Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life

Zondervan The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life

Are you seeking your life's purpose? What's most important to you? Family, career, talent, possessions? Early on, Anne Graham Lotz, daughter of Billy Graham and president of AnGeL Ministries, decided that her life's purpose was to know God. In The Magnificent Obsession she shares from her journey and draws inspiration from the life of Abraham. He was the father of nations, and credited as a "friend of God", yet struggled as we all do. In the same way Anne Graham Lotz has sought to follow God despite her shortcomings. Join her on this faith-filled journey and embrace the God-filled life!
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Review 1 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
iluvmesumu
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had issues reading the book because the author made many statements offering them as truth without any biblical facts backing it up. I couldn't get passed the first chapter, it was like reading a Christian fiction book mixed with spiritual advice from a Christian living book, it was confusing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Deep and Personal - Thanks so much!!!

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is another phenomenal book by Anne Grahm Lotz. Her depth and insight in revealing Scriptures is awesome. The way she teaches by telling us how God reveals Himself to her helps me to realize that God speaks to me also. Thank you so much for sharing with us so we can hear God as He speaks to us in our every day lives. God bless you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Praising God for Anne sharing this with us.

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dlkath
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Walk by faith not by sight" is a message we need to be reminded of again and again. Anne Graham Lotz shares her journey along with the journey of Abraham to illustrate how God leads us even when we are not paying much attention to his leading. Thank you, Anne for sharing this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thankful
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoying this book! Exactly what I needed! So much can be learned from Abraham's life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Severson
Location:Mankato,MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book. God has blessed Anne and she is sharing that blessing with us the readers. We are all on a journey.This book shares how one can choose to be on a faith-filled journey that brings so much joy in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read & good points!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dena
Location:California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not completed the book yet ,but so far it is a wonderful read , I just expected a little more Bible Text to confirm a lot of things , which she does not give in her book! I am a firm believer in confirming the word with the word & not my opinion or mans opinion on anything ! That is what I look for in anything I read period , because even the word tells us to confirm the word with the word! My journals I LOVE, because the word is confirmed & I can write my findings below & how THE LORD, spoke to me & that is grate for me! Trust your firm strives to keep THE LORD first in ALL things because HE IS LORD OVER ALL & WE WILL ALL BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR OUR ACTIONS IN ALL AREAS OF OUR LIVES!
IN OUR LORD ~~~~ Dena
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra Paape
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a convicting, practical book. It will help your define your priorities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
From Canada
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne Graham Lotz shows how we can personally seek God and learn to obey Him like Abraham. Anne transports us back to the beginning of Genesis with a vivid imagination and we are able to understand what God did to the lives of Adam, Abraham, Sarah, Hagar, etc. We can easily embrace a God-filled life in our everyday living too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
none
Location:Hamlin, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always, Anne Graham Lotz brings her Christian values to her writing. This book will make you think about your own lifestyle and ask yourself what God means to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all I have to say that I hardly ever write book reviews but I had to write this one and say that it was one of the best christian books I have ever read, if not the best. Great application of Abraham's life to our everyday lives. Easy to understand but at the same with deep conculsions and lessons for XXI century Christian reader. This was my first book by Anne Graham Lotz and I will make sure to read her other books. If you want to better get to know the Lord, You will be happy that this book got into your hands.
Happy reader!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what I read of this book seemed to be wonderful.

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Parsons
Location:Des Moines, Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need to reorder this book. I absolutly loved what I read in the first few chapters but then my daughters dog ate the book so I can't read the rest. There are very few pages left. So I guess I would say her dog has good taste too.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent material

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
dorfie
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the very best books I have ever read. I can use it as a study guide in my daily devotions, and the Holy Spirit continually challenges me through Anne to become more like Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
beeps
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book taking you through the life of Abraham. Excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for spiritual renewal.

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann's study of Abraham reminded me that our walk with the Lord continues on a daily, even hourly, basis. Our knowledge of God's Word must result in ongoing personal change and growth. Her writing is easy to understand and put into practical, personal application.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Magnificent Obsession

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
ds147
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful! My pastor recommended this to me after talking to him. If you are experiencing growth in your walk with Christ and aren't quite sure where to go next this can be a great inspiration. It is very good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thing One
This is a wonderful book. SO uplifting & inspiring..as are all of Anne's books. U cannot write books like this without God's help. I will re-read this on & get it for my friends. Thanx, again, Anne. What a blessing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
kalli
Loved this book. I am reading Pursuing More of Jesus. She is a great author and I love how she incorporates the scripture into her writings. She is blessed and is realistic with not only herself but with her readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sadie
Anne Graham Lotz is a fantastic Bible teacher. I have learned so much from her method of studying the Bible and this book is another wonderful avenue that makes God's Word come alive in my everyday world. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy Noojin
It was my turn to choose for our July reading for our Book Club. I'd aready gotten hooked on Anne Graham Lotz when I read, Just Give Me Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Magnificent Obsession: Embracing the God-Filled Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gloria
This book is great and even greater if your desire is to have a deeper walk with the keeper of your soul Our Father and Savior. Read and give as gifts I have and will continue. Thanks Anne for your total surrender so many can benefit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>