Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Heart of the Country - eBook

Tyndale House Heart of the Country - eBook

Faith and Luke Carraway have it all. Faith is a beautiful singer turned socialite while Luke is an up-and-coming successful businessman. After taking his inheritance from his father's stable, lucrative business to invest in a successful hedge fund with the Michov Brothers, he's on the fast track as a rising young executive, and Faith is settling comfortably into her role as his wife.

When rumors of the Michovs' involvement in a Ponzi scheme reach Faith, she turns to Luke for confirmation, and he assures her that all is well. But when Luke is arrested, Faith can't understand why he would lie to her, and she runs home to the farm and the family she turned her back on years ago. Meanwhile, Luke is forced to turn to his own family for help as he desperately tries to untangle himself from his mistakes. Can two prodigals return to families they abandoned, and will those families find the grace to forgive and forget? Will a marriage survive betrayal when there is nowhere else to run but home?

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heart of the Country - eBook
Review 1 for Heart of the Country - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith and Luke Carraday have it all. Faith is a beautiful singer turned socialite while Luke is an up-and-coming businessman. After taking his inheritance from his father’s stable, lucrative business to invest in a successful hedge fund with the Michov Brothers, he’s on the fast track as a rising young executive, and Faith is settling comfortably into her role as his wife.
When rumors of the Michovs’ involvement in a Ponzi scheme reach Faith, she turns to Luke for confirmation, and he assures her that all is well. But when Luke is arrested, Faith can’t understand why he would lie to her, and she runs home to the farm and the family she turned her back on years ago. Meanwhile, Luke is forced to turn to his own family for help as he desperately tries to untangle himself from his mistakes. Can two prodigals return to families they abandoned, and will those families find the grace to forgive and forget? Will a marriage survive betrayal when there is nowhere to run but home?
My Review:
The idea of two prodigals was more than a wonderful idea, it is what truly made this story. Told from a multiple first person perspective, the way Gutteridge presents her characters is breathtaking and true to human emotions and nature. The way Faith struggles with the loss of her mother, the way Luke loves Faith like nothing else in his life, the way Olivia hurts for the absence of her sister, and the way Calvin loves his family no matter what, makes for a heartwarming story that I want to revisit again and again.
And of course, there is the epic battle between which man gets the girl. Honestly, I was torn between which one I wanted to ultimately earn Faith's love. It wasn't a matter of who deserved her more, but even the mere thought of Lee being abandoned by the most precious gift he almost had was just heartbreaking. So I have to give it to Gutteridge - she had me pulling for both men. (I know Faith couldn't have them both!) But even when the book was closed, I couldn't help but think "what if?" Ultimately, this will be a story that stays in my mind and heart forever.
I received a copy of this book by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heart of the Country - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith and Luke Carraday have it all. Faith is a beautiful singer turned socialite while Luke is an up-and-coming businessman. After taking his inheritance from his father’s stable, lucrative business to invest in a successful hedge fund with the Michov Brothers, he’s on the fast track as a rising young executive, and Faith is settling comfortably into her role as his wife.
When rumors of the Michovs’ involvement in a Ponzi scheme reach Faith, she turns to Luke for confirmation, and he assures her that all is well. But when Luke is arrested, Faith can’t understand why he would lie to her, and she runs home to the farm and the family she turned her back on years ago. Meanwhile, Luke is forced to turn to his own family for help as he desperately tries to untangle himself from his mistakes. Can two prodigals return to families they abandoned, and will those families find the grace to forgive and forget? Will a marriage survive betrayal when there is nowhere to run but home?
My Review:
The idea of two prodigals was more than a wonderful idea, it is what truly made this story. Told from a multiple first person perspective, the way Gutteridge presents her characters is breathtaking and true to human emotions and nature. The way Faith struggles with the loss of her mother, the way Luke loves Faith like nothing else in his life, the way Olivia hurts for the absence of her sister, and the way Calvin loves his family no matter what, makes for a heartwarming story that I want to revisit again and again.
And of course, there is the epic battle between which man gets the girl. Honestly, I was torn between which one I wanted to ultimately earn Faith's love. It wasn't a matter of who deserved her more, but even the mere thought of Lee being abandoned by the most precious gift he almost had was just heartbreaking. So I have to give it to Gutteridge - she had me pulling for both men. (I know Faith couldn't have them both!) But even when the book was closed, I couldn't help but think "what if?" Ultimately, this will be a story that stays in my mind and heart forever.
I received a copy of this book by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heart of the Country - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Character Conflict & Family Dynamics are Amazing

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
booksbysteph
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After sixty-two days, Luke Carraway knew Faith Barnett was his soul mate. Since the Carraway family is beyond wealthy, they believe Faith is with Luke for his money. Luke and Faith leave their families out and elope. Then Luke decides to leave the family company to be independent and make a name for himself with competitors, the Michov Brothers.
Faith starts to overhear conversations about the Michov Brothers being a part of a Ponzi scheme. "[A] Ponzi scheme is when a fund...takes the money from new investors and uses it to pay off existing investors' returns on investments. It gives the illusion of profit when there isn't any." Luke promises Faith that he is not involved in anything illegal. But her faith in Luke is shattered when the SEC arrests him "for conspiracy to commit federal securities fraud."
When Luke refuses to answer any of Faith's questions, she packs up her belongings and goes to the only place she can - Columbus County, North Carolina - her family's home. This is difficult for her. The reason why Faith left is because the community wanted her to pick up on the life her mother left behind when she died. But Faith has never really dealt with her mother's death. She left the rest of her family to deal with losing her as well. Now, ten years later, there are mixed emotions about Faith's return.
Back in New York, Luke's scandal has caused everyone to turn away from him. Faith was just the first. Luke is alone and facing prison time, wondering the ways he could kill himself while inside. There is only one direction for Luke to turn and it goes against everything he was trying to do by himself. Plus, he has not heard from Faith and needs to decide whether to fight for her or let her go for betraying their vows. Unexpected news puts a new twist on everything and everyone.
I GIVE THIS BOOK: 5 Stars
It has been so long since I have read a book with so much realistic content, situations and emotions. The character conflict is amazing.
The author uses real life circumstances and writes how real people would act in that situation. Independence, pride, ethics, vows, family and death are just a few of the struggles the characters of this book have to deal with.
Family dynamics play an extremely large role in this story. I found myself comparing my family to those of the two main characters, Luke and Faith. I will say that some actions the family members took surprised me.
I struggled with this book in the sense that I felt connected to the story at my very core. While the 400+ pages seem daunting, it is well worth it. It is a quick read because you will not want to put it down. And I did not. Very emotional. Have a tissue handy.
Until next time, live life one page at a time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heart of the Country - eBook
This review is fromHeart of the Country.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

heart of the country review

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Heart of the Country" by Rene Gutteridge & John Ward is a modern tale of a double prodigal child. Luke is an extremely wealthy second son and Faith is a country girl. Both have left their families for what they feel is are good reasons. Luke later is arrested for a white collar crime and Faith immediately leaves him without finding out any information. Both are a little right and a little wrong. Both have to go crawling back to their families and ultimately each other to mend fences and reconnect.
This is a decent book. It strikes the cord of a Hallmark movie. It is nice, engaging, and romantic, yet kinda predictable and sappy. It is a good book to take with you when you can't really get into a story. A beach read. I would give it a B-. I received this book for free from Tyndale Publishing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heart of the Country - eBook
This review is fromHeart of the Country.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heart of the Country by Rene Gutteridge & John Ward is a wonderful story of love, betrayal, forgiveness, and going home again. The story is told in a first person format through Faith, Luke, Olivia, Catherine, and Calvin the main characters in the story. Faith and Luke are happily married, living in New York City, and by the standards of the world they have it all but things fall apart when Luke becomes involved in a Ponzi scheme. Faith does not give Luke a chance to explain but immediately leaves for her father’s home in North Carolina. Faith’s father, Calvin, is delighted to have her home but her sister Olivia is quite upset with Faith’s return. Luke is hurt by Faith’s leaving and finally has to turn to his family for help in getting through all the problems caused by his desire to be on his own and to make his fortune. The story has the feeling of the Prodigal Son in the Bible and just like him, Faith and Luke have to face their problems head on and admit their mistakes and then ask for forgiveness from their families and God.
Rene did an excellent job in the development of the characters and all the scenes that took place in the story. For me the characters came to life and with the story being told in a first-person conversational style, I felt as if I were sitting and talking with each character. Scenes were so well developed that I could feel what was going on and I was right in the middle of the action. The struggles that Faith and Luke were having with each other and with their families was so well portrayed that I was shedding tears with them and urging them on to get their lives back on track. I liked the addition of Catherine’s thoughts to the story for it helped to show why Faith and Olivia felt as they did about each other.
I highly recommend this book to all who like a love story with a good ending even if the couple have to go through hard times to reach the good times.
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heart of the Country - eBook
This review is fromHeart of the Country.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book about coming home

Date:November 2, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I glanced at the movie for this book before I started reading and I will be honest, I was worried I might not like the book. But I had to remind myself that books are almost always better than movies and that was the case for Heart of the Country.
I really enjoyed this modern telling of the prodigal. I liked being in the head of the older sister (Olivia) who stayed with her dad while her younger sister (Faith) left --something I can relate to personally -- and watching her heart soften and their relationship heal.
There is a very moving moment that brought me to tears (always a good sign that I like a book) when Luke's dad stands up for his son. A beautiful picture of what Christ does for us. It reminded me of how God uses me and my story, as messy as it is, to help others. I know He has my back and He's not ashamed of me because I am His daughter.
There are a few twists and turns in the plot that will having you flipping pages to find out what happens next and how God will heal Faith and Luke's marriage. This is a great Genesis 5020 story.
After reading the book I think I can appreciate the movie more and plan on giving it another chance now that I have a better understanding of the characters.
Overall, I enjoyed this book and recommend it as a great reminder of Christ's amazing love for us all.
A copy of this book was given to me by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heart of the Country - eBook
This review is fromHeart of the Country.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A heartfelt story of overcoming one's past.
Faith and Luke have a fairytale life... until Luke is arrested for being a part of a Ponzi scheme. He claims he wasn't involved, but admits to his knowledge of the scheme. Frustrated and angry, Faith packs a suitcase and walks out the door going to the place she once called home.
This story hooked me on the first page and made it hard to put down. Conflict loomed on every page, I truly didn't know what direction the story was headed. I went from page to page curious to the outcome. There were many instances I was concerned emotions would be downplayed or overdone; however, the authors handled each character with delicacy and stayed true to life.
That being said, some situations in the book were confusing and didn't make sense, such as Luke's role with the Michov Brothers. It was probably due to all the head jumping. Thankfully, when I watched the movie, it clarified what was going on. Other than that, I enjoyed the writing and depth to the plot and story, something that can't be shown on screen.
To sum up, I enjoyed the book a lot, but the movie let me down. You wouldn't think there would be so many differences or nuances, especially when the screenplay writer helps write the novelization. Yes, I like my movies to stay true to my books and in this case the saying is true, the book is always better than the movie.
I received this book from Tyndale in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heart of the Country - eBook
This review is fromHeart of the Country.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith and Luke Carraday have it all. Faith is a beautiful singer turned socialite while Luke is an up-and-coming businessman. After taking his inheritance from his father’s stable, lucrative business to invest in a successful hedge fund with the Michov Brothers, he’s on the fast track as a rising young executive, and Faith is settling comfortably into her role as his wife.
When rumors of the Michovs’ involvement in a Ponzi scheme reach Faith, she turns to Luke for confirmation, and he assures her that all is well. But when Luke is arrested, Faith can’t understand why he would lie to her, and she runs home to the farm and the family she turned her back on years ago. Meanwhile, Luke is forced to turn to his own family for help as he desperately tries to untangle himself from his mistakes. Can two prodigals return to families they abandoned, and will those families find the grace to forgive and forget? Will a marriage survive betrayal when there is nowhere to run but home?
My Review:
The idea of two prodigals was more than a wonderful idea, it is what truly made this story. Told from a multiple first person perspective, the way Gutteridge presents her characters is breathtaking and true to human emotions and nature. The way Faith struggles with the loss of her mother, the way Luke loves Faith like nothing else in his life, the way Olivia hurts for the absence of her sister, and the way Calvin loves his family no matter what, makes for a heartwarming story that I want to revisit again and again.
And of course, there is the epic battle between which man gets the girl. Honestly, I was torn between which one I wanted to ultimately earn Faith's love. It wasn't a matter of who deserved her more, but even the mere thought of Lee being abandoned by the most precious gift he almost had was just heartbreaking. So I have to give it to Gutteridge - she had me pulling for both men. (I know Faith couldn't have them both!) But even when the book was closed, I couldn't help but think "what if?" Ultimately, this will be a story that stays in my mind and heart forever.
I received a copy of this book and DVD by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heart of the Country - eBook
This review is fromHeart of the Country.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Such a good story!

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this book was good. The characters were real, the emotions were real. Faith is beautiful and strong, in a quiet way. She is also a little selfish and lacks self confidence, especially after what happens to Luke. Luke strikes me as a loyal, loving man who is also selfish. While he lives a very priviledged life, I don't feel like he is greedy in any way, but selfish in that he wants to make his own way in the world, not live in the shadow of his family. Olivia is beautiful and strong in her more outgoing, "bossy" way. She is learning to trust the sister who ran away when times got tough.
The story was good. I just felt like something was missing. I didn't feel like I could connect with any of the characters. The plot was good, but I felt like Faith should have been more angry or fought harder instead of just running from Luke. I think Luke should have fought harder in the beginning to explain things to Faith and to keep her. I did think it was cool how the author included snapshots of Catherine's thoughts. It helped bring the story together and kind of explained the reason why the sisters were like they were as only a mother can do.
Overall, even though I felt like something was missing from this story, it was still good. It was a sweet read, and a modernized version of the story of the Prodigal Son. God is always there for you, no matter what. He is waiting, with open arms, to welcome you home. Never forget that!
**I received a complimentary copy of the book and the movie from the publisher in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heart of the Country - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mesmerizing Tale of Love and Loss

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A mesmerizing tale of prodigals.
Faith and Luke are from all outward appearances the perfect couple. But when Luke, a young businessman get's caught up in a messy deal things start to unravel. Faith leaves Luke and goes back home to Carolina, while Luke waits it out in New York City. Heart of the Country is a story about forgiveness and rebuilding relationships in today's rush-rush world.
Heart of the Country is written in a refreshing, first-person, conversational style that makes it feel as if the character in telling you their story face to face. I'm going to be honest, I didn't understand completely why Faith up and left Luke without giving him time to truly explain what was going on. Because I that she left him at the time when he needed her most, when they should have drawn together instead of pulling apart.
The story is told from the first person perpective, by 5 different characters. Which can at times be confusing, if you forget who you're reading about at the moment, but I thought that the unique style was refreshing. Luke and Faith both struggle not only in their relationahip with each other, but also with their families. Faith goes back to her roots to reconnect with her father and sister, after the tragedy that drove them apart, slowly rebuilding those lost relatinships and building friendships with the other characters in the community. My favorite character was Lee, I think there should be a sequel just so he can find someone special ;) He was a man of faith who had a beautiful gift of being able to help his patients not just physically--Lee is a doctor. And I also loved Calvin, Faith's dad, he was a wise man who knew where he was going, and he imparted alot of wisdom before he got there :)
There were times in the story when I doubted that Luke and Faith would get back together because of the lack of interaction between the two of them, and very little time was focused on them rebuilding their realtionship. I questioned alot of their actions when they were separated. And I that they were more than a bit hasty in expecting and being OK if divorce did happen.
Overall, Heart of the Country did have its heart warming moments, and though it wasn't obvious in its Christianity there was the main thread that was a bit like The Prodigal Son and the theme of forgiveness and rebuilding relationships.
Heart of the Country is being made into a movie! Be sure to check out the website ! And Check out the special $2.99 ebook sale, going on now, when you pruchase the ebook you will receive a special code that let's you enter the Star for a Day Contest! Contest ends March 15th, 2012.
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review, but simply to state my honest opinion. Thanks :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heart of the Country - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Modern Retelling of the Prodigal Son

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heart of the Country is a modern retelling of the prodigal son, Faith and Luke have been living the fairytale life, Faith from a small southern town has gone from country farm girl to being a member of the Carraway family, a well to-do family living the high life in New York. When Luke gets in trouble with the law Faith has no idea how to respond and heads home after ten years of being out of contact.
Luke finds himself alone and struggling and without Faith finds himself turning back to his own family that had also been separated for a time. This book is a story of forgiveness and redemption and a reminder that we have a Father that is always awaiting for us with open arms.
The story was good and I will be interested to see the movie; however, I struggled with being able to connect to some of the characters and to understand their motives behind things. I feel there could have been more character development on a personal level but overall I really enjoyed this story.
I received this book complimentary from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
When you purchase this E-book you will receive an entry into the Link to Heart of the Country Star for a Day contest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heart of the Country - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Prodigal Daughter Returns

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith Carraway is a country girl turned socialite. She is married to Luke Carraway and madly in love. She wants for nothing. Before she married Luke she lived to sing but no longer has time for her passion of song or for her family back home. Luke's brother is not to accepting of Faith in the Carraway family and does not think this little country girl fits into the Carraway's social circles.
Faith and Luke live the fairy tale relationship until Luke decides to leave the family business and invest in a hedge fund with the Michov Brothers. Then the fairy tale turns into a nightmare when the Michov's alleged Ponzi scheme threatens Luke's livelihood and his marriage.
Faith feels betrayed by his lies and possible involvement in this scheme. Without even a backwards glance she leaves her socialite life behind and heads back to her country life to stay with her father and get her life back on track. Her sister is not too happy to have Faith return home like the Prodigal daughter. But her father is ecstatic to have his little girl back home.
There is so many facets to Faith's story. The pending lose of her marriage, her estranged relationship with her sister and the nurturing relationship with her father. She finds her roots to be healing and it draws her into a renewal of her spirit. She struggles to accept God's will in her life and can't seem to figure out where she belongs or where she is headed in life.
So many people go through these same trials in their life. God has a plan and we don't always agree with that plan. But if we just let go and let God do his job His plan will be fulfilled.
I highly recommend this book.
I rate this book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure
I purchased a copy of this book from Barnes and Noble and reviewed book for Tyndale House Publishing . I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.