Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook

Thomas Nelson Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
Review 1 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing story by a courageous woman

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God bless people with the courage to write about the pain and shame in their childhoods. Fran Elizabeth Grubb's childhood was an unending nightmare no child should ever have to endure, but endure she did. She not only endured but triumphed.
One of seven children, she traveled across the south picking cotton with her parents. Her father was a cruel alcoholic who got meaner when he'd been drinking--which was every day. He beat his wife and children for any or no reason and sexually abused his daughters. Only the love of their mother kept the children sane.
This is an amazing story by a courageous woman who, with the love and help of God and her wonderful husband, overcomes a shattering past to find and reunite most of her scattered family and forgive her father.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Cruel Harvest is a very powerful story of the grace of God in the midst of such awful circumstances. I knew going into reading this that I would be faced with the most evil side of humanity, but wasn't ready for how much of it there was in Fran Grubb's very young life. I would not wish upon anyone to have to go through what Fran went through. The book description is as follows:
"Get out here, now, or I'm gonna kill you!" he hollered.
Little girls are hardwired to hold their daddies in high esteem, so it comes as a shock the first time a daughter feels the back of her daddy's hand across her face . . . or watches him punch and kick her mother to within an inch of her life.
How could this be? Her older sisters teach her how to survive, even when he comes for her in the night.
A girl learns to become invisible, to look the other way, to say nothing when a curious stranger asks if she's okay. To lie. To expect nothing, not even from relatives.
To cry without tears.
To pray silently.
When she is fourteen, and weary, a girl begins to wish she were dead. Cruel Harvest is the compelling story of how she lived instead.
This was an incredibly moving story of how God worked in the life of Fran and her siblings in bringing them out of persecution from their father. This was a tough read, yet I couldn't put the book down. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartbreaking -- but incredible story

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
MuseReviews
Location:Southern USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Of all genres, memoirs are my favorite to read.
That doesn't mean that they're the easiest to read.
Some are just the opposite. Some are very, very hard to read.
Cruel Harvest by Fran Elizabeth Grubb is one of those.
Cruel Harvest tells the childhood story of a young girl named Fran, a small child who, along with her mother and siblings, endures the wrath and abuse (every form imaginable) of their alcoholic father.
Forbidden to attend school, she is forced into labor in cotton fields at a very young age. She has to endure as well as witness numerous acts of violence and abuse, things no child should ever know exist, much less see first-hand.
Through it all, Fran maintains a faith in Christ, and she grows up to have a healthy marriage and a family of her own. She believes that God has told her to share her story in hopes that it will encourage and speak to others, and this is the end result.
I will not sugarcoat this: This book was terribly difficult for me to read. I found myself wincing half of the time. It wasn't a nice book to read at bedtime before settling off to sleep. It shook me to the core and made me angry and heartbroken. Yet it also helped open my eyes to unspeakable horrors that have probably happened to folks all around me -- and that still happen today. Books like this challenge me to look outside of my own comfortable box and consider the pain of others. It also challenges me to stop complaining about things that don't matter. (And there's a lot that doesn't. After reading this book, I bet you'll agree.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book--must read

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cruel Harvest by Fran Elizabeth Grubb
Cruel Harvest is a book telling the hard life of Frances Grubb. She lived the hard life of a little girl in a large poor family who followed the harvest working farms during harvest during the 1950s and 60s. She lived under the thumb of her vicious alcoholic father who regularly beat and raped his wife and 5 daughters. He sold his oldest son for $5 to his brother. Frances learned to cry silently and attempt to be as invisible as possible to avoid her father’s wrath as much as possible. As the children became old enough they would run away from home. The best year of her childhood was when the remaining brother, sister and herself was taken away from their home and put into an orphanage.
Cruel Harvest is sometimes hard to read but Ms Grubb does not just tell the bad parts of her childhood but also tells of the good times. She does not tell her story in a poor me way but rather tells her story mentioning the bright spots that people who tried to help brought into her existence. She tells of her holding on to her faith that her mother had taught her and was strengthened by this as it matured through her life. I would recommend reading this but youth should most likely be in high school to be able to read the hardest parts of the book.
This book was provided for this review by Booksneeze.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deserves a "Top Ten" label

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRUEL HARVEST by Fran Elizabeth Grubb is certainly one of the most interesting, riveting books I have ever read. It is the autobiography of a woman who, along with her mother and siblings, was abused by her father for many years until they, one by one, managed to escape his evil hands, voice and heart.
The reader will find himself experiencing a wide range of emotions as he reads this book...anger, relief, joy...but fortunately it ends on a good one. Probably the most amazing thing was how, as a child, Fran was able to have a spirit of survival which included not only physical strength but spiritual, as she found herself praying to God whom she knew was taking care of her. Her mother was an amazing source of strength and love to her children in the midst of pain and danger.
I would have liked to see more of the spiritual mentioned throughout the book but I have to remember the circumstances in which the author found herself. She did give some more solid thoughts about that which gave me the hope that she experienced, at a later date, a true conversion to Christ. I was pleased to know that she lives here in the south, I have already made contact with her on Facebook and I hope it works out to meet her when she is in the area soon.
(I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a heartwrenching tale

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
mom2maria
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some books make a larger impact than others, and this was one of those. Cruel Harvest: A Memoir by Fran Elizabeth Grubb details the devastatingly dark and painful past and how God redeems her from her past. Frances grew up moving from town to town following the harvest and living in run-down shacks with a father who knew little about caring for and loving his family. He used his words and his hands to hurt those who counted on him to take care of them.
With the help of others she is able to escape the hell she has been living. When Fran finally turns to the Father that can never fail us, she is not disappointed. She is able to move past the hurt and forgive her father and reconnect with the siblings that she was estranged from for years.
This book will tug at your heart and make you cringe to imagine the pain that Frances and her family endure. As a teacher I have students who have less than ideal home situations, but imagining any of them being subject to even a fraction of what occurs in this book would make me sick.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Booksneeze Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Story of Forgiveness

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grabbed the book intent on reading it a little at a time. I finished it in two days, reading at night before bed. As I read Cruel Harvest written by Fran Elizabeth Grubb, I felt extremely blessed and ungrateful for my upbringing, and yet, so sad for this family whom I was reading about.
Mrs. Grubb lived with an evil man whom does not deserve the title of Father. Anything wicked that comes to mind was done to her and her family. She lived with her parents and siblings whom eventually were all separated.
I applaud the author for telling her story in such a way that was true, accurate, compelling, yet tactfully emotional.
The amazing part of this story is the last 10 pages. God is evidently working in this family even through the sin done against these precious children who are now adults. God's forgiveness is so evident and such a testimony to the grace of God and how a life can be changed by His presence and Spirit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cruel Harvest

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
cindy
Cruel Harvest has to be one of the saddest books I have ever read. This Memoir is written by Fran Elizabeth Grubb and it looks at the difficult life she experienced as well as her attempts to reconnect with her siblings and deal with her past. Fran’s father abused his children at every opportunity. They never had enough to eat, were forced to work in cotton fields, and experienced sexual, physical, and verbal abuse. As soon as the children and his wife would escape his abuse, he would find a way to reconnect with the children and convince others he only had their best interest in mind.
I found it very difficult to read this book, since I could not imagine someone living a life like Fran. I was rooting for her to get away from her father, and I liked reading about her in her later phase of life as she reconnected with her siblings. It was amazing to hear she was not a bitter person, rather she seemed to move on with her life and forgive those who hurt her. This shows a great example that no matter what we go through, forgiveness is an important part of moving forward.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Booksneeze Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's love trumps evil

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
debdobalina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Fran Grubb’s memoir, Cruel Harvest, might have been slated to be no more than a dark, depressing tale of woe, were it not for her underlying determination to survive. Coupled with an unshakeable faith in God, that determination saw her through the type of horrific childhood which nearly defies belief. That evil can hold an entire family in its iron grip for so many years, and yet be the means of molding the likes of Fran Grubb is a powerful testament to the reality that God is deeper, broader and more comprehensive than all the forces of hell combined.
This book inspires, moves to tears, but never sinks to the level of sensationalism to which a memoir can easily fall into.
To read this book is to acquaint oneself with a modern-day hero.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Book I have read in so long!

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Boo Bear
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fran Grubb's memoir, Cruel Harvest, passes every book I have read in a long time! This book gives you goose bumps and rockets your emotions! The setting is mostly in cotton fields or shacks surrounding the fields. For a first book, written by a lady who was abused in every way and not allowed to attend school, it blows my mind! Not one hint of pity or feeling sorry for the life that was thrust upon her. I did cry. I also laughed, and shouted with glee when she broke free! When her dad, who sold her brother, murdered her sister and destroyed so many lives, was stuck in the window of the bus, trying to escape the cops, like a snake wiggling out the window, I couldn't sit still! I could almost see the billy clubs flashing in the sun light! If you miss this book you have missed a great book that will bounce your emotions off the charts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cruel Harvest: A Memoir - eBook
This review is fromCruel Harvest: A Memoir.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of the book Cruel Harvet by Fran Elizabeth

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a book that made me cry. This woman talks about how her entire childhood she was beaten by her father and how her father beat up her siblings and mother as well and how it took the courage to run away and stay with other family members in the end that saved her. I like that in the end she ended up getting married and found someone who would treat her right and not abuse her. I read the book in about 2 hours because I wanted to be able to read another book right after. I liked when the author said on page 241 "I had asked God for a man I could pray with who would read the bible and go to church with me. More than anything, I desired to pray together with my mate-to be with someone who was not ashamed to pray in public." This is what a good marriage partner does is pray with you and read the bible with you, etc. When two people invite GOD into their marriage, it is blessed and happy and cannot be pulled apart.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.