Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook

Tyndale House Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook

Kelly and John Rosati never expected to adopt four children from the U.S. foster care system. But God's plan for them turned out to be even more extraordinary than they could have planned. Follow Kelly and John in their amazing journey through the child welfare system. You'll be inspired by the story of how God brought their family together, and challenged by their honest and revealing look at the desperate need of children still waiting for families. The Rosati's story is one of hope amid challenges, beauty from ashes, and faith that sustains. It's a beautiful picture of what family truly looks like.
Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Review 1 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for ALL Christians!!

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristin C.
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose to read this book b/c we are huge advocates for adoption and foster care. My husband & I have fostered for many years, in 3 different states. We have 6 children (2 bio & 4 adopted) as well as always having 3 foster children.
This book is such a great read! She is downright funny, totally honest, and just a down to earth gal. I enjoyed every word. What I really love, is her honesty. Being a foster & adoptive parent myself, I could completely relate to so much of what she told. I wish more Christians would be open...I mean totally open, to how God calls us to care for these children...His children. It's no cake walk, but His way is the best.
So please, take a minute to walk in her shoes & experience her journey...it's awesome!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Testimony to Love and Grace

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Rosatis practice what they preach. Having adopted not one, nor two, but four children from the foster care system, the Rosatis have years of experience with the foster care system. They share their family's unique journey in their new book Wait No More.
Filled with the ups and downs of their adoption experiences, the reader learns of the joy and heartbreaks of each child's journey to the Rosati family. There are painful moments when readers learn of some of the family situations of children in foster care, but above all there is a sense of triumph as God's grace and mercy flows through the pages. It is a book testifying to the love of God and the difference He has made, and continues to make, in one family following His leading. Whether you are considering adoption through the foster care system or not, I would recommend reading this book.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story of ups&downs of foster-adoption

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bicycle Man
Location:Kent, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the mom's voice, they tell of the call of God to care about orphans, and how that led them to adoption. This also met their own need for children. Throughout their story God's plans worked with the desires of their hearts in a mysterious way that God uses to do good.
I admire their courage to share the ups and downs of adoption. I wish we could have read this book before we adopted out of the foster system. They show the difficulties the foster care workers have in fulfilling their duties to try and reunite a child with their family, and at the same time trying to find a stable forever family for them to go to. I think this is God's will - to give grace to the families and to ultimately put the needs of the children first. The Rosati's do a great job of showing how frustrating that can appear from the point of view of the family who is fostering and bonding with the children. They strike a delicate balance between saying "we did a wonderful thing adopting these children" and "we're not super-parents." As a family who adopted one child through the foster system, and had to give one back to another family, we think this book is great for anyone considering adoption, especially from the foster system, and for those trying to understand what friends who are adopting are going through.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:southeastern GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A great read that is honest and engaging, I would highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wake Up Call

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Friends of ours from church recently adopted a child from overseas. This child was neglected and was, at the age of nine, smaller than their one year old. Since her adoption she has thrived.
I shared this story because it was the main reason I wanted to read this book. The Rosati's didn't set out to adopt. They saw a need and felt God's Hand and went for it. Because they obeyed God's leading four children now have a forever home and the ministry of Wait No More was born.
The need is so great and I know if you are like me you are probably thinking that what ever I do won't make a difference but that reminds me of the story of the man throwin clams back into the ocean and his friends saying that it wouldn't make a difference and he replied as a threw another one in the ocean "it does to that one"
Even if you don't feel lead to adopt this book is good for encouraging you look around and find ways that you can help.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

uplifting, awesome read!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy S
Location:West Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey by Kelly & John Rosati last month, and it still gives me chill bumps just thinking about it. The Rosatis go in detail explaining the adoption process for each of their four children. Kelly explains the emotions of first meetings, the anticipation of placement and the satisfaction of adoption finalization so vividly, that you can't help but be swept up into their story.
Along with all the ups, Kelly shares all the downs, such as attachment issues, extended biological families interrupting adoptions, drug addictions in babies, balancing work and home life, and the financial difficulties of raising for children in Hawaii. I appreciated her bold honesty in sharing their reality of adopting from the U. S. foster care system.
In my opinion, the overall theme of the book was God's faithfulness. Many times this family felt God's gentle leading and walked by faith. Sometimes they didn't know the next step, yet they trusted God for guidance. It was awe-inspiring. It was so encouraging to see all the pieces of the puzzle fit together so perfectly. Of course this book encourages adoption, but more than that, it simply encourages the believer to walk by faith. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to all readers, even if adoption isn't on your radar. I plan on passing it along to one of our MOPS mentors and will continue to share it with others.
Note: I received a free copy of this book to review from Focus on the Family. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions stated above are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wait No More

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the account of this adoptive family and their journey through the foster-adopt program. This was well written and had me going through this journey with this family. I loved the stories of all 4 of their children and how different they were. I also liked the fact that they shared the frustrations and disappointments that are involved in having special needs children. I thought this was a great read especially if you are interested in fostering or adopting children. I learned a ton about the process as well as many thought provoking issues that come up with children who have suffered some type of abuse or neglect. Great read.
I received this book free from Tyndale publishers in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A candid view of the joys of adoption

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Poppa
Location:San Juan Capistrano, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I will be giving the book to my son and his wife who have adopted five children. The first three were adopted at birth.
My wife and I also had reservations when they told us they were going to adopt two more kids, a brother and sister. After an initial adjustment they are one big happy family!
And my wife and I are very happy grand parents. What a joy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book whether you adopt or not!

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To this point in my life, I haven't felt called by God to adopt children. So I went approached reading this book, expecting to feel guilty about that. Instead, the author brought me into her story and I felt reassured by her that this calling is not for everyone. Kelly says: "...although not everyone is called to adopt, everyone is called to do something on behalf of orphans." I agree wholeheartedly!
I was brought to tears several times during this book. The author never tries to paint a rose colored view of adoption through the foster care system. She is honest and truthful about her family's struggles during this process. It's not pretty at times, but the end product of obeying God has a beautiful result. Children rescued and brought into a loving family.
I love the way this book continually points out being open to God and to be willing to walk through whatever doors He puts in front of us. This has been something we've strived to do as a family. Kelly brings up forgiveness time and time again throughout the book. I had never really thought of this in relation to adoptive parents--forgiveness of the birth parent and all the issues created by their bad choices.
The beginning of Wait No More is written in a style I really enjoy. The authors flash back and forth as they weave together their past histories with beginning the process of adoption. I absolutely loved this way of story telling.
This book so exceeded my expectations. I found it hard to put down. Although I don't feel called to adopt at this season in my life, this book reminded me that we, as Christians are to support those who do. Whether it be through respite, monetary gifts, dinner or whatever. We have to open to anything God calls us to do and not hestitate....to wait no more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good book

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fred P
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very good in painting the picture of what this family went through in the adoption process. It also shows what we can do to serve God if we will let ourselves be led by Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vulnerable and real!

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
momof2
Location:Vancouver BC Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I simply loved Kelly and John's very vulnerable story of their journey to be a family! They share both the wonderful parts and the very difficult, challenging parts of their adoption story, undergirded with a constant dependence upon God throughout the journey.
I especially appreciated several aspects of the story: 1) the commitment to being a team as a family: "Team Rosati"
2) the way in which they approach parenting as a way of discipling their children into a lifelong walk with God and 3) the respect they gave their children to get their permission to tell their story.
Adoption is a most rewarding and satisfying journey, but it is most emphatically not for the faint of heart! Kelly and John are remarkably candid about both the anticipated and unanticipated parts of the journey. Readers will be encouraged and inspired!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real People Trusting God with their Family Photo

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
drrr
Location:usa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Like all families, we have yelling, fighting, hurt feelings, messy rooms, and other aspects of a normal family life. But above all, we desire to be a family centered on God, fierce in our commitments to Him and to each other." (page 166, Wait No More)
Unlike many families, this family of six, Dad, Mom, two boys and two girls, all the children were adopted out of foster care. Each child came with a story of abuse and neglect to a couple who were willing to be open and available to whatever God had planned for them.
Taking the promise of God adopting children into His forever family as guide, when the door of their hearts were knocked on by the needs of children wanting a secure, loving family to belong in, they could not ignore it. Opening the door meant many ups and downs. Doubts and uncertainties. Risks and blessings. Through the different challenges like Tourettes Syndrome, crack baby symptoms, attachment disorders, ADD, ADHD and many other issues that crop up in the midst of daily life, God's strength and wisdom shine brighter and greater as this couple choose to rely on Him for all that they need.
The victorious celebration of Adoption Day and molding as a family the way God sees the family photo to be is what makes all the unknowns worth the sacrifices. Kelly and John Rosati share their mountains top views and also their valleys. Real people, really love God, reality is four children loved for who God made them to be no matter what.
The honesty in this book helps the reader understand and perhaps learn from the experiences and emotions the Rosatis' had. Describing faith in action through four separate adoptions is inspiring and also truthful--the good stuff and the hard stuff.
Thank you, Kelly and John, for sharing your story and also a thank you to your children who were willing to share their "family photo" in words! I hope that the Rosatis can do a follow-up book in five years and share what God has continued to do in their lives and in their family. Kelly and John are really sharing God's story with this book putting every adventure into the written language for anyone to read. I hope you will pick up this book for your family and think about and pray what "photo" God has for you and how you can help orphans all around the world, even in your own backyard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessed by Adoption, beautiful story!

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
momzookeeper
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an adoptive mom of twelve children. There is something so very powerful in reading the story of another family's adoption journey. Even more brilliant is the striking power and beauty of reading a book that tells of the power of GOD in the creation of their family through the blessing and gift of adoption.
The Rosati's probably would tell you that they never, not even in their wildest dreams, imagined that God would bring their beautiful family into being in the way that He chose. They probably never imagined the heights of their joy or the depths of their pain, but because they were willing and open to what God would have for their lives, they have seen amazing things happen for them.
"Wait No More" tells the story of beginnings, the story of redemption, the story of foster care adoption from a realistic perspective. It's never easy. It's never the same. Each child's story is different, each child's journey through foster care to adoption is different. John and Kelly share their hearts in the pages of this book, and, as an adoptive parent, I can feel every wince of pain, shared tears of joy and sorrow with them, and laughed out loud at the striking similarities between their journey and my own.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who is considering foster care adoption in their family or who has already adopted from foster care. It will encourage you to look deep into your heart at the feelings and emotions of your own story. It's all about letting the love of God pour through you into the life of your child. No matter the age, no matter the difficulty, a child adopted from foster care INSTANTLY becomes your child if you CHOOSE to allow God to love that child through you. The process has its share of difficulties, and the children sometimes need lots of time to heal. John and Kelly Rosati have given the reader a blessing in the genuine, heartfelt, openness of sharing their family's story. It speaks to the foster/adoptive parent's heart and encourages the "seeking" foster/adoptive prospective parent to follow wherever God leads.
Thank you for blessing us with your story! We will highly recommend this book to families as we minister across the state of Kansas to advocate for and promote foster care and adoption through our ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
moosehunter
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am ashamed to say that for many years I really didn't give much thought about adoption. Friends that have been unable to get pregnant would share their deep desire to have children and I would be so sad for them. But this idea of adoption because the CHILDREN needed a home - well that was a new thought! This family's story inspires me to at the very least pray the many children that do not have a "forever family", somewhere they belong. I am inclined to believe that what we do or do not do about these lonely children will ultimately impacted all of us. This book shares that it is often not easy to adopt children but we all can play a part in making it happen - it really matters to each child!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful True Story!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the true story in the book, "Wait No More." This is the story of how Team Rosati came to be. When John and Kelly Rosati were ready to start a family, they followed God’s leading and chose to adopt through the foster care system. They adopted once, then felt led to adopt again. They thought that was all, but God eventually brought two more children into their family. How it happened is amazing. I was blessed by the story.
Kelly tells the story in her voice, event by event. She tells of the great blessing, painful heartaches, daunting challenges, and driving love. She tells how God prepared and worked in their hearts and why they chose to obey each time. She tells a bit about how the system works and its pros and cons. Mostly, it’s a story of praise and thanksgiving as God creates a new family.
In the end, Kelly tells about the ministry they’ve become involved in through Focus on the Family, Wait No More. Through this ministry, Focus on the Family is encouraging families all over America to consider adopting foster kids and helping them to do so. To learn more, read the book, "Wait No More."
I thank Tyndale House Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best adoption story yet.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing read.
I am an adoptive mother of 4 who is dealing with the issues that come along the way. Issues that no one warned us of. I was a little leery of reading another book on some one's adoption story. But John and Kelly Rosati do an amazing job of keeping it real. An adoption story that could be any one's. The good and the bad. This part of the story is so important.
As I read their story, I could have easily put myself in there shoes. I felt like I was reading my story and more importantly, my children's stories. The Rosati's story is one of fear, anxiety, but more importantly, trust. Trust in the God. The only One to help do His will. Adoption is a roller coaster ride. We know. And I thank the Rosatis for being real. Making this story truth of the journey.
Adoption is so important for the body of Christ to be involved in, but truth needs to be told. The journey is difficult. But this is how the body of Christ loves the fatherless and orphan. We don't just stop because it is hard.
This is one of my favorite adoption stories.
Thanks again, John and Kelly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wait No More: One Family's Amazing Adoption Journey - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Required Reading!

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bette
Location:Denver, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn’t put it down! Kelly and John Rosati have four adopted children and they tell the true story of their experiences with the kids, bio parents, the system and every aspect of their walk - the pain and the joy. The truth resonated with me and I kept on reading because it validated my experience and renewed my hope. I would recommend Wait No More for anyone considering fostering or adopting. This book shares the truth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.