Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena

The adventure continues! Join cousins Beth and Patrick as they travel through time to fifth-century Rome to locate a missing silver cup. After returning to Whit's after finding the Viking sunstone, another letter is left this time requesting a silver cup that belongs to a monk. If found, this cup may prevent the mysterious Albert from being imprisoned.

Emperor Honorius is hosting a gladiator battle at the Roman Colosseum in honor of a war victory. Beth attends as a slave and Patrick attends as a monk's apprentice, until he is taken prisoner and sent to fight in the arena. While in Rome, the cousins meet Telemachus, a monk that believes fighting is wrong and who is willing to give up his life to stop the killing.

When Beth and Patrick find the cup and return to their time, a new letter is waiting for them with information on the mysterious Albert's fate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great books for my 7 yr old son

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
jillyann
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book and book #1 for my son and he really likes them. He has asked me to purchase more for him. They are a good read and not too difficult for his age/reading ability. He loves the facts and history contained in them and I love that it is faith based. There are not many faith based series for boys of this age. We will definitely be buying more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

on the Search for a Different Grail

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Another day, another mysterious letter, another adventure for the team of Beth and Patrick as they continue their quest to help keep Mr. Whittaker's friend safe - wherever in time or space he may be. This letter requests that the cousins retrieve a special cup. Of course, it's not quite that simple.
They get separated and forced to face their own set of challenges alone. Beth must adjust to life as a slave for the emperor and Patrick, dressed as a monk, stays close to Telemachus an actual monk. This action-packed episode keeps you flipping the pages as if you're trying to cool off and culminates in a great lesson of standing up for what you believe regardless of the consequences. The climax is reminiscent of the Biblical account of Esther, or Nathan confronting King David. Another hit for the series and it leaves you ready for the next book.
Another quick read and enjoyable story for younger readers and fans of Magic Tree House or Secrets of Droon books who are looking for (or at least don't mind) a Christian twist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station book 2, Attack at the Arena by by Paul McCusker and Marianne Hering is a great book for kids. Parents will like the good message the book has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent installment

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Attack at the Arena" is the second book in "The Imagination Station" series. We continue the story by following cousins Beth and Patrick to ancient Rome to find a monk's chalice. This is an entertaining installment to this series. My 4.5 year old has been enjoying the books and we are looking forward to more stories from this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Second Book Better Than First

Date:June 26, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The second book in this series picks up immediately where the last one left off. Beth and Patrick go on another adventure, this time to Rome where they meet Telemachus, encounter games at the colosseum, and help share the message of Christ.
This read was more engaging than the first book, mostly because the plot was better developed. I'd recommend it for struggling to average readers, probably under the age of 10 or so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical fiction

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
gingerly
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are big fans of Adventures in Odyssey audio dramas, so I was excited to get this book for the kiddos. We all loved it. It has all the drama and intrigue we love in Adventures in Odyssey and the Christian integrity we trust. Attack at the Arena is the second book in the Imagination Station series, this historical ficton takes place in Rome. This is an a chapter book for 2nd-4th graders, but would also make fun family read-aloud.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We're so blessed by these books!!! Thank you!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Gonzalez
Location:Fulton, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys need to read 20 mins. a day as homework what better books to read than these? they're 12 and 9 years old and they both loved them, as a matter of fact my 9 y.o. is doing a book report on every book he reads and this has been a way to share Jesus with his classmates and friends. Thanks so very much I didn't even know you wrote books, we knew and have the cds but didn't know about these wonderful books, this is wonderful and such a blessing, keep up the wonderful job! God bless you richly!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

an alternative to the Magic Treehouse series

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The second in the new Imagination Station series, Attack at the Arena, does a better job of living up to the Magic Tree House books it so closely emulates. In this volume, young Patrick and Beth travel back in time to ancient Rome, searching for a monk's silver cup to help the mysterious Albert, known only through letters that appear suddenly in the Imagination Station.
The kids quickly part ways when a Roman solider carries Beth away, saying she's dressed as a slave of the emperor. Patrick ends up with a kindly monk who tries to help save a "barbarian" war captive fleeing Roman soldiers. Unfortunately, it isn't until the barbarian takes the monk's hidden silver cup that Patrick realizes this is the exact object he must obtain before heading home.
In the meantime, Beth finds herself tending the young, haughty emperor's bird menagerie. And when it's time to see war prisoners die in the arena, the emperor takes his birds along - and Beth, to tend to them. Through an unfortunate turn of events, Patrick ends up in the arena with the war captives. But the monk Patrick befriended not only wants to help Patrick and Beth, he says God spoke to him in a dream and told him to go to the arena that day. He even gets Beth to deliver a message to the emperor: "Are you a Christian?"
The emperor is angry about this question; of course he's a Christian! By law, the emperor must be Christian. The monk points to the silver chalice the emperor is drinking from - and stole from the barbarian. "Your Highness is drinking from a holy chalice," the monk says. "You now use it to salute death." When the emperor asks why he should stop the games his people demand, the monk replies: "Because you say you follow Christ, the bread of life."
The emperor sees the error of his ways, but the games aren't easily stopped. In the end, it's Beth and the birds she cares for that save the lives of the war captives - and Patrick.
Silver cup in hand, Patrick and Beth head home. Mr. Whittaker, the owner of the Imagination Station, tells the kids no one is sure what became of the monk, but that history shows there were no more bloody arena games after he confronted the emperor. And their next trip? Mr. Whittaker has answers about that, too. They will soon be off to China, to seek a golden tablet.
What I Like: Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker's Attack at the Arena is considerably more action packed than the first book in the Imagination Station series (Voyage with the Vikings). The story also seems more fleshed out and does a better job of revealing Christian history. Both my 5 year old and I agree this book is the best in the series so far.
What I Dislike: My only real complaint is that David Hohn's drawings of the children - and especially of Beth - are weirdly thin. The last thing I want is to expose my daughter to are more images of too-thin females. Those who love the Magic Tree House books should also realize Attack at the Arena is longer than the original MTH books, has fewer illustrations, and has no facts listed at the end of the book.
Overall Rating: Very Good.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Series!

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
TinaMarie
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My nine year old daughter read all 4 books in one day--she loved them that much! So nice to have a good, clean series for our godly children to read without worring about the negative influence. AMEN!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Adventure Series

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marg
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attack at the Arena is book #2 in a series of stories about the Imagination Station, a time travel machine. Patrick and Beth are cousins and they travel through history together on exciting adventures in response to mysterious letters that appear inside the Imagination Station. In this book the letter lands them in a Roman arena in the year 404 on a quest to find a special silver cup. Patrick meets Telemachus, a monk who is credited with bringing about an end to the Colosseum gladiator games and the martyrdom of many Christians. Beth meets Emperor Honorius, the Roman ruler who finally bans the cruel sport that took place in the arena.
I read this book with my almost six year old son. He really enjoyed the story and was VERY disappointed when it ended, leaving him wondering what is going to happen next. I called up the local Christian book store to get the next book called Peril in the Palace and the first book called Voyage with the Vikings. We have now read book #1 once and book #2 twice. We will be starting book #3 this weekend.
This book is not just a great story to read with your child, there are also many further teaching resources available at www.theimaginationstation.com.
There is a parent's page with tips on teaching reading, vocabulary words, etc.
At the back of the book is a crossword puzzle to solve which will give you a "Secret Word". Enter this word on the website to listen to a free Adventures in Odyssey episode on-line.
A family devotional based on the story and suggested activities to do.
A web page of historical information and pictures relevant to the story.
I would recommend these books to anyone with young children. I like them for the stories and for the extra resources available which also makes them an excellent choice for homeschoolers. I also like them because they are created by Focus on the Family which is a valuable family resource whose mission is to encourage and strengthen families through education and resources based on Christian principles.
I received this book free to review from Tyndale Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wonderful children's chapter book

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Join Patrick and Beth in the Imagination Station for an adventure of your life. They are transported back in time to ancient Rome. They take on the form of a monk and slave. What a fun way for 7-10 year olds to use their imagination. If your child isn't familiar with Odyssy and Mr. Whittaker's mysterious invention of the imagination station then what a way to introduce them to it then in the form of a book. They will have a time of their life being transported back in time. This was a super book. The reading level is 2-3 grade, but K and 1 graders may enjoy it as a read a-loud as well. There is also a fun puzzle page at the end of the book.
a copy of this book was provided by Tyndale publishing for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for ages 7 and up!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
samwife
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attack at the Arena is book two in the Imagination Station series. If you love the Adventures in Odyssey then you will love these books. These books are a great price at only 4.99 and perfect for ages 7and up! If you are homeschooling you can use these books for second grade. I really enjoyed the adventure in this book and that they used a real historical figure. I am looking forward to having the complete series for my son. I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
I received this book from Tyndale Publishers for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's hard to find good quality books I can trust for my children. This is a book that is excellent quality and can be trusted. I am so glad I found this new series!
I chose to review this book because I knew my nine year old son would enjoy reading this. We decided to read it together. It is a great adventure story with a little bit of history tucked in. My son, who has a pretty good imagination, enjoyed this story. The story is pretty gender neutral so I think both boys and girls would enjoy this book alike!
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My son loved the story

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Adventures in Odyssey book "Attack at the Arena" took a bit longer than usual to read because we were reading it together. My son, Alex, and I were taking turns reading each chapter. Cousins, Patrick and Beth, go on a mission in the Imagination Station to find a silver cup in Rome for Albert. Albert is an ancestor of Mr. Whittaker's that they are trying to help. Patrick and Beth get their necessary wardrobe changed to the time period and begin their journey in the time machine. In a quick change of events the cousins were taken into two different directions. Beth was dressed as the Emperor's slave and Patrick was dressed as a monk. A Roman soldier carried Beth back to the palace and Patrick followed another monk after much persuasion. A lot happens in the story, but they do finish their mission and are given a new one. Alex really enjoyed this story.I received this book from Tyndale Publishers to review. This is my own opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having already reviewed Voyage with the Vikings, I was thrilled to be able to also review Attack at the Arena. In this book cousins Patrick and Beth travel to Rome. The are split up, and have to make decisions without the other's help. Beth becomes a bird slave for the emperor. She has to care for the variety of birds the emperor has. Patrick finds himself rescued by a monk. This monk does not plan anything in advance; he does whatever God tells him to do, no matter how crazy it sounds. The cousins are supposed to retrieve a chalice and bring it back to Mr Whittaker.
I really enjoyed this book. I am also looking forward to reading it with my children, once we finish the book we have already started. I'm sure they will love to find out what happens with Patrick and Beth. I would recommend this book to anyone with young children.
Thank you, Tyndale Publishers, for sending me a complementary copy of this book in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd in series is great for both parents and kids

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attack at the Arena by Paul McCusker & Marianne Hering is the second book in the Imagination Station series from Adventures in Odyssey. Cousins Paul and Beth returned safely from the Viking era with the sunstone only to find that there is another quest them must undertake in order to rescue Albert from Lord Darkthron. Mr. Whittaker, the Imagination Station's creator, gives the children a bit more information about the Station and Albert before sending them to the time of the Romans to find a monk's cup. The kids find themselves in the middle of an arena, and while they escape from the jaws of a tiger, Beth quickly finds herself captured by a soldier and forced to work as a slave with Emperor Honorius' birds, while Paul is helped by the monk Telemachus who has come to Rome with a message for the Emperor from God. First Mia's review: My favorite part was the excitement of Beth being separated from Patrick. I think the illustrations are magnificent. Now my review. Attack at the Arena picks up the story the day after the previous book, and the kids still have much to learn about traveling in time. McCusker shakes things up a bit this time by separating the cousins and forcing them to work individually. Unlike the Magic Tree House series, which has a similar format, this gives depth and intelligence to the story, because each story isn't going to be a carbon copy of the previous book. There is a strong message of faith in the series, especially in this book, as the kids witness the horrors of arena fighting (the author keeps the violence overt) and see how God can touch and change people. May seems like a long time to wait for the next two books in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful new series

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The books of this series are sure to spark the imagination of young readers. I love the concept and how these stories layer Christian history into the story. I must confess that I have never been much of a history buff but after reading these two books I was online searching, reading and looking for more information about the subjects of these books. In addition to the history, the action, the adventure at the center of these books is solid Biblical teaching by example in how the characters of this book act in word and deed. Your children will be learning a variety of aspects in these books and having fun doing so. One of the many lessons that I took away from these reads is that God is in control. If we follow His will even when it makes no sense it will work out as He planned in the end. We just have to be willing to trust and follow Him. I’ve seen this happen in my life and really connected with the events of this story, how answers were revealed at the needed time. My children aren't old enough for these reads but I am looking forward to sharing with them. I know that they too will have their interest peaked in history and God's word when they do. This is a really fun series and I can't wait to read the rest of the books. I received a copy of this book for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Series for the beginning reader

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my children were young they loved listening to Adventures in Odyssey. My 15 Year old still likes to listen to the cds we have. I like to download them onto my mp3 player and escape to Odyssey every once in awhile. My Husband will listen on the radio occasionally. When I was given the chance to read a book from the new series about Mr. Whitaker's invention The Imagination Station (from Tyndale) I was thrilled.
These books are geared toward children ages 7 and up , about a second grade reading level. This book is the second in series and I would highly recommend starting with the first book. This book is enjoyable by itself but there are some things that happen in the first book that I would have liked to have known about.
Patrick and Beth travel back to ancient Rome in order to get a special cup. They get separated and Patrick ends up traveling with a monk Telemachus and Beth ends up as the bird keeper for the emperor. This book is filled excitement and will keep the beginning reader turning the pages till the very end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Book Every Christian Child Should Read

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Attack at the Arena - AIO Imagination Station Books - Paul McCusker & Marianne Hering - March 2011
Are you ready for the ride of your lifetime ? Ready to go back in time with Patrick and Beth along with Mr Whittaker's time machine aka The Imagination Station.
As a christian child growing up I used to listen to the Radio Rhema's stories from the Focus on the Family series featuring Mr Whittaker aka Whit . In Attack at the Arena , we see Mr. Whit is an inventor of sorts and has created a time machine called The Imagination Station and what started off one day as a play around ended up a full blown mission as letters from a distant ancestor of Whit's known as Albert started appearing asking for help , in order to help them Patrick and Beth had to time travel back in time and retrieve objects including The Chalice used in the Lords Supper , a Sunstone and a Golden Tablet from China. A fun story that sees Patrick and Beth meet alot of interesting characters and pray for their way out , it is also interesting reading Attack at the Arena - as in a way it provides a historical look for young readers into what it was like in Ancient Rome. Im looking forward to reading more adventures of Patrick, Beth and Mr Whit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #2: Attack at the Arena
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Tyndale House Publisher provided me with a complimentary copy of Attack at the Arena. My 8-year old son grabbed this book last Saturday evening on his way to his room to enjoy a little reading before lights-out. About an hour and half later, he showed up saying he had finished the book and wanting to talk about it. He said he really enjoyed the book “because it was cool”. He thought it was cool because the cousins (Patrick and Beth) got to visit ancient Rome by using Mr. Whittaker’s invention; the Imagination Station. He thought the book was especially exciting when they visited the arena because there was lots of action there, including gladiators fighting. One of this favorite parts of the story was when Patrick met up with a monk because (surprise) “monks are cool”. Apparently, he thinks monks are cool because they are Christians and they all wear the same clothing. My son especially liked when Patrick boldly and confidently ordered the gladiators to stop fighting “in the name of Christ”.
My son says he would definitely recommend this book to his friends and he would like to read other Imagination Station adventures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>