Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Beauty Book - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Beauty Book - eBook

This unique and creative book for tween girls answers the common questions girls ask during this confusing and overwhelming stage in their lives in an inviting and conversational manner. Filled with fun quizzes, imaginative activities, and cool illustrations, The Beauty Book offers cool, relevant information about everything from great hair styles to tattoos, from skin care to clothes, and much more. Above all, the message that God-confidence is beautiful is highlighted on each and every page.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Beauty Book - eBook
Review 1 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun & Informative For Pre-Teen Girls

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alysa Sawyer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Beauty Book by Nancy Rue is a non-fiction book that addresses questions and concerns that pre-teen girls often have. This book has been added to The Lily Series and speaks as if fictional Lily is talking to the reader. There are Q & A, quizzes, illustrations, scripture, journaling, and activities in every chapter. The book discusses general beauty information like how to clean your face to prevent pimples, how to give yourself a manicure & pedicure, when should you wear makeup, should you get piercings or tattoos, what if you are too tall or have to wear glasses, etc. The focus is to embrace the way God sees us and how he created us instead of focusing on what the world portrays as beautiful.
Overall, I enjoyed reading the book and think that it would be good for a pre-teen who is starting to deal with issues relating to her body and her concept of what beauty is. I’m not sure that the publisher’s suggestion of ages 7-11 is appropriate. My oldest girl is 5 and I just don’t see the information in this book being relevant to her in only 2 years. I would suggest an age group that is slightly older like in the middle school ages.
On a side note that has more to do with Biblical context instead of Beauty issues… There was one thing that stood out to me as being negative and that was in the discussion of tattoos (which is a touchy subject to a lot of people so I will try to explain my point as best as I can without getting into the debate of right or wrong). The author’s advice to girls when it comes to things like tattoos, piercings, makeup, etc. is talking to parents and respecting their decision on the subject. I do agree with this advice! The issue that I have with her discussion of tattoos is how she quoted scripture without giving explanation. Here is the Q & A I am referring too. This comes after several Q & A’s relating to piercings and tattoos that addressed appearance, pain, danger etc (which were all answered to my satisfaction):
Q: Would it be all right to get the kind you just stick on?
A: Is it all right with-you guessed it- your parents? They might not like even the idea of a tattoo, real or fake. Leviticus 19:28 does say, “Do not…put tattoo marks on yourselves.” Of course, Leviticus 19:27 also says, “Do not… clip the edges of your beard.”
…and she leaves it at that. To a pre-teen or anyone who has not studied scripture, this statement could cause a lot of questions. People often refer to Leviticus 19:28 as why Christians shouldn’t have tattoos but the same people do trim their beards, cut their hair, eat pork, or do other things listed as forbidden in the old testament. She fails to explain the old law versus the new law and how there is a difference between ceremonial requirements (which are no longer binding under the new law–such as cutting hair) and moral requirements (which are binding–like do not worship other Gods or do not commit adultery). I realize that my issue with this goes far beyond what was probably intended by the author and that it is a subject that can easily be talked about and researched with parental guidance. I just felt that I should caution that the way it was worded could cause more questions (which is a good thing if the parents are willing to have deeper discussions!)
In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission I am required to disclose that Thomas Nelson provided this e-book for free in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun & Informative For Pre-Teen Girls

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alysa Sawyer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Beauty Book by Nancy Rue is a non-fiction book that addresses questions and concerns that pre-teen girls often have. This book has been added to The Lily Series and speaks as if fictional Lily is talking to the reader. There are Q & A, quizzes, illustrations, scripture, journaling, and activities in every chapter. The book discusses general beauty information like how to clean your face to prevent pimples, how to give yourself a manicure & pedicure, when should you wear makeup, should you get piercings or tattoos, what if you are too tall or have to wear glasses, etc. The focus is to embrace the way God sees us and how he created us instead of focusing on what the world portrays as beautiful.
Overall, I enjoyed reading the book and think that it would be good for a pre-teen who is starting to deal with issues relating to her body and her concept of what beauty is. I’m not sure that the publisher’s suggestion of ages 7-11 is appropriate. My oldest girl is 5 and I just don’t see the information in this book being relevant to her in only 2 years. I would suggest an age group that is slightly older like in the middle school ages.
On a side note that has more to do with Biblical context instead of Beauty issues… There was one thing that stood out to me as being negative and that was in the discussion of tattoos (which is a touchy subject to a lot of people so I will try to explain my point as best as I can without getting into the debate of right or wrong). The author’s advice to girls when it comes to things like tattoos, piercings, makeup, etc. is talking to parents and respecting their decision on the subject. I do agree with this advice! The issue that I have with her discussion of tattoos is how she quoted scripture without giving explanation. Here is the Q & A I am referring too. This comes after several Q & A’s relating to piercings and tattoos that addressed appearance, pain, danger etc (which were all answered to my satisfaction):
Q: Would it be all right to get the kind you just stick on?
A: Is it all right with-you guessed it- your parents? They might not like even the idea of a tattoo, real or fake. Leviticus 19:28 does say, “Do not…put tattoo marks on yourselves.” Of course, Leviticus 19:27 also says, “Do not… clip the edges of your beard.”
…and she leaves it at that. To a pre-teen or anyone who has not studied scripture, this statement could cause a lot of questions. People often refer to Leviticus 19:28 as why Christians shouldn’t have tattoos but the same people do trim their beards, cut their hair, eat pork, or do other things listed as forbidden in the old testament. She fails to explain the old law versus the new law and how there is a difference between ceremonial requirements (which are no longer binding under the new law–such as cutting hair) and moral requirements (which are binding–like do not worship other Gods or do not commit adultery). I realize that my issue with this goes far beyond what was probably intended by the author and that it is a subject that can easily be talked about and researched with parental guidance. I just felt that I should caution that the way it was worded could cause more questions (which is a good thing if the parents are willing to have deeper discussions!)
In accordance with the Federal Trade Commission I am required to disclose that Thomas Nelson provided an e-book for free in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Tween Chic Read

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Beauty Book is one of The Lily Series of books by Nancy Rue. It is a tween aimed book which encourages girls to perceive beauty as God does both inside and out. It is filled with quizzes, age appropriate illustrations and activities. The information is presented in a style similar to teen magazines with Q & A sections as well as article style information about things like hairstyles to clothing all from a healthy God-centered perspective.
I enjoyed reading this easy read book. It was fun. It was not intended to be read by women my age for entertainment or information; however, it was enjoyed by my daughter. I like that the perspective is based on a healthy view of how God made each girl beautiful. I would have a girl to read this once she is old enough to relate to the idea of self-image. I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Building Young Girls Self-Esteem

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily has learned that we should be proud of the gifts God gave us whether it be red hair or large lips. He has made us in his image. He has given us these body to care for. Our bodies are temples of God.
The Lily series for girls 7-11 years old is not only inspiring but pure fun. This Beauty Book is a great addition to the series. It is somewhat of a activity workbook. A companion journal would be good with this book. I raised four daughters and this would be a fun book to share with girlfriends asking each other the questions from the book. They can experiment with some of the activities like styling their hair and giving each other manicures and pedicures. This book will also help girls build there self-esteem and teach them proper hygiene.
I recommend this book for young girls.
Disclosure:
I received a digital copy of this book from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for tween girls

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dianna A.
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, felt that this is a great book for our pre-teen, or tween if you prefer, girls to read. It talks a lot about how to keep yourselves healthy and strong and basically about hygiene. Of course it also talks about beauty and the variety of beauty that God has created. It uses scripture and encourages girls to realize that just because they don’t look like the 5’10” straight figured models on the front of the magazines that it’s okay. You are still beautiful. God created you to be you and not someone else. It also teaches young girls that its still important to take care of themselves physically by eating healthy and exercising daily and keeping themselves clean. I think it was a pretty well rounded book. It advises girls to talk to their mom’s and to spend time talking to God.
*I recieved this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a comforting resource in a tumultuous age group

Date:May 13, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Part of a new non-fiction spin off of the fictional "The Lily Series" by Nancy Rue (of Faithgirlz!), The Beauty Book answers common questions 7-11 year old girls ask during this confusing and overwhelming stage in their lives: "What are these spots on my forehead?" or "Can I shave my legs?" Yikes! Enough to strike fear in the hearts of parents everywhere!
In style, The Beauty Book really has its finger on the pulse of its target audience. Quizzes, fill-in-the-blank prayers, and journaling pages are interspersed throughout the conversation-style chapters, keeping a nice degree of reader involvement, rather than creating a lecture-style learning experience.
Great, so the girls are going to love it... but will the moms? Yes! Nancy Rue does a great job of imparting information in a manner respectful of the very different family experiences of her readers. For example, Rue does not outright tell readers whether or not they should be allowed to get their ears pierced, shave their legs, etc. Rather, she leads young girls to a better understanding of how their parents may have come to their decision on an issue, gives basic directions for those activities parents allow, and encourages a redirected focus when a girl isn't happy with her parents' decision. Wonderful! All of this is done keeping a primary focus on our inherent beauty as creations of God, with a comfortable degree of Biblical referencing.
I would recommend this book for any mom and daughter as a supplement (not a replacement) to conversations on emerging beauty questions.
I received this book free from Tommy Nelson Publishing for the purpose of providing my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book to bless your daughters

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lily Series, written by popular author Nancy Rue, is a series written for girls ages 7-11, and stars Lily Robbins and her friends as they grow and discover that the most important beauty is the true beauty God put inside each of them. The Beauty Book is a companion book to the fictional series that starts off with Here's Lily! Each chapter deals with a different aspect of beauty, from the first chapter that appropriately assures girls that God made each girl exactly the way He intends them to be, to chapters on hair, skin, make-up and clothes. Each chapter features a "GIRLZ Want to Know" section where Lily and her friends pose questions that the author answers with godly wisdom and which also provides practical advice. There are also short and interesting quizzes that help show girls areas they need to work on, as well as sections called "Talking to God About It" which guide girls in praying to God about every part of their life - and their body - teaching them that he cares about every part of them.
The Beauty Book is a book that parents everywhere should plan on putting into the hands of their pre-teen daughters. My own daughter was fascinated with the book, interested in everything from the imaginative illustrations to the neat facts contained in the book about how to care for your body. But what my wife and I are most impressed with about the book is how clearly it highlights the fact that God knew exactly what he was doing when he created each girl to be unique and beautiful in their own way. How fantastic that a book on beauty includes references from the Bible and prayers to God! Who better to talk to than the very creator of the body that is undergoing such mysterious changes? Any girl who reads this book will walk away with some practical ideas about how to take care of their outward beauty while feeling assured that God truly loves them and has made them beautiful, inside and out. In a culture that seems obsessed with outward appearance, this book is a breath of fresh air and gets my parental seal of approval.
Highly recommended, I award this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Appropriate

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
cthreatt
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is appropriate for girls in 4th and 5th grade.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sensible and fun guide to beauty for tween girls

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
nordicgirl65
Location:Upland, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a beauty manual for Christian tween girls. It does a good job of balancing, on the one hand, the natural desire of young girls to look their best with, on the other hand, the importance of teaching girls to value their whole selves as God’s creations.
A growing interest in feminine matters (clothes, skincare, etc.) is a normal part of the maturation process for most girls in early adolescence. So is, unfortunately, insecurity about appearance and body image. In this book, Nancy Rue (author of the popular “Lily Series”) attempts to help girls think about these aspects of their lives in a healthy and God-honoring way. The language is a little too cutesy for adult tastes (for example, frequent references to “your you-nique you”) but will probably appeal to its young readers. Each chapter includes quizzes and activities, as well as sections designed to guide tween girls in thinking Christianly about that chapter’s issue (“How is this a God thing?”) and praying about it.
The book’s beauty tips are sensible and age-appropriate for early adolescence. The emphasis is on encouraging readers to take care of their bodies and enhance their God-given unique beauty in a way that respects themselves, their parents, and God. Rue consistently defers to parents on such issues as whether a girl is old enough to wear makeup, shave her legs, etc. She gives advice about how to apply makeup appropriately, shave legs, choose modest and flattering clothes, and so on — but with the caveat that parental approval must be obtained first. Rue explains that parents have good reasons for not wanting their daughters to grow up too soon, and that a girl should honor her parents’ decisions on these matters.
The only quarrel that I have is not with the book itself but with its promotion by its publisher, Thomas Nelson, which suggests that the book is appropriate for girls ages 7 to 11. I’m no expert, but I’d say a more accurate age range would be about 10 to 14. My daughter is 8 1/2, and although she enjoys choosing her clothes and doing her own hair, most of the issues covered in this book are well beyond her interest or understanding. I plan to hang onto it, though, and give it to her in a few years, once she’s old enough to be concerned about whether she’s allowed to wear makeup, what to do about her pimples, and when her body is going to finally develop!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Girls are starting to develop earlier and earlier. My ten-year-old niece has already started puberty. My girls aren't too far behind. And the thought almost terrifies me. How do I convince my child that she is beautiful, no matter what others say? How do I know what to say when she wants to try out the newest trends, the ones I don't want her to try out? Shaving, skin care, hair care, pimples, bra sizes, nail care.... there is so much!
When I began reading through The Beauty Book, my first impression was "Now here's a book that can help". This book has it all. It covers the shaving, skin care, hair care, etc. It helps a girl realize that she is beautiful, just the way she is.
Each chapter has questions and answers, 'Check yourself out' (where the girl studies her own body and answers questions about herself), 'How is this a God thing?' (scriptures that correlate to the chapter topic), 'Talking to God about it' (a helpful start to praying, to talking to God), and a Lily Pad where the girl can write a few thoughts.
I look forward to sharing this book with my daughter as she grows and develops into the beauty that God created.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Beauty Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of the book The Beauty Book by Nancy Rue

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was really cute. Its about making girls feel good about themselves and such.
I like the quote on page 10 which says "God doesn't compare us. Jesus doesn't compare us. The world we live in compares us, but who are we supposed to follow? Jesus made it really plain. Love your neighbor as yourself, see scripture Mark 12:31. That means no putting your neighbor down-and no putting yourself down. Period"
I also like how throughout the book there is little quizzes to take with no wrong answers that help you feel better about yourself. The author asks you to describe yourself and I said that I am a normal girl who enjoys treating herself.
All in all I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.