Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook

Tyndale House Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook

One August evening, Robert and Melissa Rogers and their four young children were driving home from a family wedding. Caught in a flash flood, their car washed off the road-and Robert's family was swept into eternity. As a husband and father, he felt unbearable loss. Yet his story didn't end there. Into the Deep reveals the compelling story of believing despite tragedy . . . and how each of us can stand on the Rock, Jesus Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Review 1 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rivetting

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
BobD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am noit an avid reader, but once I picked this up, I couldn't put it down. Finished it in 9 hours. What an inspiration for those in grief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put this book down

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An exceptionally inspirational book. Amazing story of excruciating tragedy and how this man's faith brought honor and Glory to God, even to this day!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christina Melton
This story was sad,yet inspiring to how we all should be strong in our faith even in the most horrific times.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elaine Stutzman
This is a very touching book. It is a book about how God brought beauty out of a terrible tragedy. Highly reccomend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Rice
A riveting book!! What a wonderful testimony to God's faithfulness through this his of tragedy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Cribbs
What an amazing testimony! This man describes how he walked through an enormous tragedy and how he found joy and God's Peace during that unspeakably awful time. It has helped me gain knowledge to "lean not on our own understanding, but in all ways, acknowledge Him."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Rosenquist
This story has probably affected me more than anything I've ever read. I didn't know it was possible to have that much faith. Robert is a remarkable human being and God is using him "Mighty in the Land"! If you only read one book this year, this is the one to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Katherine Martinez
Very interesting book - riveting how some one could lose so much but be held up by our Lord...very good read....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Maclagan
"Into the Deep" was a heart-wrenching read. As of mother of 8, I couldn't imagine surviving his nightmare! What a testimony Robert is of the grace and peace that passes ALL understanding!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dogg Hardardottir
You will have to have a handkerchief by your side while you read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tamara
This book was both sorrowful and joyful. My eyes welled up with tears for Robert Rogers as I read about his life's story. However, Robert did not give up on God, and God brought Robert through a valley that I cannot even imagine walking through. This book makes you appreciate the blessings you have, and the people you share your life with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Into the Deep: One Man's Story of How Tragedy Took His Family but Could Not Take His Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
After a summer of drought on the Plains, the heavy rain during the Labor Day weekend of 2003 was considered a blessing by most people even if it dampens some of the outdoor activities. In Liberty, Missouri, Robert and Melissa Rogers and their four young children (eight years old Makenah Alexandra, three years old Nicholas Adam, Downs syndrome six years old Zachary Seth and adopted special needs child twenty-one month Alenah YenWing) attend the wedding of Melissas Uncle Mark in Wichita, a 200 mile drive. After the ceremony they head home with the torrent getting worse. Near Jacob Creek, a river floods the road. Melissa and the kids drown while Robert survives as he says by the grace of God washing him away. His faith already strong becomes even deeper as he mourns his loss, but knows his loved ones are in a better place walking with God.This is a powerful true story of how faith in God sustained Robert and continues to do so. Readers will admire him and wonder how he can still trust in the Lord following the tragedy as he obviously loved his family deeply. Readers who appreciate a well written inspirational true life story from the heart and soul will cherish one mans story of how tragedy took his family but could not take his faith.Harriet Klausner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.