Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1

Barbour Publishing Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1

Ride the rollercoaster of Shiloh Jacobs's life as her dreams derail, sending her on a downward spiral from the heights of an AP job in Tokyo to penniless in rural Virginia. Trapped in a world so foreign to her sensibilities and surrounded by a quirky group of friends, will she break through her hardened prejudices before she loses those who want to help her? Can she find the key to what changed her estranged mother's life so powerfully before her death that she became a different woman-and can it help Shiloh too?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Review 1 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So glad I read this book.

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Southern Fried Sushi is a pleasant surprise. I met Shiloh in Japan, her adopted home country, along with the people and a career she saw as important to her life. Soon she hears of the passing of her estranged mother and is transported to Virginia to settle her mother's estate. However life as Shiloh knows it totally unravels and she finds herself stuck in a culture and a town she is completely unfamiliar with. In reading the book, I got to see Shiloh transformed by the new situations she faces and by the unconditional love shown her through her mother's friends who become her friends. The author of Southern Fried Sushi allows life to happen and encompasses all the emotions that comes along with it. It's a good read and I believe many will enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Cute story

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
TechyLady
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to read story. Good use of dialogue to reflect cultural and linguistic peculiarities. As a ebook, it was difficult to read because words rantogether about once per page. That makes it difficult toconcentrate on the story line. Youknowwhat I mean? Is this a problem from the publisher?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bless
Location:UAE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed reading this book. Simple story line but good solid characters. A good read for all age groups. Eager to read the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpected and enjoyable

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
kegutierrez
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m not a huge fan of what some might call “southern type” reading, however, I have to say that when I picked up “Southern Fried Sushi”, its content was not only unexpected, but enjoyed. Shiloh Jacobs is the relatable main character who speaks her mind, often saying what the rest of us are thinking, but wouldn’t dare vocalize. Her circumstances change when a forced move drives her from her beloved Tokyo to rural Virginia. As Shiloh deals with the loss of her engagement, the death of a mom she hardly knew, and a new set of quirky friends, she learns what it means to not always be in control…and often to ask for help.
I appreciated that this novel had a steady, enjoyable plot, but enough twists that someone (like myself) who enjoys the occasional Christian suspense novel wasn’t at all bored. The author’s writing style is unique, punchy, and often quick at times. Her ability to dive into her main character and flesh Shiloh out was impressive, as Shiloh wasn’t a carbon copy of many single female characters being written about today.
Through the eyes and circumstances of Shiloh, author Jennifer Rogers Spinola addresses what some might call some tougher issues: infertility and forgiveness being two such examples. As the main character and her friends live their lives and search for answers, these “Christian” issues are addressed, but in a way that isn’t shoved down someone’s throat. That was appreciated as I can see myself handing this book over to a neighbor or friend who doesn’t yet know God.
The stage is also set for a romance between Shiloh and the town gardener, a man named Adam. However, there was so much more to this novel than the classic “guy gets girl”. I’m looking forward to reading the sequel, “Like Sweet Potato Pie” and picking up where the first book left off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Read with a Great Message!

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura J
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary: When Shiloh P. Jacob's mother passes away suddenly, Shiloh leaves her fast-paced life in Tokyo, Japan (where she's a reporter for AP and engaged to Carlos) to bury her mother in Virginia. While she is coming to terms with the death of her mother, who was never a real mother, Shiloh loses her job and her fiance. Stuck in redneck country, Shiloh has to put together the pieces of her life with a little help from some country folk.
My thoughts: The first few chapters had too many details and not enough action, but once Shiloh sets foot in Virgina, the story picks up and becomes a great read. The author's fun style is evident in the vivid, colorful characters (although a bit stereotypical of the South). The character development of Shiloh is heart-felt and authentic. The supporting characters of Becky and Faye are quirky additions and epitomize what's best about the South.
The spiritual truths are evident but not preachy...it's more of a development of character than a lecture to the reader.
I loved this book: from the cute cover, to the notebook Shiloh keeps of Southern sayings, to the roses in her mother's garden, to the truth that with God, things can bloom again.
I received this book in exchange for my review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From Japan to Virginia With No Way Back....

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Southern Fried Sushi by Jenifer Rogers Spinola
The story is told through the eyes of the main character Shiloh P. Jacobs. She is living and working as a reporter in Japan. She spends her money on keeping up her image and on frivolous things. Her fiance, Carlos, is from Argentina and is quite the looker. She is estranged from her parents. When her dad left when she was seven her mom kind of lost it and now that she made a name for herself she was fine without them, even though her mom had been trying to reconnect.
And then Shiloh's world falls apart. She gets the phone call that her mom has died and left her a house. She ends up in Virginia with a bunch of rednecks. While there, she also loses her job and Carlos. But in the pit of her loss, God is calling her. Through her moms friend, Faye. Through Adam Carter and his friends Tim and Becky. And many others along the way.
I liked that Shiloh did not just automatically accept Christ. It was a process for her to believe and was written in a realistic way. Shiloh has to lower her expectations in life as well. She has to get jobs while in Virginia to pay off her huge debts and they are not jobs she normally would have worked, she has to deal with the fact that her mom had changed and that she had refused to talk to her. Through her moms death, Shiloh eventually finds life.
First book in the series.
**Received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shiloh Jacobs has the world on a string. She’s working a job she loves earning numerous awards in journalism, working towards her master’s degree and is engaged to the man of her dreams.
What could possibly go wrong?
Plenty!
The credit card bills are piling up, her fiancée is making eyes at his new female (supposedly platonic) “roommate”, and in order to keep a deadline Shiloh resorts to borrowing quotes from an internet source. Hoping and praying she doesn’t get caught, she swears to herself it will only happen this once.
Southern Fried Sushi is an amusing read, full of funny mishaps and intriguing characters. The title alone would make me buy this book! I love the multi-cultural theme that Jennifer weaves all through this story.
The ongoing crisis in Shiloh’s life kept me hooked and I kept reading to find out how she was going to pull through. I really enjoyed the easy style in which Jennifer wrote this book and also the setting; it’s not everyday that you read about a southern girl living in Japan! The interjections of southern terms and phrases were the icing on the cake for me; it made Shiloh completely believable and authentic. I cannot wait to read the next book in this series and I highly recommend this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not to be missed!

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roger Bruner
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I don't normally read contemporary women's fiction, but Jenny Spinola's Southern Fried Sushi is a delightful exception. Because of Jenny's experiences in Japan, Brazil, and the American South, she has a unique and irresistible point of view. As a journalist who started writing Christian fiction while living in Brazil and continually seeks to perfect her craft, she knows and applies the ins and outs of excellent writing. And as a fine Christian young adult--younger than this man, anyhow--she has a heart for the readers' spiritual needs without being objectionably preachy.
Southern Fried Sushi is just the first book in the series, though. Unless you're incapable of being moved by exceptional writing that has you rolling on the floor in laughter one minute and reaching for the box of tissues in tears the next, I know you'll join me in looking forward to the next two books in this series.
And to many more novels after that. Jenny's a winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Southern Fried Sushi by Jennifer Rogers Spinola

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
KimW
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Shiloh P. Jacobs has everything — the perfect job, the perfect fiance, the perfect life in Japan — but when her estranged mother dies suddenly, Shiloh must travel to the South to confront her past. Shortly after burying her mother, Shiloh loses her job, her fiance, and is hopelessly penniless. Since her mother left the house and car, Shiloh must move into her mother’s house and temporarily build a life for herself in a world that is so different and foreign to her. The small rural town of Churchville, Virginia is southern to its core and Shiloh must learn to navigate the language and ways of her new neighbors and friends. As much as Shiloh has lost, she still searches for a purpose and a new job to pay the bills — she searches for the mother she never knew or understood and the life that she wants to live.
I thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful story of a young woman’s search for God. I loved how God’s story of redemption was seamlessly woven into the plot and how Shiloh learns to accept the kindness and forgiveness of people she makes fun of. Her search for her Savior is so real and heartfelt — I cried as she cried out to God for answers and healing. My favorite part of this book was that the romance is between Shiloh and God. This story is her journey as she searches for the God that her mother found and the God who changed her mother’s life so dramatically.
All of the author’s characters have depth and force you to fall in love with them. They each struggle and triumph in their own lives the way people do in real life. This book made me want to visit the South in all its glory. As a reader, I enjoyed the southern hospitality and food descriptions since I am unfamiliar with the South. I did find it a little strange that Shiloh didn’t know her U.S. history very well but the story was still a pleasant read. I look forward to the next book in the series, Like Sweet Potato Pie, when it comes out in March 2012.
I would definitely recommend this read to anyone who enjoys a story about a girl searching for God in an unlikely place.
I received this book for free from NetGalley.com and Barbour Publishing but I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Southern Fried Sushi, Southern Fried Sushi Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is written in the first person, which may put some readers off. However, I would encourage those people to give it a try – they will be pleasantly surprised. Shiloh, the narrator, is an award-winning journalist who grew up in New York and who is now working for Associated Press in Tokyo and engaged to Carlos, an Argentinean expatriate also based in Tokyo. She is hardworking, ambitious, loves all things Japanese (particularly the food), and never wants to leave, particularly as she is estranged from her flaky mother and the father who abandoned them both.
The sudden death of her mother forces Shiloh to return to the States to attend the funeral and deal with the estate. Here, she meets a number of Christians in the very best sense. These are not just characters who say grace before meals and attend church on Sunday. These are the Christians we should all aspire to be – people who praise God, who trust in Him in all circumstances, who reach out and befriend others, and who actively talk about their faith in a natural way because God is such an important part of their lives. Shiloh discovers that her mother had changed dramatically from the flaky woman she remembered, and as she begins to understand what caused those changes, Shiloh, too, begins to change.
I really enjoyed Southern Fried Sushi. It is a well-written novel with a cast of likable characters, and some very funny scenes around Southern cuisine – as a New Zealander, I could certainly understand the culture shock Shiloh felt in moving from Tokyo to small-town Virginia. While it is not a traditional genre romance (with the boy-meets-girl, fall-in-love, live-happily-ever-after formula), it is a romance in the sense that it describes a series of relationships built on love - relationships between friends, between husband and wife, between us and God. It preaches a clear gospel message without falling into a trap of saccharine sermonising. This is what Christian fiction should be. Best of all, the sequel is due to be published in March 2012, so readers won’t have to wait long to find out what happens next!
Thanks to NetGalley and Barbour Publishing for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.