Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace

The place?-China in 1271. The quest?-the golden tablet of Kublai Khan. The problem?-just about everything!

The Imagination Station adventures continue as cousins Patrick and Beth are kidnapped by Mongol warriors. Only the friendship of fellow traveler Marco Polo saves them from harm. They are brought to the Mongol palace where the Kublai Khan dislikes both their gifts and their message about Christianity. The tension grows when the Mongol magicians challenge the cousins to a spiritual power showdown. As war breaks out, Beth and Patrick are locked in a secret room to prevent their escape.

How do the cousins get the golden tablet they needs to save Mr. Whittaker's friend Albert? How do they escape the city and find the Imagination Station? Ever the perilous palace and find out!
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

on giant ROCS and the wrath of Khan

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The adventures continue for cousins Beth and Patrick as they travel through time to help Mr. Whittaker's friend Albert and unravel the mystery of the unknown knight who appears to have equal access to the imagination station. This chapter finds the duo in ancient China in search of a Khan's golden tablet. In the meantime, they're kidnapped by Mongols, introduced to Marco Polo, and threatened by Shaman, Kublai Khan, and giant eagles. How will their gifts help them escape the danger, attain the artifact, and find the Imagination Station to get back home? Well, I don't want to spoil it for you, but I will say, the end of this book is only the beginning...
Another quick read and enjoyable story for younger readers and fans of Magic Tree House or Secrets of Droon books who are looking for (or at least don't mind) a Christian twist. Note: I've also seen this book under the title "Peril at the Palace" and I believe they are one and the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
hotwheels
Location:Blairsville,Ga
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was a very good book. I am 8 years old .The book was about 2 kids. These giant eagles try and catch them but people catch them first. At the end the imagination station appears and the kids leave.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peril in the Palace by Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker is the third book in the Imagination Station series. The series follows cousins Patrick and Beth in their various adventures in the imagination station. Adventures in Odyssey lover will fall in love with these books. The series is written for younger readers but people of all ages will love the christian values it teaches and enjoy the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Extra Research Needed

Date:July 10, 2012
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beth and Patrick are in thirteenth century China and are in pursuit of Kublai Khan. In the process they reveal some slight of hand Shamans are using to impress everyone, meet Marco Polo, and deliver a Chinese Bible to Kublai Khan's daughter.
I had a couple beefs with this book. First, Marco Polo is depicted as writing "The Travels of Marco Polo" as a diary of his travels. This is not the case; Polo dictated his travelogue to Rustichello da Pisa while they were in prison together.
Second, a mythical bird, the Roc, is depicted as real and plays a crucial part in the storyline. There is no mention of the fact that there is very scant evidence for the existence of this animal outside of Marco Polo's memoir and a mention in Arabian Nights, both of which have doubtful veracity.
The study of history and foreign cultures should be introduced to children at an early age, and sometimes oversimplifying people and events occurs to make this happen. However, there is a difference between oversimplifying and neglecting to tell the facts.
I would not recommend that young readers read this by themselves. Some extra adult guidance will be helpful in properly understanding who the historical Kublai Khan and Marco Polo actually were and what they actually did, as well as distinguishing between real and fictional animals.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My 8 and 10 year old love this series!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marcus
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This entire series is entertaining and a must for those that love Adventures in Odyssey!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Alternative to the Magic Treehouse Series

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill K.
Location:Mt. Pleasant, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest book that I received to review is Peril in the Palace by Marianne Hering and Paul McCuster. It is book number 3 in the Imagination Station series from Focus on the Family. The best way to describe this series is that it is the Magic Treehouse series with a Christian world view. In this book Cousins, Patrick and Beth, go back in time to China in 1271. In China they meet Marco Polo and must get the golden tablet from the Kublai Khan.
We really enjoyed this book. Especially Patrick, my 8 year old son. He said that his top 3 favorite parts were when Beth got the third treasure, when Sir Andrew saved Beth and Patrick, and when Beth and Patrick used nails to make a ladder. He said there were a couple of parts that he didn't like. Those were the more scary parts like when Beth and Patrick got kidnapped and the Eagle captured Beth and Patrick. Patrick said that he would recommend this book to his peers and that he would read more from the series. In fact, we now have collected all the books from this series.
*Note* I received this book from Tyndale House for free to write a review on. I was in no way expected to give a positive review in exchange for the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We're so blessed by these books!!! Thank you!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Gonzalez
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys need to read 20 mins. a day as homework what better books to read than these? they're 12 and 9 years old and they both loved them, as a matter of fact my 9 y.o. is doing a book report on every book he reads and this has been a way to share Jesus with his classmates and friends. Thanks so very much I didn't even know you wrote books, we knew and have the cds but didn't know about these wonderful books, this is wonderful and such a blessing, keep up the wonderful job! God bless you richly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earlier this summer I was privileged to receive two of the new Adventures in Odyssey chapter books being published for young readers, and although I made the decision to read them aloud to my children during our read-aloud times, I am excited about both the young readers as well as my future young readers reading these and future volumes in this wholesome, exciting series on their own. My twelve year old, ten year old and five year old all begged me to read "just one more chapter, mom" each time I sat down to read to them.
So, what, exactly, do I like about this series?
They are full of action and adventure which should appeal equally to both boys and girls. The main characters are cousins Patrick and Beth, and my own children tend to relate more closely to protagonists their own gender and close to their own ages. The familiar figure of Mr. Whittaker is also featured in these stories, as is The Imagination Station familiar to fans of the Adventures in Odyssey audio dramas, dramas which my children already know and love.
These chapter books are written at an early second grade reading level, are a really nice length (just over one hundred pages per book) and feature exciting, adventure-filled illustrations, just right to capture young children's imaginations and keep their attention.
They feature characters and events from history and contain Christian values.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary review copy of this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Bit Slower Than the First Two

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peril in the Palace is the third in a series of easy-to-read chapter books that follow the time traveling adventures of cousins Beth and Patrick. This time their leap through time takes them to China during the time of the Khan’s and Marco Polo (China 1271).
Beth and Patrick find themselves in a culture very different from their own that they have a hard time grasping, get to debunk the false power of Mongol magicians who challenge the power of the living God, and are swept away by giant eagles (rocs). Though filled with plenty of adventurous moments (as always) the cousins search for the golden tablet of Kublai Khan leads them into new territory for the series – and likely for many young readers as well.
Beth and Patrick visit the court of a ruler and blunder their way through etiquette they know nothing of. These scenes produce a bit of a lull in the middle of the book, which makes this read slightly more sedate than the others in the series, but my children still gobbled it right up. My five-year-old asked for it EVERY day as her read-aloud of choice (which meant it was her favorite book at the time), and my eight-year-old read it herself in only a couple of days – she just devours these books!
Given a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 2.1, the short sentences, action-filled chapters, and engaging illustrations help children to move through the text quickly and easily while building all-important fluency with this high-interest read. Even more importantly, this book glorifies and honors God as the only true God. Peril in the Palace does have a definite cliff-hanger ending, even more than the two previous books do in the series, so you might want to make sure you have book four on hand – Revenge of the Red Knight so your children can keep going!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Age recommendation 9+

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cleverly Changing
Location:DC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, the story is engaging and will keep a child's interest. It also gives parents a chance to talk to their children about their beliefs. Additionally, the book sets the stage for growth in many areas, where the child can do follow-up research in conjunction with the story. This is definitely a book that should create dialog between parent and child.
What I liked most:
-The book is just as suspenseful as the last two books in the series (Voyage with the Vikings and Attack at the Arena).
-The book encourages children to learn more about China, Kublai Khan, Marco Polo, Mongol history, knights and more.
-It also does a great job normalizing the historical characters. Ancient history can seem distant and larger than life, but by giving the readers an opportunity to see Kublai Khan’s family and granddaughter the book makes it easier to imagine what is actually taking place.
-I also really like the cross word puzzle at the back of the book. This puzzle helps children with their reading comprehension and learning new words.
What I liked the least:
T-he story also introduces the Roc, a mythological bird, as if it existed. Although Beth briefly mentions that she didn’t think Rocs were real, the birds have a prominent place in the story. In the story Marco Polo’s uncle Amaffeo alleges that the birds (similar to giant eagles) were large enough to carry an elephant (pg. 45). However, when dealing with children, the authors should have been more careful when mentioning these creatures. Of course these stories are fictionally, but I feel that a brief statement at the end of the book describing the mystery surrounding these birds should have made it clear that today we believe Rocs were just mythological birds that may not have existed. (FMI)
-I also did not like the controversial doctrine regarding the state of the dead. Patrick tells Kublai Khan that his uncle and mother who were Christian’s when they died are now alive in heaven (pg. 61). However, when I read my Bible most of the texts about death say the dead are only sleeping and will one day rise again.
1 Thessalonians 4:13-17 (KJV) “But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him. For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first”
Ecclesiastes 9:5 (KJV) ”For the livingknow that they shalldie: but the dead know not any thing, neither have they any more a reward; for the memory of them is forgotten.” Here are some other texts John 5:28 , Revelation 20:1-10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The audio stories are so much better!

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shilohs Angels
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have been listening to Adventures in Odyssey since my son was born. It is a family tradition that he still enjoys at 13 years of age. If you listen to the show then you are very familiar with The Imagination Station. Since we love the radio broadcasts, our family was excited to receive Peril in the Palace to review.
Peril in the Palace is written by Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker. The story is set in 13th Century China. Beth and Patrick find themselves in an unforgettable adventure courtesy of the Imagination Station. They are kidnapped by Mongol Warriors. They find themselves in the palace where Kublai Khan rejects their gifts sent by Mr. Whitaker. When they try to escape they are prisoned.
I must admit that I had high hopes for this book. I expected it to be comparable to similar books. I must say I was disappointed. The books lack any of the character of the audio stories. The first few chapters seemed rushed and left me wondering what was really happening. I found the story rather unexciting and found it hard to finish the book myself. The reading was easy and I would definitely say it’s a 2-3 grade level reader.
How does a target reader react? I would like to give you the review of my 8-year-old 3rd grader.
The Book: Peril in the Palace is about Whit’s cousins, Patrick and Beth. 8 Years old. I think a 1st – 3rd grader should read it.
Patrick and Beth get stolen by Mongols in the Imagination Station. Well, if you want to read it, just read it. I can’t tell you everything.
Ok, so we are working on her composition skills. We did discuss how she liked the book. She said it was ok. She didn’t find it boring or exciting. I asked her if she would like to read more of this series and she said yes.
So the conclusion from our family is the book is ok. It is not a series we are interested in buying. We will continue buying the Odyssey audio stories.
Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers for giving us this copy to review. The opinions are completely my own and are not influenced by any third party.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action adventure packed!

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
dawniep
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cousins continue the adventure in the Imagination Station and with Mr. Whitaker's help they end up in China looking for a Golden Tablet. The adventure starts with being kidnapped by Mongol warriors and contines as they meet new friends and some enemies. Sharing the truth about Jesus and sharing God's love help the kids get by and I can't wait to see what the next adventure holds for Beth and Patrick!
*I received this complimentary book via Tyndale House Publishers for purposes of this review however all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

3rd in Imagination Station series is great reading

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peril at the Palace by Paul McCusker and Marianne Herning is the third book in the Adventures in Odyssey Imagination Station series. Cousins Patrick and Beth have been traveling through time using the Imagination Station to collect pieces of history to save Mr. Whittaker's relative Albert who has been captured by the mysterious Lord Darkthorn. This time the kids have gone to China in the thirteenth century to get a golden tablet from Kublai Khan, but that might not be as easy as it appears. First Mia's review: I thought this book was really, really cool because they got to meet a princess, and I thought it was funny when Patrick said, "I'll remember you every time I'm in the pool," and Marco Polo was confused. I also thought i cool when Beth was so smart that she figured out that the shamans were using nails. I think if you read this book, you will really enjoy it, because it's one of the best. I LOVE THIS SERIES OF BOOKS!!!!!!! Now my review: This book picks up immediately after Attack at the Arena. While each story is contained, there is a larger mystery going on as the kids try to discover why Mr. Whittaker can't use the Imagination Station any more and who is sending him mysterious notes requesting historical treasures to save his relative, Albert in the past. The kids travel to China where they are quickly captured by Mongols and taken to Kublai Khan's palace where they try to get a golden tablet from him and encounter some wondrous birds. McCusker's writing pulls kids quickly into the story, but unlike the Magic Tree House series each book is unique and the writing is enjoyable for both kids and their parents. There's also an underlying message of faith as Patrick tries to teach Kublai Khan about Jesus, and Beth isn't afraid to unmask the tricks of his shamans. This is a thoroughly enjoyable series and we've already started reading the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great adventure story-good principles

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen renewing strength
Location:Tampa Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding, adventure story, chapter book I received free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their review team.
I will be passing this along to my eight year old grandson to read. Cute story, a bit of history and of course, adventure.
Who doesn't love Whit's End and the Imagiantion Station? The cousins, Beth and Patrick have an assignment to help King Albert but somehow find themselves in Kublai Khan's palace. The stop before Kublai Khan hooks them up with Marco Polo,,,,,,how does this happen and what is the end result.....read the book.
The story keeps moving, is loaded with great principles and totally fun.
Enjoy:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

kids and parents alike will enjoy this series!

Date:June 19, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Three in the "Imagination Station" series sees cousins Beth and Patrick journeying to 13th century China in their ongoing quest to save an unknown Albert from a menacing Lord Darkthorn. The cousins are joined by none other than Marco Polo as they travel to meet Kublai Khan.
As with the first two books in the series (my reviews here and here), readers are treated to action-adventure, with a healthy dose of history, all infused with subtle Christian teaching. While following the cousins' journey to the Khan, tweens will learn about Mongols and their "ger" housing, Chinese architecture, the lineage of Ghengis and Kublai Khan, and get of glimpse of Kublai Khan's interest in Christianity. They are also introduced to Marco Polo's explorer father, Niccolo, and uncle Amaffeo, who few would have met in high school history classes.
This series, targeted for 7-11 year olds, would be a wonderful resource for homeschooling families, or any family wanting to provide a fun medium to supplement classroom education, all within Christian mores. Such a fun way for kids to learn (and adults to be reminded of) Christian world history.
I received this book free from the publisher for the purpose of providing my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good read for kids and parents alike

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
crichmanfreebies
Location:nj
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peril in the Palace is written by Marianne Hering and Paul McCusker. This book is part of the Imagination Station adventures. It is very well written, and it is illustrated with pictures throughout. It is a very fun book for kids and it will keep their attention. It is an exciting adventure book about two cousins traveling back in time and are on a "mission". This is a good read for your children or for you to read with them/to them. This is book #3 in the Imagination Station series, and there is also one after this one so far. If they continue to write these books for this series, I think children will enjoy them all. I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Research. I did not have to give a positive review, all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jody
Location:Co
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is learning that reading can be fun. It is great, simple clean stories w/o secular or cult suggestions. Good adventures for impressionable young minds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Imagination Station series from Adventures in Odyssey. My kids and I have enjoyed each one. Cousins Patrick and Beth have already traveled to get a sun-stone from the Vikings and a silver cup from Roman monks. Now, in Peril in the Palace, they travel to China. They need to find the golden tablet of Kublai Khan, the emperor of China.
Just traveling to China and picking up the tablet would be easy. But it doesn't work that way for these cousins. Instead, they are kidnapped, challenged as magicians, and put in jail. But, they do have the opportunity to share the message of the Gospel during their travels.
I am now looking forward to book #4, Revenge of the Red Knight. If it is anything like the previous three, I know I will give it 5 stars as well!
------------------------------
I received this complementary book from Tyndale Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series for Young Readers

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
mandaandtom
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last 2 books are out for the Imagination Station series. I just finished reading book 3 Peril in the Palace. This book was another exciting adventure in the continuation of the quest to save Mr. Whittaker's friend, Albert. Much like the other books, Patrick and Beth learn about the history and culture of the time they have been transported to. In this book, they travel back in time to the year 1271 to the land of China to meet Kublai Khan. Their mission is to find the golden tablet of Kublai Khan. Mr. Whittaker gives them several packages to give to others as gifts in order to help them with their mission. Some of the gifts prove helpful, while others do not seem to work and get them into more trouble. You'll have to read the book to find out if they complete their mission in finding the golden tablet in time to help Mr. Whittaker's friend, Albert.
I really liked the previous 2 books of this series and the third book did not disappoint. The books are great for this age group (ages 7 and up). I think that the writing is well done and that the plot will keep the young reader's attention. I definitely recommend this series!
****Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #3: Peril in the Palace
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Peril In The Palace-Book 3

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peril In The Palace (The Imagination Station-Book 3)
Marianne Hering –Paul McCusker
Tyndale House
4,18,11
Recommended Ages: 7 and Older
5 Stars
In book 2 we found cousins Patrick and Beth in Rome at the arena. Returning home they have now found out they are to get prepared for another journey, Still trying to help Albert the friend of Mr. Whittaker, the cousins are now headed for China in search of a Golden Tablet. Landing in an open pasture they are soon kidnapped by Mongol warriors. Claiming them to be evil since they came out of nowhere, they are soon befriended by none other than Marco Polo, who has yet to become famous. As they make their way to the palace to meet Kublai Khan they have to figure out how to get the golden tablet. Thrown in prison, for being evil will Patrick and Beth get out of the predicament they have now found theirseves in.
Although my grandchildren are not living close I have little children come to my hose and I enjoy having these books around to read to them. Written with the child in mind the authors have a way of promoting the Christian values to the young child’s way of comprehending. This is a very interesting series for children and I would recommend it for every child’s home library. With a little bit of ingenuity and the presentation of the reading , I feel a child younger than 7 could have this book read to them and they would understand what was going on. I like the idea of the puzzle in the back also to help the child understand what they had just read.
This book was provided free by Tyndale Publishers. A positive review was not required and the thoughts and opinions expressed here are strictly mine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>