Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Path Toward Love - eBook

Thomas Nelson A Path Toward Love - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Path Toward Love - eBook
Review 1 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Widow in a Distress

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A Path Toward Love" by Cara Lynn James is the story of a widow in a pickle. Katherine Osborne knows her hasty marriage was a terrible mistake. Yet, now that her husband is gone, all she wants is to quietly live out her life managing the orange groves in Florida that she inherited. Creditors are calling, though, and her parents are pressuring her to return to the wealthy, society life she left behind when she eloped. Desperate for funds, Katherine strikes a deal with her dad. What she doesn’t know, though, is if the deal will grant her freedom to live her life as she desires or keep her in bondage to that which she longs to escape.
The story starts slowly, but builds in intensity as Katherine’s plight becomes layered with distress upon distress. Yet, Andrew, the man who loves her, and her Aunt Letty work together to help her see where to go for guidance and relief. God gives the message she needs to hear through an unexpected source.
As I read, I did find some of the characters, such as Katherine’s parents, Roger, and Andrew’s aunt to be unrealistically manipulative and blinded by wealth and society to truth. I realize that, to a point, their behavior was true of the upper classes of that time in history, yet I would hate to believe that any parent would be that unaware of a child’s needs. Still, I enjoyed the book, and thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for providing a complimentary eCopy for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Path toward love is a sweet love story between childhood sweethearts. Kathleen and Andrew have been best friends since childhood, but a charming rake sweeps Kathleen off her feet and when she moves from New York city to Florida, she and Andrew lose touch. Several years later Kathleen, now a widow, is being pressured by her parents to move back to New York and remarry within their social circle. And Andrew, who is now working for her father, realizes that his feelings for her have never disappeared.
Like most of this authors books, I enjoyed it very much. This book reads slow and sweet with lots of God and faith. mixed in. The characters were well written and the plot flowed very nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hard times abound for our heroine

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tribulations and troubles abound, will Katherine triumph over them?
Katherine is a young widow trying to make a go of her late husband's Orange Grove, the only thing of value that he left to her name. But despite her efforts she just can't make end meet, and in order to get a loan from her prosperous parents, she must do what her mother requires. Which include marrying the son of her mother's best friend. Meanwhile her friendship with her childhood friend, Andrew, is rekindled. Will Katherine be forced to marry a man she doesn't love?
This was a tough book to read, because bad things just kept on happening to poor Katherine! I felt so bad for her! Everything just seemed to stand in her way.
There were some characters that frustrated me to no end, mostly Katherine's manipulative mother, who was just awful! And Randy who was a shallow rich kid who would do anything, including marrying a girl he didn't love, to avoid actually having to do real work.
For me personally, this book moved rather slowly, mostly because I was tough to read about how horrible her parents were. But I liked how Katherine really grew spiritually, and I could relate to how she had a tough time looking past the present problems to a way out.
My favorite character had to be Andrew, who was the perfect hero, with a noble heart that was honorable to the core. He had a strong faith, and he was not only a good guy, but an encourager in Katherine's faith.
Aunt Letty was fun too. She was a spry older woman, who had led a full life, had strong faith and knew her mind.
Overall this tale was one of triumph over seemingly overwhelming odds. The characters were well delveloped, there were ones I loved and ones I strongly disliked. Katherine reallly grew through this testing of her faith, and Andrew was a constant friend who was the soul of honor. I guess for me I just have to say that I had the hardest time reading about all the bad things that were happening, so for me it was tough for me to be fully engaged. So I would recommend this book to fans of the Guilded Age and who like novels where faith is tested.
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow Rainy Day Read

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read a couple of Cara's other books and have enjoyed them overall. They are the slow sweet read for the time when you want something quiet. Not a lot of action or adventure, but sure comes in handy for those rainy days. Doesn't stand out but still a good novel.
A Path Toward Love is not in a series, which is different from her other books. Katherine is a strong character who made a bad decision in the past and is now paying for it. Her parents really made me sick. She finally stands up to them but I had a hard time reading about them.
There is a strong thread through this book about forgiveness and having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Not just an average go to Church and all but one where you pray daily and seek His will for what path to take. Not overly preachy but there is a good amount.
A good book and enjoyable read. Check it out for the rainy day blues.
I received a copy of this book for review purposes. I did not receive any monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Romance And Rebuilding Lives

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara Lynn James in her new book, “A Path Towards Love” published by Thomas Nelson takes us to into the life of Katherine Osborne in 1905.
From the back cover: Katherine came home to forget her past. The last thing she expected was to find her future.
Young widow Katherine Osborne returns to her family’s rustic camp on Raquette Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. She’s determined to live a quiet life, but her socialite mother is equally determined to push her into a new marriage while she’s still young.
Andrew Townsend has known Katherine since they were children. An attorney who is successful, but not wealthy, he knows she is socially out of his reach. But he’s curious about what changed the free-spirited girl he once knew into this private, somber young woman.
Katherine has kept hidden the details of her unsuccessful marriage. When past sins come to light, she must turn to God for the courage to be honest. But how can she trust the God she feels has let her down? When she confides in Andrew, their relationship takes a dramatic turn into uncharted territory.
Amid impossible obstacles, two young people must learn to trust enough to walk the path that God has cleared for them. A path that leads to healing and restoration. A path toward love.
Hurt, emotional trauma and lies, these are the things that drive us forward into areas that we really do not want to go and keep us from the places that we do want to go. “A Path Towards Love” is a delightful read full of atmosphere and history. Katherine is a young widow who was thrust into the world of tending Orange Groves and is in over her head. ”A Path Towards Love” is about being a woman doing business in a “man’s world”. It is about honesty, rebuilding your life and moving forward in a new direction. It is about trusting God and learning to lean on Him for His guidance and direction. Katherine and Andrew are so real Ms James makes us root for their romance to blossom. Ms. James knows how to tell a story that is both interesting and delightful and I recommend it highly.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and business professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Read

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Path Toward Love is a novel written by Cara Lynn James. The year is 1905 and Katherine Osborne is a young widow living in Florida. She is determined to keep the orange groves operating which is the only thing she has left from her husband. Katherine receives news that the manager of the citrus groves is quitting and she's also been denied a loan from the bank. She is wondering what to do when her father and an old friend (Andrew) make a trip from New York to visit. They persuade Katherine to make a visit to her family's camp in the Adirondack Mountains with the promise that they will bring her back to Florida whenever she wants to return. But while she is at the camp, Katherine's socialite mother keeps pushing her into an engagement with a rich family friend (Randy) althought Katherine feels drawn towards humble Andrew. The conclusion seemed obvious to me, but I did enjoy reading this book. It was interesting to see Katherine learning to trust again in the God that she felt had let her down and how she was able to give forgiveness to others and also forgive herself. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Book with great lessons

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
BrandtBookTree
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOOK DESCRIPTION
Katherine came home to forget her past.
The last thing she expected is a hopeful future.
Young widow Katherine Osborne returns to her familys rustic camp on Raquette Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. Shes determined to live a quiet life, but her socialite mother is equally determined to push her into a new marriage while shes still young.
Andrew Townsend has known Katherine since they were children. An attorney who is successful, but not wealthy, he knows she is socially out of his reach. But hes curious what changed the free-spirited girl he once knew into this private, somber young woman.
Katherine has kept hidden the details of her unsuccessful marriage. When past sins come to light, she must turn to God for the courage to be honest. But how can she trust the God she feels has let her down? When she confides in Andrew, their relationship takes a dramatic turn into uncharted territory.
Amid impossible obstacles, two young people must learn to trust enough to walk the path that God has cleared for them. A path that leads to healing and restoration. A path toward love.
Cara Lynn James does a great job of Developing the characters and story line in this book to make it feel like you are living in their time, in their circumstances and walking alongside them.
How many times do we beg God to give us an answer or to clear a path for us and in time (with much heartache and trouble) we realize that if we would have just kept our eyes on him that the path is very obvious?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You're gonna love it!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disillusioned after a disastrous marriage, Katherine no longer trusts her judgment regarding men and love. Although she has no intention of remarrying, Katherine's parents operate with an entirely different agenda, with no regard for her feelings. Initially, Katherine vowed not to conform to their plan, but then they ramped-up the pressure. Her mother schemed and her father threatened, leaving her with little choice. Andrew doesn't have the social standing to strive for Katherine's affections, but that doesn't stop him from loving her.
This is a book rich with colorful characters, both main and secondary, and what seemed like impossible obstacles weaving a beautiful tapestry of forgiveness, restoration and truth. Wonderful imagery settled me right into the sweltering heat of the Florida orange groves and then the rustic atmosphere of the family's lake camp.
Have you ever read a book where the author kept you guessing until the last page if the hero or heroine would eventually make the right choice and find their path toward love? Pun intended. :) Not being familiar with Ms. James's writing style, I was a little worried about getting my happily-ever-after ending, but the author delivered. That doesn't mean the romance between Andrew and Katherine was lacking. Not at all! I found the romance to be sweet and subtle, tender and emotionally satisfying. Nicely done, Ms. James. I'm a new fan and look forward to reading all your books. This book is a "must read" for historical romance lovers, but contemporary lovers will enjoy it, too.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katherine Osborne inherited the Osborne Citrus Groves near Buena Vista, Florida from her husband two years ago, and is now struggling to keep the business from bankruptcy. Her father visits and offers to loan her money on the condition that she returns to the upscale family camp in New York for the summer of 1905. She is reluctant to agree, knowing her mother will try and manipulate her into another marriage - this time, to someone acceptable. Someone like Randy, the son of her mother's childhood friend. Katherine is no longer mourning Charles's death, but his infidelity has left her wary of marriage, especially a marriage arranged by her domineering mother.
We learn more and more about Katherine's marriage as the story progresses, none of it good, and we understand why she is reluctant to want to marry again. Yet as Katherine is forced into a relationship with Randy, she begins to realise that maybe she does still have the capacity to love and the desire to marry again. But will she choose love or obedience, financial risk or security? She turns to Andrew Townsend, Randy's cousin, a childhood friend and now her father's employee, for support.
Katherine was an independent and headstrong heroine, and very likeable. She faced her dilemma with good grace, making the best decisions she could with the information she had (unfortunately, she didn't always have all the information she needed). Her mother was domineering and very hard to stand up to, and her father was a strong businessman, but weak in the way he let his wife rule their marriage.
Andrew was another likeable character, with a strong Christian faith, and not at all bitter that he had to work for a living while his cousin Randy did not. Randy seemed to think he deserved his privileged and unproductive lifestyle (and perhaps he did), but the contrast between the characters showed how overcoming adversity produces character.
I always enjoy a book that can both keep me entertained, yet also make me think, so well done to A Path Towards Love. A historical romance that is well worth reading.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and Booksneeze® for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life after The Ladies of Summerhill

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I saw that Cara Lynn James had a new book out, I was excited as I just adored her Ladies of Summerhill series , a series where the women are strong and have defied the laws of their time by being strong, independent and having a career rather than playing the society wife, which was the norm for this era.
For me , personally I preferred her Ladies of Summerhill series as it added a bit more humour to the stories whereas this new one held a serious tone. In A Path Toward Love , we meet Katherine Osborne, she has been widowed for two years yet it seems in a way that she was widowed longer than that due to the fact her husband was never rarely home. Katherine was left to run the families Orange Groves, trying hard she worked at bringing them back to their old glory but being a women in a man's world of business is a struggle. When her father and best friend Andrew appear for a surprise visit, could this be the opportunity she was needing to move forward ? Of course, though in Katherine's life nothing comes without a price tag attached . Her father agrees to a loan but in return for Katherine visiting home for the summer - it has been seven long years and she definitely has no desire to be flung into society and make a society wife. Of course though , Katherine has another reason she doesn't want to go home . Ever since she was a little girl , her family told her she was to marry Randy - a close family friend but Katherine's heart doesn't belong to Randy and it seems he won't change his playboy ways and is in more ways than one - a replica of her ex-husband Charles. We discover that all along Katherine's heart has belonged to Andrew Knowles - Randy's cousin but in a society where status is everything , will Katherine go along and marry Randy or will she discover that with God on her side, status isn't everything and that a marriage filled with love is more joyful and happier than a marriage filled with plain riches.
A novel that shows like Cara's characters in Ladies of Summerhill , Katherine was a strong, ambitious and independent women who had more sense to belong in a man's world rather than sit on her high perch and drink tea and eat club sandwiches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Path Toward Love, by Cara Lynn James, is a wonderful tale. It addresses many issues, including social class differences, obeying parents, and following God’s will over everyone else’s will.
Katherine Osborne is a high society girl who defies her parents and elopes with a man, only to regret it later. She does, however, enjoy overseeing the family business after her husband dies. But with funds scarce, she agrees to return to her parent’s summer home for a short time in exchange for a business loan from her father. Once there, she finds that her mother has plans for her to marry an old friend, Randy, while she only has feelings for his cousin, Andrew. Andrew, though, is not of the same social class and works as an attorney for Katherine’s father. Her mother finds him totally unacceptable as a husband. Katherine wishes to return home to her business, but her family does not approve of women working outside the home.
I enjoyed reading this book. The characters drew me in as I found myself wanting to scream at Katherine’s parents and wrap her aunt in a tight hug. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Path Toward Love by Cara James is one of the best books I have read in a while. Katherine eloped with Charles Osborne who was the owner of a fairly large citrus grove in Florida but that did not make him of the same social status as Katherine’s family. The family was shocked and shamed by her marriage, especially her mother who never let an opportunity pass to tell Katherine of her disappointment. The best friend of Katherine’s mother has a son named Randy and the two mothers have been planning the marriage of the two since they were toddlers.
Katherine has been a widow for two years and has been trying desperately to keep the citrus groves producing. Her late husband really had no interest in the groves and neglected working to keep the trees productive. Katherine has grown to love the fields of citrus trees and is determined to make a success of the business. Katherine’s father and Andrew, her dear friend from childhood, come to Florida with the intention of taking Katherine back to the family summer home in upstate New York.
With the promise that she can return to Florida in the fall, Katherine finally gives in to the pressure from her father and Andrew and returns to the family summer home. Even though she has fond memories of the lakeside home from childhood she still longs to go back to her citrus groves. She is quite unhappy that her mother and Randy’s mother are constantly shoving her and Randy together. Andrew is the one friend she can turn to but the two mothers do everything they can to keep the two apart. Andrew and Randy are cousins but Randy has money and social standing and even though Andrew is a well respected and successful lawyer he does not have the finances to give Katherine the kind of life that her mother thinks she deserves.
The suspense in the story is not like that in a murder mystery but more like a will she or won’t she kind of suspense. I would definitely call the story a romance. I really enjoyed all the well developed characters even the ones that were not very likeable. The scenes between Katherine and her mother were well thought out and written. I kept cheering for Katherine because she did not care for the life of the rich and idle but wanted to do something worthwhile with her life.
I found the book quite inspiring for the author showed that through faith in God and trust in Him that things usually work out the way we want them to. I was also very entertained by the book and neglected other things to sit and read.
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an exciting romance novel with lots of quirky characters and a satisfying ending.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
A Path Toward Love by Cara Lynn James is about Katherine a young widow. Katherine returns to her family in the Adirondack Mountains. While Andrew Townsend, an attorney who is successful, but not wealthy and is curious about Katherine's changed persona. She begins to talk to Andrew and creates a relationship that both need, which is being guided by God. They both have to over come hardships but make it in the end with lots of love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy read

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Greer, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book description: "Katherine came home to forget her past. The last thing she expected is a hopeful future.
Young widow Katherine Osborne returns to her family’s rustic camp on Raquette Lake in the Adirondack Mountains. She’s determined to live a quiet life, but her socialite mother is equally determined to push her into a new marriage while she’s still young.
Andrew Townsend has known Katherine since they were children. An attorney who is successful, but not wealthy, he knows she is socially out of his reach. But he’s curious what changed the free-spirited girl he once knew into this private, somber young woman.
Katherine has kept hidden the details of her unsuccessful marriage. When past sins come to light, she must turn to God for the courage to be honest. But how can she trust the God she feels has let her down? When she confides in Andrew, their relationship takes a dramatic turn into uncharted territory.
Amid impossible obstacles, two young people must learn to trust enough to walk the path that God has cleared for them. A path that leads to healing and restoration. A path toward love."
My review: A Path Toward Love is another book that I enjoyed reading. Cara Lynn James has written a story that is a quick easy read. There is nothing exceptional about her writing, but she can weave a good story. I was able to finish the story in a couple of days. While not my favorite author, I do look forward to reading more of her books. I received a complimentary e-copy from Thomas Nelson Publishers through their Booksneeze Blogger program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Path Toward Love - eBook
This review is fromA Path Toward Love.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Path Toward Love

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
WorryFreeMom
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a long day of grading, I decided to see what new books were available on BookSneeze. I chose A Path Towards Love by Cara Lynn James, the author of Love on a Dime. I expected a cute book, not the best read ever, and that's exactly what I got.
Katherine Osborne is a widow who is doing her best to bring the citrus groves loved by her late father-in-law back into profitability. However, her wealthy parents, who didn't approve of her marriage in the first place, want her to come home and marry her childhood friend, Randy. Katherine unwillingly makes a deal with her father that buys her some time with the bank holding the loan on her property, but forces her to return home for the summer.
Though she finds time on vacation relaxing, Katherine finds that she is expected to marry Randy. Unfortunately, she doesn't love him. In fact, she finds herself drawn to another childhood friend, Andrew, who is Randy's cousin. Because he is not wealthy, Andrew is not a suitable match. However, Katherine trusts Andrew with secrets about her marriage and finances that no one else knows. She trusts him with her life, but will she trust him with her heart?
Katherine must decide if she will follow her heart and God's leading or do what her parents and "society" find acceptable. The journey is interesting and the characters are developed fairly well. However, the book was not one that I was able to devour. At times the writing felt a little stilted. If you, like me, just need a diversion for an evening, you will like A Path Towards Love. It's a nice, clean romance with a good moral.
**I received a free digital copy of this book from Booksneeze in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.