Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3

Barbour Publishing Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3

Former award-winning Tokyo journalist Shiloh Jacobs has returned home to Virginia, become a Christian, and met the man of her dreams---all within the last year! But when she's thrown into investigating a cold case involving a woman who disappeared, she becomes the criminal's new target. Will she make it to her wedding alive?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Review 1 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
This review is from'Til Grits Do Us Part - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down.

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rupie
Location:Troutville, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This series of books were great. They had all the elements of a story that grabs you and won't let go until you finish. Shiloh doesn't try to get into trouble, but it seems that trouble always has a way of finding her. The books were well written and they made me want to find more books by this author. They were funny but also brought tears to your eyes. I was so glad that it had a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting town and people

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is part of the Southern Fried Sushi series. You do not have to read the others in the series but I would recommend doing it. You will better understand the characters and their interactions if you take the time to read the others. The main characters are unique and the setting is described well.
I gave this book of the series 4/5 stars. I like the characters and the plot but did not think this book flowed well. I felt like it jumped around too much for me. I also think the stories could have all been put into one book instead of the three so far. It would have made the stories more interesting. I also did not find much of a Christian influence written in the story. It felt like I was reading a typical mystery book not a Christian one.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laugh out loud fun!!

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'Til Grits Do Us Part is the third book in the Southern Fried Sushi Series by Jennifer Rogers Spinola.
This was the first book I have read by Jennifer and it will not be the last. This one made my smile, laugh out loud and at times want to cry with Shiloh the main character in the book. It can stand on its own, but I would suggest reading books #1 and #2 before this one. You get clues to the plot lines in book #1, Southern Fried Sushi and book #2 Sweet Potato Pie, but I found myself wanting to know the previous stories as well.
Shiloh is a big city girl who has been transplanted in a small town in Virginia, which adds a whole lot of fun to her adventures in 'Til Grits Do Us Part. The "cow tipping" scene in the first chapter was so funny and took me back to when I fell in love and married a small town Virginia boy myself. The characters are well developed and the mystery aspect of ‘Til Grits Do Us Part is brilliantly executed. If you are looking for a mystery, love story, and lots of quirky laugh out load moments then the Southern Fried Sushi series is for you. I just bought the other two books and plan to read them soon.
I received this book from Net Galley and Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exciting Conclusion To This Series

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer Rogers Spinola in her new book, “Til Grits Do Us Part” Book Three in the Southern Fried Sushi series published by Barbour Publishing Inc. brings us back into the life of Shiloh Jacobs in Staunton, Virginia.
From the back cover: It’s all coming up roses.
Or it should be. Engaged to the last man she’d ever thought possible, Shiloh Jacobs is making a go of small-town life in rural Staunton, Virginia –writing again, planning a wedding, and about to sell the house that will make her dreams come true.
But instead of pre-wedded bliss, Shiloh finds herself virtually alone in Redneckville with no family to help her, no money, and no time to plan a wedding. Especially to a man as different as Adam Carter.
While covering an unsolved news case about a missing woman, things go from bad to worse for Shiloh–starting with mysterious rose bouquets and disturbing letters that link to her mother’s past. The more Shiloh tries to put her mother’s troubled history behind her, the more tangled in the case–and in the stalker’s sights–Shiloh becomes.
Forced to face her past secrets while on the run from a madman, can Shiloh identify the stalker before he strikes again? And as one dream after another falls flat, can she and Adam put aside their differences before it’s too late?
“‘Til Grits Do Us Part” is the last book in this series and, I believe, is the best of the three. Shiloh finds that she cannot really go forward until she deals with all the issues from her past. Unresolved past issues will hinder future movement as those issues will mire us down unless they are dealt with. To make matters worse there is a madman stalker on the loose and he has targeted Shiloh unless she can figure the whole mess out in time. Ms. Rogers Spinola is at her clever best and not only gives us a nice romance but wraps up the plot threads that have been dangling over the last two books. “‘Til Grits Do Us Part” is a an altogether enjoyable read. I am sorry to see this series end however I do look forward to more from this very talented writer.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Barbour Publishing Inc. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid End to Trilogy

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
‘Til Grits Do Us Part is the final book in Jennifer Rogers Spinola’s debut Southern Fried Sushi series. Becky and Tim are still making fun of Shiloh's culinary tastes (I've never eaten grits, but where I come from, grit is dirt, so I don't think I'd want to. I do, however, love sushi).
Shiloh has a wedding to plan, a car in dire need of repair, no money and a fiancé who hasn't even kissed her yet, (just in case doesn't have enough problems already) she also appears to have a stalker who sends her red roses with creepy notes. The stalker then goes one step further, and starts leaving threatening messages for her friends.
I really enjoyed the passages where Shiloh was reminiscing about her time in Japan. Even though I've never been there, I could understand her feelings. After all, at some point or another, we all have to say goodbye to someone or something we love, often before we're actually ready.
However, I have to say that I found several of the characters, especially Becky, rather annoying. This is probably because the focus of ‘Til Grits Do Us Part was more on the mystery and less on the development of the characters and their relationships. The pace felt much faster than in the previous books, and the number of characters and subplots made it harder to follow. For this reason, while the novel was enjoyable enough, I think it was the weakest of the trilogy. However, I will still look forward to new books from this author.
Thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quirky. Funny. Charming.

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I came into this series a bit blind…but came out laughin’ and lovin’. When I purchased the second novel “Like Sweet Potato Pie”, I didn’t know I was getting the second book in a three part series. But I loved it. It was quirky. Funny. Charming. So I requested the third title “Til Grits Do Us Part” for review (I’m still waiting on getting that first novel. ;-).
Aside from the titles being stinkin’ cute (!), the stories are goofy, but serious. Involving with characters that steal the show. Much is going on in this third book and Shiloh’s life. I didn’t expect a stalker in a chick-lit-type book, but oh there was. And the stalker is determined to ruin all of her long-planned wedding dreams. I wasn’t even sure where would be a wedding (except for the whole concept of “happily ever after” and that title.)
The secondary cast of characters have charm aplenty and an accent that couldn’t be found anywhere but in the deep South. I have no point of reference that the accents were even remotely accurate, but I loved the voice!
For the most part, I listened to my Kindle read this book to me. You can tell a good book when a computer’s voice can make the story interesting. Now I just need to go back and read the beginning of Shiloh’s journey!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers through Netgalley for my ARC to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shiloh's back with more fun and adventure!

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shiloh Jacobs is back, with more mishaps and adventure. If you missed the first book in this series, (Southern Fried Sushi), you can check out my review of that here.
Til Grits Do Us Part is the third book in this series, and I do believe its helpful to read these in order. This book follows in the style of the first two with interesting, colorful characters and plenty of twists, turns and drama.
Shiloh is STILL planning her wedding, only this time to a man who is worlds apart from the guy we meet in the first book, both literally and figuratively. And this time, the author throws in a murder mystery to keep things moving.
If you haven't had a chance to read this series, I strongly encourage you to get them all! I love the multi-cultural theme the author brings to her stories, and how she manages to make all of her quirky characters work together in each book. And as I mentioned before, the use of southern terms and phrases appeal to my "southern roots" and keep me hooked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Til Grits Do Us Part, Southern Fried Sushi Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Southern Fried Sushi Book 3

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'Til Grits do Us Part by Jennifer Rogers Spinola
Southern Fried Sushi Series Book 3
Shiloh P. Jacobs is back again with a new adventure. It’s almost a year ago she drove her rental car into this hick town and she spent most of that year trying to escape out of it. Mourning her time in Japan as she thinks about the sites, sounds, subways and culture of her beloved Tokyo verses the blaring music, jacked up trucks and lack of sushi in Staunton, Virginia.
Suddenly Shiloh's boring life changes when it goes from planning her wedding to Adam to the possibility of a murderer being back in town. Twelve years ago a woman disappeared and was assumed dead. Working at The Leader, the local newspaper, Shiloh is trying to avoid taking on this story….unfortunately it seems she might not have a choice when she gets pulled into it. Willing or not.
To follow the entire adventure of Shiloh P. Jacobs you will definitely want to read the first two books in this series: Southern Fried Sushi and Like Sweet Potato Pie. This book brings back all the quirky and crazy characters you’ll meet in those first two books. Kyoko, her goth loving friend she worked with in Japan, Adam her fiance, and Tim and Becky are a married couple that are about as redneck as they come….and proud of it! This book has romance, mystery and plenty of humor. So make yourself a nice bowl of grits and join the fun.
**Received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.