue ribs that were actually better than they looked.
"Not interested."
"In all seriousness," he said, his voice dropping the teasing tone, "I got a horse that needs help. Wondered if you'd drop by next week and take a look at him. It's my best horse - Braveheart. He's got moon blindness. The vet thinks I ought to put him down." (pg 2-3).
And that is the trouble with cowboys, they rope you in with their kind words, endearing tone and sad puppy dog eyes and before you know it, you're bound up in emotion and put your heart on the line for love. Then they leave you just as fast as they come. At least that was the pattern that Annie Wilkerson had seen in both her own father and the man who left her sister pregnant, both of them cowboys. Now if Annie, can find a way to stay away from smooth talking Dylan, she might be safe but she had a heart for horses and agreed to work with Braveheart on her terms and not Dylans. Too bad her heart didn't understand the plan first.
In the latest novel from The Big Sky Romance series from Denise Hunter, The Trouble With Cowboys takes the reader into a very complicated situation in which both Annie and Dylan have difficulties dealing with their personal past hurts that keep them from seeing the reality of the true person in front of them. They have both vowed to make a commitment to keep from falling in love, Annie vows to swear off all cowboys and Dylan agrees never to get too serious with any one woman to avoid the pain of falling in love again. What they both will find is that God often has different plans in mind and it's only through His timing, that true healing can take place, no matter how hard we may try to dig our heels in.
I received The Trouble With Cowboys by Denise Hunter, compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I've had the complete delight to read all three books in the Big Sky Romance series and if you're a Christian Western Romantic at heart with a love for cowboys and the romance, then this series is geared to capture your heart! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and hope Denise might be inspired to write just one more in this series. The Trouble with Cowboys even blends a portion of the novel Smitten in this one, which she co-authored with many other talented Christian writers. This is also what I would define as a contemporary western because it's based in the present not the historical old west. This has found a home in my personal library and one that I will enjoy time and time again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Judge not, lest you be judged..."

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Wilkerson is head of her household but she is single, she hovers over her sister Sierra and her nephew Ryder like a mother hen. Yes she is always pecking at Sierra for not taking responsibility for herself and her five year old son Ryder. Sierra only has one more semester of college and Annie is determined that her sister finish college and get her degree. As things stand now Sierra can't seem to keep a job so it is on Annie's shoulders to support her sister and nephew. Annie worries that Sierra is too much like their mother chasing after cowboys. In her opinion the trouble with cowboys is they are not responsible or faithful and she wants nothing to do with them. Her father was one of those cowboys and he walked out on them when they were little.
Annie is a very well sought after horse trainer specializing in abused horses or horses with some kind of disability. Against her better judgement she took on a job of working with a horse that was going blind and the horse was having a difficult time adjusting to the loss of sight. The only problem is she can't stand Dylan Taylor the owner of the horse, Dylan is the apedemy of the cowboys she tries so hard to avoid. He is handsome smooth flirtatious and no doubt a Casanova. But they might be able to work something out. Since her grandfather passed away she has taken over as a column writer for a small newspaper he was writing for about horse. Now the newspaper wants her to switch her subject to the love-forlorn. She would no longer be writing about horses plus she knows nothing about the love-forlorn but Dylan most definitely does. So they have agreed he would help her with her column and she would take on the training of his horse Braveheart.
But has she misjudged Dylan? Was seeing him like the character Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice. He seemed to be caring and had some pretty good advice. He was also very keen and sympathetic to her moods when she would have a falling out with her sister over something which was more often than not.
The problem of judging people and there situation is a common mistake we all make at one time or another.
This book was a great of example of the verse Luke 6:37-38 which the author quotes several times throughout the book.
Luke 6:37
37 "Judge not, and you shall not be judged: condemn not, and you shall not be condemned: forgive, and you shall be forgiven: 38Give, and it shall be given to you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that you mete with it shall be measured to you again. "
The author stated she wrote the book thinking of her son as he was attending college and the trials and tribulations thereof. Even though all of the major characters attended church, read the bible and prayed to God, they failed to let go and let God. I found the book real to life, inspiring and romantic. Leaving me with feeling happy and content with the ending not just this book but the series.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishing/Litfuse Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Harter
Location:Denver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those books that is just plain hard to put down. From the first page I was hooked and read through it in one sitting (even if I did stay up until 3 in the morning). My heart was touched by the characters. Whether they made me angry, happy, or brought on tears, I could totally relate to what they were going through. I totally enjoyed every moment of this book, and will forever remember some of the catchy comments made by the characters.
I loved this book! It was the first of Denise Hunter's books that I had read and I can't wait to read more. The tidbits that she shared from the previous books in the series made me want to read them so I could hear the full story, and with her believable and well written story line, I imagine that every book she writes is well worth reading.
*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Trouble with Cowboys?--They Leave

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Trouble with Cowboys?--they leave. This is Annie Wilkerson’s belief, and she is determined not to fall for one. The only problem is, a cowboy named Dylan, is slowly working his way into her heart.
Annie Wilkerson, carries a lot on her shoulders. She and her sister were abandoned by their father when they were young, and after their mother passes away, their grandfather takes care of them.
Now it is just Annie, her sister Sierra, and Sierra's son Ryder.
In order to keep their heads above water, Annie works two jobs. One is as a horse trainer, the other as a columnist for a magazine. She had been writing about horse care, but the readership was dropping. As a result, her supervisor decided that she should try her hand at a lovelorn column.
Annie doesn't feel that she is qualified to help the people seeking answers. So she strikes up a deal with Dylan Taylor, she'll work with his horse, Braveheart, as he adjusts to going blind, and he'll help her with writing her new column. Simple enough, right? Well...not so much.
The Trouble with Cowboys by Denise Hunter is the first book I have read in this series (and this author). I wondered if not reading the first two books would be a hindrance in enjoying the story. It wasn’t. I highly recommend this author, she writes in a way that sets vivid scenes, create believable characters, and draws the reader into the story. I look forward to reading more of her books.
**The Trouble with Cowboys by Denise Hunter was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book! Sad to see series end. :(

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
eshep623
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The third and final installment of The Big Sky Romance series, "The Trouble With Cowboys" by Denise Hunter, doesn't disappoint. While some authors are devoted to pumping out books like a bubble gum factory, Denise has a way of writing characters that leave an imprint on your heart that you won't forget. You don't mind that you have to wait for months in between novels because you always know what you're going to get in return: consistent storylines with memorable characters and a lesson that will help grow your faith.
Forced to grow up too fast, Annie Wilkerson makes a promise to her dying grandfather and takes on the responsibility of caring for her unruly teenage sister. Determined to put her sister through college, Annie is a horse trainer by day and moonlights as the writer for a column solely devoted to imparting her wisdom as a trainer. However, as the world becomes more and more attached that wonderful invention called the `internet' (thanks, Al Gore...) she learns from her editor that her column is being replaced by a topic that you can never have enough answers for: love, and they want Annie to write it. Wholly unqualified to write a column for the local lovelorn, Annie seeks the advice of all-knowing and confident Dylan Taylor. After all, he's romanced just about every woman in Moose Creek... he has to know SOMETHING about love, right?
The budding friendship and firecracker chemistry that existed between Annie and Dylan will keep you turning the pages until the very last one. Some of the one-liners that Dylan would throw at Annie even had me rolling my eyes at times, but Annie was just the girl to put him in his place. While I LOVED this story, I am so disappointed that I won't be returning to Moose Creek, Montana any time soon. (But that's why I keep the books I love - to revisit!) Since we had the pleasure of a visit from Sawyer Smitten in this novel, perhaps we'll get to read about Moose Creek's best-loved residents in another story in the future. (Fingers crossed!)
I received an Advanced Reader Copy of "The Trouble With Cowboys" from the author in exchange for my honest opinion and review (thanks for signing it, Denise!). A positive review was not required, only an honest one. I am so honored that she chose to bless me with an advanced copy. I can only hope that I have returned the favor of the blessing with my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Denise Hunter is one of my go-to authors for contemporary romance. Her Big Sky Romance series has been a lot of fun to read, and The Trouble with Cowboys is no exception. Annie Wilkerson is just trying to keep it all together, and that means staying as far away as possible from cowboys. She learned from watching the string her mother kept around that cowboys bring a load of hurt with them. Besides she's too busy trying to control...er help...her sister pull her life together. Too bad Dylan Taylor's horse needs her.
I enjoyed returning to big sky country with these characters. And I found myself relating all too well to Annie's need to control life. I also needed the reminder that it's when we let go that life really happens.
This is a great read for those who love contemporary romance with great characters who you will hate leaving when you reach the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Trouble with Cowboys, by Denise Hunter, is the third book in the Big Sky Romance series. Just like the previous two books in the series, A Cowboy’s Touch and The Accidental Bride, this story brings the residents of Moose Creek to life in a way that makes the reader feel as though he’s known them all his life.
In this book, Annie Wilkerson is struggling to keep control of her life.
She trains horses, writes a column for the newspaper part-time, dates the town banker, provides for her younger sister’s college education, and helps raise her nephew. But when things start to fall apart, she has nowhere to go but God and Dylan Taylor, a cowboy that she doesn’t trust—just because he is a cowboy. Her horse training advice column gets cancelled and her only option is to take over the love advice column. But she has no experience, so she enlists Dylan’s help. Little does she know that he doesn’t have much experience either. With her column in jeopardy, her sister rebelling against Annie’s plans, and her traitorous heart responding to Dylan, she soon finds herself in real trouble.
I enjoyed this book. It is a quick read and holds the reader’s attention until the very end!
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great end to series!

Date:September 30, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had forgotten how much I loved Denise Hunter's writing until I read this book. When I finish a book that was written by her, I always close it and think how much fun that books was to read and there's no way she'll top this particular book. So it's definitely not a shock to me that I closed this book thinking there's no way in the world that her new series will be better than this one. However, I'm sure she'll once again prove me wrong!
Hunter's books are written so well and are light, fun reads. She incorporates romance into this story, but adds her own touch of humor. I was a little frustrated when Annie wouldn't let her guard down for what seemed like forever, but it resolved itself in a perfect way. I could see myself in Annie because I think firstborns tend to think they need to "help" their sibling make choices. It was a good reminder for me to let go and trust and pray. Dylan has always been perfect in my eyes and am so glad he finally found the perfect girl for himself.
Sprinkled throughout, you get a little update of some of the characters in the previous two books, as well as you get to learn a little bit more about Luke and Sierra. If this was the first book in the series that you would have read by her, you wouldn't have felt lost at all when the characters were mentioned. It was just quick little mentions with the main focus on Annie and Dylan and a side focus on Sierra and Luke.
I saw that her new series comes out in 2013....I'm thinking they need to bump that date up a bit! Perhaps I'll have to hunt down some of her older books to read because I'm going to miss her stories.
________________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Book of the Series!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Denise concludes her Big Sky Romance series on a strong note. The Trouble with Cowboys is my favorite book of the series with two likable main characters and appearances by characters from the past two novels. This is the perfect weekend read, providing an escape to the wild and beautiful American West. Hunter captures the small town charm that is very much alive in Western towns and paints a vivid scene of the mountainous, big-sky landscape. It is refreshing to read a novel set in the modern-day west with characters facing contemporary issues.
The plot of The Trouble with Cowboys reads like a movie. It is steady, entertaining, and quite addictive; qualities which make up for the relative predictability of the novel. Annie's strong aversion to cowboys, especially quintessential flirt, Dylan Taylor, creates some humorous scenes and interactions. Her confusion over Dylan's flirtation and character is completely understandable and adds interest to their growing relationship.
On the outside, Dylan is a cocky, non-committal cowboy who is only interested in romantic dalliances. His character could easily be irritating, but Hunter softens Dylan's edges by providing insight into his feelings and motives. Early on, Hunter has the reader hoping for a relationship to blossom between Annie and Dylan. There are plenty of obstacles standing in the way of a budding romance, which add interest and tension to the plot.
Such a quick read could easily lack depth, but Hunter provides just enough conflict to make this a meaningful read. Both Dylan and Annie carry past baggage that is revealed throughout the novel, and they face their share of current challenges as well. Annie in particular struggles with her younger sister, Sierra, whose story takes a turn at the end of the novel. Sierra is an interesting secondary character, who would have been a great focus for another novel.
The Trouble with Cowboys presents no trouble for readers. Denise Hunter incorporates themes of letting go of fear and having faith into a novel that will appeal to a wide range of readers.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Trouble with Cowboys - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars!

Date:September 29, 2012
The Trouble with Cowboys by Denise Hunter was just as delightful as I had hoped it would be. After reading the first two books in the series, I've been looking forward to this final visit to Moose Creek. Annie and Dylan each have some serious reservations about falling in love. Fiercely independent, they are determined to get through life on their own. Annie needs help with writing an advice column for the lovelorn, she realizes Dylan is her best shot for success. Dylan isn't inclined to help with the column, but he's willing to do anything if Annie will help him with his beloved horse.
This series has been a lot of fun to read! I've enjoyed every trip to Moose Creek, and this was no exception. Annie and Dylan were great leading characters! I found myself liking them right off the bat, but the struggles they faced and the flaws they dealt with made for a great story. At times, Annie's distaste for cowboys was a little over-done, but it didn't really affect my overall love for the book. I also liked how the characters from the previous books played important roles in this story too. And of course the dynamics between Annie and her sister made for a great "secondary" story line. Love all the family drama!
It wasn't long before I got completely wrapped up in this sweet, funny, romantic story and found myself reading WAY past my bedtime! If you haven't read Denise Hunter before, she's an author not to be missed! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>