Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts

Zondervan Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts

As the daughter of Billy and Ruth Graham, Lotz has lived among the faithful all her life---and knows that we are quite capable of hurting one another! Drawing wisdom from the biblical story of Abraham and Hagar, she explores the ways in which the wounded can become wounders themselves---and points us toward God's merciful healing grace. 176 pages, hardcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Review 1 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy Anne Lotz's books. Her writing style is very easy read. I love that she writes from her own experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was thrilled with this book. ;

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Toby
Location:CT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled with this book. I had originally heard the author speaking in an interview on a Christian Radio Station. I didn't know who it was until the end but I was fascinated by her comments. I ordered an eBook for myself. After reading less than half, I ordered the book from C. B. to give to a friend & his family for Christmas. It is a very good, informative read and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A much needed book.

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
joyce
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Well written. An encouraging book to those who have been
wounded by God's people.
A testimony of walking with God no matter the circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it was just what i needed to improve my walk

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
viccie
Location:clarkdale,az
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book helped see my wounding and gives me hope to not be a wounder
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I could not say enough how much I loved this book!

Date:December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
VV Boutique Style
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Why did I choose this book:
Anne Graham Lotz is Billy Graham's daughter so she gets immediate cred in my opinion. Then I noticed that the forward is by Beth Moore and that sealed the deal. I knew it would be an invaluable read. Lotz uses the story of Hagar and Ishmael from Genesis to weave her story towards the redeeming power of Jesus to bind up our wounds and heal the brokenhearted.
"...the evidence of her forgiveness would be when she could love the wounders as God loved them."
Notables:
- It was surprising to me to learn that someone like Lotz could have experienced wounding at the hand of other Christians, but after reading the book, I realize this is a very common experience.
- Lotz's emphasis throughout the book is to move past wounds into true healing. She doesn't just talk the talk; she has walked the walk and she gives specific ideas of how you can find healing.
- Focusing on your wounds, nursing them and holding onto them doesn't "punish" the wounder but only keeps you stuck in blindness, bitterness and unforgiveness, which is exactly opposite of what the Bible commands.
- Lotz gently helps the reader to examine both the wounds you've experienced and inflicted (on others and yourself). She even helps readers understand that sometimes God not only allows wounds but wounds us in order to "prune" us, forcing us into new growth and fruitfulness.
- Lotz emphasizes that wounds don't heal themselves nor do we have the power to heal our own wounds; we need to turn to God for true healing. She also emphasizes that there is no expiration date on God's offer to heal us. Anytime, anywhere, anyhow, He is ready when we are. He is standing by waiting for us to call on Him to experience the full blessing of His presence.
- Instead of focusing on our circumstances, Lotz encourages readers to focus on God's Word and God's character.
Bottom line:
My copy of this book is covered in underlines, stars, double underlines and boxes! I could not say enough how much I loved it. I don't even want to put it on my bookshelf, but think I might need to keep it handy for easy reference! Though I think God prepared me to be able to hear and accept the messages in this book, I also liked when Lotz noted that "wounds can be healed. Quickly. You don't necessarily need years of therapy and counseling." Not that those aren't valuable too, but just in case, why not pick up a copy of this book as a starting point towards healing, joy and peace?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Timi2014
Location:Neenah, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this book to anyone who's been wounded by someone who calls themselves a Christian, or been a wounder also... sheds excellent light on the topic & points you directly to the God of all mercy & comfort!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unfortunately Relevant

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joy M
Location:Billings, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very sad commentary that a book by this title and subject needs written - but it does, and Anne has done a very good job of sharing this truth. The good news is that God knows, and He will use even the wounds inflicted by fellow believers to work good in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally from the inside to the outside

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bubblybob
Location:LYNCHBURG VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have been wounded many times, but we just didn't realize that we so often wounded back or wounded others in the process! Anne Graham Lotz puts her own personal life on the line exposing her vulnerabilities, which in turn acted to expose ours. Now, with God's help, we can begin to heal our wounds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Reading

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
reds
Location:NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book teaches you what forgiveness really means - each chapter takes you on another level - one of the best books I have ever read on staying focused on the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness is powerful

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Scranton, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well-written book with personal testimonies. She writes about what every Christian experiences in the church and she gives us Scriptural ways to love, overcome and move on with forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
2tykes
Location:Trout Run, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne Graham Lotz writes with such wisdom & compassion about both being wounded and being a wounder. She really digs into Hagar's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but sometimes hard to follow

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Wounded by God's People" is a Christian Living book about forgiving and healing from deep hurts. The target audience seems to be Christians who have been so badly hurt by other Christians that they are deeply bitter and angry and have completely rejected the church or even God.
From the first few pages, I'd expected more of a Bible study with a focus on how we shouldn't reject God based on how God's people act. So I'd expected a focus on what God is like (compared to his people), but the book focused more on how we ought to respond to Christians when they hurt us. There were some points about how God pursued and had plans for Hagar, but the focus of Anne's stories was more on forgiving others and healing.
Each chapter had two main parts: Anne's speculative retelling of the Hagar story and Anne's stories of how she's been hurt and what she found helped her to heal from that hurt. Hagar's story was mainly used to point out the different ways a person might feel when hurt by one of God's people.
The book was generally easy to follow, but I got stuck on things like God being in the darkness and God using hurt to plow us deep so fruit can grow. I didn't really follow how she was getting that from the Bible, but probably I simply wasn't understanding her metaphors.
To be honest, I found "The Search for Peace" by Robert McGee to be easier to follow and more helpful in leading me to forgive and heal from deep hurts of all kinds. But others might feel that Anne's book speaks to their hearts and touches them where they're at.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher through Booksneeze.com.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help for the Hurting

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her latest book, Wounded by God's People, Anne Graham Lotz gently approaches the subject of being wounded, as well as becoming a wounder, but she doesn't stop there. She also encourages the reader toward repentance, forgiveness, and reconciliation. Through the Biblical story of Hagar, the Egyptian slave to Abraham and Sarah, Anne walks through the painful process of wounding that takes place in the hearts and lives of people, oftentimes inflicted by the people we've grown closest too, in the Body of Christ.
Anne shares from the hurtful experiences in her own past. She walks vulnerably down a road of transparency, as she encourages the reader to take a deeper look into their own life and actions, exposing areas where deeper works of cleansing need to take place. Her thoughts and words are backed by scripture, as she points us toward the God who loves and cares for both the wounded and the wounder. She reminds us that God does hear when we call, even as He heard the voice of Hagar in the wilderness.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has ever been hurt. Even if you think you have everything under control, this is a must read. God has blessings for each one of us, even in hurtful experiences. We have to accept and embrace the times of wounding...but Anne tells it so much more eloquently, so get yourself a copy of this book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Important Read

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne G. Lotz has written an important message for our church culture today. I am a pastor's wife, involved in full time ministry, and I wish everyone I know would invest their time in reading Wounded by God's People. Churches keep trying to change music styles, programming and preachers thinking that one or the other will bring about church growth. I wish every church would hold a class to discuss what Anne has so perfectly said in this book. The early church grew because they had great love for the Lord and great love for one another. People, especially people who have been hurt by another Christian, are becoming disillusioned with the church and often with Christianity. This book will make you think and will probably make you think twice - about the way you speak to and about your brothers and sisters in the faith. Thank you Anne, for an important book with a profound message.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very helpful book

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
storms
Location:tampa florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wounded by Gods people is very hard to put down and a very helpful and very inspirational book. anne graham lotz uses scripture to address the tough and sad problem of those who have been hurt in the church and she shows how you can be given special inspiration from the Bible and how you can given strength for hope for your church to get through your storms also recamended :billy grahams new book the reason for my hope salvation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wounded by God's People: Discovering How God's Love Heals Our Hearts
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Guidance

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Wounded by Anne Graham Lotz is one the best books to read of those of us needing some guidance in dealing with being wounded and or are the wounder in life. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Anne's journey and the many ways to finding ourselves. You might even say this book can be used as a guide to self discovery and forgiveness. I know I thought of myself as a wounded individual but I am more aware that I have been the wounder in several of my familial relationships. This will be one of my must recommend books to anyone interested in some really good readings for guidance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.