Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised

What are the beliefs of the Christian faith and how did the church come to embrace them? Now more than ever, our post-Christian culture demands a clear explanation of the unique features of church doctrine. Edited by evangelical stalwarts Alister McGrath and J.I. Packer, this fully revised and expanded guide answers key questions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Review 1 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful book

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edward Jordan
Location:Pocatello, ID
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is a piece of art: visually, theologically, and literarily.
It gives a summary of the beliefs of the Christian faith utilizing themes, historical contexts, major theologians and/or influences, and summations of the beliefs. It is not just text, but also sidebars and famous quotes, as well as plentiful visual images.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST HAVE!

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sniper
Location:St. Augustine, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You must have this book! Packed with information. Easy to read and understand. Full of reference and resources. Hard to tell just how many sermons, and class studies are inside this book. If it dosnt meet your expectations then you didnt read the discription of this book! Outstanding! For this price there is not a single reason not to have a copy in your libray!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
GOBAR
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good easy read. The combination of photos and text help to keep the readers interest
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
postitnote
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a 'handbook' guide to christian beliefs. I was looking for something slightly more at a level of systematic theology and scholarly though--ideally with the same amount of (great) figures and images.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
pentecostal sister
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not finished the book but the content so far is great
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read!

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
jrj jr
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
I am about 100 pages into this book and I enjoy it greatly. I would recommend it for all readers, especially those college age. It is great for students of the Bible and I think it would be a good read for those inexperienced in Bible study. It is written with common everyday language, so one would not have to be a church attender to appreciate it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2010
I have found tbs book to be very helpful. I use it when we have bible study with the childrens . The pictures are wonderful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charles Mckenley
Not what I expected and information not very detailed. The book reads like a newspaper or a magazine with few interesting articles.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
cnews
A wealth of knowledge to be had in this book. It is a great companion to the Zondervan Handbook to the Bible which I already had. The quality of the paper is excellent and all the pictures just add to its overall quality. Once again I am very pleased with my purchase from CBD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Beard
This book is an excellent resource that is simple enough that anyone should be able to read and learn from. Yet this book is exhaustive enough that even the academically inclined will benefit from having it at their disposal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Chipps
I am learning so much from this beautiful handbook! My knowledge of Christian beliefs has deepened even though I sometimes get 'caught up' in the philosophy aspect and start thinking too much!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Claudia
This is a high quality book that I was not expecting for such a great price. There is a boatload of information and so well organized, with photos to support the document. A great buy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barb Shabert
This handbook is a great source to accompany in your study of Christ and Christianity. It is divided into 6 categories to make it easier to find what you want to study. I enjoyed reading this book. It has helped me understand a lot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Juranich
This book was recommended by one of our Bible study classes and it has some really interesting things in it. Great addition for your library. We've enjoyed looking things up as a family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mina Fouad Tawfike
Wonderful Book, Just need more information about the history of doctrines and quotes from the NF and ANF
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donald Lebel
Great companion book to the "Zondervan Handbook to the History of Christianity" and so much more.Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kelley Noble
It is a tremendous resource book in dealing with the terminology of the church, doctrines and so forth. The explanations are very cogent. It saves a pastor hours of research. The issues are stated in easy to understand without undue verbiage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Frederick Hood
This is an excellent book on what the beliefs of the Christian faith and why the Church came to embrace them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sam Ostrin
Intellectually satisfying overview of doctrinal demands and nuances. As viewed by one outside Christianity i.e. someone who has no dog in the race, I detect no obvious favoritism towards any single point of view.Perfect companion to "History of Christianity".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zondervan Handbook of Christian Beliefs, Revised
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dr. Carlos Coton
A wonderful addition to any library. Well written, well documented, up to date. Recommended wholeheartedly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.