Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings

Join cousins Beth and Patrick as they travel back in time to Greenland circa 1000 to find a Viking sunstone! While visiting Whit's Soda Shoppe, the cousins find a mysterious, old letter in Imagination Station asking for Viking sunstone; if the sunstone isn't found then someone named Albert will be imprisoned. Beth and Patrick race through time, meet the Vikings Erik the Red and Leif Eriksson, and locate the sunstone.but when they return to the Soda Shoppe another note is waiting for them requesting a silver goblet. 96 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 out of 43100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read-aloud Book

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magali Ruiz
Location:Tyngsboro, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year, purchased this book originally for my 3rd grader. She loved reading it and has re-read it a couple of times since then. Just finished reading this book aloud to my 1st grader and we both really enjoyed it. Story moves along nicely. There is mystery, action and some things that get you to talk about living out faith yet not overly done. I also like the tie-in to history. At end of book, after solving a word puzzle, you get a link to a website that is fabulous. It gives you more historical info, tips for parents, a wonderful devotional related to a faith topic hinted at in the story. These additional resources simply add to the value and quality of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Upgraded 'Tree House' stories

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Deanna Plourde
Location:Vermont
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only read the first in this series, but we are looking forward to more. I like that they are enjoyable enough for a stronger reader to have a relaxed read and still benefit from reading it. It's a nice look at history while retaining a Christian world view. I like examples for our children to follow that say 'this how a Christian should handle this situation'. There are so many poor worldly examples bombarding them every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids loved it

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to read this to my kids while we were on vacation. My youngest is 7 and wasn't excited about it since there were no pictures but after the second chapter both boys were asking each night to read more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son read this book a few months ago and couldn't put it down. I read it last night to get an idea of what he was reading. It takes the story of Mr. Whittaker and the Imagination Station from Adventures in Odyssey to the next level. The book follows two cousins, Beth and Patrick on their own adventure in the Imagination Station back to the time of the Vikings. They meet Erik the Red and his son Leif Eriksson, learn a little about the Vikings and learn that Christians did not have an easy life. The end of the story led into the next book which we can't wait to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
RBro
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely totally awesomely epic, and so cool. I can't wait to get the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son couldn't put it down. He read thru it in about an hour and went to the next one. I'm glad to find a series he enjoys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

on Vikings... VIKINGS!

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Read this as part of the Tyndale Summer Reading program and because my son (9), who has a summer reading challenge of his own, checked it out of the library. It's a bit below his reading level (and, for an adult shouldn't take more than about an hour to fully digest), but there are some nice moments of adventure, intrigue, and action.
Essentially, the Imagination Station is a time machine and our two main characters are kids, so the book is a bit reminiscent of a Magic Tree House book minus the wizards and sorcery. In this "episode," our travelers journey back to the days of Leif Erikson and his vikings. They learn about religious persecution, forgiveness, and God's love, while playing chess, dodging reindeer, and avoiding polar bears. Pretty fun book and, like I said, a quick read for your summer reading fix.
Another quick read and enjoyable story for younger readers and fans of Magic Tree House or Secrets of Droon books who are looking for (or at least don't mind) a Christian twist.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you like Magic Tree House, read these...

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Bailey
Location:North of Boston, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These stories take two cousins, a boy and a girl, on adventures in an "imagination station" to different times and places. The pattern of the stories is similar to the Magic Tree House. In this story, the cousins take refuge a church making a connection to faith.
We read the one based in Plimoth Plantation first. We really enjoyed it, but found we needed some of the background from the first book. We purchased the first 4 books as a bundled package, so it was a bargain.
These are easy to read. According to the reading level on the book, it would be for a 2nd grader. My child is an average 3rd grade reader and knows most words on every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Young Odyssey Fans

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A perfect read for your young Adventures in Odyssey fan!
Patrick and Beth stumble across a letter in Mr. Whattaker's Imagination Station threatening to imprision a mysteryious Albert if the sunstone is not found and delievered. Beth and Patrick embark on a rescue mission to find the sunstone and save Albert!
As a church library assistant, I like to keep my eyes out for great children's books with both a sound message and lots of adventure, and these books make the cut. I love how they learn lessons about God while going back in history and learning about the past. In this one they even meet Leif Eriksson!
This series is targeted more toward children who have recently graduated from the I-can-read chapter books, to "real books" with an easy to read style, without alot of big words, and large print your young reader will be racing through this book. This series has it all, action adventure and a solid lesson behind it with some of your favorite characters from the radio series :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 1, Voyage with the Vikings by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering has a good message that parents will like. Kids will love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tyndale Summer Reading Program by Ethan Terry

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
cterry
Location:ny
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Voyage with the Vikings” Marianne Hering and Paul McClusker
Cousins Beth and Patrick went to Whit's End. After getting into the imagination station they were transported to where the Vikings lived. They were told that they needed to find a Viking sun stone or Mr. Whitaker's friend would be locked in Lord Darthorn's tower. They met Leif Erikson and he helped them find the sun stone. When they were on their way home Patrick told Leif Erikson's father about Jesus. The cousins made it back to the imagination station they gave the sun stone to Whit to help Albert. Then they found another note telling them that they needed to help Albert by going to Rome to get the monk's silver cup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Choice for Struggling Readers

Date:June 25, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a big fan of the Adventures in Odyssey radio program, I was looking forward to reading these books. We are introduced to the two main characters, Beth and Patrick, right off the bat, along with Mr. Whittaker and Whit's End. The plot follows their first adventure in the Imagination Station, where they meet Lief Erickson and begin a story arc which will presumably carry the next several books.
The writing is typical of what is offered at this level of children's literature. The comments comparing it to the Magic Tree House series are right on. I would hazard a guess that most readers over the age of 10 and/or advanced readers (those comfortable with books on par with Chronicles of Narnia or Alcott's Little Women) will find this a very easy read. I read this with my junior reading buddy over the summer as a quick read, and we both enjoyed it.
The story is cheerful, includes a Christian moral, and leaves as its only loose end the lead in for the next book. A 'comprehension' quiz is included at the end of the book disguised as a secret message to ensure the reader hit all the main points. The norse names may provide a stumbling block in using this as a read aloud, but hopefully researching how to say Thjodhild will provide a fun launch pad into learning more about the Vikings and Erickson's conversion to Christianity.
Happy Reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Voyage With the Vikings" is the first in The Imagination Station series, presented by Focus on the Family. In this book, we are introduced to cousins Beth and Patrick who are sent on amazing adventures in the Imagination Station, invented by Mr. Whitaker. Each adventure has something that the cousins need to accomplish in order to help save another character.
I read this book with my four-year-old, and he really enjoyed it. It's reminiscent of "The Magic Treehouse" series, but with a bit more depth and detail. We are already looking forward to getting the next book from the library to continue the adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We're so blessed by these books!!! Thank you!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Gonzalez
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys need to read 20 mins. a day as homework what better books to read than these? they're 12 and 9 years old and they both loved them, as a matter of fact my 9 y.o. is doing a book report on every book he reads and this has been a way to share Jesus with his classmates and friends. Thanks so very much I didn't even know you wrote books, we knew and have the cds but didn't know about these wonderful books, this is wonderful and such a blessing, keep up the wonderful job! God bless you richly!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
jacey
Location:utah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my daughter loved reading this book. Helped her find something she really liked to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Imagination Station #1

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
clowens9144
Location:SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered books 1-4 for my 9 year old (3rd grade) daughter. She is dyslexic and a struggling reader, reading on a late 1st/early 2nd grade level. We homeschool and she also receives private tutoring for dyslexia. I have been on a quest to find books that would be right on her level so she could develop fluency and confidence without being challenged, i.e. "fun" reading. I love that these books are similar to Magic Tree House but with a Christian basis. They are also geared for slightly older children than MTH, so they aren't too babyish for her. That is often a problem when selecting books for her, considering her age vs reading level. Well, she blew through the first book and jumped on the second one! The only difficulty she has had is with some of the historical names, which is to be expected. I gave her the 3rd and 4th books for Christmas and she excitedly started the 3rd book last night.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Kennesaw, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loved this book so much he didn't want to put it down to go to bed! We ended up reading over half of the book in one night :) Now he wants to read ALL of the Imagination Station books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent series for young chapter book readers

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
bpaquin
Location:Rindge, NH
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Along the lines of the Magic Tree House series, but with a Christian worldview. Unlike most chapter books, these are appropriate for younger-than average readers (age 6-7) as well as older readers. For reference, these are a quicker read and slightly lower reading level than Magic Treehouse books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

an alternative to the Magic Treehouse series

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Those familiar with the Adventures in Odyssey radio program will recognize the "Imagination Station" as Mr. Whittaker's time traveling machine. It's this contraption that's the star of a new set of Odyssey spin-off books designed to offer a Christian alternative to the massively popular Magic Tree House books. Written by Marianne Hering (former editor of Focus on the Family's Clubhouse magazine) and Paul McCusker (writer and director of Adventures in Odyssey), the first book in the Imagination Station series is Voyage with the Vikings.
Everything about this book is closely modeled on the Magic Tree House series - from the plot line, to the two main characters, to the illustrations, to the cover and title. In this book, Mr. Whittaker sends young cousins Beth and Patrick on a mission to uncover secrets from a mysterious note left by someone named Albert who is about to be locked up in Lord Darkthorne's tower. The children don't know who Albert or Darkthorne are, but they are eager to go back into time to find the sunstone Albert apparently requires.
After dressing them in appropriate period attire, Mr. Whittaker sends the children back in time to the days of the Vikings in Greenland. Here, they meet the historical Eric the Red, and his Christian son, Leif. Eric wants to make them slaves, but Eric locks them safely in a small Christian church where Eric would never dare go. Wanting to complete his mission and find a sunstone, Patrick escapes and nearly gets killed by Vikings who think he's stealing. Leif rescues him and they make their way to a Viking party, where Eric's Christian wife protects the children from the pagan rituals - including sacrifices - there.
Thinking they are unable to complete their mission in time, and unable to find the Imagination Station, the children end up on a ship with Leif, headed to Norway. But when the children see Leif use a stone to navigate, they realize it's the sunstone they need. They make a trade with Leif and once the sunstone is in their possession, the red button to the Imagination Station appears. But not before Beth shows Leif a map of North America and the Viking decides to make his important historical sail there.
The children push the red button and give the sunstone to Mr. Whittaker - only to discover Albert needs them to travel to Rome. Are the kids game? You bet!
What I Like: My 5 year old, who loves Adventures in Odyssey, was delighted to have a book related to the radio series, and I love that this series tackles history with an emphasis on Christianity. Many parents will also be excited to know this book contains no magic, unlike the Magic Tree House books. I also really appreciated it when Patrick showed his faith by standing up to Eric. First, he apologizes for accidentally offending the famous Viking, but when Eric threatens to kill him anyway, Patrick reminds him there is only one God - and he prays silently for that God to help him.
What I Dislike: At one point, Patrick sees a large pot and compares it to a "witch's cauldron;" some parents may object to this phrasing. But mostly, I find it difficult not to compare this book to the Magic Tree House series, it's so closely modeled after it. This first book in the series, in my opinion, falls a bit short - mostly because it meanders. The Magic Tree House books are packed with action and most chapters end in such a way you just have to read more, but Voyage with the Vikings rarely has these qualities. The book is also longer - 108 pages of actual storyline - whereas most of the Magic Tree House books are about 80 pages. In addition, there are just 16 black and white illustrations; these illustrations by David Hohn are very good - but I do find the kids - especially Beth - way, way too thin. I also miss having factual historical information at the back of the book (some puzzles are included there instead).
Even so, however, this book is well done.
Overall Rating: Very Good.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #1: Voyage with the Vikings
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great books!

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
3boysmama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered all 4 Adventures in Odyssey books for my son, 8, who is somewhat of a reluctant reader. He is intimidated by chapter books, but he LOVES the Adventures in Odyssey audio series. He read the 1st book in under a week and kept me up to date on what was happening in the story. Now he's loving the second book. My older son, 12, is also a big fan of Adventures in Odyssey and is enjoying the series as well. I can only hope they will continue to write these great books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.