Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight

In this Imagination Station adventure Patrick and Beth find themselves as guests in a beautiful castle in 15th century England. Through a series of events, the steward of Lord Darkthorn's castle finds the cousins with three artifacts collected in their previous adventures: the stone, the cup, and the golden tablet. They are accused of being thieves and locked in jail. Beth escapes and discovers the identity of the real thief, leading to a jousting contest with a surprising outcome.

Set during the War of the Roses in England, Revenge of the Red Knight will teach readers about the Crusades, the integrity of knights and the vows they took, and why men would choose to risk their lives to fight for Christianity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Revenge of the Red Knight

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Revenge of the Red Knight, Patrick and Beth get caught up in the middle of Lancasters and Yorks. They, also, run into the scoundrel Master Hugh, who makes an appearance in other Imagination Station books. This isn't one of my favorite stories of the series but still enjoyed it.
4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and Fun

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kids are transported to the time of the knights, where they meet the challenges admirably. The castle is described beautifully, and the adventures are thrilling. This series is age appropriate and very well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Full of Christian Truths

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Revenge of the Red Knight is another great book from the Focus on the Family organization. In this book, Beth, and Patrick travel to England during the 15th century as guests in a castle. They take with them the artifacts they retrieved from their earlier adventures and are accused by a steward of being thieves. They are locked up in jail and while there, Beth manages to escape. After she escapes, she finds out who the real thief is and the motive behind his actions. This was another great book in the Imagination Station series and it is full of historical facts about the crusades, knights, and sound Christian values that will captivate young readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Revenge of the Red Knight is the fourth book in The Imagination Station series. The Imagination Station is an invention made by Mr. Whittaker from Adventures in Odyssey that takes you through time to different events in history. In this story Patrick and Beth, cousins, are trying to save some priceless treasures and save Albert who is being blamed for stealing them. They end up in medieval times in the middle of a joust and find out that Hugh is the thief. Will Hugh escape? And if so how?
This book series is a fabulous substitute for the hugely popular Magic Treehouse books. If you are looking for something that can help your kids learn about history but from a Biblical perspective and without the magic this is the series for you. My 9 year old loves them but they are more at a 1st-2nd grade reading level. I highly recommend getting this whole series for your children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book with Knights and Castle Features

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Good book and Roman Facts
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is where Patrick and Beth are accidentally sent by the imagination station to 15th century England. They will cheer on Sir Andrew as he takes on the red knight in a joust of honor. My favorite part is where Patrick and Beth shield the fallen Sir Andrew from harm from the red knight. Master Hugh is a crook who Patrick and Beth will try to catch in future books. He has been stealing Lord Darkthorn's treasures to sell. This is a good book for people who like knights and battle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:The Hot Dry Desert
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 4th book in the Imagination Station series takes place during medieval England. Two kids, Beth and Patrick, end up on an adventure where they meet a good knight, a bad knight, and Lord Darkthorn, whose treasures have been stolen. This book is written at a 2nd grade reading level, but even I was captured with the story! Definitely a page turner with a surprise ending. My children and I have read all of the Imagination Station books in order up to Revenge of the Red Knight. You could read them alone, but the story is a continuing one and I highly recommend starting with the 1st in the series, Voyage With the Vikings. As a homeschooling mom, I use these as part of my history curriculum. Yes, historical fiction may be a bit unorthodox, but it grabs my children's interest, real-life characters are featured in these books, and the authors stick as close to possible to real life events as can be expected with 2nd graders historical fiction. This is my favorite series for this age level and I couldn't recommend it more highly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Adventures

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth and Patrick are dropped into 15th century England to deliver the three artifacts they collected to rescue a friend. During their whirlwind tour they visit a castle, are accused of being thieves, thrown in jail, identify the real thief, watch a jousting contest and since they taking a journey in the imagination station don't hang around long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

on Red Knight's Going Down

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
theTRu
Location:Northern, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This installment of the Imagination Station saga begins with the cousins, well, not where they're supposed to be. But in fact, it turns out to be exactly where they need to be. The find themselves in a perfect position to deliver the three artifacts from their previous adventures to Mr. Whittaker's friend. Of course, things take an immediate turn for the worse when they are accused of being thieves and thrown in prison.
After some investigation, they discover the real thief - as well as the answers to some of the mysteries they've been contemplating. But they still have to prove their innocence and, in the mean time, face off with the real thief in a peaceful jousting competition. And when they get home, it only means more mysteries.
Another quick read and enjoyable story for younger readers and fans of Magic Tree House or Secrets of Droon books who are looking for (or at least don't mind) a Christian twist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for kids

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Medieval adventure awaits through the Imagination Station!
Patrick and Beth take an adventure into Medieval times when they are in the midst of a series of adventures they are accused of being theives and cast into the dungeon! Will they escape and be able to safe the day?
I think this one was my favorite mostly because I really like books set in the time of knights and kings. These books are just fun, filled with great interwoven historical details, (though keep in mind that these books are aimed at beginning readers.
I love how these books are easy to read and understand without too many big words, perfect for the child who has just graduated from I-can-read books. The print is big and the adventure is high. Kids who like Adventures in Odyssey will like them even more!
Overall a great kid's read, not something I would typically read, but being a church library assistant I like knowing what the kids are reading. And I think that this series is a winner :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station book 4, Revenge of the Red Knight By Marianne Hering, Paul McCusker is a great read. The series follows cousins Patrick and Beth in their various adventures in the imagination station. The series is written for younger readers but people of all ages will love the christian values it teaches and enjoy the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Odyssey Meets the War of the Roses

Date:July 16, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beth and Patrick finally receive some answers to the mystery which has had them chasing treasure across time and across the globe.
The historical setting is just before the war of the roses, and references to the House of Lancaster and the House of York are made. This is how the book gets its title - from the red and white roses.
As always with this series, I recommend some extra reading/research before just handing these books over to young readers to ensure that they understand the historical period they are being introduced to. In the course of the narrative, it can be difficult for them to discern the fictional characters from the historical ones.
Otherwise a highly enjoyable chapter book, suitable for ages 6+. I always look forward to reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series love all of these books

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
barbie reader
Location:Salem, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My granddaughter loves reading this series, I hope there are more to come as we have them all so far
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We're so blessed by these books!!! Thank you!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Gonzalez
Location:Fulton, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys need to read 20 mins. a day as homework what better books to read than these? they're 12 and 9 years old and they both loved them, as a matter of fact my 9 y.o. is doing a book report on every book he reads and this has been a way to share Jesus with his classmates and friends. Thanks so very much I didn't even know you wrote books, we knew and have the cds but didn't know about these wonderful books, this is wonderful and such a blessing, keep up the wonderful job! God bless you richly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Chapter Books

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earlier this summer I was privileged to receive two of the new Adventures in Odyssey chapter books being published for young readers, and although I made the decision to read them aloud to my children during our read-aloud times, I am excited about both the young readers as well as my future young readers reading these and future volumes in this wholesome, exciting series on their own. My twelve year old, ten year old and five year old all begged me to read "just one more chapter, mom" each time I sat down to read to them.
So, what, exactly, do I like about this series?
They are full of action and adventure which should appeal equally to both boys and girls. The main characters are cousins Patrick and Beth, and my own children tend to relate more closely to protagonists their own gender and close to their own ages. The familiar figure of Mr. Whittaker is also featured in these stories, as is The Imagination Station familiar to fans of the Adventures in Odyssey audio dramas, dramas which my children already know and love.
These chapter books are written at an early second grade reading level, are a really nice length (just over one hundred pages per book) and feature exciting, adventure-filled illustrations, just right to capture young children's imaginations and keep their attention.
They feature characters and events from history and contain Christian values.
Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book from Tyndale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Getting Into the Thick of Things!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the end of the third book in The Imagination Station series of easy readers – Peril in the Palace - Beth and Patrick found themselves NOT back at Whit’s End, but instead in a dark cave! As readers will soon discover – there is a reason for this unusual journey. Beth and Patrick find themselves in England during the war of the roses.
Dropped into the thick of they mystery concerning Albert, the treasures they have been collecting, and Lord Darkthorn, Beth and Patrick find themselves in the midst of a plot to frame Albert. Thankfully they discover some friends during this time period who have been working from their time to set things aright as well.
In Revenge of the Red Knight young readers will finally be rewarded with the answers to some of the questions that have been driving the series to date. This is a great stopping-off spot for the series because a few things are wrapped up here, but the series will continue as one of the antagonists (bad-guys) is still at large. This was my oldest daughter’s favorite book in the series – knights, castles, jousting, what’s not to love?
Rated with a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 2.1, this chapter book is filled with as much adventure and smooth reading as the rest of the series. My children were – as always- delighted, and my five-year-old put aside all other read alouds in favor of Revenge of the Red Knight when it was her turn to choose. The virtues of loyalty, honesty, and faithfulness are showcased in this book in contrast to the deceitful trickery of the character who has emerged as the main antagonist of the series (he was previously unknown).
If you have emerging readers I highly recommend this series of engaging historical fiction titles to your family. They really ignite a love for the written word and are simple enough to encourage rather than discourage early reading efforts.
I received a physical copy of this title in exchange for this review. All opinions are genuine and entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing and I am looking forward to more books

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cleverly Changing
Location:DC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Imagination Station series has done it again, now children all over can enjoy the stories best loved in history from a perspective they can relate to. Revenge of the Red Knight helps explain what the cousins: Beth and Patricks, ongoing quest is all about. The children finally meet Albert face to face who is the reason for their mission. The series thrives on the fact that the children are traveling back in time to help save Albert’s life. In book #1 Voyage with the Vikings we learn that Albert is Mr. Whittaker’s ancestor and also part of the reason why the imagination station will not work for him. This book clarifies the mission, makes the characters more concrete, and sets the stage for more adventures to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this book as a read aloud for my 4,5,7, and 9 year old boys, although my 9 year old could read them on his own. I love the whole idea of this series! It is an exciting adventure series, but also so much more! The books contain a lot of Historical Content and they are Christian based which is something many adventure type series books for this age group is sadly missing. The chapters are short enough to keep the younger children engaged and eager to read more. Even my 2 year old loves looking at the illustrations. Each book is linked to the others in the series, but you don't necessarily have to read them in order to understand and enjoy them (we have not read books #1 and #2.) Definitely would recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Books 3 & 4

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again we join cousins, Beth and Patrick and inventor, Mr. Whittaker on time traveling adventures aboard the Imagination Station. In these next two books we first travel to China in 1271 meeting up with non-other than the famous world traveler Marco Polo as he is on a visit to Kublai Khan in ‘Peril in the Palace’. I find this a very interesting relationship and time period selection as we continue on with the Imagination Station series. I have to say, they have done a wonderful job so far in selecting the time, place and cast of characters for these books. That is a big part of what has drawn me in. These are exciting books about intriguing times of history that are sure to help kids grow in their interest of both reading and history. And once again these books do a great job of integrating God's truths with lots of teachable moments as Patrick and Beth navigate through their adventures with hope and faith. Right up after the cousins run in with Mongol warriors they find themselves in England at the time of knights, castles and jousting in the ‘Revenge of the Red Knight’. The books are very well paced reads and I could not put these latest books down. I was also surprised that several mysteries and answers were revealed in ‘Revenge of the Red Knight’ which is book 4 out of a now 12 book series. There is no lack of suspense though as new twists come to the storyline and I think revealing some of the unknowns early on was great for me to become even more invested into the plight of Mr. Whittaker and his distant relative Albert. These next two books have solidify this as a must read series for young readers for me.
I received a copy of each book for the purpose of this review from Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The best book in the series, so far

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Book 3 in the Imagination Station series ends with young cousins Beth and Patrick landing unexpectedly in a dark cave. In book 4, Revenge of the Red Knight, they soon discover the Imagination Station has taken them to the time of English knights, as a young knight's squire approaches them with a knife. Fortunately, they soon learn he's a friend - the squire of the knight who has shown up in all the previous books in the series. This knight, Sir Andrew, soon appears in the cave, straight from the 13th century where he was wounded fighting off the terrible rocs in book 3. But before Beth and Patrick can help him, men enter the cave and accuse them of stealing Lord Darkthorn's treasures.
Patrick and the squire are put in stocks, but Beth escapes and learns one of their accusers is the real thief. She heads for Lord Darkthorn's castle to tell Albert - the man Beth and Patrick have been trying to save with their many trips through time. Sir Andrew appears again and this time agrees to fight the thief. An exciting, knightly tournament ensues, exposing the thief as the bad guy. But he runs away - straight into the Imagination Station. When Patrick and Beth go inside the Station, they can't find him. And when they go home to Whit's End, Mr. Whittaker vows to discover a way to find him in history before he can damage time.
What I Like: This may be the best Imagination Station book yet, simply because it's full of action. My 5 year old loved it, and is anxious for the next book in the series. I also appreciate that character is a common theme in this volume. For example, when Sir Andrew agrees to the tournament, Beth says, "That was a noble thing to do." Sir Andrew answers, "It was the right thing to do." And just before the tournament, Sir Andrew asks that the tournament (a "joust of peace" where the looser will fall off his horse, but not be wounded or killed) glorify God.
What I Dislike: Nothing
Overall Rating: Very Good.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #4: Revenge of the Red Knight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for 7-12 year olds!

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
TinaMarie
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My nine year old daughter read all 4 books in one day--she loved them that much! So nice to have a good, clean series for our godly children to read without worring about the negative influence. AMEN!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.